HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Islander Backpacker Resort

Hostel | Cnr. Beach Road & Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Australia 4217

79.4% Overall Rating

299 out of 347 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/03/2014)

Thomas Gordon thinks…

"Nice and busy but not too noisy, good location, price was reasonable and rooms clean on arrival. Would definitely stay again!"

Read all Islander Backpacker Resort reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Tennis court(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.87
  • Towel USD 1.87

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Note: Guests must present a passport at check in, those with an Australian passport must also present a backpackers card (for example, Nomads, YHA, VIP etc.) Nomads cards can also be purchased from Backpackers Reception upon check in.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Surfers Paradise?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Surfers Paradise

Islander Resort Hotel
48.98 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Gold Coast Backpackers
27.99 USD

Hostel 79.3% 109 reviews
Backpackers In Paradise
21.46 USD

Hostel 80.2% 162 reviews
President Holiday Apartments
58.31 USD

Apartment 67.9% 4 reviews
Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers
23.33 USD

Hostel 77.6% 204 reviews
Alexander Holiday Apartments
45.48 USD

Apartment 85.7% 11 reviews
Budds in Surfers
23.33 USD

Hostel 77.8% 42 reviews
Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers
29.86 USD

Hostel 80.7% 92 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
79.4%

Overall Rating

299 out of 347 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Islander Backpacker Resort'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
72.8%
Value
82.4%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 236 of 248 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Gordon

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 March 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and busy but not too noisy, good location, price was reasonable and rooms clean on arrival. Would definitely stay again!

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I'm surprised. It's very clean and comfortable. Also there is nice location and atmosphere.

Disliked: Staff weren't wait when I ask questions and go to other place during talk without comment

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Charlotte Kenny

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2013 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Pool, good size rooms, good value for money

Disliked: Kitchen facilities weren't that great, not enough room for number of guests

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simionato Ernesto

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Simionato would recommend this property

Liked: closest to bus, beaches and to the city mall.

Disliked: Simionato left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Tiny beds, poor atmosphere, no WiFi

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, no bother from then even when bringing own drinks into our room which a lot of places don't allow when they have their own bar

Disliked: A little run down but good for the price

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

22 April 2013

Liked: Location, the pool, and outdoor barbeque.

Disliked: It was very difficult to meet people as the commons area was rarely used by the guests. It feels like a hotel with a hostel in the back. Kitchen looks like a perfect setting for a horror flick.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tara Hussey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 March 2013 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel shared the ajoined hotel facilities such as swimming pool, sauna, games room and 24hour reception. It was also central to surfers paradise.

Disliked: The beds in the rooms were fairly cramped together.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: convenience

Disliked: a little noisy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013

Liked: central location, ensuite bathrooms

Disliked: BEDBUGS!! Service guy was pretty unfriendly and try to argue out of if. I was able to change rooms though.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great. 30 seconds to Cavill Mall.

Disliked: We stayed in 4 bedroom with no air con, but we had a fan. The noise from the street didn't bother us at all, after all the Islander is located in the city centre. They could improve their security. Someone broke into our room and stolen a credit card. We asked for a transfer to other room and they put us in a 10 bedroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

julianne retchford

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

01 January 2013 julianne would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and location is handy. We were upgraded to the hotel so this was lovely to have air conditioning :)

Disliked: One of the backpacker guest urinated in the lift

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: The staff were really unhelpful and quite rude and abrupt. One female in particular was so unhelpful and when asking her questions she did not even look up and would just reply I don't know. I was locked out on the balcony in the sun with no water or anything and staff took 1 hour to let me in as they were too busy! They were then very unsympathetic on the matter. The hotel is quite unsecure as anybody can walk in and we had a random man try and get into our room at 3am! The Internet wireless did not work in the room and the computers did not work properly. Was generally glad to leave!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location, it's right in the middle of surfers paradise and directly next to the greyhound terminal, a stone throw away to the beach, bars and shops etc. The pool was nice as the beach gets very crowded.

Disliked: I must have had the worse hostel room they had (room 6) it was like a mini dungeon, every other hostel room had a balcony or patio doors leading on to a grassed area where people can sit and chat, not this room, my room barely had windows! It faced the transit stop so was noisy all through the night. I would recommend staying for the location but I wouldn't stay in room 6 again. I wasn't told about the communal kitchen or sitting area and only stumbled upon it whilst bored and being nosy on my last day! I found the hostel very difficult to meet people and spent most of my 3 days and nights here alone

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Abril Alejandra Hernandez Jimenez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2012 Abril Alejandra would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the facilities and the location.

Disliked: They did not respect the price of the booking I made on Internet.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

YEE KAN CHAN

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2012 YEE KAN would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and beautiful water front.

Disliked: Not yet.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Daniel Pagter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2012

Liked: Good location in the middle of surfers paradise

Disliked: Kitchen was really small and dirty and there was also almost no tools or pot and pans to cook with.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

28 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool, Location, Kitchen, People

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, right in the centre of the things. Hostel is more like a hotel, but with hostel prices. Nice, spacious rooms with lockers, tv and regularly cleaned. The pool area is beautiful, and you have the normal facilities like a pool table, kitchen and amenities. Staff always happy to help.

Disliked: Because it's more like a hotel, it's not the easiest to socialise with other backpackers as the common area is very small and located on the first floor (there are five floors), but it's a very small criticism.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location. It's right downtown near everything.

Disliked: I got put in one of the rooms that is detached from the actual hotel. They have their own bathrooms and mini kitchen but they look like they were old motel rooms that weren't making enough money so they put bunk beds in the room to get more money. They need a serious clean or remodel. Plus the cleaning staff only come in to change the garbage and bring in new toilet paper. After a few days I had to ask for a broom to sweep and then they came in and vacuumed finally.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Amy burridge

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: That it was like staying in a hotel at hostel price! Pool, sauna, tennis courts!

Disliked: Amy left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the fact that you really dont have to leave the resort at all, the facility's are there bbq area, pool, spa, tennis and squash courts movie lounge room, open kitchen to all and an arcade games room. The staff are very kind and helpful we had a ball and can't wait to book our next trip.

Disliked: The way backpackers treat the grounds as there was always rubbish, beer bottles and cigarette butts found on the roofs below and across from us every morning but the cleaners were always cleaning in the morning.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to beach and close to knightlife

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

01 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bonus of being given a double bed!

Disliked: Guy on reception was not helpful at all...checked out and wanted to have breakfast, but we needed plates and cutlery from reception (which requires a deposit of $10). Because we had checked out we werent allowed. Consequently, we couldn't have breakfast in the hostel. When we asked about keeping our bags somewhere, his response was 'there are lockers', which we then had to pay for. Wasn't helpful at all. Also, when we checked in, we asked if we could pay seperately as I had paid the deposit already and the guy on reception said that that didn't go to the hostel, but to hostel bookers. He didn't understand they were still going to get the same amount of money from us, just I wanted to pay less than my friend.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and nice hostel

Disliked: the staff was not nice at all