We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Backpackers In Paradise

Hostel | 40 Peninsular Drive, 100 metres from TRANSIT CENTER, Surfers Paradise, Australia QLD

76.0% Overall Rating

97 out of 171 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/06/2014)

Sophie Losfeld thinks…

"In the center, 5 minutes walk from the beach and the stores. 2 minutes walk from the Greyhound bus, but a Shuttle can also pick you up. Swimming pool, chill place in the morning."

Read all Backpackers In Paradise reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 4.37

What's Included

  • Linen

Important Information

If you are later than 9pm please call before arrival. Reception closes at 10.30pm though security will check in anyone that arrives after this time. If you arrive after 6pm please, note that the backpacker's information desk will be closed For group bookings for more than 8 people should go through hostelbookers groups department otherwise it'll be cancelled by the property without refund. At check in you will require a valid ID such as a passport We do NOT take schoolies; you must have an International Passport to Check in and be over 18 years old WARNING: No Check in or Check out on the 24th December or 31st December. NO EXECPTIONS.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Surfers Paradise?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Surfers Paradise

Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers
24.45 USD

Hostel 90.5% 223 reviews
Islander Backpacker Resort
23.58 USD

Hostel 81.0% 356 reviews
Gold Coast Backpackers
26.20 USD

Hostel 80.8% 115 reviews
President Holiday Apartments
60.04 USD

Apartment 67.9% 4 reviews
Alexander Holiday Apartments
31.66 USD

Apartment 85.7% 11 reviews
Budds in Surfers
24.45 USD

Hostel 85.3% 58 reviews
Surfers Paradise Backpackers Resort
24.45 USD

Hostel 84.8% 150 reviews
Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers
23.58 USD

Hostel 78.6% 98 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.0%

Overall Rating

97 out of 171 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Backpackers In Paradise'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
68.8%
Staff
72.0%
Value
75.2%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 102 of 106 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Jenni Hall

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2014

Liked: Location, good for people wanting to party

Disliked: Very dirty, several cockroaches found in the bedroom, there was a dead Beatle in the bathroom for the whole of our stay despite the bathroom supposedly being cleaned daily, small kitchen where pigeons regularly walk on the counters.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

kristina root

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 October 2014

Liked: its close to the city

Disliked: everything else. dirty, reeeallly unfriendly stuff, bad atmosphere (never had this before like that).the kitchen is horror. they only had one spoon and all other stuff was ALWAYS dirty. you have to make your bed by yourself. no breakfast (evey other hostel in surfers has breakfast included)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ligia Oliveira Silva

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014 Ligia would recommend this property

Liked: Friendlier people and good environment

Disliked: Ligia left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Lisa Knorps

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2014

Liked: Nice people, good partyoffers

Disliked: We told the staff that we were going to have an early checkout but there was no one who could check us out and they closed the reception half an hour early so we had no chance to get our key deposit back

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect!

Disliked: The shared bathroom had doors directly to the private room which was a bit strange.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sophie Losfeld

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 June 2014 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: In the center, 5 minutes walk from the beach and the stores. 2 minutes walk from the Greyhound bus, but a Shuttle can also pick you up. Swimming pool, chill place in the morning.

Disliked: We are in the party city, so party all the day and night in the establishment. Lack of secure (no luggage room...)

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 June 2014

Liked: location was fine, otherwise I was very disappointed

Disliked: The place was dirty. I was in a 4 girl share room and there was sh*t lying around everywhere! Not just clothes but food and started drinks. It looked like a party had been celebrated in there the previous night but it always looked like that! The entertainment area was right outside my room and people would sit out there and talk and listen to music until very late. Then the bottles would be collected which is also very loud. My room was also right next to the convenience store that opened at 5.30 am. This is a great thing to have but they seemed to think it was necessary to play loud music at 5.30 am as well. Which means I got quiet between midnight and 5.30. I got unlucky with one disrespectful roommate but can't really blame this on the hostel. I have stayed in many hostels before and this one has got to be one of the worst! But if you want to party all the time then it might be right for you. If you are wanting to sleep so you can enjoy the gold coast during the day: STAY AWAY! when I wanted to check out early, cause I needed a good nights sleep and an opportunity arose, I could not get a refund, not even partial and the receptionist was no help what so ever!

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and rounded everybody up for a bar crawl. The hostel was close to everything.

Disliked: The mattresses were sponge and had all indentations in, not making it a comfy stay. It was annoying that you can't bring your own alcohol in and had to buy from the bar.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ni Putu Gianitri Widyashanti

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Ni Putu Gianitri would recommend this property

Liked: Close enough with surfer paradise transit centre, worth value of money.

Disliked: Door in one of room at 2nd floor was stuck! Hard to open from inside, thanks for the guy outside who push it for us.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The 4 bed rooms had a private ensuite which was great. Also the hostel had a fun vibe and everyone was so nice.

Disliked: No air con just a small fan. Queensland is super hot I wouldn't have enjoyed staying there so much mid summer.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kara Tollworthy

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2014 Kara would recommend this property

Liked: It has a swimming pool

Disliked: Music comes on very early

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 March 2014

Liked: Free movie room, friendly backpacker vibe

Disliked: Really basic rooms, not well looked after

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

28 February 2014

Liked: Location, kitchen was decent.

Disliked: Upon arrival they tried to overcharge us, we were put into separate 4 bed rooms when we booked an 8 bed to stay together which wasnt a problem, it just wasn't what we booked. Rooms weren't great, but fine to sleep in.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Grace White

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2014 Grace would recommend this property

Liked: shared areas, grass look.

Disliked: rooms were hot!

The property's response is...

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2013

Liked: very central

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nataliya Pasyak

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

28 October 2013 Nataliya would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms, friendly staff, great location

Disliked: Kitchen smells

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ricky Humble

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 July 2013 Ricky would recommend this property

Liked: Location and outdoor pool

Disliked: Hard floor, cold at times

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Fiedler

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 July 2013 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Good stay at this backpacker, was a really great place for surfing & party. Good price aswell.

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Deanne Lesley

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 June 2013

Liked: The beds were comfortable

Disliked: The rule of NO BYO. Too late notice when you are checking in & already have all your alcohol.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Luke de Gouw

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 June 2013 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, treated us really well. Big thanks to Alex. Great location, always something to do every night even if we weeny up for it. Great bar/shop. Nice tidy rooms for the price. Thanks from the 3 ozzies

Disliked: Nothing really

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

01 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the bedroom, the cleanliness in general, the kitchen is very big and very clean too. The staff at the reception is always smily and very friendly. You can hire a bike for 2 hours FREE. There is a shuttle all day to drive us to the city (a bit far...)

Disliked: A bit too far compared to the city

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

13 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big rooms, very clean, good location, swimming pool

Disliked: unfriendly barkeeper at the hostel's bar

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

11 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was close to everything, big nights were organised for every night which was good if you don't know the place or where is good to go, was a great idea to meet everyone too! They got you good deals on places too! Staff were lovely and happy to help with anything! I would definately go back!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Kim Cordell

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 May 2013

Liked: The staff were very friendly and there was a nice sun lounging area. The hostel was so close to the main strip of surfers and close to the bus station which was great for us!

Disliked: There was only one bathroom in our dorm room of 14 and no other bathrooms on site other than in rooms which meant it was a bit of hassle if you had to leave and other people were in the bathroom. The room was quite dirty with dirty crockery on the side and a paper cup of drink that was obviously untouched and leaking but hadn't been put in the bin. The door to the room was always open although there were lockers.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to everything in Surfers Paradise.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...