HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Hay Street Traveller's Inn Perth Hostel

266-268 Hay Street, Perth, Australia

Atmosphere 59%

Cleanliness 54%

Facilities 55%

Location 85%

Safety 65%

Staff 58%

Value 60%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Airport Transfers
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Reading Light
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 8.04USD

Important Information

Any reservation made on the same day after 6:00 pm for the same day arrival MUST call our office to inform about your arrival time.

NO ID = NO check in and NO REFUND this is the same rule for all guests!

100 percent of the first night will be charge on the day of booking- no refund.
If cancelled or modified 100 percent of the first night will be charged.
Full payment will be charged in case of no-show.

Please contact us for further directions

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 12:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Perth?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 59%

Cleanliness 54%

Facilities 55%

Location 85%

Safety 65%

Staff 58%

Value 60%

Showing 1-3 of 3 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: an old hostel, clean, good location need deposit for borrowing utensil, blankets not provided, need to rent for 2aud

Disliked: Night manager not very helpful

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
City break, Family Holiday, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location and very kind staff

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi!
Thanks for leaving a review.
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Hay Street Backpackers.
We hope to see you again in the future. :-)
Have a great day,
Elisa

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Work / volunteering

Liked: Very Clean Place, with pool in the courtyard. Friendly and helpful staff - nice place. And it's very close to the city centre, with (free buses) bus stop just outside the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Sara!

Thanks for leaving a review.
We are really happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Hay Street Backpackers.
We hope to see you again!
Enjoy your trip! :-)

Have a nice day,
Elisa

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: They provide private rooms with bathroom for a decent price, the toilet is next door so no problem, the rooms are clean, no insects or bad bugs. The hostel is not a party place, you can sleep and get rest. We arrived very early from Europe and the receptionist booked us into another room so we could get some sleep immediately, thanks, this was great.

Disliked: The public areas are filthy. I cleaned half of a table myself and we took breakfast there every morning. When we left the other half was still dirty. Nobody bothered to clean the chairs and the kitchen isn't the cleanest either. The pool is ok but the opening hours make no sense, disturbing.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: no thing

Disliked: the air conditioning system was working only at night and it was off during hot summer days, the rooms not clean and tidy.

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: good location,handy for work, coule of decent pubs in the area, lovely building with huge potential

Disliked: Question, What's the difference between God and Hay St backpacker owner? Answer, God does'nt think he's a Hay St backpacker owner.

31% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
31% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 May 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: I've been staying in hostels for the past 2 months and have never come across anything like this. When arrived, nobody at reception. When the manager did arrive he was rude and charged me in GBP instead of AUD even though I requested to be charged in AUD, because he wanted to make money on exchange.The linen stank. Used cottonbud in my bed. Toilets and bathroom disgusting. Hair everywhere, razor on floor, dirt and grime. Was so disgusted unable to stay there, requested refund for the nights I wasn't going to stay, was refused. All in all, an awful experience. One to avoid.

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Fantastic bunch of people staying there at the moment.

Customer would recommend this property

40% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
40% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: location

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: I like the location, it's quiet but still in good distance to the city with the red cat right at the door. Nice restaurant near also. Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.

Disliked: Some of the backpackers don't have much respect for other people staying there. It would have been nice if a cleaner came through on the weekend as so many people used the toilets over the weekend, by sunday night there was no toilet paper and the toilets were pretty unclean.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability