We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers/Port Macquarie YHA

Hostel | 36 Waugh Street, Port Macquarie, Australia 2444

90.1% Overall Rating

116 out of 119 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/09/2014)

Serra Battal thinks…

"Probably the most clean hostel I have ever been in my life. The kitchen was always tidy and clean, there was a nice lady clenaing it daily. The rooms were also clean. Because it is winter, there…"

Read all Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers/Port Macquarie YHA reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.87

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Port Macquarie?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.1%

Overall Rating

116 out of 119 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers/Port Macquarie YHA'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
88.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 105 of 116 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

vikki wilson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2011 vikki would recommend this property

Liked: Free pick up form the bus, bike hire which was great fun, short walk to most things except the beaches.

Disliked: Bit expensive compared to other hostels

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff and free pick up/ drop offs

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Have been traveling for 3 months and really liked this hostel! Its got a really cool chilled out feel! Staff are friendly and helpful!the place is clean and feels safe! Has free internet and basic free breakfast..just need your own milk! Good location from which to explore Port Macquarie and Nice poo if your not in a beach mood! Also discounts at Dominoes :)

Disliked: Nothing!!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Tamara Borowsky

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 December 2011 Tamara would recommend this property

Liked: very nice and helpful staff, nice pool area, pretty good dorm room, free internet computers. 11 PM curfew very well respected.

Disliked: there's constant cigarette smoke that even reaches the dorm near the reception. The common area is all outside and too small and the TV room has no door so all the smoke that people are exhaling comes in and it's really not fun for non smokers. And also they make so much noise that you can't even hear the TV. Also, the free breakfast should at least include milk to go with the cereal...and should be till later in the morning. There's 4 free computers with internet but no microphone or video to use skype with and no wifi for people with laptops.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I normally never write reviews, but this time I do. This was definitely one of the best hostels I've ever been! The atmosphere is awesome, there are a lot of offers (pool, tabletennis, free internet, very cosy lounges, ...) and the stuff is really funny and friendly. The hostel is very clean and just some minutes walk away from the city. I recommend this hostel to everybody!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it has everything, makes you feel at home.. very good place to stay whether traveling alone or as a group

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy Movie/ tv room Open plan outdoor seating/ games/ pool Pool and pool side area to relax Very welcoming staff who get involved and in chatting and activities with you, ie. wine tasting on a whim! Very clean rooms Good kitchen Free internet

Disliked: I guess it is a little bit of a walk from the beaches, but not too bad.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the rooms, everything

Disliked: there is nothing I disliked about this prober

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Rosalind Arif

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2011 Rosalind would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and met some lovely people there. The staff were great and joined in, gave lifts etc. Definitely recommend!

Disliked: I stayed in 6 bed dorm in October and it got very hot at night due to no fan.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I have ever stayed in. Lovely people and a great atmosphere!!!

Disliked: Literally nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

John Antunovich

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff. Well setup hostel.

Disliked: nil

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Niamh Connor

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 July 2011 Niamh would recommend this property

Liked: the staff were awesome:)! very helpful.. clean facilities... good games room and pool.. loved the bikes

Disliked: slightly basic rooms

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Victor Wei

Alone

Business / conference

26 May 2011 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: Well equipped, free internet, free breakfast

Disliked: Shower temperature was unstable

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, nice rooms & atmosphere

Disliked: the bikes for hire aren't very good. 1 gear only - no good for getting around a hilly town like Port Macquarie.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Kitchen was clean and well equipped. Staff really friendly and helpful, and the first time in australia anyone in the hostel has actually bothered to show us around the place! Rooms and bathrooms were clean and spacious. Really nice atmosphere. Really cheap bike hire, free games room and a really nice movie room with comfy couches. This was one of our favourite hostels in australia!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Neil wood

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2011 Neil would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to meet people.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: So much to do in, or with, the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

14 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's location and very friendly staff!!

Disliked: bed matresses were thin and a little uncomfy!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcella Gosemann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2011 Marcella would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! We only stayed one night, but it was one of the best hostels we stayed in Australia. Our room was clean (so was the bathroom), the bed was very comfortable. All facilities were perfect, even free internet (on 4 computers, which actually worked). Nice place! Thanks!

Disliked: I could not use skype on the computer, which would have been great, since no internet cafe is around or was opened in the evening.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast is a real perk when on a backpacker budget, as is the free internet. It's tricky to find hostels which offer both of these! The staff were helpful and picked us up/ dropped us off at the Greyhound station.

Disliked: We were a little concerned that you only have to take your pillowcase to reception upon checkout, not your bedsheets. This posed the question as to how often they were being cleaned? Our only other concern was the location, which is a good 5-10 min walk from the centre and the bars/restaurants. As a couple we were ok walking back at night but I think if you were lone, female backpackers then you would be reluctant to make the walk on your own as it's through quiet, dark housing estates.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly stuff. Clean rooms, bathroom and kitchen. Free internet (though, very slow), We arrived very late at night, but that wasn't a problem

Disliked: nothing, it's a really nice hostel

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John Baker

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2011 John would recommend this property

Liked: Good hostel. Rooms are a good size, plenty of communal areas. Kitchen is clean and useable. Games room and pool are well kept and good fun. Pick-up service runs well and the staff are extra helpful. Cheap pizza from the takeaway is great too! Location isn't bad, walking distance from shops etc.

Disliked: Nothing really. The free internet is just 3 computers that are always busy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and People

Disliked: nothing