HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Perth hostels

Reviews of Victoria Park Lodge

Hostel | 65 Leonard Street, Victoria Park, Perth, Australia 6100

81.0% Overall Rating

33 out of 41 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (06/02/2014)

"The staff where extremely friendly and helpful, the facilities where good and we never really had any issues using them especially as it accommodates for so many people. Most of the other guests were friendly and easy…"

Read all Victoria Park Lodge reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Perth?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Perth

Wombat Backpackers
23.38 USD

Hostel 71.0% 12 reviews
Exclusive Backpackers
28.06 USD

Hostel 69.2% 18 reviews
Wickham Retreat Backpackers
32.74 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hay Street Backpackers
29.93 USD

Hostel 56.8% 49 reviews
YMCA Jewell House
92.60 USD

Hostel 67.7% 142 reviews
Banjos Backpackers
27.13 USD

Hostel 82.4% 43 reviews
The Hive Hostel
20.58 USD

Hostel 70.6% 44 reviews
The Emperor's Crown Backpackers
29.93 USD

Hostel 87.0% 250 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.0%

Overall Rating

33 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Victoria Park Lodge'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
72.8%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
92.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 36 of 41 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sebastian Mayer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

13 March 2014 Sebastian would recommend this property

Liked: It's like a small family in this hostel!

Disliked: Sebastian left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

02 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient overall

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Lauren Doherty

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Lillo Josserand

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2014 Lillo would recommend this property

Liked: Good price

Disliked: Far away from city

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2014

Liked: The staff where extremely friendly and helpful, the facilities where good and we never really had any issues using them especially as it accommodates for so many people. Most of the other guests were friendly and easy to get on with. Also plenty of space for everyone which is a nice change from other places we've stayed.

Disliked: Cleanliness, mainly down to other guests but still was not at all good. There were ants in the kitchen and basically everywhere else for that matter. The 'long stayers' took over the place quite a bit but on the most part were fairly friendly so wasn't such an issue. The location was pretty annoying as it's quite far from everywhere, public transport is cheap so not a big issue but not at all idea. Personally I'd recommend short stay travellers to spend a bit more money and stay in Fremantle as that's where all the beaches are and where most stuff is happening (there's not actually a lot to do in Perth unless you have lots of money) I'd definitely recommend this place to anyone who's looking to stay for a week or more.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

CHISA TOYODA

As a family with children

Family Holiday

13 January 2014 CHISA would recommend this property

Liked: Owner is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: CHISA left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely friendly hostel. Owner Mei and husband very friendly and helpful. They have done a lot of improvements over the past year. I liked my room and wifi was fast. Good atmosphere in hostel and easy to meet other travellers. Large widescreen tv in lounge. Large kitchen. 3 outdoor seating areas ideal for drinking a beer and chilling out. Still in zone 1 so from hostel only costs $4.20 each way on bus and train to Cottesloe Beach or Fremantle ( buy 2 zone ticket to get to beach ) . Directions to hostel, get bus 72 or 75 from Espanade Bus Port $2.80 ( free bus transfer from Perth Bus Stn ) and ask driver to tell you when you are at Berwick St by junction of Leonard St. Walk up Leonard St 3 minutes and hostel is on the left. From hostel 10 mins walk to Woolworths and 15 mins walk to Coles/Target. Lots of good bars and shops about 10 mins walk. Enjoyed staying here and will be back.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Abel Wood

Alone

City break

15 December 2013 Abel would recommend this property

Liked: I like the size of Victoria Park Lodge. Small enough to be homely and noncommercial feeling. Great very friendly staff and travelers. It is on a few bus routes so not hard to get to the city, and since it is out far enough there's no traffic noise at night.

Disliked: Security could be improved though I've not heard of anything going missing from there. If you are fussy it may not be up to your cleanliness standards.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy bed.

Disliked: Very old, noises doors and windows, need replacing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarat chandra viswanadh tata

Alone

Business / conference

23 September 2013 Sarat chandra viswanadh would recommend this property

Liked: The receptionist/manager was very good. She is a soft spoken lady.

Disliked: Take good care of your belongings as the car park area is open and people can easily pinch your items and escape.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

YUAN JUI CHENG

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2013 YUAN JUI would recommend this property

Liked: very kind hostel

Disliked: no

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

kelly ransome

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 June 2013 kelly would recommend this property

Liked: The management was good

Disliked: It was noisy at night when trying to sleep.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a small, family- atmosphere Hostel. The people are nice and friendly, especially the owner who cares a lot and has always a smile on her face. The value for price is the best in Perth because it's clean, Location isn't that bad (you only need about 10 min to the city with the bus) and there is free wifi.

Disliked: The people are nice, but almost everybody was older than me (20 years) which made it kind of hard to connect sometimes.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Jeffrey Green

Alone

Relaxation/spa

14 May 2013 Jeffrey would recommend this property

Liked: friendly owner with quiet location

Disliked: a bit grubby and uncared for

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

CHEUK MEI LAI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2013 CHEUK MEI would recommend this property

Liked: Owner-Mei is really really nice. As my dept flight is very late, she let me to store the luggage till late without any extra charge. The people staying there are all nice and friendly. I will recommend to others. 中文: 很好!!Mei 是個非常好客有禮的主人,很會幫助人。

Disliked: NIL

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Daniel Craven

Alone

Business / conference

02 May 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly staff, couldn't have felt more welcome. The free WIFI was the best thing, it is difficult to find internet at all in Perth, let alone free internet.

Disliked: Very dated and basic but for the price this is perfectly reasonable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

olivier lelandais

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2013 olivier would recommend this property

Liked: This is a pretty good Hostel ! We found it by internet, we arrived during the night and the staff was waiting for us, really nice. It's really calm, clean for a good price. It's not really an Hostel, it looks like a big house, like colocation. We already payd an expensive price for a bad room but here, it's cheaper for a better quality. Rooms and beds are comfortables with lot of accessories (tables, chairs, somethings for clothes...). We are not disapointed ! :)

Disliked: olivier left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

aurore Baholet

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013 aurore would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice staff, free wifi, quiet place

Disliked: aurore left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the owner lady is absolutely lovely, friendly and helpful und keeps everything clean, free wifi and free Parking and good price

Disliked: a bit out of town

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Craig Fellows

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2013 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: An hours walk from the city, easy access in the bus, quite close to shops and restaurants.

Disliked: Craig left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner mei is incredible polite

Disliked: The fact that was a little dirty expecially on the garden but they are fixing that problem now

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fong Chan

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 December 2012 Fong would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful lady. I almost late for flight. She took me to the airport. There is wifi. Walking distance to banks, employment help, supermarket and Woolworth. The building is under renovation. It should look better after done.

Disliked: Need to take 72 or 75 bus to the city centre.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Alex O'Grady

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 December 2012 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent owner very helpful and kind, free internet and washing which is a rarity in Australia. All fellow guests very friendly and will definitely be back next timeI'm in Perth! Thanks

Disliked: Nothing really

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 December 2012

Liked: The owner was friendly and helpful. Carpark was good.

Disliked: This place is a sharehouse rather than a hostel. It needs better management and more staff. Guests are loud at nights.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Kathryn Goddard

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2012

Liked: N/A

Disliked: The property looked like a building site, trash and household items all over the front yard. The furniture inside was scattered and untidy - causing me to trip and and break my toe in the front room. There were no locks on doors - and no lockers offered to me. I left my bags on my bed and took a shower - upon returning to my room my money had been taken out of my purse. The manager was not there to speak to - when she did eventually attend the property (2 hours after i was told) I was basically accused of lying about the theft - despite them and other guests confirming someone's wallet was stolen in the days prior to my stay. My bed was unmade - at approx 9pm i was handed sheets to make the bed myself (doing so on a top-bunk is very difficult with a newly-broken toe) - I didnt receive a pillow until about 10pm. I left as soon as I could the next morning.


See all Perth hostels