HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Melbourne, Australia

91.5%
956 reviews Book Now 
1

Space Hotel

Hostel
380 Russell St, Melbourne, Australia 3000

804 out of 956 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Space Hotel

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 92% Facilities - 89% Safety - 96%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 27 July 2014

Very clean and well designed. Lots of powerpoints by the beds and in lockers, amazingly enough they managed to create some privacy even in a dorm room. I didn't look at other levels but on mine the bathrooms were all one-person bathrooms and there were lots - this was very, very nice. Signs said they are cleaned five times a day plus on demand so I never had to deal with a gross bathroom. The other facilities looked good but I didn't have enough time to enjoy them as I had so much to pack in to a short trip.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 01 July 2014

I like location of the place. Very convenient to walk to city only take 5minutes amd i love the staff our there ,they are very helpful and friendly.

91.3%
27 reviews Book Now 
2

Miami Hotel Melbourne

3.5 star Hotel
13 Hawke Street, Melbourne, Australia 3003

27 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Miami Hotel Melbourne

Atmosphere - 81% Staff - 96% Facilities - 89% Safety - 92%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 93%
Redzuan Jaid
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Redzuan would recommend this property 17 June 2014

The staffs is the great asset,very helpful and friendly and most af all superb clean,keep up your good work guys!

Codie Vikstrom
With friends / other travellers
Visiting friends or family
97.1%
Codie would recommend this property 28 March 2014

Very close to the city, staff very helpful and friendly, room was great value for money.

90.1%
317 reviews Book Now 
3

Hotel Claremont Guest House

3 star Hotel
189 Toorak Road, South Yarra, Melbourne, Australia 3141

303 out of 317 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Claremont Guest House

Atmosphere - 81% Staff - 90% Facilities - 88% Safety - 96%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 88%
Adrian Foong
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Adrian would recommend this property 06 July 2014

Great old-world charm with tastefully restored interior and furnishing; very clean beds and bathrooms; very reasonable price with good spread of continental breakfast; good location between CBD and St Kilda and near shops, restaurants and tram stop

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 26 April 2014

It is very central to everything you need if you're backpacking. The area is fairly active and quite dog friendly. Lots of different places to eat and have a nice café latte! The train station is about a minute walk from the main door. Great breakfast if you like tea, cereal and sliced pears and peaches. The price for our room seemed appropriate.

89.9%
30 reviews Book Now 
4

United Backpackers

Hostel
250 Flinders Street, Victoria, Melbourne, Australia 3000

27 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend United Backpackers

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 91% Facilities - 83% Safety - 96%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 87%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 20 July 2014

- everything was so clean - they had a common area where you had the chance to meet other People - everything is new!!!

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
City break, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 09 July 2014

We stayed in a twin room, with shared bathroom facilities. The room and beds (bunks) were very clean and comfortable. The hostel was very well-maintained with a good kitchen, with microwave and ovens, as well as a number of hotplates, sinks and fridges. Good communal area. Very friendly and helpful staff.

88.6%
480 reviews Book Now 
5

Habitat HQ

Hostel
333 St Kilda Road, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia 3182

446 out of 480 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Habitat HQ

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 96% Facilities - 84% Safety - 89%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 88%
amy wilson
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
amy would recommend this property 19 June 2014

You get breakfast and wifi included in the price, the rooms are cleaned everyday and there is a very chilled out atmosophere, I booked for longer.

Jack Blake
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Jack would recommend this property 02 May 2014

Spencer in reception is great! All of the staff are very friendly and willing to help. Habitat has a great atmosphere, great place to meet people.

87.1%
33 reviews Book Now 
6

Melbourne Central YHA

Hostel
562 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Australia VIC 3000

31 out of 33 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Melbourne Central YHA

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 88% Facilities - 84% Safety - 92%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 80%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 01 December 2013

It was quiet, the kitchen was clean and there was enough space to cook easily. The location is very convenient. The rooms were spacious and quiet. I asked for an extra pillow and got one so slept very well. The bathrooms are the nicest I've seen so far in a hostel.

Holly McNeilage
Alone
Visiting friends or family
80.0%
Holly would recommend this property 22 April 2013

This was my first hostel I've ever stayed at so I was a little nervous but it was very clean, central location, helpful staff. Could not fault it at all. Would stay again.

87.1%
6 reviews Book Now 
7

Barkly Backpackers

Hostel
102 Barkly St, Melbourne, Australia 3182

5 out of 6 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Barkly Backpackers

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 93% Facilities - 86% Safety - 93%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 86%
Rhiannon Vaughan
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Rhiannon would recommend this property 23 July 2014

I had great time here, rooms are clean, beds are comfy, kiychen area is cleaned regulary. Friendly people, free wireless, plenty of places to lounge and be social. I found it easy to make friends and your not too far from the main city. Theres good facilities near by. Was a good few weeks :-)

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
77.1%
06 May 2014

It is a new hostel and there are still a few things to be done. The staff was very friendly and the kitchen and common area are pretty good. The location is good. It ist pretty easy to get there by tram or bus.

87.0%
677 reviews Book Now 
8

Urban Central Backpackers

Hostel
334 City Road, Southbank, Melbourne, Australia .

625 out of 677 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Urban Central Backpackers

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 89% Facilities - 85% Safety - 92%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 84%
Shehani Gunesekera
With friends / other travellers
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Shehani would recommend this property 29 July 2014

This was my first time at a hostel & was quite hesitant about it, however the cleanliness, friendly staff, great location, safe & great ambience was a fantastic experience & I've already recommended it to serval friends & family! We absolutely loved staying at Urban Central & will definitely be visiting again soon!

Kristin Volsky
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
80.0%
Kristin would recommend this property 28 July 2014

I arrived really early in the morning after a 48 hr bus journey and staff were able to accommodate me and get me a bed right away. Lots of tours offered at the hostel and they have lots of info to offer about the city. I extended for an additional 3 nights. My first room smelt a little funky but the second one was good.

86.7%
46 reviews Book Now 
9

Home @ The Mansion

Hostel
66-90, Victoria Parade, Melbourne, Australia 3002

41 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Home @ The Mansion

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 92% Facilities - 83% Safety - 84%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 85%
Thomas Conroy
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife
82.9%
Thomas would recommend this property 16 September 2012

Really did feel like you were at home. Nice cosy place. Free Pizza night. TV area with bean bags. Well equipped Kitchen. The Showers! And of course, the people I met.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 24 November 2011

its awesome, really cool building, really cool people, been away for a year now and hands down the best hostel i've stayed in, loved it dont, want to leave.

86.1%
35 reviews Book Now 
10

Melbourne Metro YHA

Hostel
78 Howard Street, Melbourne, Australia 3051

32 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Melbourne Metro YHA

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 89% Facilities - 87% Safety - 92%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 82%
Johanne Valois
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Johanne would recommend this property 29 January 2013

I'm a french canadian and all the staff help me a lot, they were patient. The kitchen is a good size, Just a little way to the center, so more quiet. Walking everywhere is possible.

Customer review
Alone
Visiting friends or family
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 04 November 2012

I like that the lounge area was spacious and had a very homely feel. A mix of clientele of young and not so young and multicultural - just a very welcoming atmosphere.

Melbourne

48 Hostels from 16.85 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Melbourne hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Melbourne. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Melbourne

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Melbourne. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter