HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Perth hostels

Reviews of Underground Backpackers

Hostel | 268 Newcastle St , Northbridge, Perth, Australia 6003

68.1% Overall Rating

66 out of 112 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/05/2013)

"Service was friendly and efficient! Rooms and bathrooms were clean. Bonus that our room was ready at 1000am."

Read all Underground Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Must be over 18yrs and if booking made for under 18yrs - 10% deposit will not be refunded Any bookings for groups of more than 6 persons must be made through the Groups Bookings department. Failure to follow this procedure will mean your booking is canceled and that no refund will be given.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Perth?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Perth

Backpackers International Ladies Hostel
25.25 USD

Hostel 67.0% 36 reviews
Britannia on William
28.70 USD

Guesthouse 66.2% 80 reviews
Witch's Hat Backpackers
31.80 USD

Hostel 80.0% 163 reviews
Coolibah Lodge
25.25 USD

Hostel 68.9% 73 reviews
The Old Swan Barracks
25.25 USD

Hostel 68.7% 185 reviews
North Lodge Backpackers/Perth City Appartments
28.06 USD

Hostel 70.7% 185 reviews
City Perth Backpackers Hostel
26.19 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Emperor's Crown Backpackers
29.93 USD

Hostel 87.0% 250 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.1%

Overall Rating

66 out of 112 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Underground Backpackers'

Atmosphere
59.2%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
64.0%
Staff
67.2%
Value
63.2%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 60 of 63 reviews 1 | 2 | 3   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Oisin Breathnach

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 October 2013 Oisin would recommend this property

Liked: Close proximity to town

Disliked: From the time we arrived dirt was evident and the bed and rented cutlery were dirty. Everything extra cost an arm and a leg the place was extremely noisy at all hours of the night also had to ask for our key deposit back quite evident the staff had not forgotten about but had rather hoped we had

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

rob young

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 June 2013 rob would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and tidy

Disliked: rob left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Service was friendly and efficient! Rooms and bathrooms were clean. Bonus that our room was ready at 1000am.

Disliked: Minor inconvenience, no lift and we were on the 3rd floor...but really not that big of a deal.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 May 2013

Liked: Great location, close to nightlife and city centre just a short walk. Clean showers and kitchen.

Disliked: Most people in the hostel are Irish and living in the hostel not travellers so difficult to meet people. When I arrived the receptionist wasn't very nice, didn't tell me anything about the hostel (free breakfast, where anything was etc) . Luckily the guy on reception the next day was nice. Stayed in 6 bed room alone for 2 nights so not great when you don't know anyone. Definitely stayed in better hostels but I've heard most of them in Perth are like this.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

josphine wanjiru kimani

Alone

Work / volunteering

18 April 2013 josphine wanjiru would recommend this property

Liked: Staff maintain law n order n cleanliness considering the majority age group using the facility.

Disliked: Limited number of bathrooms n toilets.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 January 2013

Liked: The location is very good.

Disliked: - hard to acces the top bunkbeds as there is no ladder; - shocking behaviour of the residents ( drunk, loud, rude, sex in the room!!!) - cockroaces -staff not very helpful when asked for sightseeing suggestions ( they advertise tour bookings when all they offer you is the phone to make your own booking)

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

chris vitartas

Alone

Visiting friends or family

31 December 2012

Liked: has a pool and a bar with internet access

Disliked: rooms were filthy, bedding was stained the mattresses and protectors had blood stains and urine on the bunk beds and was uncomfortable staff were not helpful enough

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good and it's clean

Disliked: Almost nothing!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Richard Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

13 April 2012 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, city centre and Northbridge nightlife within walking distance. Some good facilities like the bar, barbecues and tv room.

Disliked: Very noisy at weekends, with a few guests who don't have any respect for others trying to sleep.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: I found this property to be completely disgusting, and if I realized what I was getting into, I wouldn't have even came to Perth. The entire place stunk of smoke, and was unbelievably dirty, so I didn't even want to touch the floor let alone be in the hostel.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Tiny rooms, dirty bathrooms, some really noisy and disrespectful guests, very hard to get a good night's sleep there. I would not recommend this place to anyone.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

09 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big lockers in every room, great location, beds were comfy, free breakfast was alright, rooms were bigger than expected, had windows and were pretty quiet, bathrooms and dorms weren't as dirty as described here but actually pretty nice in my opinion, reception was alright and not rude as described here

Disliked: Had to move rooms for the last night (but got a 4 bed dorm instead of a 6 bed dorm), most of the people are Irish and are drinking all the time and behaving in a rude manner (don't want to sound racist but it's true), but actually I was lucky and had some nice roommates who were respectful, quiet and friendly. Apart from the people in general (especially at the bar and at the pool) I really can't complain :)

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Timothy Speirs

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

08 January 2012

Liked: Location, you can walk with ease to any of the pubs/clubs in northbridge. had a pool which was good. cancelled the last night and they didn't charge us. $4.50 TEDs at the bar, and a free beer on arrival. although there are better guy to girl ratios at gay bars than here.

Disliked: it is not a good hostel to meet people. when we arrived we went to the pool which was full of irish guys jumping into the pool and kicking a soccer ball at each other, in a normal hostel the management would have asked them to stop, but here the management doesn't seem to care. the atmosphere seems sterile, too many people had been there for too long and didn't want to meet new people. i found it to be about 85% guys also, which is not good fo anybody. i got a twin room, and the beds were terrible, they were a bunk bed and made so much noise whenever you moved it made it difficult to sleep.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Annika Holthaus

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2012 Annika would recommend this property

Liked: big, facilities, free bbq for lunch

Disliked: Annika left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Hannah Emmerson

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2011 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Very welcoming staff, good atmosphere, lots of people. I travel alone so had no problem meeting friends either, good bar, great location. Good clean kitchen

Disliked: Nothing

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2011

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Wifi access, celanleness.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 November 2011

Liked: Fairly close to town

Disliked: As a solo female traveller, I would strongly advise other females not to stay here. I was placed in a room with 5 men, one of which snored the entire night and the entire place was over run with rowdy groups of lads that work in Perth and had no regard for the other guests. I wanted to make use of the swimming pool but was too intimidated by the large groups of men drinking round the pool. I was checked in to stay here for 4 nights but 1 was enough so I moved on to the witches hat... much nicer and friendlier.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Bos

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: it is perfectly located and the building was just been paint and that maid it could living there.

Disliked: nothing

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Michael Ryan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011

Liked: Air con.

Disliked: The staff were quite rude and seemed to have a smart answer for everything. Way overpriced. Too far away from the main part of northbridge. Kitchen closes in the morning to be cleaned when it should be cleaned at night. Food was advertised but no food available.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

krongkan mahachanawong

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

08 November 2011

Liked: Manything is bad.

Disliked: Dirty ,noisy,it is not reasonable to pay.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was really friendly including all the staff and the rooms were clean and a good size.

Disliked: The internet was expensive to use.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Ben Manning

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2011

Liked: staff tried their best, despite the drunken hordes of lads

Disliked: dirty, live-in builders, loud drunked groups of lads. Not even cleaning the bathrooms is inexcusable

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had everything a backpacker could ask for, a bar, meal deals, cinema room and good banter.

Disliked: Internet was too expensive

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Liane Mae Lukenda

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2011 Liane Mae would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, very friendly staff, clean rooms (although small), awesome deals for dinner every weeknight, and the showers were AMAZING. For dinner, you can get an $8 drink from the bar and a huge plate of food for a grand total of 7 bucks.

Disliked: nothing!

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 February 2011

Liked: Not much, generally people were friendly

Disliked: dirty, cramped, some people were rude, overrun with young irish lads looking to have a good time


See all Perth hostels