We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers

Hostel | 26 Peninsular Drive, Surfers Paradise, Australia 4217

89.1% Overall Rating

203 out of 234 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/03/2015)

Mike Knowles thinks…

"Very close the the main town, about 5 minutes walk. Great location. We stayed in a double room, sharing living and kitchen facilities with one other room, so cooking etc was easy."

Read all Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

PAY 6 NIGHTS AND CALL TO GET THE 7TH NIGHT FREE!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Surfers Paradise?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Surfers Paradise

Backpackers In Paradise
19.56 USD

Hostel 70.9% 179 reviews
Down Under Hostel
21.89 USD

Hostel 93.7% 14 reviews
Islander Backpacker Resort
21.12 USD

Hostel 81.5% 359 reviews
Gold Coast Backpackers
21.90 USD

Hostel 80.9% 121 reviews
President Holiday Apartments
48.89 USD

Apartment 67.9% 4 reviews
Alexander Holiday Apartments
31.29 USD

Apartment 85.7% 11 reviews
Budds in Surfers
21.90 USD

Hostel 84.1% 61 reviews
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
22.68 USD

Hostel 84.0% 161 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.1%

Overall Rating

203 out of 234 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
87.2%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
95.2%
Value
89.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 209 of 223 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucas Molloy

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

04 March 2015 Lucas would recommend this property

Liked: Liked that you could BYO and free brekkie & wifi

Disliked: brekkie was too early if you were out till 5am!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mike Knowles

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

02 March 2015 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: Very close the the main town, about 5 minutes walk. Great location. We stayed in a double room, sharing living and kitchen facilities with one other room, so cooking etc was easy.

Disliked: The bathroom was pretty poor.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast and WIFI.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, lovely staff and nice rooms. Great organised entertainment leading to a great night out in Surfers.

Disliked: Common room wasn't great, but otherwise fantastic

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2015

Liked: I thought that the set up of the hostel was great. They have lots of separate little apartment type things with your own balcony, kitchen etc. The location was also really good.

Disliked: Well all of the positives were majorly let down by the rooms and the bathroom. The 6 bed dorm was like a box - the beds were ridiculously close together and there was hardly any space to put your stuff. Because of this the room was like a sauna, you could not sleep it was so hot, and they didnt even have fitted curtains, so the 6am sun came blasting through. Another thing was the bathroom..it was always leaking, and the shower was just a few drips you could barely wash. It's just such a shame because if they just put a little more effort into the bathroom and bigger dorms, the sleeping inn would be an amazing place to stay

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Kali Rees

Alone

Visiting friends or family

17 January 2015 Kali would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the hostel override my original dislike of the rooms/apartments. The staff are lovely, and the place quite charming.

Disliked: Not really clean. Brown carpet and brown and beige walls a bit depressing at first. I did have a late check in but mud was all over the bathroom floor. When the cleaners came round the next day it was a little bit nicer!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, free wifi

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Julius Brandt

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

12 January 2015 Julius would recommend this property

Liked: You get what you pay for. Surfers Paradide is definetly a party location. So you should expect a party hostel. There are plenty of specials like relatively cheap pub crwals, free breakfast, and sometimes free bbq. I highly recommend this hostel if you're looking for an awesome weekend at Surfers.

Disliked: Compared to other hostels in Australia it's a bit dirty. The beds and kitchen are clean. The main area and the pool could have been cleaner.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

amy pointon

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2015 amy would recommend this property

Liked: In the female only there were free hair dryers and straighteners to use! Even though it was very basic it was great to get free breakfast!

Disliked: The pool and communal area wasn't great. And only one shower between 14 girls meant having to que for the shower.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

David Tuckwell

Alone

Business / conference

25 September 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean and quiet

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Gina Berganin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2014 Gina would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was so friendly. It was very easy to meet new people. The helped me with my big suitcase up and down the stairs. I didnt even have to amke my bed on arrival. Fresh sheets were already there. There is also free WiFi and free breakfast.

Disliked: WiFi was a little slow but free anyways. Breakfast finished at 9AM. Little hard to get up on time ;)

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Ciaran Skinner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

22 August 2014 Ciaran would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are very friendly. There is a good atmosphere. The hostel also holds gatherings in the evening where you can meet and socialise with other guests at the hostel. But there is also a limit in noise after 10pm so you can sleep if you want to as well. BYO is a benefit as well.

Disliked: Ciaran left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!! This is my favorite hostel ever so far. It is set up like an apartmen, with 4 bedrooms to one living room, decks on both sides, and a kitchen. The staff are super funny and nice, they have $5 buffets everynight, annnd the nightlife is great! You are invited to play drinking games with everyone at 930ish and then you all go out to a bar together with free entry and free drink! I would reccomend this hostel to everyone!! Oh there is also free internet!

Disliked: The rooms are pretty small. I stayed in the 6 bedroom and there wasnt space for everyones bags on the floor.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hannah Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 August 2014 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is fantastic, the location, staff and atmosphere are great. Would recommend this place to anyone visiting Surfers. Very hospitable staff, nothing was too much trouble. The hostel offers a daily dinner deal, and free wi fi. We loved our stay here...actually felt really homely:)

Disliked: Hannah left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arpit Saxena

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2014 Arpit would recommend this property

Liked: This was so far the best backpackers that i have ever stayed. They organise various events which help us to socialise and make friends and the rooms are amazing

Disliked: The kitchen for the 2 bed unit should have a microwave

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year

03 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A real nice place with great kingsize beds in the double unit we had. The manager was lovely and helpful, and she gave us an upgrade to a double even though we booked a dorm the first night. It's nice and quiet yet really central, only a 5 min walk to everything you need. Nice pool area and common room. Our apartment had it's own kitchen and a large bathroom which was really great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lea Muller

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 Lea would recommend this property

Liked: Sleeping Inn war mit Abstand das beste Hostel in Australien. Ich hatte super nette Leute in meinen Zimmer. Die Dorms sind total cool mit eigener Kueche und Badezimmer. Hat sich angefuelht wie deine eigene kleine WG. Hab meinen Aufenthalt direkt verlaengert. Die Mitarbeiter organisieren jeden Abend Food Nights und Party. Hab mich nie alleine gefuelht. Das erste mal das jemand meinen Rucksack zum Zimmer getragen hat und free Shuttle zum Greyhound. Wow! 5 Sterne Service J Ich komme definitiv nochmal wieder!

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff were really helpful and very friendly. The location of the Hostel is super close to the beach/shops etc. They had really awesome activities on most nights- eg $5 all you can eat pizza, pub crawls etc :)

Disliked: The first room we stayed in was far too small, however the rest of stay was awesome. We were upgraded to a bigger room with an ensuite :)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quickly to book

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Mac

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 June 2014 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: Thoroughly enjoyed my stay here and would recomend to others

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lynn Maclachlan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2014 Lynn would recommend this property

Liked: Exactly what I was looking for for a few weeks to enjoy the Gold Coast. Nice walkable location. Feels much more like a home and more comfortable than any other hostel I've stayed at, safe, and secure. Very graciously got free tickets to a couple of theme parks from the manager. Good for travellers looking to work while they stay long term, or travellers looking to enjoy the party in clubs and bars downtown.

Disliked: I loved this place

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mike Millhill

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2014 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a really good location, 100mtrs from Beach, 100mtrs from nightclubs, 50 mtrs from bus station etc. The facilities and rooms seemed mostly new and clean. The hostel also has various things on for free throughout the week so keep an eye out for that :)

Disliked: Someone borrowed my pillow, so one night I had to sleep without one!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shona Flanagan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2014 Shona would recommend this property

Liked: I loved Surfers Paradise, so far the best place I've been to in Oz (although, Byron is my next stop!) The staff and manager at Sleeping Inn were lovely and made the stay enjoyable! Great location too, I'd would definitely recommend Sleeping Inn and will stay there again if I go back to Surfers. Everyone must do the club crawl and surf lessons in Surfers!

Disliked: I liked the resort so no negative comments from me!!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dean clark

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 June 2014 dean would recommend this property

Liked: Great place , awesome people, probably the best night since I've been in Australia .

Disliked: dean left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Private kitchen and bathroom per dorm

Disliked: The fridges weren't cleaned out, so old mouldy food was still hanging around. They also falsely advertised a nandos discount card which doesn't exist.