We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers

Hostel | 26 Peninsular Drive, Surfers Paradise, Australia 4217

90.2% Overall Rating

197 out of 228 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/01/2015)

"I thought that the set up of the hostel was great. They have lots of separate little apartment type things with your own balcony, kitchen etc. The location was also really good."

Read all Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

PAY 6 NIGHTS AND CALL TO GET THE 7TH NIGHT FREE!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Surfers Paradise?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Surfers Paradise

Backpackers In Paradise
21.83 USD

Hostel 72.6% 176 reviews
Down Under Hostel
24.45 USD

Hostel 95.4% 8 reviews
Islander Backpacker Resort
23.58 USD

Hostel 81.5% 359 reviews
Gold Coast Backpackers
24.45 USD

Hostel 79.4% 117 reviews
President Holiday Apartments
54.59 USD

Apartment 67.9% 4 reviews
Alexander Holiday Apartments
31.66 USD

Apartment 85.7% 11 reviews
Budds in Surfers
19.65 USD

Hostel 84.1% 61 reviews
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
20.96 USD

Hostel 83.3% 157 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/02/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/02/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.2%

Overall Rating

197 out of 228 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
95.2%
Value
90.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 205 of 217 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Edoardo Rossi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2013 Edoardo would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place,clean, friendly staff

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Sze Ki Fan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2013 Sze Ki would recommend this property

Liked: Every night have activities, easy to meet people, if you travel alone.

Disliked: There is no private locker, a bit worry. Only 2 Toliets and 1 bathroom, share for 18 people, (3 female x 6 beds room in one floor)

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, they go out of their way for you, free courtesy pick up from bus station, free WiFi, good location.

Disliked: The security is a bit of a worry. We stayed in a room in block away from the main building, our window was overlooking a stairwell and would not lock. There were no lockers in the room so we felt worried about leaving our stuff there in case someone broke in. The kitchen was very under stocked. The whole place was a liltle shabby.

The property's response is...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2013

Liked: It was an appartement with a private room

Disliked: It s the durtiest place where we sleep during one year of travel all around the world. The room was reallz stinky

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013

Liked: The staff were very helpful and friendly. I liked the apartment feel to the rooms with two bedrooms sharing their own bathroom, kitchen and living room. The oven was a big plus!

Disliked: Cockroaches!!! And lots of them. The shower door didn't close properly so floor was always wet in bathroom. Didn't feel very clean! Also I booked a 4 bed dorm and pay more money, turns out if you book a 8 bed dorm you pay less and still get a 4 bed dorm. As my friend did! Because the apartments are made up of two 4 bed dorms!

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Helen Jeffery

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: We thought this hostel was great. We booked an 8 bed dorm and expected the usual big room with 4 bunk beds. What we actually got was a two bedroom apartment, each with two bunk beds (so sleeping four per room), a bathroom, a kitchen and a living area with sofas. It was great to only have to share the kitchen with 7 other people. The rooms and kitchen were cleaned daily. The hostel offered a BBQ and pizza nights, although we didn't join these. Had a nice pool and sun loungers on our balcony. The WiFi signal was a bit sporadic, but reached our room most of the time. Only a short walk to the shopping malls and beach, and free pick up and drop off at the Greyhound station. Would recommend.

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neva Brentnall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2013 Neva would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely atmosphere, things organised every night (films by the pool), facilities, free wifi and the staff were lovely. The pick up from the bus station was a bonus, even though it was only a 5 minute walk, it was very welcomed.

Disliked: Nothing - great place to stay

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lizandra Felipe

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

12 January 2013 Lizandra would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is so friendly. It´s so easy to know people. There is party everyday.

Disliked: The room is not so clean.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gary Horne

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2012 Gary would recommend this property

Liked: More like a private apartment than a hostel

Disliked: Gary left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sick hostel, the staff are cool, can bring your own alcohol and play drinking games, social place and good for solo travellers, really good location near the clubs and beach

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Partying / nightlife

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice set up, we got private room and it was in a house adjacent to the main hostel, so we had a kitchen lounge and balcony only shared with one other room, and a private bathroom, but also access to all the hostel facilities. Staff were very friendly and helpful, and the activities they organised were great.

Disliked: nothing, it was awesome

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Stevve Khouw

Alone

Events / festivals
Visiting friends or family

08 December 2012 Stevve would recommend this property

Liked: Functional layout around the pool, each dorm room has living area, kitchen and appliances in good nick.

Disliked: No place to crowd around, like no common area for all to hang out, dorm room walls not insulated - hot even with windows opened and weak Wi-Fi signal, practically useless in the dorm, have to sit close to reception counter.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emily Gray

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

01 December 2012 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The way the rooms are set out.

Disliked: The way one of your staff members spoke to me; he was very rude! I dont like that reception closes so early in most places its 24 hours.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tara Books

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

30 November 2012 Tara would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are so friendly and rooms are nice and clean. TV in room, met alot of people on the balconies at night

Disliked: Tara left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

30 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and free wifi. Good location to.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2012

Liked: free internet, close to the beach

Disliked: rooms, bathroom and kitchen are very dirty (even in the private room apartments), TV is good but only 2 channels (in private room), beds re comfortable because of the extremely old mattresses

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Manny Riley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

14 November 2012 Manny would recommend this property

Liked: Place has a Bali theme to it and the grafitti on walls is amazing!!! Cleaners came in daily and staff really friendly. I had a great time here and would 100% go back!!

Disliked: Manny left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

14 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fun place, clean and easy to meet people. Real close to beach!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Robert Pickard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

10 November 2012 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the apartment style set-up. In addition to a typical dorm, the suite also had a living room with TV, a balcony overlooking the pool, and a kitchen with refrigerator. There was something organized most nights of the week, be it a BBQ or movie or pub crawl.

Disliked: The kitchen could've been a bit more well supplied in terms of plates, cutlery, etc. The furniture was functional, but a bit run down.

The property's response is...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Ashley Robillard

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 November 2012

Liked: Free Wifi was great to have. Location is great. Apartment style hostel was nice. Had an issue with a garbage bag that leaked all over the carpet. It smelt terrible and was absolutely disgusting but the hostel called carpet cleaners and had it cleaned up right away which was impressive.

Disliked: Unfortunately, this place was one of the dirtiest places we have stayed at on our year long travel. They clean every day but you would never know it. The kitchen in our hostel apartment was disgusting and had barely any equipment to use.We saw cockroaches every day. We were woken up in the middle of the night two nights in a row to people in our apartment who were drunk and came back to party more. The next day we found out they were people who actually work for the hostel. Most of them weren't even staying in our part of our hostel. The other guests in our hostel were filthy, leaving their stuff everywhere in the apartment not just their own rooms. I know that doesn't have anything to do with the hostel but the hostel staff were the ones who were hanging out in our part of the hostel so it unfortunately reflects on the hostel very poorly. This hostel has potential its just too bad our experience with it was so terrible.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Staff were very friendly and if you are traveling alone they have something on everynight which is a great way to meet other travellers.

Disliked: nothing

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool gets sun all day so great place to meet others. Real cool Bali feel to it!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

George Span

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

27 October 2012 George would recommend this property

Liked: Cleaned each day by really nice staff. Liked the dorm set up and the chill out room.

Disliked: George left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tina Molloy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

26 October 2012 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: Loved this hostel!!!! Great if you want t o meet people and the dorms ar like mini apartments so all round good place!!!

Disliked: Tina left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Smart

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 October 2012 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: Top place and top people!!! I will be back!!

Disliked: Alison left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...