HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Noosa hostels

Reviews of Dolphins Beachhouse

Hostel | 14 Duke Street, Sunshine Beach, Noosa, Sunshine Coast, Australia 4567

73.9% Overall Rating

153 out of 201 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/04/2014)

"Nice and friendly staff. The kitchen had an oven and a freezer, which not all places have. Quite good wifi that usually works in the rooms."

Read all Dolphins Beachhouse reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Noosa?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Noosa

Noosa Flashpackers
31.54 USD

Hostel 89.8% 164 reviews
Nomads Noosa
25.04 USD

Hostel 76.2% 113 reviews
Halse Lodge
27.83 USD

Hostel 84.9% 14 reviews
Nautilus Noosa the Holiday Resort
32.46 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
Noosa Backpackers Resort
27.83 USD

Hostel 72.5% 190 reviews
Gagaju Bush Camp
13.91 USD

Hostel 75.7% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.9%

Overall Rating

153 out of 201 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dolphins Beachhouse'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
71.2%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
76.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
75.2%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 146 of 157 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: ,,,

Disliked: ,,,

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 April 2014

Liked: Nice and friendly staff. The kitchen had an oven and a freezer, which not all places have. Quite good wifi that usually works in the rooms.

Disliked: Cockroaches in the room and bathroom. Not a really good value for the money, although noosa is quite expensive in general.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kara Tollworthy

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2014 Kara would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has an oven and a freezer, the rooms are apartment style so have your own kitchen, bathroom and living area

Disliked: The infrequency of the bus to the main town and not one after 5pm

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephan Habeck

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2014 Stephan would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 December 2013

Liked: Clearnesss, big outside social area

Disliked: see above. Mattresses were only made of foam plastic and not real mattresses and so much too soft.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

18 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very friendly, it is not a party hostel! The staff is helpfull and helps you all the time if there is a problem. They pick you up from the bus station and offer a free courtesy bus to the city and the beaches. The rooms are simple but clean. The cummunal area, shared by only 9 people, is very nice. They have a comfortabe sofa and a TV. It is lovely equipped with pictures and paintings. You can hire books and games for free and DVDs for just $2. Some shops and the supermarket are only 3 minutes away. It takes you only 5 minutes to the beach.

Disliked: The kitchen equipment is not very good, you have to go to other rooms to get cups or cutlery. The reception sometimes closes too early.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Stacey Kendall

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

09 August 2013 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: The location was excellent, only a 5 minute walk from the local shops and the beach. Pizza night on a Wednesday was really good value, $5 for all you can eat, and it allowed in meeting other people. The rooms were fairly clean, the kitchen facilities were really good, you could easily cook a proper meal there. There were cleaners everyday.

Disliked: I found that alot of the long termers working there weren't all that friendly or interested in making conversation, they had their own groups. You had to pay a $1 charge to pay by card, and you had to pay I think $12 for a blanket, which you were meant to get $10 back, I wasn't given mine back (and I forgot about it until having left).

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Cam Paton

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Visiting friends or family

16 July 2013 Cam would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very close to the beach

Disliked: Paper thin walls, and doors that barely shut, let alone lock

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely place, quiet and Good atmosphere, confortable common areas! Perfect to socialize and chill out

Disliked: House keeper was cleaning early in the morning doing a lot of unecessary noise without any care for all the people who was sleeping... Bad Internet conexion...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah-Jane Antell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 June 2013 Sarah-Jane would recommend this property

Liked: Really chilled atmosphere, friendly staff. Dorm style layout, so we had a lounge area and our own kitchen. Nice to have a 4 bed dorm rather than 10 bed like most places charge for this price. Regular shuttles to beach and shops. Free pool table and wifi

Disliked: Too far to walk to shops/beach yourself so you do rely on their bus. Wifi only worked right outside reception so can't use it from your room

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 June 2013

Liked: Not much! I liked leaving and knowing I would never be coming back!

Disliked: The website says they collect from the Greyhound buses so I arrived on an afternoon Greyhound and waited thinking they must be running late to meet it. After about 10 mins I called and was spoken to VERY rudely by the woman at reception. They had only waited 5 mins, I was apparently supposed to have called to check where to meet the bus and it was in a carpark below and had left 5 mins after the bus arrived. She told me to get a taxi. Despite having questions of why these instructions were not on the website and why they couldn't just come to the bus with a hostel sign (too much effort?) I would have been happy to get a taxi since things sometimes don't go to plan. HOWEVER the way I was spoken to on the phone was just not ok. I went to a local cafe and asked them if they knew a good local hotel/hostel as Dolphins had been SO rude I really didn't want to stay there. They recommended a few and then I remembered that I had given my card details. I called back, said that since we hadn't got off to a very good start how about I stay somewhere else and they can not charge me. The receptionist refused. She said that even if I found her rude they would still charge me?! Why not just resolve a bad situation? Since I had booked a double room for $60 I saw no need to pay for nothing (well rudeness) so got a taxi over and it was dark, wet, there was very poor lighting outside the room and many steps and slippery surfaces and the room was just a shed, with graffiti on the walls, a damp bed with damp smelling linen and ABSOLUTELY nothing else in the tiny room. Not even a hook to hang a towel on?! It was horrible! The only initially good part was that I was the only person renting a double room (I wonder why?!) so there was a TV/Kitchen area for the double rooms. HOWEVER this was also a 'staff' room - well staff and hangers on and to say that guests were an intrusion is an UNDERSTATEMENT! The 'staff' could not have made more effort to make paying guests in this area more unwelcome. Their behaviour was more like 17 year olds anyway - it took 3 of them to take 1 beer out the fridge while shouting about all the cool places they would later go out to (great! so away from me - an upside!) But they never did go out! 3 of them just kept coming back in tandem for a beer at a time?! There was other VERY odd behaviour. The kitchen in the morning was smeared with pork fat and I retched when trying to make a cup of tea and accidentally got it smeared on my top. It was everywhere. Big signs for guests to clear up - but staff, well obviously not! Guests in the double rooms (well damp sheds!) seemed to be treated as a total inconveninece! No wonder I was the only one stupid enough to stay?! I tried giving the owners daughter some feedback that maybe a separate staff room would help fill the 'double rooms' but I was rather aggressively told 'we don't want feedback, we do everything very well here'. Well I would FAR from agree and it didn't seem as if the double sheds were booked out - but that is the owner's daughters attitude! She was quite scary and aggressive - to say I was glad ot leave would be an UNDERSTATEMENT! Horrible horrible place!!! The next night I was in a place which cost the same and it couldn't have been more different - well run, nice clean sheets, nice towel, great staff, good atmosphere - they do exist - but avoid The Dolphin Beachhouse!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kate Jary

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Very laid back and close to the beach

Disliked: It is really easy for anyone to walk into and go into the apartments.

The property's response is...

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Gunter Steimann

With a large group / tour

Business / conference

21 April 2013

Liked: nothing on inspection

Disliked: all after the robbing of a double price for one night

54.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Marjolijn Mulder

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2013

Liked: I stayed in Noosa for one day and wasn't really interested in surfing or anything like that but more interested in the nature. There's a really good walk from the hostel that brings you through the National Park to the beaches of Noosa Heads and then you can go to Hastings Street which is the main street in Noosa. The hostel has a shuttle bus available and they can pick you up from the main beach in Noosa, so from the hostel to there is about a 5 km walk through the National Park and you can see a koala in the wild if you're lucky!

Disliked: The shuttle bus is not on time, the location of the hostel is not central, one small kitchen and shower and toilet for about 10 people, and over all not a very good experience.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Samantha Gale

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 April 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff! I was poorly while I stayed here and they were very kind, offering me juice and tea and helping book a doctors appointment. Good clean facilities. They are cleaned every morning and there is plenty of space in fridge and kitchen compared to other hostels. Quiet at night so able to get a good nights sleep.

Disliked: Restricted times to use wifi and hot water. No drinking on premisis after 8pm. Very far from the town center and main beach, too far to walk (and I love a long walk!) but there is a free shuttle bus (fairly regular) and a public bus and a taxi to/from the town center costs about $10-15. Saying that I would stay here again but organise myself a little better in regards to catching buses! No lockers for valuables but I never once felt my belongings were at risk.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, calm, relaxing and friendly atmosphere

Disliked: Little far from the town but they do offer a free shuttle to the town and main beach, I just enjoy walking.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I thoroughly enjoyed my stay here. It is a 15 min. walk along the beach to town (only during low tide though). There is also a free shuttle into town and back. The shared kitchen and washroom are cleaned every night and the room we stayed in was simple and clean with a double bed and bunk twin on top and a sink and shelf in the room. The room had a fan and 2 windows. Quiet time at the resort is 11pm and everyone IS quiet at that point. The restaurant/bar next door has reopened and has great bands on the weekend. It also closes at 11pm, so while it provides a great ambiance during the day, it is quiet at night. There is also a yoga studio runing on the property- it is a large tent with a finished floor for the studio and Russell is the certified yoga teacher running "Vita Yoga". I thoroughly enjoyed his very affordable and professionally run classes. The staff were all very friendly and accomodating as well.

Disliked: Some of the guests didn't clean up after themselves in the kitchen- but you can't fault the facilities for that.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff are very friendly & easy to get along with. The hostel is set out in apartments, my 4-bed dorm shared a kitchen/bathroom/living room with a 5 bed dorm. Much better than huge shared facilities. Regular free shuttle bus to & from town Free wifi Very close to quieter sunshine beach Chilled atmosphere, no late night partying Clean facilities

Disliked: Nothing, I liked it so much I booked an extra 5 nights

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms like your own flat and free WiFi, nice staff and a really good atmosphere, regular shuttle busses to the city and just 5 minutes to the beach. Great place to stay...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Jeffery

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 January 2013 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: This was a really chilled out hostel, minutes from the beach. Dorms are actually 2 bedroom apartments, so you're not sharing a kitchen with everyone in the hostel. Had a freezer and an oven so we could cook pizza! :) Rooms were cleaned everyday. Shuttle bus in to town to buy groceries. Free WiFi. Not much to do in Noosa except relax, and this was a great place to do it.

Disliked: The shuttle bus is a little unreliable. We went to the supermarket to buy food, and waited where we were dropped off ten minutes prior to the buses scheduled departure. However, it had picked up somewhere else, and we saw the bus leaving from the other side of the car park! We then had to walk 20 minutes back to the hostel with all of our shopping. It would have been nice if we had been told where to wait if it was going to be a different place to where we were dropped off. Also, when we went to Australia Zoo, we were told we'd be picked up at 5pm from the Zoo bus stop. No-one came, and someone in our group had to call the hostel, and someone eventually came at 5.45pm. Apparently, they forgot to collect us! I know this is a free service, but we rely on these shuttle buses to get us to our accommodation.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a nice atmosphere and beautiful communal areas. The kitche is one of the best I have ever seen in a hostel. The rooms are big enough and very clean. A big plus is the shuttle service between the hostel and the main beach or the Juncion. I can highly recommend this hostel! :)

Disliked: The pool is quite small and not as clean as you would expect it in this hostel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andreas Kummer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 November 2012 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, nice atmosphere

Disliked: --

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: peaceful place and near the beach

Disliked: kitchen equipment was a pit poor and dirty

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it has a free shuttle bus and is very clean and has plenty of place to socialize. The free wifi is also nice (although it is not the fastest - it is free!)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kaplun Bryhana

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping

08 September 2012 Kaplun would recommend this property

Liked: -closeness to the beach -facilities and services available e.g. free internet access and surfboard use etc

Disliked: - nothing :)


See all Noosa hostels