HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers

Hostel | 26 Peninsular Drive, Surfers Paradise, Australia 4217

77.6% Overall Rating

175 out of 204 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/03/2014)

Frida Jingtoft thinks…

"It was a great vibe, and it was easy to het to know new people. The staff were very kind and helpful!!"

Read all Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

PAY 6 NIGHTS AND CALL TO GET THE 7TH NIGHT FREE!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Surfers Paradise?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Surfers Paradise

Backpackers In Paradise
19.48 USD

Hostel 78.9% 163 reviews
Islander Resort Hotel
48.70 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Islander Backpacker Resort
23.19 USD

Hostel 79.4% 347 reviews
Gold Coast Backpackers
27.83 USD

Hostel 79.3% 110 reviews
President Holiday Apartments
57.97 USD

Apartment 67.9% 4 reviews
Alexander Holiday Apartments
33.39 USD

Apartment 85.7% 11 reviews
Budds in Surfers
24.12 USD

Hostel 77.8% 42 reviews
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
25.04 USD

Hostel 81.6% 143 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.6%

Overall Rating

175 out of 204 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 185 of 193 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jeff Hazelden

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 December 2011 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi is NOT free. Other than that good place. Great and helpful staff. Very close to bus station. Easy walk to shops and beach

Disliked: Wifi not free as stated in add

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms Awesome swimming pool

Disliked: No fan in the room (Room 4A), so it gets extremely hot (like in sauna) in the morning. On the webpage it says FREE WIFI, however you can get only 1 hour per day for free, you need to pay ($6 per hour, $20 per day) if you want to use more internet. Lounge (pool) room is located close to the rubbish bins, so when the wind blows it gets extremely smelly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: apartment style

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel James

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 November 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere, all the guests and staff were in a great mood. Unusual set-up in an old apartment building means you have even more opportunities to meet fellow travellers (those in your apartment's lounge and those in the main common areas). Free stretch limo pick-up and drop-off is a great touch!

Disliked: Nothing - I'll be back!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011

Liked: the beach

Disliked: small kitchen, small bathroom ( one for 8 ), very dirty, very used bed (got backache after my stay)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We liked the appartement style accom. Amd the pizza and bbq night. Good value for money and you get to meet people

Disliked: Our window did not lock. Nobody knew, so it was ok...but somebody could easily steal all our stuff. The limmo ride to the hostel is great...but it is shorter to walk :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff made it so much fun! The dorms are all apartment style and cleaned everyday. It was great fun I would defo go back!! Limo pick up was very stylish to!

Disliked: Loved it all

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ed Mosby

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

12 October 2011 Ed would recommend this property

Liked: BEST HOSTEL EVER!!! The staff, the location, the rooms, the nights out where all amazing. I got picked up in a limo!!! From the minute I checked in the staff where so so helpful and friendly and then I went straight out that night with everyone from the hostel. It was so much fun and the rooms where spotless.

Disliked: N/A

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

09 October 2011

Liked: limousine pick up, although that's not a reason to book a hostel, the apartments have potential to be a really nice accommodation, if only they were in a better shape

Disliked: we arrived before noon and were able to check in early, but the room hadn't been cleaned - opposite to what we were told. the bathroom was dirty, all trash cans still full of trash, the room smelled very bad like it's never been let fresh air in, we had a huge cockroach in the room, the oven didn't work properly, the microwave was dirty with food that's been warmed in it, the toaster looked like it's never been cleaned either, there was food sitting in the cupboards (probably what had been forgotten) growing almost its own culture, the mattresses were completely worn down, we weren't sure if the blankets had been changed from the earlier guests since they had stains on them, there was hair in the shower and the sink, the room had not been vacuumed; when the staff came to clean the common room, the table they wiped looked even dirtier than before; they promote free wifi, but it "was broken" and we couldn't use it; it just doesn't describe itself properly on hostelbookers, we were disappointed and did not enjoy our stay

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Damian Leggett

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa

22 August 2011 Damian would recommend this property

Liked: Location, events and activities they had to offer.

Disliked: 1 bathroom for 8 poeple to share.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were fantastic...particularly Alex the tour booker

Disliked: private rooms need cleaning more regularly and no bar on site

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, everyone was so friendly and it was good value for money. We had a great time.

Disliked: Our apartment looked nice and clean on the suface but when we looked under the bed we found all sorts of nasty things including a tampon and used tissues.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were extreemly helpful, private rooms were nicely set up

Disliked: rooms should be cleaned more often and they could have an onsite bar

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good kitchen

Disliked: -

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice setting with appartments and rooms set around the pool. Flexibility, as it was no problem to change rooms when it turned out we were more people than we had booked for.

Disliked: Really bad matress.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rose Lewis

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2011 Rose would recommend this property

Liked: Location was AMAZING! Hostel AMAZING!! Loved every minute at Sleeping Inn I stayed longer! I had my own bathroom, living room and kitchen in my dorm with 3 others it was like being back home! Nights out planned every night loved it all :) !!

Disliked: I loved everything!!!!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

14 June 2011

Liked: location to surfers paradise

Disliked: noise level, i did not realise our room would be in a unit shared with other people

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big kitchen for two rooms; movie nights at the pool; good location

Disliked: berooms were very small; really bad matresses; Bathroom was a bit dirty

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good rooms with own kitchen. Had great room with just two beds in it. Staff were all young backpackers who came out and got involved. wasnt much of a party atmosphere created though by them, poor rep'in!

Disliked: Internet was incredibly expensive and the free wifi deal meant you had to be up between 7-9am! Disliked how easter disrupted every single night out, clubs closing early, opening late, nightmare.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything: we had an own appartment, own bathroom, TV, living room and kitchen. The kitchen had even an oven :) PERFECT!!!

Disliked: There were no complaints

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Brooke Spencer

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

14 April 2011 Brooke would recommend this property

Liked: Nice comfy blanket, Big pillow , 4 bed dorm apartment syle share with only 7 others. Awsome location & Clean =]

Disliked: shower over flowed a little but other then that One of the best hostels iv ever stayed at..

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very nice that it's like little flats with 3 dorm sharing a bathroom, kitchen and living room, also every night movies at the pool and the BBQ on friday night was great for 5$!

Disliked: bathroom was often quite dirty, as some people didn't remove their leftovers...but this probably depends on the people in the room... at least it was cleaned every day!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anna tadman

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

01 April 2011 anna would recommend this property

Liked: 'The Sleeping Inn' was the best palce I stayed in Surfers Paradise! The room was extremely clean, represented great value, and more sensitvely laid out than any other Hostel I've stayed at! Location was great too. . close to the beach and 'The hub' of the nightlife!

Disliked: No complaints here!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christopher gibbons

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2011 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The Sleeping Inn is probably the best Hostel I've ever stayed at. . the rooms were clean, the bed's were comfy, the staff were friendly, and it was ideally located close to the beach, and all of Surfers Paradise's amenities and night-life!

Disliked: no complaints at all !

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Unit was clean and tidy, good (kitchen) facilities, good location, friendly staff

Disliked: no air conditioning so it was getting pretty hot in the Room/whole unit. wasnt fully booked so rather difficult to meet people