HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Perth hostels

Reviews of Hay Street Backpackers

Hostel | 266-268 Hay St, Perth, Australia 6000

56.8% Overall Rating

20 out of 49 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/01/2014)

"Very Clean Place, with pool in the courtyard. Friendly and helpful staff - nice place. And it's very close to the city centre, with (free buses) bus stop just outside the hostel."

Read all Hay Street Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel USD 9.31

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Perth?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Perth

Exclusive Backpackers
27.92 USD

Hostel 69.2% 18 reviews
Wombat Backpackers
20.48 USD

Hostel 64.4% 17 reviews
YMCA Jewell House
41.42 USD

Hostel 67.7% 142 reviews
Wickham Retreat Backpackers
31.65 USD

Hostel 84.3% 4 reviews
The Hive Hostel
18.62 USD

Hostel 69.4% 47 reviews
The Emperor's Crown Backpackers
20.71 USD

Hostel 86.2% 254 reviews
Banjos Backpackers
25.13 USD

Hostel 83.1% 44 reviews
The Old Swan Barracks
25.13 USD

Hostel 73.5% 188 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
56.8%

Overall Rating

20 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hay Street Backpackers'

Atmosphere
55.2%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
49.6%
Cleanliness
51.2%
Staff
49.6%
Value
50.4%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 30 of 32 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Leigh Rowan

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 April 2014 Leigh would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and very kind staff

Disliked: Leigh left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Work / volunteering

29 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Clean Place, with pool in the courtyard. Friendly and helpful staff - nice place. And it's very close to the city centre, with (free buses) bus stop just outside the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

cornelia fredericq

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2013 cornelia would recommend this property

Liked: They provide private rooms with bathroom for a decent price, the toilet is next door so no problem, the rooms are clean, no insects or bad bugs. The hostel is not a party place, you can sleep and get rest. We arrived very early from Europe and the receptionist booked us into another room so we could get some sleep immediately, thanks, this was great.

Disliked: The public areas are filthy. I cleaned half of a table myself and we took breakfast there every morning. When we left the other half was still dirty. Nobody bothered to clean the chairs and the kitchen isn't the cleanest either. The pool is ok but the opening hours make no sense, disturbing.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Soroush Adim

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 January 2013

Liked: no thing

Disliked: the air conditioning system was working only at night and it was off during hot summer days, the rooms not clean and tidy.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Jacqui Parnell

Alone

Work / volunteering

09 December 2012

Liked: good location,handy for work, coule of decent pubs in the area, lovely building with huge potential

Disliked: Question, What's the difference between God and Hay St backpacker owner? Answer, God does'nt think he's a Hay St backpacker owner.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2012

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: I've been staying in hostels for the past 2 months and have never come across anything like this. When arrived, nobody at reception. When the manager did arrive he was rude and charged me in GBP instead of AUD even though I requested to be charged in AUD, because he wanted to make money on exchange.The linen stank. Used cottonbud in my bed. Toilets and bathroom disgusting. Hair everywhere, razor on floor, dirt and grime. Was so disgusted unable to stay there, requested refund for the nights I wasn't going to stay, was refused. All in all, an awful experience. One to avoid.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Shaun Wilson

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 April 2012 Shaun would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic bunch of people staying there at the moment.

Disliked: Shaun left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

17 February 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

15 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location, it's quiet but still in good distance to the city with the red cat right at the door. Nice restaurant near also. Staff were very friendly and extremely helpful.

Disliked: Some of the backpackers don't have much respect for other people staying there. It would have been nice if a cleaner came through on the weekend as so many people used the toilets over the weekend, by sunday night there was no toilet paper and the toilets were pretty unclean.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Rayk Wichmann

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2012 Rayk would recommend this property

Liked: one of only few city-near hostels with a/c and window in dorms; kitchen is ok; plenty spots where you can sit and relax; costs for laundry below average prices; foxsports and espn for live sport on tv; cbd 5mins with bus/ 10 by walk; calm situated

Disliked: some people of the staff are unfriendly; my room reeked a bit (dorm); prices in total a bit above perth average..... good hostel....everybody need to decide whether an a/c is worth the extra price

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aisling Farrell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2012 Aisling would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, tidy... Massive kitchen area... And plenty of chill out spots

Disliked: Not many channels on tv

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Location, Location!

Disliked: Bedbugs! But we got a new room then we told them about our problem.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 November 2011

Liked: Our double private room was nice enough for the money,

Disliked: The room, was very cold and dark, also as the room is at the back of the property it was extremely noisey at night sometimes even until 3am so take ear plugs, the internet never worked, the kitchen was extremely busy and very unclean, you were never able to cook as there were too many people and not enough equipment provided, so in the end you spend more money eating out.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011

Liked: Location was good, kitchen was adequate.

Disliked: I booked a 'deluxe en suite' double room only to find there was no toilet in the room and I had to share with roughly 12 other people. There was, however, a shower which was too low for me to use properly (I am 5'6" and am not used to anything being too small for me). Towels were supposed to be provided but did not materialise, sheets were stained. Not as clean as I would hope.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Vincent Logan

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 September 2011

Liked: The communal area was a good size and had a decent selection of books on its shelves as well as comfy chairs and satellite tv; the rooms were a good size and the beds comfortable. The people there were friendly and helpful (though I guess that one's very subjective).

Disliked: Where to start... - The place smelt horrible, my room especially - like hot dust and stale BO; - It was rare to find someone on the reception desk; - Wireless internet was very dodgy and wasn't accessable from rooms; - There was a lot of thievery of food from fridges (I personally had about $20 worth stolen) with no alternative but to keep food in own room if you wanted it safe; - No freezer in kitchen area; - Little cutlery/crockery; - Bathrooms weren't cleaned the entire time I was there (5 nights); - Linens were old and stained; - Early check-out time of 9am with no secure room to store luggage during the day to be picked up after, for example, work.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everybody so friendly

Disliked: Price

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Work / volunteering

10 January 2011

Liked: notthing

Disliked: the staff are so rude

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa

15 November 2010

Liked: nil

Disliked: No WIFI for iphone, ridiculous.. Staff cant even help in taxi booking, saying phone calls incur charges.. Inflexibility in odd time checkout...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

lauren newman

06 April 2010

Liked: Clean bathroom, and big kitchen. The other backpackers who were there were very friendly. However the proprioter was a difficult and rude man, who should little respect towards patrons who had issues (ie turning on the airconditioning when it was very hot at night and some people, including myself, could not sleep due to the heat. when confronted with the problem he finger pointed blamed the mecanics and flat out denied people from having what was advertised: an airconditioned room).

Disliked: lauren left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

28 October 2009

Liked: The staff is very rude. Not friendly or helpful. The place was in dire need of a cleaning. Dead bugs everywhere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Annmaria Ventre

13 March 2009

Liked: The location was really good within walking distance of transport, restaurants and nightlife.

Disliked: Annmaria left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 October 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As a female travelling on my own it felt safe and secure. People were friendly and the location was great.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

23 May 2008

Liked: decent shower

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 May 2008

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

liu yong

20 February 2008 liu would recommend this property

Liked: swimming pool

Disliked: liu left no negative feedback.


See all Perth hostels