HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers/Port Macquarie YHA

Hostel | 36 Waugh Street, Port Macquarie, Australia 2444

90.3% Overall Rating

115 out of 118 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/05/2014)

Sophie Wallington thinks…

"Very clean and the kitchen was immaculate and well equipped. Friendly atmosphere too."

Read all Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers/Port Macquarie YHA reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Bicycle hire
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 0.94

What's Included

  • Airport Pickup
  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Port Macquarie?

Contact us directly

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.3%

Overall Rating

115 out of 118 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Ozzie Pozzie Backpackers/Port Macquarie YHA'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
91.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 104 of 115 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

LAURA HAMILTON

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 June 2012 LAURA would recommend this property

Liked: Now that I have stayed at many hostels in Australia, this hostel stands out as one of the best. I stayed in the girls dorm and it was spacious and clean. It was a shared shower, but it wasn't busy so I never had to wait to use it. The shower is really nice compared to many i've come across while travelling. The layout of the hostel was great as it made it easier to interact other travellers. I was lucky that there was a really nice group of people there when I stayed, so even though I was only there a couple of days it was brilliant. I was sad to leave this hostel! The kitchen is really big, there is no wifi, but that's not a problem as you can use their computers. We arrived in time for Pizza night, which was $8 for lots of pizza, garlic bread and wine, such good value for money and a good way to get to know the other travellers. There is a TV room, which is nice to chill out on a rainy day or of an evening. I like that the people that run the place make a real effort to bring everyone together and make you feel really welcome. They become a part of group rather than just a face behind the reception, like a lot of hostels. I will always have fond memories of Ozzie Pozzie and would definitely stay there again if I was passing through Port Macquarie.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lee Ball

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2012 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are really approachable, friendly and knowledgeable.

Disliked: Nothing really!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shelby Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2012 Shelby would recommend this property

Liked: Extended my stay after just a few hours. The staff was great, they make you feel right at home instantly, some of the friendliest bunch I've met. They were helpful and eager to lend a hand and help me find my way around the area. The location was great too. 10 minute walk to the nearest Coles and tons of shops and a 15 minute walk to the town beach. The pool area was perfect for those lazy, hot days, and the colourful cabana was great to just chill out, escape the sun and listen to some music. And if you're travelling alone, the birds there are great company and really entertaining! I'll definitely be visiting again when I make my way back down the coast and will recommend this hostel to anyone!

Disliked: Shelby left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernie O'Regan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2012 Bernie would recommend this property

Liked: this hostel was spotless. the beds were comfy, the owner was lovely, there was a free spotlessly clean swimming pool, there was lovely free breakfast, we had a car and there was free parking so it was great, it was in a great location which was also quiet and safe.

Disliked: Bernie left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The loacation was good as it was near to the Marina and the shops. The games room was really good too with pool, table tennis and air hockey. FREE internet which is a bonus when travelling and FREE breakfast too.

Disliked: The bedrooms are really small and compact and they need cleaning a little better. My bed had sand all over the sheets and hair which didnt belong to me so I didn't really want to sleep in the bed. Also there is no fan in the room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Evelien van Dijk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2012 Evelien would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really helpfull and friendly and one big family. The ambiance is relaxt and friendly, everyone talks to eachother

Disliked: The showers get hot and cold and than hot again etc.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet Cool staff Cool atmosphere with free gaming area Nice kitchen and porch. Nice people. Cheap surf courses and tours. Very good brekkie.

Disliked: Nothing. Probably a some Dollars too expensive.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

20 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, Free internet, Free gameroom, Free pick up, nice outdoor area, and a lot more!!

Disliked: We saw some spiders in the yard... yuk. The cooking facilities were quite poor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

lucy Vickers

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway

01 March 2012 lucy would recommend this property

Liked: FANTASTIC hostel, such friendly staff who are always willing to help. Lovely surroundings with averies. Clean Kitchen with plenty of facilities, games room, rooms are spotless, clean toilet shower, great tour that the hostel offer "Kayaking in the rapids" well worth doing, great guide, no litter, good location. would reccommend to anybody, and would love to go back!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere. Staff were friendly and helpful. Good shuttle service. Would stay here again for longer!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything!!!!! The staff is really friendly, Cheeky is the coolest bird ever, the atmosphere is great, the rooms are clean and nice, the kitchen is big enough and well arranged and the rest is great as well. Best hostel we stayed in so far!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are ridiculously friendly! Immediately felt welcome, and was gived a map with heaps of activities to do in Port Macquarrie and also a list of activities organised by the hostel. Great social set up - big TV/movies room, free pool table, foozball, pool etc. Room was spacious and bunks very comfortable. Free breaky provided and full kitchen to prepare own meals if desired. Highly recommend!

Disliked: Nothing to dislike! Best hostel I have ever stayed in. Will be going back

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice small hostel not too crowded, clean rooms, kitchen and showers. The staff were the best really helpful and friendly, around all the time even when reception was closed. Plenty of cutlery for everyone, good fridge space. Great TV room lots of films and they let us stay up late to watch the football. Free Games were loads of fun good for a rainy day like when we were there! Free internet also a great plus.

Disliked: Just the flow of the showers wasnt very straight, but I guess they cant help that, my fiance was happy with mens showers thoguh! I know its a small thing but would have liked a hand dryer in bathroom.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2012

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff. Nice games room.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best staff ever.

Disliked: -

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Rasmus Olesen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 January 2012 Rasmus would recommend this property

Liked: It was awesome, really great staff and lots too do

Disliked: Maybe it was a little expensive

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

05 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel had a friendly atmosphere, there were lots of things to do, games, pool etc. It was located right next to the beach, the staff were friendly, good value for money.

Disliked: Breakfast was only between 8.30 and 9.30 and the kitchen was a bit dirty, but not too bad.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaanvi Patel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 January 2012 Jaanvi would recommend this property

Liked: Small hostel, easy to get to know everyone in the hostel. Lots of fun things to do - pool table, table tennis, pool. Richard gives good advice on what to do/where to go. Lovely atmosphere.

Disliked: Jaanvi left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

david brewerton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 December 2011 david would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms and common areas, all staff were really friendly

Disliked: No bus service to catch the early greyhound

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lisa Kron

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

16 December 2011 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: great staff, free internet (not wifi), free breakfast (toast and cereals - you buy the milk)

Disliked: the beds could been better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great Hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a wonderful facility. Free pick up, free cereal and toast (need your own milk), pool, games, tv. There are 4 computers with free internet, but they get busy. The rooms were clean. I would definitely recommend it.

Disliked: Its in a residential area, and its a little walk to town. No where near the beaches though. The showers and kitchen got messy quickly.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet, games room. Room was nice and quiet because it was set away from the courtyard, nice big pool and lots of areas to sit and relax

Disliked: you have to provide your own milk for the free breakfast. My mattress was very thin and uncomfortable. They don't clean the duvet cover every time a new guest arrives. Smoke gets into the TV room and kitchen because everywhere is open. Outrageous that you are made to pay $10 day fee if you are on a night bus-it claims to be backpacker friendly but no backpacker would ever think this was a good idea!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

vikki wilson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 December 2011 vikki would recommend this property

Liked: Free pick up form the bus, bike hire which was great fun, short walk to most things except the beaches.

Disliked: Bit expensive compared to other hostels