HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers

Hostel | 26 Peninsular Drive, Surfers Paradise, Australia 4217

87.8% Overall Rating

186 out of 215 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/07/2014)

Arpit Saxena thinks…

"This was so far the best backpackers that i have ever stayed. They organise various events which help us to socialise and make friends and the rooms are amazing"

Read all Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

PAY 6 NIGHTS AND CALL TO GET THE 7TH NIGHT FREE!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Surfers Paradise?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Surfers Paradise

Backpackers In Paradise
20.67 USD

Hostel 78.3% 168 reviews
Islander Resort Hotel
46.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Islander Backpacker Resort
23.48 USD

Hostel 80.9% 355 reviews
Gold Coast Backpackers
26.30 USD

Hostel 80.8% 115 reviews
President Holiday Apartments
56.36 USD

Apartment 67.9% 4 reviews
Alexander Holiday Apartments
33.82 USD

Apartment 85.7% 11 reviews
Budds in Surfers
22.54 USD

Hostel 84.7% 56 reviews
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
22.54 USD

Hostel 84.9% 148 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.8%

Overall Rating

186 out of 215 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers'

Atmosphere
86.4%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
85.6%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.8%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 195 of 204 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

07 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the party centre

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

gyisun kim

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 February 2012 gyisun would recommend this property

Liked: pick up service, nice staff

Disliked: gyisun left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2012

Liked: Das Personal war sehr freundlich

Disliked: das Zimmer wurde in 5 Tagen kein einziges mal geputzt, genauso wie der Müll in der Küche kein einziges mal geleert wurde. Das Bad wurde einmal mit dem wischmop durchgewischt, das war's. Für 14 Personen gab es EINE Dusche... Alles war sehr klein, eng und die Zimmer waren zu heiß... Trotz Ventilator, der allerdings kaputt war

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jenifer millward

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2012 jenifer would recommend this property

Liked: First point of call on my trip....and one of the best! Everyone was friendly and was in a great location...will go back next time for sure. Arranged great nights out :-D

Disliked: One grump was the BEDS....please get new ones! And NO aircon...fans were supplied but they weren't enough, and possibly new TV's for those rainy days. Did notice that the description had changed from when I first booked to what it was when I got there...and also noted by fellow backpackers!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was the BEST hostel I have ever stayed at!!!! So friendly and the nights out loved them!! All the staff where so nice and I will def be back!!!

Disliked: Loved it all!!

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sean Chapman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: The general atmosphere around the hostel was awesome, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The shower in my room wasn't to good, no shower head and the door was broke so water leaked everywhere.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sinead Fitzgerald

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa

21 December 2011 Sinead would recommend this property

Liked: People amazing, staff so friendly loved every minute of it !

Disliked: Nothing was great

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Lundy

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 December 2011 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: I wasn't sure about this place at first from the website but I have to say when I got there it was awesome. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They had events planned for every night for just a few bucks and most of the time it included free bbq or pizza. It was almost like staying at a motel or apartment more than a hostel. I had a great time here and I would go again.

Disliked: There were no lockers but they will lock up your valuables behind the desk if your heading to the beach for the day.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

PENG DAI

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2011 PENG would recommend this property

Liked: welcome, friendly, safe. a little bit far from beach.

Disliked: PENG left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Carly Halliwell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Disliked Everything! Do not believe the good reviews!! The 'limo' we were picked up in was sooo dirty it was unreal! The seats and floor were sticky and visibly dirty and there were empty bottles and wrappers all over! Our room which was a private double was the most disgusting room we have ever seen!! The curtains and floor were covered in mold!! The bathroom stunk of damp and was unclean! Our bedroom Window had no locking device and their were no lockers available to secure valuables! And the room itself smelt so strongly of a mixture of sweat and damp!! As did the bed covers which we asked to be changed again!! Made our stay completely unenjoyable!!! Reception staff were friendly. But our limo driver on arrival did not say a word to us other than 'u for sleeping inn'. Didn't give good first impressions and didn't get any better!!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jeff Hazelden

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 December 2011 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi is NOT free. Other than that good place. Great and helpful staff. Very close to bus station. Easy walk to shops and beach

Disliked: Wifi not free as stated in add

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms Awesome swimming pool

Disliked: No fan in the room (Room 4A), so it gets extremely hot (like in sauna) in the morning. On the webpage it says FREE WIFI, however you can get only 1 hour per day for free, you need to pay ($6 per hour, $20 per day) if you want to use more internet. Lounge (pool) room is located close to the rubbish bins, so when the wind blows it gets extremely smelly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: apartment style

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel James

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 November 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere, all the guests and staff were in a great mood. Unusual set-up in an old apartment building means you have even more opportunities to meet fellow travellers (those in your apartment's lounge and those in the main common areas). Free stretch limo pick-up and drop-off is a great touch!

Disliked: Nothing - I'll be back!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011

Liked: the beach

Disliked: small kitchen, small bathroom ( one for 8 ), very dirty, very used bed (got backache after my stay)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the appartement style accom. Amd the pizza and bbq night. Good value for money and you get to meet people

Disliked: Our window did not lock. Nobody knew, so it was ok...but somebody could easily steal all our stuff. The limmo ride to the hostel is great...but it is shorter to walk :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff made it so much fun! The dorms are all apartment style and cleaned everyday. It was great fun I would defo go back!! Limo pick up was very stylish to!

Disliked: Loved it all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ed Mosby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

12 October 2011 Ed would recommend this property

Liked: BEST HOSTEL EVER!!! The staff, the location, the rooms, the nights out where all amazing. I got picked up in a limo!!! From the minute I checked in the staff where so so helpful and friendly and then I went straight out that night with everyone from the hostel. It was so much fun and the rooms where spotless.

Disliked: N/A

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

09 October 2011

Liked: limousine pick up, although that's not a reason to book a hostel, the apartments have potential to be a really nice accommodation, if only they were in a better shape

Disliked: we arrived before noon and were able to check in early, but the room hadn't been cleaned - opposite to what we were told. the bathroom was dirty, all trash cans still full of trash, the room smelled very bad like it's never been let fresh air in, we had a huge cockroach in the room, the oven didn't work properly, the microwave was dirty with food that's been warmed in it, the toaster looked like it's never been cleaned either, there was food sitting in the cupboards (probably what had been forgotten) growing almost its own culture, the mattresses were completely worn down, we weren't sure if the blankets had been changed from the earlier guests since they had stains on them, there was hair in the shower and the sink, the room had not been vacuumed; when the staff came to clean the common room, the table they wiped looked even dirtier than before; they promote free wifi, but it "was broken" and we couldn't use it; it just doesn't describe itself properly on hostelbookers, we were disappointed and did not enjoy our stay

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damian Leggett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa

22 August 2011 Damian would recommend this property

Liked: Location, events and activities they had to offer.

Disliked: 1 bathroom for 8 poeple to share.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were fantastic...particularly Alex the tour booker

Disliked: private rooms need cleaning more regularly and no bar on site

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, everyone was so friendly and it was good value for money. We had a great time.

Disliked: Our apartment looked nice and clean on the suface but when we looked under the bed we found all sorts of nasty things including a tampon and used tissues.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were extreemly helpful, private rooms were nicely set up

Disliked: rooms should be cleaned more often and they could have an onsite bar

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good kitchen

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice setting with appartments and rooms set around the pool. Flexibility, as it was no problem to change rooms when it turned out we were more people than we had booked for.

Disliked: Really bad matress.