HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Islander Backpacker Resort

Hostel | Cnr. Beach Road & Gold Coast Hwy, Surfers Paradise, Australia 4217

81.0% Overall Rating

306 out of 356 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/06/2014)

"Good location, close to Clubs, restaurants and bus station, Greyhound bus station right next door"

Read all Islander Backpacker Resort reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Tennis court(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 1.86
  • Towel USD 1.86

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

Note: Guests must present a passport at check in, those with an Australian passport must also present a backpackers card (for example, Nomads, YHA, VIP etc.) Nomads cards can also be purchased from Backpackers Reception upon check in.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Surfers Paradise?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Surfers Paradise

Islander Resort Hotel
45.94 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Gold Coast Backpackers
23.20 USD

Hostel 80.8% 115 reviews
Backpackers In Paradise
20.42 USD

Hostel 78.3% 168 reviews
President Holiday Apartments
46.40 USD

Apartment 67.9% 4 reviews
Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers
23.20 USD

Hostel 89.7% 218 reviews
Alexander Holiday Apartments
35.27 USD

Apartment 85.7% 11 reviews
Budds in Surfers
23.20 USD

Hostel 85.3% 58 reviews
Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers
22.27 USD

Hostel 79.4% 96 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

306 out of 356 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Islander Backpacker Resort'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
99.2%
Facilities
77.6%
Cleanliness
73.6%
Staff
76.8%
Value
84.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 244 of 257 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

ali hijazi

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

03 August 2014 ali would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities like spa , swimming pool ect...

Disliked: ali left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Timothy Reese

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

08 July 2014 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Loacation

Disliked: Rude front desk staff. Free parking, but you have to check-in first so it is useless when you first get there.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adam Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2014 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, comfy beds, en suite.

Disliked: Room was close to pool area had a lot of noise from there in the evening. Shower was too low for anyone over 5ft, I'm very clean from the nipples down though!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, elevator: easy access, hot tub

Disliked: Dirty rooms

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2014

Liked: Good location, close to Clubs, restaurants and bus station, Greyhound bus station right next door

Disliked: Small and dirty kitchen, no atmosphere, room smells weird, carpet in the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wellington Silva

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 May 2014 Wellington would recommend this property

Liked: Great place! Fantastic location.

Disliked: Wellington left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Lenka Feckova

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2014 Lenka would recommend this property

Liked: Location! My room was 8 bed ensuite and it was kind of an appartment - 2 bedrooms with 2 bunk beds each and 2 bathrooms, kitchen and living room.

Disliked: The bathroom (especially the sink) wasn't clean.. And no free wifi

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: You can stay in a dorm room in a hotel so you get to use all the facilities on offer

Disliked: N/a

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Thomas Gordon

With friends / other travellers

City break

18 March 2014 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and busy but not too noisy, good location, price was reasonable and rooms clean on arrival. Would definitely stay again!

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

25 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I'm surprised. It's very clean and comfortable. Also there is nice location and atmosphere.

Disliked: Staff weren't wait when I ask questions and go to other place during talk without comment

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Charlotte Kenny

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2013 Charlotte would recommend this property

Liked: Pool, good size rooms, good value for money

Disliked: Kitchen facilities weren't that great, not enough room for number of guests

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simionato Ernesto

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2013 Simionato would recommend this property

Liked: closest to bus, beaches and to the city mall.

Disliked: Simionato left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Tiny beds, poor atmosphere, no WiFi

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, no bother from then even when bringing own drinks into our room which a lot of places don't allow when they have their own bar

Disliked: A little run down but good for the price

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

22 April 2013

Liked: Location, the pool, and outdoor barbeque.

Disliked: It was very difficult to meet people as the commons area was rarely used by the guests. It feels like a hotel with a hostel in the back. Kitchen looks like a perfect setting for a horror flick.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tara Hussey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 March 2013 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel shared the ajoined hotel facilities such as swimming pool, sauna, games room and 24hour reception. It was also central to surfers paradise.

Disliked: The beds in the rooms were fairly cramped together.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: convenience

Disliked: a little noisy

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013

Liked: central location, ensuite bathrooms

Disliked: BEDBUGS!! Service guy was pretty unfriendly and try to argue out of if. I was able to change rooms though.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great. 30 seconds to Cavill Mall.

Disliked: We stayed in 4 bedroom with no air con, but we had a fan. The noise from the street didn't bother us at all, after all the Islander is located in the city centre. They could improve their security. Someone broke into our room and stolen a credit card. We asked for a transfer to other room and they put us in a 10 bedroom.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

julianne retchford

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping

01 January 2013 julianne would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness and location is handy. We were upgraded to the hotel so this was lovely to have air conditioning :)

Disliked: One of the backpacker guest urinated in the lift

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: The staff were really unhelpful and quite rude and abrupt. One female in particular was so unhelpful and when asking her questions she did not even look up and would just reply I don't know. I was locked out on the balcony in the sun with no water or anything and staff took 1 hour to let me in as they were too busy! They were then very unsympathetic on the matter. The hotel is quite unsecure as anybody can walk in and we had a random man try and get into our room at 3am! The Internet wireless did not work in the room and the computers did not work properly. Was generally glad to leave!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the location, it's right in the middle of surfers paradise and directly next to the greyhound terminal, a stone throw away to the beach, bars and shops etc. The pool was nice as the beach gets very crowded.

Disliked: I must have had the worse hostel room they had (room 6) it was like a mini dungeon, every other hostel room had a balcony or patio doors leading on to a grassed area where people can sit and chat, not this room, my room barely had windows! It faced the transit stop so was noisy all through the night. I would recommend staying for the location but I wouldn't stay in room 6 again. I wasn't told about the communal kitchen or sitting area and only stumbled upon it whilst bored and being nosy on my last day! I found the hostel very difficult to meet people and spent most of my 3 days and nights here alone

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Abril Alejandra Hernandez Jimenez

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2012 Abril Alejandra would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the facilities and the location.

Disliked: They did not respect the price of the booking I made on Internet.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

YEE KAN CHAN

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2012 YEE KAN would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and beautiful water front.

Disliked: Not yet.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Daniel Pagter

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2012

Liked: Good location in the middle of surfers paradise

Disliked: Kitchen was really small and dirty and there was also almost no tools or pot and pans to cook with.