We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers/Port Macquarie YHA

Hostel | 36 Waugh Street, Port Macquarie, Australia 2444

90.1% Overall Rating

116 out of 119 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/09/2014)

Serra Battal thinks…

"Probably the most clean hostel I have ever been in my life. The kitchen was always tidy and clean, there was a nice lady clenaing it daily. The rooms were also clean. Because it is winter, there…"

Read all Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers/Port Macquarie YHA reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.87

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Port Macquarie?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

116 out of 119 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers/Port Macquarie YHA'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 105 of 116 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Serra Battal

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2014 Serra would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the most clean hostel I have ever been in my life. The kitchen was always tidy and clean, there was a nice lady clenaing it daily. The rooms were also clean. Because it is winter, there weren't a lot of people staying at the hostel and even though I was booked in a 4 bed dormitory, I was the only one to stay in the room for 2 of the 3 nights I was there. It made me feel good to know that I was paying a lot less for what turned out to be a single room for two nights.

Disliked: They weren't too helpful with getting me from the bus station. They didn't come at the time I told them I would be there so I had to ask for a random stranger to take me to the hostel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pool table

Disliked: Great place friendly staff loved our stay

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sophie Wallington

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2014 Sophie would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and the kitchen was immaculate and well equipped. Friendly atmosphere too.

Disliked: To snothing!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the accommodation facilities and overall intimate atmosphere.

Disliked: It was very loud at night time. No aircon in my room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its a very relaxed atmosphere, there are enough activities in the area and the sunrise surfing is really nice, even for a first time surfer like myself. It is quiet at night which means youll actually get a good nights sleep.

Disliked: They are very strict on the 23h courtyard closing, which is a good thing, but they could be a bit more friendly in that.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ozzie Pozzies just turned into a YHA hostel, so it was really clean and new. The owner picked us up at the bus stop, and he was really really helpful and friendly!

Disliked: -

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aimee Lobban

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 January 2014 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: When we arrived the staff were really helpful and welcoming, they showed us a map and suggested places to go. Due to there not being much dorm space we were upgraded to a double room! Which was great! The bathroom was separate to the dorms bathrooms and it was very clean and almost like having an ensuite! Absolutely loved the games room too, free ping pong, table football, pool and air hockey. Great to do in the evening or to kill time waiting for the shuttle to the bus! They also had free body boards (for a deposit) which were great to take to the local beach for the day! Loved it, would definitely come back!

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Imaginitive decor, clean, friendly, helpful,staff and a nice double Ensuite room.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jessie connor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2013 jessie would recommend this property

Liked: The beds are comfortable! Pretty sure the use fabric softener! Smells delicious. Bathrooms are like a hotel. The couches in the common room also sooooo comfortable. Clean clean clean!

Disliked: The pool is too cold.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

wayne tyte

As a family with children

Family Holiday

04 October 2013 wayne would recommend this property

Liked: the facilities where great ping pong table pool table and I had our own private shower for me and my young kids plus the TV room was excellent

Disliked: we didn't have our own room key, the room had to be left unlocked so we could come and go anybody could have entered

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Suzanne Stekelenburg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Suzanne would recommend this property

Liked: Swimming pool, people, BBQ etc....

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Breuer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: great atmospher and nice Staff. It is a really cool Hostel and i loved my stay there!

Disliked: Nothing!!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of free entertainment!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shaun Beales

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2013 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: They explained what to do in the area. Organised activities, offered a wide range of facilities and trips.

Disliked: Little rough round the edges. Smoking in main area allowed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome pool, atmosphere, games room and common areas. Great vibe and friendly staff. Walking distance to shops and beach.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really cute and cosy hostel. Would stay here again.

Disliked: No free wifi

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, The room was spotless and so was the en-suite. Staff were really friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The pool and other common areas are excellent!

Disliked: Have to pay for wifi but a more reasonable price than some other places

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Chadderton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 November 2012 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: It's a very well set out hostel - large common areas, nice pool, good games room (free pool table, table tennis and table football) and the tv room is great with all the digital channels. Rooms are basic but clean and not overcrowded. Showers and bathroom are nice and clean, the staff are very friendly and helpful and the location is 5 mins walk to the shops and main town centre. First time I have given 100% to a hostel.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was plenty of space to chill out and the $5 bike hire was great.

Disliked: I booked this accommodation because it said there was free breakfast and free wifi. As they have now become a YHA breakfast is not provided and the wifi was far from free.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claire Walker

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2012 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were really friendly and helpful. Rooms and toilets/showers were clean.

Disliked: Claire left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Clement CHARRE

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2012 Clement would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff ^^ Good atmosphere great stay. Free internet and Brekfast nice .

Disliked: Clement left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Borg

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: great tv room, free internet, nice clean rooms

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The decorations are awesome and colourful. They have loads of variety of birds around. Loads of areas to chill and the games room is all free... FREE POOL WOO! Staff are all friendly and helpful Ended up extending our stay here, as we had such a great time.

Disliked: nothing its da best yo

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place was pretty quiet when I was there in the winter. They have a nice pool area and free internet (but only on their 4 computers, no wifi)

Disliked: It's not right in town, about a 10min walk. But they will pick you up from the bus station.