HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Trekkers Backpackers Resort

Hostel | 22 White St, Southport, Surfers Paradise, Australia QLD 4215

68.1% Overall Rating

219 out of 273 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2013)

"The staff were very nice and helpful. The kitchen was small but clean. Free breakfast is ok."

Read all Trekkers Backpackers Resort reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 4.68

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

WE REQUIRE 48 HOURS NOTICE PRIOR TO BOOKING.AND ACCEPT INTERNATIONAL PASSPORT HOLDERS ONLY. PLEASE NOTE THAT WHEN MAKING A RESERVATION THAT YOU LET US KNOW YOUR TIME OF ARRIVAL AS THERE IS NO CHECK-IN AFTER 9:30PM.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Surfers Paradise?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Surfers Paradise

Aquarius Backpackers
24.32 USD

Hostel 79.4% 30 reviews
Surfers Paradise YHA at Main Beach
26.19 USD

Hostel 68.8% 12 reviews
Surf n Sun Beachside Backpackers
29.93 USD

Hostel 80.7% 92 reviews
Budds in Surfers
23.38 USD

Hostel 77.8% 42 reviews
Backpackers In Paradise
21.51 USD

Hostel 80.2% 162 reviews
Islander Resort Hotel
49.11 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Sleeping Inn Surfers Backpackers
23.38 USD

Hostel 77.6% 204 reviews
Islander Backpacker Resort
23.38 USD

Hostel 79.4% 347 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.1%

Overall Rating

219 out of 273 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Trekkers Backpackers Resort'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
65.6%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
59.2%
Staff
75.2%
Value
64.8%
Safety
75.2%
Refine your results Showing 201 of 211 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Jennie Esposito

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 January 2014

Liked: Cereal for breakfast

Disliked: It was quite dirty. Our door didn't lock properly. Staff were quite rude. Local town had no restaurants opwn past 9pm

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

30 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: not too much expensive

Disliked: bathrooms extremely dirty, smallest rooms I have ever seen, really old place, even people lthat were staying there seemed weird

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

28 September 2013

Liked: Close to everything. Staff are nice.

Disliked: When we arrived at 6pm, our 2 double rooms we booked had not even been cleaned. Rubbish in rooms and no sheets etc. Room was not ready and they had hours to clean it. Had to wait an hour! And paid $140 in total.. not happy.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

18 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The family atmosphere, the games room and the comfy beds!.

Disliked: Nothing!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very nice and helpful. The kitchen was small but clean. Free breakfast is ok.

Disliked: The ensuit bathroom was shared by one 6-bed dorm and a twin private room. The visitors may need to wait in case of unluck. The provision time of ree breakfast is short. It was also inconvenient to use a lighter for the stove.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, rooms in good shape

Disliked: really needs a good clean, not good value for money, have seen better places for same price. showers are a disgrace, all unisex

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Philippe Blaser

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

27 January 2013 Philippe would recommend this property

Liked: Really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. Never had such friendly staff before. It's quite far from surfers paradise but they offer a free shuttle 5 times a day, so it's alright.

Disliked: Nothing. Great place to stay

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway

09 January 2013

Liked: It was a live-able place, double room had a sofa in it so it was spacious enough.

Disliked: The bathroom was pretty dusty, shower was not clean and thus making the shower experience very poor. The bathroom toilet was far from comfortable, only usable. Kitchen refridgerator was packed and we were unable to put too many things in, pool space was not a attractive recreational space at all. All in all, it was bearable but wasn't enjoyable.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

08 January 2013

Liked: The pool!

Disliked: The woman in the reception (who was rude from the start) was barely in the reception and she sold us tickets for the Skypoint Climb without reserving seats for us there, so when we arrived there, there was no booking for us and they were close to refuse our climbing even though we already had paid the climbing through the hostel reception.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2013

Liked: Not much really!

Disliked: On my floor there were only two toilets, one was constantly blocked and the other never had any toilet roll. The shower was cold and looked quite dirty. The pool did not look very inviting and there was not sufficient seating around it. There was a free pick up from the bus station but they would not budge their times to get me back to the station in time for my bus at 10am in the morning, not exactly unsociable hours!

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Patrick Ranke

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

07 November 2012

Liked: The location was central to Southport. So if you are wanting to be near main shops, eaterys in Southport than the location is good

Disliked: It was very loud, particularly at night. I understand that most of the people are there to have a good time but there should be noise restrictions in place so that others can actually get to sleep at night. The positioning of some of the rooms are terrible in relation to where people gather to be rowdy

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Jure Slatenšek

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

29 October 2012

Liked: location is good

Disliked: staff is not very friendly

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Reece Gledhill

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

20 September 2012 Reece would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone is really welcoming, the free breakfast and the fact that you can bring your own beer saves so much money. The facilities are good, nice outdoor area with a pool and the regular shuttles to Surfers Paradise make everything really easy.

Disliked: Reece left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very kind reception, close to shopping centre, and can walk to GC marathon start point in less than 10min!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LI-CHUN CHIU

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2012 LI-CHUN would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, great place for stay.

Disliked: LI-CHUN left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

EDI RAHARJO

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 May 2012 EDI would recommend this property

Liked: Friendliness of the staff & the environment oh the hostel.

Disliked: - Its location is far from beach. - The free breakfast provided is Ionly cereal. - I have to pay for my luggage when I've checked out from the hostel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Stacey parbery

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

14 May 2012 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely brilliant value for money. You could get a free breakfast in the morning if you were up early enough. The owner Cliff would drive you almost anywhere for about half the price it would cost for a taxi. Very friendly and welcoming hostel!

Disliked: Not the greatest location. You could walk to the beach but youd take you around 25 mins to walk but we didn't mind. For the price you can't beat it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RISA ONDA

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2012 RISA would recommend this property

Liked: Staffes are very kind. We have nothing worry. And here is clean. Staffes always say hello to us.

Disliked: I feel how to pack to kitchen knife is danger a bit.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was homely with good facilities

Disliked: It was a bit of a walk from surfers

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2012

Liked: The hostel ran a decent shuttle service between 10 and 6, and also picks up from coach station on request. This is however essential given that the hostel is not close to town centre and would need a taxi or bus if you wish to go out at night.

Disliked: The receptionists were curt and fairly cold. When I highlighted a gas smell I was ignored, they tried to retain deposits for infringements of other residents and for minor reasons (this was confirmed by a long term resident who said this was a very common occurence - they seemed exasperated with the treatment of a number of former residents). The owner was more reasonable, if a little patronising. THIS IS NOT A PARTY hostel. If you want to relax outside of town then this is great, but this is unusual for most visitors of the town. A noise complaint from neighbours curtailed evening activities at 9pm on a Friday night (not a reason to retain deposits in my view particularly given that after the complaint no noise was made)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

lisa holt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012 lisa would recommend this property

Liked: staff all very friendly, free courtesy bus

Disliked: too quiet, no atmosphere, long walk to town and beach

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Zhang Zhiyi

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Zhang would recommend this property

Liked: Everything else except the matteress.

Disliked: Matteress is way too soft, cant really slp well and have a backache the next day

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staffs.

Disliked: Kitchen closed at midnight.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and the hostel was always clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Fabio Almeida

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Romantic getaway

06 January 2012 Fabio would recommend this property

Liked: Was a good experience, friendly staff and guests

Disliked: Too expensive the laundry facilities