HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers/Port Macquarie YHA

Hostel | 36 Waugh Street, Port Macquarie, Australia 2444

90.3% Overall Rating

115 out of 118 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/05/2014)

Sophie Wallington thinks…

"Very clean and the kitchen was immaculate and well equipped. Friendly atmosphere too."

Read all Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers/Port Macquarie YHA reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.93

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Port Macquarie?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

115 out of 118 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers/Port Macquarie YHA'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 104 of 115 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Penny Dewhurst

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2010 Penny would recommend this property

Liked: I loved this hostel, it has been my favourite by far and I have travelled all down the east coast. The hostel has a very friendly, homely feel to it, you get this from the second you arrive til the moment you leave. There is a seating area where you can sit and eat or drink and meet people which is allowed til 11pm when people stil drinkin etc are asked to move to the front so people wanting to sleep arent disturbed which we loved as we love our sleep. The kitchen is a good size and is equiped for all your needs plus this is the 1st hostel where everyone actually cleans up and puts away after themselves. Free tea and coffee throughout the day felt like a little treat as we're on such a tight budget altho you have to buy your own milk. Breakfast is included, cereal, toast and lots of things to put on top which was fresh daily and not at a ridiculous time so you could talk full advantage of it. The bathrooms were always clean and had separate male and female toilets and showers which never seemed to be over crowded. I stayed in a 6 bed dorm which was spacous and clean and the beds really comfy. Staff we really knowledgable and friendly and went out their way to help. This hostel has an amzing pool, its a good size with sun loungers which we loved as came for a chill out. Location is great as its 10 mins from the greyhound stop (although they will pick you up and drop you off depending on the time) coles and woolworths nearby and lots of nice walks to do. Go to the koala hospital, its about a 30 min walk (or you can hire a bije from the hostel) and its free entry just a donation is optional.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

24 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable, friendly place

Disliked: All fine

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really great location; nice staff; a nice pool; a lot of activities, like sunrise surfing

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pick Up from Bus Station, free internet, free breakfast but NO MILK, a lot of games in the entertainmnet room, friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Laid back, friendly and helpful staff with lots of facilities

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jane Radley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2010 Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean - the cleanest hostel I've been in I'd say. Also very laid back atmosphere and the staff are really helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Nothing I didn't like. I was unlucky with room mates who came in late and put on the lights and continued talking and laughing loudly completely ignoring that I was in bed and trying to sleep. But I'd recommend to anyone, luck of the draw really if you get ignorant selfish people to share the room with.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good place to chill out! Nice, helpful, friendly staff. Loads of facilities available and for free which is fab! It has a pool which will be excellent in the summer for relaxing around with other backpackers!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Grosz

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

26 August 2010 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely the best hostel so far. Staff is great and amazingly helpful, haven't seen any other hostel that was as clean as this one. Free internet tops everything up. Would definitely come again and recommend it to anyone else...

Disliked: Nicole left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, great facilities. Had a great time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Schwitter Oliver

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

01 July 2010 Schwitter would recommend this property

Liked: Das Personal ist echt freundlich und die Atmosphaere ist toll. Das Zimmer war sauber und O.K.

Disliked: Nichts

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maria Knox

11 April 2010 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and tidy hostel with very friendly and helpfull staff. I would recommend Ozzie Pozzie to my friends and other travellers and would definitely stay here again. Overall very nice place :)

Disliked: Maria left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ozzie Pozzie Hostel was definitely one of the best hostels I stayed in Australia. I met many friendly people and had a lot of fun visiting the Koala Hospital, surfing at the beaches or just being lazy and watching a movie in the hostel-tv-room.The hostel has a big swimmingpool, a games room with airhockey and poolbillard, a tv-room with a big collection of vhs movies to watch and free!! internetaccess, so its really worth the money.The staff is really friendly and has a lot of hints what you can do in the surrounding area.the pizza-night, the sausage sizzle or the pool-volleyball-tournament is a good time to meet new people and make new friends.That's why im extended my stay here for another 3 days and im really sad i have to leave tomorrow. I would recommend the hostel to everybody!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: only the breakfast didn't look nice and you have to buy your own milk. So I just bought my own cerial too...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

15 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was really friendly there. Bit of a walk out from town though. Would definitely recommend it to anyone travelling though port though.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

25 January 2010

Liked: -overpriced- horrendous mattress- one of our doubles smelt of damp (this was normal apparently)- bathroom was sooooo old and horrible- kitchen had virtually no utensils- we checked out after one night

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms in a nice area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Small but everybody very friendly, great place to explore the beaches of Port Macquarie from!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Oliver Suckling

21 December 2009 Oliver would recommend this property

Liked: Our double room was more like a hotel room with two massive cupboards and a large queen size bed. They're extending the hostel at the moment, so it should be even better in a couple of weeks. They have free body board hire too. Don't believe the 'free breakfast' though, it's little more than a box of budget museli in the kitchen, you even have to buy your own milk!

Disliked: Oliver left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janet Parkins

12 November 2009 Janet would recommend this property

Liked: It was a nice place to stay.

Disliked: Janet left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean shared bathroom

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -weather

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

28 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was good!@@

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels I have ever been. And I was travelling around Australia for almost 10 month now. There is a lot to do here. Play pool, or airhockey and thats all for free. Nice swimmingpool area.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andrew Yarnold

12 July 2009 Andrew would recommend this property

Liked: free museli breakfasts and free pool made this a stay to remember!

Disliked: Andrew left no negative feedback.