We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

HostelBookers Logo
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

Please select from the dropdowns
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
Invalid date
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/11/2016
Invalid date
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/11/2016
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

Top Rated Hostels in Perth, Australia

22 reviews Book Now 

City Perth Backpackers Hostel

5 Fitzgerald Street, Northbridge, Perth, Australia 6003

22 out of 22 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend City Perth Backpackers Hostel

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 89% Facilities - 89% Safety - 92%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 91%
Dala Wolyniec
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
Dala would recommend this property 21 August 2015

Good location, clean. I arrived after midnight but there was no problem to come in, because staff left room key in the envelope.

Customer review
City break
Customer would recommend this property 21 August 2015

The hostel is professionally run. They employ cleaners and don't have people working for accommodation so it appears they do a much better job. Free breakfast is not bad and a good add on. The wifi works pretty well. Its not a party hostel but people enjoy having a drink over dinner or conversation

7 reviews Book Now 

Wickham Retreat Backpackers

25-27 Wickham street, Perth, Australia 6004

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Wickham Retreat Backpackers

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 100% Facilities - 82% Safety - 85%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 88%
Jade Threlfall
Backpacking / gap year
Jade would recommend this property 21 September 2015

This was a great hostel to stay at and can see why it is popular. The free food and services was great, the staff and travellers there were very friendly to each other and had a real homely feel to it, as this was the first stop on my journey it was nice to feel comfortable about leaving my things out in the open and know they were secure.

Marc Dungey
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
Marc would recommend this property 11 June 2014

Awesome selection of free food, very safe and security - homely. Marie is an A+ staffer!!

206 reviews Book Now 

North Lodge Backpackers/Perth City Appartments

225 Beaufort Street, Perth, Australia 6000

144 out of 206 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend North Lodge Backpackers/Perth City Appartments

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 89% Facilities - 76% Safety - 88%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 90%
Customer review
Backpacking / gap year
Customer would recommend this property 09 October 2015

Good location with 15 minute walk from CBD. Buses to and from the CBD are free. Frances who runs the lodge gave a warm welcome and explained the surroundings very well. Relatively quiet lodge so no sleep disturbances. Recommend this to fellow travellers. Also Chinatown not far which has great restaurants.

Alan Jarman
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
Alan would recommend this property 14 September 2015

Quite simply, it is outstanding, the best accommodation we had during the whole holiday.....by a country mile. Just for starters, the building is a real charmer.....but your photographs show that. What the photographs can't show is the proprietress, as charming as her surroundings, who goes out of her way to make your stay a memorable one. She is genuinely interested in her customers, asks what you need, and then goes out of her way to make sure you get it. When you add to this spotlessly-clean rooms, replete with vases of flowers which she has cut and arranged herself, and staff who are as polite as their employer, then you have an establishment which can really enhance your holiday. Oh, yes, it's also just a few paces from a CAT loop- bus stop and from another bus stop inside Perth's free-travel zone, and it's only a block from an IGA which opens early and closes late. We chose an apartment, not a backpacker dorm, because the price was comparable to other hotels in town with the bathroom down the hall...and we had our own kitchen, microwave, and frig. Frankly, next time we visit Perth, we won't even hesitate... This is the place to stay!

274 reviews Book Now 

The Emperor's Crown Backpackers

85 Stirling Street, Perth, Australia 6000

246 out of 274 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Emperor's Crown Backpackers

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 89% Facilities - 82% Safety - 86%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 85% Value - 83%
James Oakenfull
Backpacking / gap year
James would recommend this property 11 August 2015

Free WiFi, friendly helpful staff, Good T.V room, Common rooms open all night. Outdoor seating area. Big kitchen, Drinking games, Mustangs on a Wednesday, The bed is made when you 1st arrive.

Ciaran Head
Backpacking / gap year
Ciaran would recommend this property 31 July 2015

Ensuite bathrooms were great and seemed to be cleaned often enough. Rooms were comfortable and staff were very helpful with everything, actually the staff were amazing! Kitchen seemed well equipped although i didn't really use it in my short stay.

127 reviews Book Now 

Ocean Beach Backpackers

Cnr. Marine Pde & Eric St., Cottesloe Beach, Perth, Australia 6011

102 out of 127 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Ocean Beach Backpackers

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 90% Facilities - 83% Safety - 85%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 81%
alan dawes
Backpacking / gap year
alan would recommend this property 10 November 2015

friendly, great location, easy to get to from city. Plenty of cooking facilities. Cleaners kept the place as clean as possible, most people tended to clean up after using the kitchen. Did not notice any excessive noise. As hostels go, this suited me very well.

Customer review
Sightseeing & culture
Customer would recommend this property 14 August 2015

Very friendly staff. Good easy access to close by pub and drive thru. Place to park car. Actual hotel basic but clean and all u need for backpacking. I've stayed in places with less to offer for higher price.

63 reviews Book Now 

Western Beach Lodge

6 Westborough Street, Perth, Australia 6019

56 out of 63 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Western Beach Lodge

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 92% Facilities - 80% Safety - 84%
Location - 82% Cleanliness - 78% Value - 80%
Helen Gregory
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
Helen would recommend this property 17 March 2015

The beautiful beach location, some of the best beaches that I've seen, close to shops, pubs and restaurants. The airy rooms, comfortable bed, guests and staff are all friendly.

Leah Grech
With my spouse / partner
City break
Leah would recommend this property 20 January 2014

Very pleasant atmosphere. Amenities such as the shower and toilet were clean. room was tidy and the bed was comfortable.

174 reviews Book Now 

Witch's Hat Backpackers

Palmerston St, Perth, Australia 6000

152 out of 174 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Witch's Hat Backpackers

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 86% Facilities - 80% Safety - 82%
Location - 71% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 76%
Customer review
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
Customer would recommend this property 01 June 2015

Super friendly and accommodating staff Very helpful in booking tours, getting around and organizing taxis Definitely one of THE BEST hostels I've stayed in

kyriakos georgiou
Backpacking / gap year
kyriakos would recommend this property 27 May 2014

Staff(the two italian staff where great and helpful). 10min walk to nearby shops resturants

10 reviews Book Now 

One World Backpackers

162 Aberdeen Street, Perth, Australia 6003

9 out of 10 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend One World Backpackers

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 88% Facilities - 80% Safety - 76%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 70% Value - 74%
Customer review
Customer would recommend this property 23 October 2006

We really liked the friendly atmosphere in the hostel. It's like a big family because everyone knows each other

would recommend this property 07 August 2006

As I am travelling on my own, it is really important to me to get to new nice, funny, lovely and friendly people very soon. No problem in the OneWorld!!!! I felt so comfortable there, that i wished i could have stayed longer than just our nights..... an awesome place!

224 reviews Book Now 

Beatty Lodge

235 Vincent Street, Perth, Australia 6005

187 out of 224 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Beatty Lodge

Atmosphere - 76% Staff - 86% Facilities - 72% Safety - 83%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 79% Value - 76%
Graeme McCombe
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
Graeme would recommend this property 02 June 2015

Very close to the city and also the nice suburb of Leederville, good mix of travellers and workers

Customer review
Events / festivals
Customer would recommend this property 16 February 2015

It was as expected a backpackers. Well set up and fantastic friendly staff. Only downer was towels not provided. But having never stayed in a backpackers I didn't know this. Good atmosphere and felt safe all the time. Only problem was if you're staying on a weekend expect a bit of noise from next door. Otherwise I enjoyed the stay and would stay there again. The staff were excellent. That goes a long way in my books .

62 reviews Book Now 

Victoria Park Lodge

65 Leonard Street,, Victoria Park, Perth, Australia 6100

50 out of 62 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Victoria Park Lodge

Atmosphere - 81% Staff - 91% Facilities - 71% Safety - 75%
Location - 77% Cleanliness - 65% Value - 82%
chris ohagan
Work / volunteering
chris would recommend this property 09 September 2015

Very homely. Mei the manager is exceptionally friendly and goes out of her way to help you

Thomas lamb
City break
Thomas would recommend this property 03 September 2015

Mei the boss lady was sensational, very helpful and friendly and would do anything to help, definitely a place for younger transient people though, but it's a great no frills place that you can feel comfortable and easy.


31 Hostels from 15.10 USD


  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Perth hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Perth. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.