We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers

Hostel | 26 Peninsular Drive, Surfers Paradise, Australia 4217

90.2% Overall Rating

197 out of 228 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/01/2015)

"I thought that the set up of the hostel was great. They have lots of separate little apartment type things with your own balcony, kitchen etc. The location was also really good."

Read all Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

PAY 6 NIGHTS AND CALL TO GET THE 7TH NIGHT FREE!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Surfers Paradise?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Surfers Paradise

Backpackers In Paradise
21.83 USD

Hostel 72.6% 176 reviews
Down Under Hostel
24.45 USD

Hostel 95.1% 7 reviews
Islander Backpacker Resort
23.58 USD

Hostel 81.5% 359 reviews
Gold Coast Backpackers
24.45 USD

Hostel 79.4% 117 reviews
President Holiday Apartments
54.59 USD

Apartment 67.9% 4 reviews
Alexander Holiday Apartments
31.66 USD

Apartment 85.7% 11 reviews
Budds in Surfers
19.65 USD

Hostel 84.1% 61 reviews
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
20.96 USD

Hostel 83.3% 157 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

197 out of 228 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 205 of 217 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Felicity Harper

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2012 Felicity would recommend this property

Liked: Good fun at night liked having own tv room in bedroom. Matresses a little thin but OK. Nice staff and near town.

Disliked: Matresses little thin.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sinead Kol

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2012 Sinead would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel, friendly staff and good nights out with lots of people. Had a lovely time and would love to go back one day. Also free wifi and lots of local meal deals like Nandos!

Disliked: Sinead left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Una

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2012 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and great place to meet people. Staff are lovely and bring your bags to the room!

Disliked: The weather

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Keith Paul

With a large group / tour

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

27 April 2012 Keith would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel ever!! Really loved it especially bringing your own alcohol!!

Disliked: Keith left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oli Stuart

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

27 April 2012 Oli would recommend this property

Liked: Really fun staff here and I liked the apartment style rooms. We had our own tv and couch to use as well as a kitchen too. Has more of a homely feel than large hostels in big cities – would stay again!

Disliked: Oli left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sammy Thaills

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2012 Sammy would recommend this property

Liked: Dorms cleaned everyday and met so many people on the nights out. I had a femal dorm and then could mix with everyone else in the TV room which was very cosy! Staff are great fun and the Dominos pizza night was great to!

Disliked: Sammy left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are AMAZING!! Had so much fun on the big night out and had pretty much our own apartment to get over the hangover! Cleaned everyday and so close to everything great hostel would go back in a second!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There were at least enough outlets in the living room.

Disliked: The bed had a divot in the center from being slept on too much, so I could feel the springs. The shower floor is scary, no room to put anything in the sink. Internet is expensive. There were stains on my bed sheets. TV was broken.

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2012

Liked: the organised nights out

Disliked: the self contained apartments are a good idea in theory but they do prevent you from meeting other travellers as everyone just tends to hang out in their own apartments

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Linda-Marie Strachan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012 Linda-Marie would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the fact that we had small apartment style accommodation. Meant you could actually use the kitchen facilities, watch t.v, use the fridge!!!

Disliked: Shower was useless, and we had geckos and ants in our room.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

07 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the party centre

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

gyisun kim

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 February 2012 gyisun would recommend this property

Liked: pick up service, nice staff

Disliked: gyisun left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2012

Liked: Das Personal war sehr freundlich

Disliked: das Zimmer wurde in 5 Tagen kein einziges mal geputzt, genauso wie der Müll in der Küche kein einziges mal geleert wurde. Das Bad wurde einmal mit dem wischmop durchgewischt, das war's. Für 14 Personen gab es EINE Dusche... Alles war sehr klein, eng und die Zimmer waren zu heiß... Trotz Ventilator, der allerdings kaputt war

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jenifer millward

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 February 2012 jenifer would recommend this property

Liked: First point of call on my trip....and one of the best! Everyone was friendly and was in a great location...will go back next time for sure. Arranged great nights out :-D

Disliked: One grump was the BEDS....please get new ones! And NO aircon...fans were supplied but they weren't enough, and possibly new TV's for those rainy days. Did notice that the description had changed from when I first booked to what it was when I got there...and also noted by fellow backpackers!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was the BEST hostel I have ever stayed at!!!! So friendly and the nights out loved them!! All the staff where so nice and I will def be back!!!

Disliked: Loved it all!!

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sean Chapman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Sean would recommend this property

Liked: The general atmosphere around the hostel was awesome, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful.

Disliked: The shower in my room wasn't to good, no shower head and the door was broke so water leaked everywhere.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sinead Fitzgerald

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa

21 December 2011 Sinead would recommend this property

Liked: People amazing, staff so friendly loved every minute of it !

Disliked: Nothing was great

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tim Lundy

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 December 2011 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: I wasn't sure about this place at first from the website but I have to say when I got there it was awesome. The staff was very friendly and helpful. They had events planned for every night for just a few bucks and most of the time it included free bbq or pizza. It was almost like staying at a motel or apartment more than a hostel. I had a great time here and I would go again.

Disliked: There were no lockers but they will lock up your valuables behind the desk if your heading to the beach for the day.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

PENG DAI

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2011 PENG would recommend this property

Liked: welcome, friendly, safe. a little bit far from beach.

Disliked: PENG left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Carly Halliwell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Disliked Everything! Do not believe the good reviews!! The 'limo' we were picked up in was sooo dirty it was unreal! The seats and floor were sticky and visibly dirty and there were empty bottles and wrappers all over! Our room which was a private double was the most disgusting room we have ever seen!! The curtains and floor were covered in mold!! The bathroom stunk of damp and was unclean! Our bedroom Window had no locking device and their were no lockers available to secure valuables! And the room itself smelt so strongly of a mixture of sweat and damp!! As did the bed covers which we asked to be changed again!! Made our stay completely unenjoyable!!! Reception staff were friendly. But our limo driver on arrival did not say a word to us other than 'u for sleeping inn'. Didn't give good first impressions and didn't get any better!!

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jeff Hazelden

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 December 2011 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi is NOT free. Other than that good place. Great and helpful staff. Very close to bus station. Easy walk to shops and beach

Disliked: Wifi not free as stated in add

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

02 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms Awesome swimming pool

Disliked: No fan in the room (Room 4A), so it gets extremely hot (like in sauna) in the morning. On the webpage it says FREE WIFI, however you can get only 1 hour per day for free, you need to pay ($6 per hour, $20 per day) if you want to use more internet. Lounge (pool) room is located close to the rubbish bins, so when the wind blows it gets extremely smelly.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: apartment style

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel James

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

15 November 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic atmosphere, all the guests and staff were in a great mood. Unusual set-up in an old apartment building means you have even more opportunities to meet fellow travellers (those in your apartment's lounge and those in the main common areas). Free stretch limo pick-up and drop-off is a great touch!

Disliked: Nothing - I'll be back!

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011

Liked: the beach

Disliked: small kitchen, small bathroom ( one for 8 ), very dirty, very used bed (got backache after my stay)