We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers

Hostel | 3323 Gold Coast Highway, Surfers Paradise, Australia 4217

82.2% Overall Rating

92 out of 104 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/03/2015)

"Staff were so friendly and helpful,went out of their way to make our stay great! loved the organised nights for backpackers!"

Read all Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We only check in form 7am – 10pm, Check in before or after these times will not be accepted. Your booking will be cancelled and the deposit will not be refunded. PLEASE NOTE:ALL guests must show an international passport upon check-in

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Surfers Paradise?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Surfers Paradise

Budds in Surfers
21.76 USD

Hostel 84.9% 63 reviews
Islander Backpacker Resort
20.98 USD

Hostel 82.4% 360 reviews
Down Under Hostel
19.42 USD

Hostel 93.4% 23 reviews
Backpackers In Paradise
18.65 USD

Hostel 69.7% 182 reviews
Gold Coast Backpackers
19.43 USD

Hostel 80.9% 121 reviews
Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers
21.76 USD

Hostel 89.5% 242 reviews
President Holiday Apartments
48.57 USD

Apartment 67.9% 4 reviews
Alexander Holiday Apartments
28.17 USD

Apartment 85.7% 11 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.2%

Overall Rating

92 out of 104 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers'

Atmosphere
83.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
81.6%
Cleanliness
76.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
80.8%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 82 of 94 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 April 2015

Liked: The staff were friendly

Disliked: I did not feel safe, I booked a 1 bed in a shared 2 bed apartment with a friend. We were not told till we got there that the apartment was actually a separate building from the hostel its self down a dark alley. The alley itself did not feel safe for someone to walk down by themselves. Also the security of the building was poor. To enter the apartment it was through sliding doors and inconsiderate housemates were not leaving the apartment door locked meaning anyone could get in. This should ideally be electronic like other hostels to ensure safety. The bathrooms were dated and very old, where I felt more comfortable using a public toilet than what was provided. The room itself was very erie and we we felt like were squatters staying in someones apartment uninvited till they returned. We also felt very itchy after wards and felt there might have been bed bugs We stayed one night and then had to for our own safety moved to a hotel down the road.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

05 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming and helpful staff

Disliked: The toilet/shower wasn't great

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hanh HOANG

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

25 March 2015 Hanh would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were so friendly and helpful,went out of their way to make our stay great! loved the organised nights for backpackers!

Disliked: Need better air con in rooms

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Stefanie Foerster

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 March 2015 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: The Swimming Pool, just a couple of steps to the beach, free laundry, they offer an oppertunity to go out every night. Staff was very friendly and helpfull.

Disliked: The TV in the common area was all day and evening so noisy, you couldnt talk to each other. It was difficult to make new friends. Pick up was worst I ever had. Arrived late at the evening, in their email they suggested me to walk in the Backpackers desk at busstop, to let them phone them. Desk was closed with a sign it is found now in front of the building. But there was nothing. I felt really lost. walked in then in a hostel nearby, to ask them make a phone call for me, because I am travelling without a cell phone.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 July 2014

Liked: -close to beach

Disliked: -charge AU$10 if pay with credit card -NO pick up / drop-off service as promised (staff told me to walk by myself) -facilities for private room e.g. bathroom and bed are old and in bad condition -noisy

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tiarne Conroy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2014 Tiarne would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff to help us with finding places and nice and clean room

Disliked: Nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

FELIPE ZERVELIS

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: To much party for me

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014

Liked: The kitchen had everything you need and everybody cleaned their used items afterwards. The staff also tidied up the kitchen at least twice a day and they sort out the things from the fridge every morning (you have to leave your name and the date when you leave on your things in the fridge). It was really near to the beach.

Disliked: It was loud, not really clean, the rooms were stinking and the stuff was unfriendly from time to time. The one picking me up seemed to live here for one week and that this was her first pick-up but she said she lived and worked here for 10 months!!! The internet didn't work for three days! I mean it's not there own internet but then they have to have an alternative but the only alternative they had was: go into the city center to McDonalds and use the free wifi there. That is about a 15 minute walk.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice pool when you like to go out it is the perfect hostel for you close to the beach

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Monika Frise

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: Good location - Close to the beach. Is a party hostel so keep this in mind if you decide to stay here. However I couldn't hear music from my room which was good.

Disliked: Monika left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lorraine lenehan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014 Lorraine would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were brilliant.

Disliked: Lorraine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gareth Bosence

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2013 Gareth would recommend this property

Liked: A hostel that I offers a personal touch with a warm welcome, free pick up, free tea and coffee a whole a host of movies to watch not only in the common area but in your dorm room. Less than one minute to the beach and a comfortable 10min walk into surfers paradise, there is a night out every night with free entry and free drink to somewhere and free WiFi is always a bonus!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Muhammad Syauqi Ab Samad

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Muhammad Syauqi would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good; close to the city centre. One thing I like the most is the staffs, who are very friendly and helpful. There is also a night out to club every night; and you'll get free entry and drinks!

Disliked: There is no one around at the counter after 10.00 pm,hence it's quite hard to get anything after that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything, great location, staff, atmosphere and it was clean.

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Vincent Fokker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

12 March 2013 Vincent would recommend this property

Liked: Had a good traveldesk for daytrips. Nice staff and a clean and friendly environment. Easy to make some Friends!

Disliked: Saw some complains about no lockers and good locks on the room, but when I was here they were working on that!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free laundry, free pick-up, quiet at night.

Disliked: Nothing is included... The rooms could be cleaner.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

02 December 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: the staff was not nice!!! the plumber that made the bathroom probably was a genius dwarf. Guys from others rooms come into your room if you are in or out of the room. Too many drunk people every night....anyway if you're a 20y.o guy and single maybe it's the right hostel.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very relaxed and nice hostel. Nice pool and cheap drinks at the bar.

Disliked: There are no lockers in de rooms.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Elisabeth Masek

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 November 2012

Liked: Close to Center and beach

Disliked: Very dirty, aged and gross facilities (kitchen, bathroom, bed). Our bathroom was very dirty, the matress stinky, old dust everywhere (seemed last cleaning was when the stuff was bought), kitchen equipment was old and dirty, no free WiFi, dirty fridges.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eilendra Lucas

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

15 October 2012 Eilendra would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are absolutely fantastic- they suggested great things to do, planned a variety of organized outings and helped me figure out the best way to travel to where I was going next. Rooms weren't too crowded and were very clean, as they were vaccuummed, changed and wiped down by staff every day. Each room also had a fan and a t.v as well as a private bathroom. Best hostel to stay in if you want to have fun in Surfer's Paradise.

Disliked: There isn't a lot of storage space available for luggage.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Levi Coelho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2012 Levi would recommend this property

Liked: Good Atmosphere, good location and the staff were very friendly.

Disliked: The WiFi was not working and there's no lockers inside the rooms.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They arranged nights out which made it easy to meet other travelers.

Disliked: They didn't have any hairdryers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreas Lonz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2012 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: very good staff, excellent service

Disliked: no reachable power sockets for some ppl in the room

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff went round dorms to offer social get together. Assisted when required to help.

Disliked: No storage facility in dorm for putting personal items away.