HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Aquarius Backpackers

Hostel | 44 Queen Street, Surfers Paradise, Gold Coast, Queensland Surfers Paradise, Australia 4215

80.1% Overall Rating

25 out of 31 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/05/2014)

Hannah Davies thinks…

"Staff were really friendly and helpful. Loved how the hostel had something on every night - All you can eat pizza Mondays/Popcorn and movies Sundays etc! The whole place has a really homely feel to…"

Read all Aquarius Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 24.13
  • Breakfast USD 2.32

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: If you cancel your reservation less than 14 days in advance of the arrival date, the total price of the reservation will be charged. This also applies to no shows.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Surfers Paradise?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Surfers Paradise

Trekkers Backpackers Resort
21.35 USD

Hostel 68.1% 273 reviews
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach
25.99 USD

Hostel 68.8% 12 reviews
Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers
22.27 USD

Hostel 79.4% 96 reviews
Budds in Surfers
23.20 USD

Hostel 85.3% 58 reviews
Backpackers In Paradise
20.42 USD

Hostel 78.3% 168 reviews
Islander Resort Hotel
45.94 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Islander Backpacker Resort
23.20 USD

Hostel 81.0% 356 reviews
Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers
23.20 USD

Hostel 89.7% 218 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.1%

Overall Rating

25 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Aquarius Backpackers'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
60.8%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
72.8%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 24 of 27 reviews
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hannah Davies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 May 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly and helpful. Loved how the hostel had something on every night - All you can eat pizza Mondays/Popcorn and movies Sundays etc! The whole place has a really homely feel to it and the open lounge area encourages everyone to socialise together! Met some really cool people here! Nice cheap drinks at the bar too! We extended our stay as we loved it that much!

Disliked: Could really do with having a couple more showers and toilets!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chester Kruger

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 Chester would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and friendly staff!! cool little bar and drinks are cheap- Free BBQ on Fridays is awesome! the kitchen is soooo clean! and the bathrooms are spotless. got a free bus to bus station which was handy! would recommend this hostel! big thumbs up!

Disliked: nothing - cant get over how clean it is!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Olie Hunter smart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

07 January 2014 Olie would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean pool and a good social area

Disliked: The rooms were like a sauna making it almost impossible to sleep

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

09 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I didn't spend much time at the hostel, but the staff was extremely friendly. They offered shuttle buses into Surfers Paradise for free a few time throughout the day. There is a bar onsite. A good room to relax and watch tv in.

Disliked: The bunkbeds were exceptionally squeeky. Every move that the person underneath me made, I felt. This is not the case at other hostiles I stayed at. Outlets were not easily accessible in my room, so having a phone alarm when it was plugged in was useless.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were lovely, and the actually hostel was nice, with a good common room. Also great bar!

Disliked: Was a bit hot, with no air con in rooms except for a awful fan that would just blow hot air around.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Italo Silva

Alone

Partying / nightlife

04 January 2013 Italo would recommend this property

Liked: Calm place, 10 minutes from Surfers Paradise, pool and nice yard.

Disliked: Its forbidden get into the hostel with your own drinks.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jarleth Lennon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

07 February 2012 Jarleth would recommend this property

Liked: Good shuttle bus service to/from town

Disliked: Too far from town centre

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ian Mayes

Alone

Partying / nightlife

12 January 2012 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: The atmosphere was good, good front room with comfy sofas, nice pool and BBQ, staff were very helpful and friendly, rooms were spacious with places to hang clothes, bathrooms were clean and modern, kitchen was very clean and modern with everything you need, close to shops but a 40 min walk from surfers paradise or a 5 dollar bus.

Disliked: none really, just was far away from nightlife but you can get bus or walk easily enough.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfortable, the staff is very nice and helpful, the price is good.

Disliked: no A/C, hot in the rooms

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

jenna watkins

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2011 jenna would recommend this property

Liked: good facitiiles

Disliked: lake of showers

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and if you are travelling by yourself (as I was) they make sure you're included in everything if you want to be. I felt instantly at home and after several days of homesickness that was important. Pool looked good, although I didn't actually use it and the free courtesy pick up was a god send.

Disliked: It was about a 10 minute car/bus journey away from the CBD, which is a bit inconvenient as it's not really walking distance. There is a free shuttle bus that runs every 2 hours between 10am and 6pm, but as I went into the city on the night time and caught my bus before 10am the next day, I ended up having to catch some public transport. There are other hostels which are centrally located for around the same price if not less. Also, the room was like an oven and the beds were extremely uncomfortable.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Richard Keats

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2010 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were great and always willing to help in any way possible.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Praveena Naidu

28 June 2010 Praveena would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and it was a good place to hang out!

Disliked: Praveena left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

22 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful but the location was a little far from the main shopping area in surfers paradise.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

11 June 2010

Liked: This hostel isn't worth its price! The room I stayed in was too tiny. We even didn't have enough space for our luggage. The centre and beach were too far away. Walking distance about 45 min. Bus fare costs about $ 3.90 one way. The hostel offered a free shuttle to Surfers Paradise (hostel is located in Southport) but the last one was at 6 pm and that was too early if you wanted to go out. I would not stay here again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the staff and the people best hostel I've stated at

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jake Green

10 March 2010 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: Shuttle bus to Surfers, friendly staff and clean rooms

Disliked: Jake left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bar

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

David Moxon

29 December 2009

Liked: Oh my god, where do I start with this place? Don't set a foot wrong as 'you will lose your key deposit' - you can't walk an inch without seeing another warning sign! And the owner doesn't see fit to equip or staff the place properly. There is only ONE toilet and and shower for ALL the men here, there were NO staff on xmas day, the kitchen is too small and there is no a/c. All too often backpackers must simply 'put up' with the accommodation that is available to them, well considering the temperature here this is simply unacceptable. This place is vastly under-equipped and in my mind badly managed.

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

NICOLE SMITH

26 December 2009 NICOLE would recommend this property

Liked: I had a really great stay at this Hostel, Its very clean i dont know what the other person is talking about which wrote before, its the cleanist hostel ive EVER stayed in. The staff are very friendly, the bar has a great atmosphere with cheap alcohol. I am going back to the Gold Coast and will definately stay here again.

Disliked: NICOLE left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Anna Chisari

21 December 2009

Liked: This hostel was friendly and had great facilities. However the cleanliness was very poor. when i entered my room, i couldn't even tell which bed was vacant as all of them had used sheets on them. I am from australia and hav backpacked all around europe and i've never had that experience before, i was quite embarrassed that that is what is offered to overseas guests in my own country

Disliked: Anna left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

angela crocker

27 November 2007 angela would recommend this property

Liked: the people were really friendly. it was very clean and the staff was really nice. its nice and small so its really easy to meet people. they have nightly events going on at the hostel as well so it gets people talking where they may have been to shy to on their own.

Disliked: angela left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 February 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large lounge, great bar, fab kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

04 October 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and nice staff

Disliked: left no negative feedback.