We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers

Hostel | 26 Peninsular Drive, Surfers Paradise, Australia 4217

88.7% Overall Rating

209 out of 240 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2015)

Flavio Kluever thinks…

"Had a really goodn time. Rooms are nice. Very easy to meet people. The movie room is cool to chill and BBQ's were super cheap. Would definitley come back"

Read all Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

PAY 6 NIGHTS AND CALL TO GET THE 7TH NIGHT FREE!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Surfers Paradise?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Surfers Paradise

Backpackers In Paradise
19.06 USD

Hostel 70.9% 179 reviews
Down Under Hostel
21.34 USD

Hostel 95.1% 21 reviews
Islander Backpacker Resort
20.59 USD

Hostel 81.5% 359 reviews
Gold Coast Backpackers
22.87 USD

Hostel 80.9% 121 reviews
President Holiday Apartments
47.65 USD

Apartment 67.9% 4 reviews
Alexander Holiday Apartments
34.31 USD

Apartment 85.7% 11 reviews
Budds in Surfers
21.35 USD

Hostel 84.5% 62 reviews
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
22.11 USD

Hostel 83.1% 162 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

209 out of 240 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
78.4%
Staff
96.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 216 of 230 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was the BEST hostel I have ever stayed at!!!! So friendly and the nights out loved them!! All the staff where so nice and I will def be back!!!

Disliked: Loved it all!!

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sean Chapman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: The general atmosphere around the hostel was awesome, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The shower in my room wasn't to good, no shower head and the door was broke so water leaked everywhere.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sinead Fitzgerald

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa

21 December 2011 Sinead would recommend this property

Liked: People amazing, staff so friendly loved every minute of it !

Disliked: Nothing was great

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Lundy

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 December 2011 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: I wasn't sure about this place at first from the website but I have to say when I got there it was awesome. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They had events planned for every night for just a few bucks and most of the time it included free bbq or pizza. It was almost like staying at a motel or apartment more than a hostel. I had a great time here and I would go again.

Disliked: There were no lockers but they will lock up your valuables behind the desk if your heading to the beach for the day.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

PENG DAI

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2011 PENG would recommend this property

Liked: welcome, friendly, safe. a little bit far from beach.

Disliked: PENG left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Carly Halliwell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Disliked Everything! Do not believe the good reviews!! The 'limo' we were picked up in was sooo dirty it was unreal! The seats and floor were sticky and visibly dirty and there were empty bottles and wrappers all over! Our room which was a private double was the most disgusting room we have ever seen!! The curtains and floor were covered in mold!! The bathroom stunk of damp and was unclean! Our bedroom Window had no locking device and their were no lockers available to secure valuables! And the room itself smelt so strongly of a mixture of sweat and damp!! As did the bed covers which we asked to be changed again!! Made our stay completely unenjoyable!!! Reception staff were friendly. But our limo driver on arrival did not say a word to us other than 'u for sleeping inn'. Didn't give good first impressions and didn't get any better!!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jeff Hazelden

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 December 2011 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi is NOT free. Other than that good place. Great and helpful staff. Very close to bus station. Easy walk to shops and beach

Disliked: Wifi not free as stated in add

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms Awesome swimming pool

Disliked: No fan in the room (Room 4A), so it gets extremely hot (like in sauna) in the morning. On the webpage it says FREE WIFI, however you can get only 1 hour per day for free, you need to pay ($6 per hour, $20 per day) if you want to use more internet. Lounge (pool) room is located close to the rubbish bins, so when the wind blows it gets extremely smelly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: apartment style

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel James

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 November 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere, all the guests and staff were in a great mood. Unusual set-up in an old apartment building means you have even more opportunities to meet fellow travellers (those in your apartment's lounge and those in the main common areas). Free stretch limo pick-up and drop-off is a great touch!

Disliked: Nothing - I'll be back!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011

Liked: the beach

Disliked: small kitchen, small bathroom ( one for 8 ), very dirty, very used bed (got backache after my stay)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the appartement style accom. Amd the pizza and bbq night. Good value for money and you get to meet people

Disliked: Our window did not lock. Nobody knew, so it was ok...but somebody could easily steal all our stuff. The limmo ride to the hostel is great...but it is shorter to walk :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff made it so much fun! The dorms are all apartment style and cleaned everyday. It was great fun I would defo go back!! Limo pick up was very stylish to!

Disliked: Loved it all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ed Mosby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

12 October 2011 Ed would recommend this property

Liked: BEST HOSTEL EVER!!! The staff, the location, the rooms, the nights out where all amazing. I got picked up in a limo!!! From the minute I checked in the staff where so so helpful and friendly and then I went straight out that night with everyone from the hostel. It was so much fun and the rooms where spotless.

Disliked: N/A

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

09 October 2011

Liked: limousine pick up, although that's not a reason to book a hostel, the apartments have potential to be a really nice accommodation, if only they were in a better shape

Disliked: we arrived before noon and were able to check in early, but the room hadn't been cleaned - opposite to what we were told. the bathroom was dirty, all trash cans still full of trash, the room smelled very bad like it's never been let fresh air in, we had a huge cockroach in the room, the oven didn't work properly, the microwave was dirty with food that's been warmed in it, the toaster looked like it's never been cleaned either, there was food sitting in the cupboards (probably what had been forgotten) growing almost its own culture, the mattresses were completely worn down, we weren't sure if the blankets had been changed from the earlier guests since they had stains on them, there was hair in the shower and the sink, the room had not been vacuumed; when the staff came to clean the common room, the table they wiped looked even dirtier than before; they promote free wifi, but it "was broken" and we couldn't use it; it just doesn't describe itself properly on hostelbookers, we were disappointed and did not enjoy our stay

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damian Leggett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa

22 August 2011 Damian would recommend this property

Liked: Location, events and activities they had to offer.

Disliked: 1 bathroom for 8 poeple to share.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were fantastic...particularly Alex the tour booker

Disliked: private rooms need cleaning more regularly and no bar on site

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, everyone was so friendly and it was good value for money. We had a great time.

Disliked: Our apartment looked nice and clean on the suface but when we looked under the bed we found all sorts of nasty things including a tampon and used tissues.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were extreemly helpful, private rooms were nicely set up

Disliked: rooms should be cleaned more often and they could have an onsite bar

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good kitchen

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice setting with appartments and rooms set around the pool. Flexibility, as it was no problem to change rooms when it turned out we were more people than we had booked for.

Disliked: Really bad matress.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rose Lewis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2011 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: Location was AMAZING! Hostel AMAZING!! Loved every minute at Sleeping Inn I stayed longer! I had my own bathroom, living room and kitchen in my dorm with 3 others it was like being back home! Nights out planned every night loved it all :) !!

Disliked: I loved everything!!!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

14 June 2011

Liked: location to surfers paradise

Disliked: noise level, i did not realise our room would be in a unit shared with other people

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big kitchen for two rooms; movie nights at the pool; good location

Disliked: berooms were very small; really bad matresses; Bathroom was a bit dirty

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms with own kitchen. Had great room with just two beds in it. Staff were all young backpackers who came out and got involved. wasnt much of a party atmosphere created though by them, poor rep'in!

Disliked: Internet was incredibly expensive and the free wifi deal meant you had to be up between 7-9am! Disliked how easter disrupted every single night out, clubs closing early, opening late, nightmare.