We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/01/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/01/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Melbourne, Australia

91.3%
27 reviews Book Now 
1

Miami Hotel Melbourne

3.5 star Hotel
13 Hawke Street, Melbourne, Australia 3003

27 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Miami Hotel Melbourne

Atmosphere - 81% Staff - 96% Facilities - 89% Safety - 92%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 93%
Redzuan Jaid
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Redzuan would recommend this property 17 June 2014

The staffs is the great asset,very helpful and friendly and most af all superb clean,keep up your good work guys!

Codie Vikstrom
With friends / other travellers
Visiting friends or family
97.1%
Codie would recommend this property 28 March 2014

Very close to the city, staff very helpful and friendly, room was great value for money.

90.9%
44 reviews Book Now 
2

United Backpackers

Hostel
250 Flinders Street, Victoria, Melbourne, Australia 3000

41 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend United Backpackers

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 88% Facilities - 87% Safety - 94%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 90%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 29 January 2015

United is in a brilliant location, it has everything on the doorstep. It is really clean, I loved the light and the plug by each bed. Plenty of showers and loos, everything was accessible. Big kitchen with plenty of room to store food. As a female traveller on her own I felt very safe.

Alfons Martinez Valls
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Alfons would recommend this property 25 October 2014

During my stay, I knew almost all the staff, and they are ALL very kind and helpfull.

90.2%
321 reviews Book Now 
3

Hotel Claremont Guest House

Hostel
189 Toorak Road, South Yarra, Melbourne, Australia 3141

307 out of 321 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Claremont Guest House

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 90% Facilities - 88% Safety - 96%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 88%
Ashley Frowe
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Ashley would recommend this property 19 January 2015

This property was in a great location not to far from stkilda beach or Melbourne city centre walkable but you can get the tram in. The hostel is basic and clean beds were really comfy and shower facilities were brilliant they were cleaned every morning. Staff were friendly and the reception was open 24hr so checking in late at night is fine. The complantary breakfast is basic with cereal and toast on offer as well as fresh Orange jucie, tea and coffee. Over all we would defiantly stay here again.

Stephanie Reid
With friends / other travellers
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Stephanie would recommend this property 18 August 2014

Extremely clean, very helpful staff, great location just ten mins on the train from the CBD. Better than a hostel, but cheaper than a hotel.

89.5%
966 reviews Book Now 
4

Space Hotel

Hostel
380 Russell St, Melbourne, Australia 3000

812 out of 966 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Space Hotel

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 92%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 84%
Ka Ka Lam
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Ka Ka would recommend this property 29 January 2015

This is absolutely the best hostel I've ever stayed. The location is fantastic, very close to various public transport, which I think is so important for people without own vehicle like me. THE PLACE IS SOOOOOO CLEAN, even cleaner than a lot of hotels, I'm sure. And the facilities are awesome, with movie space, gym, etc... The atmosphere is friendly and cheerful. The pantry is well-equipped and clean. I especially enjoy the huge TV set which allows me to eat while watching Australian Open XDDD All in all, THIS PLACE IS AWESOME! Not only will I come back, I will recommend it to everyone I know who is coming to Melbourne.

Victoria Apodaca
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
97.1%
Victoria would recommend this property 31 December 2014

This property was extremely clean and presentable upon my first arrival. The people sitting at the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful. They even let me borrow the hotel's Miki card for my excursion to Brighton Beach! The facilities are excellent, especially for a hostel and for it's reasonable price. I was amazed that both a gym and spa were provided! I would ABSOLUTELY stay at this place again and recommend it to all my friends!

89.0%
7 reviews Book Now 
5

Barkly Backpackers

Hostel
102 Barkly St, Melbourne, Australia 3182

6 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Barkly Backpackers

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 94% Facilities - 88% Safety - 94%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 88%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 18 September 2014

Nice and comfortable Hostel, clean, good kitchen facilities, helpfully staff, nice people around, near to the beach.

Rhiannon Vaughan
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Rhiannon would recommend this property 23 July 2014

I had great time here, rooms are clean, beds are comfy, kiychen area is cleaned regulary. Friendly people, free wireless, plenty of places to lounge and be social. I found it easy to make friends and your not too far from the main city. Theres good facilities near by. Was a good few weeks :-)

88.3%
488 reviews Book Now 
6

Habitat HQ

Hostel
333 St Kilda Road, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia 3182

453 out of 488 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Habitat HQ

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 96% Facilities - 85% Safety - 88%
Location - 77% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 90%
Lucie Hodges
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Lucie would recommend this property 30 December 2014

The hostel was clean, comfortable, secure. WiFi strength was excellent throughout including top floor. In the room (6 bed dorm private bathroom) I had 2 plug sockets by my bed (bottom bunk, not sure if this was by design or just luck!), air con was good, shower hot and strong, big locker (though I couldn't quite get my huge traveller rucksack in it, I just took out of it all valuables) and the bed was reasonable. Large kitchen, lots of storage space, split common area - outdoor terrace, sofas, table and chairs, separate tv room, pool table. Tram stop right outside.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
60.0%
10 September 2014

The hang out area is big and theres lots of books you can borrow. I also saw a shelf with board games. I liked the daily events too. The staff were helpful.

87.3%
36 reviews Book Now 
7

Melbourne Central YHA

Hostel
562 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Australia VIC 3000

34 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Melbourne Central YHA

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 88% Facilities - 84% Safety - 92%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 80%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 01 December 2013

It was quiet, the kitchen was clean and there was enough space to cook easily. The location is very convenient. The rooms were spacious and quiet. I asked for an extra pillow and got one so slept very well. The bathrooms are the nicest I've seen so far in a hostel.

Holly McNeilage
Alone
Visiting friends or family
80.0%
Holly would recommend this property 22 April 2013

This was my first hostel I've ever stayed at so I was a little nervous but it was very clean, central location, helpful staff. Could not fault it at all. Would stay again.

87.1%
205 reviews Book Now 
8

The Nunnery

Hostel
116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy, Melbourne, Australia 3065

183 out of 205 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Nunnery

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 91% Facilities - 82% Safety - 89%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 81% Value - 84%
Angela Matthews
With a large group / tour
Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Angela would recommend this property 19 October 2014

Location Location :) was perfect for our groups needs and wants including the convenience of the tram picking us up almost at our front door, supermarkets, museums etc. Jackie was very helpful as well as other staff. The friendly atmosphere and hassel free breakfast and other extras on top of our stay will see us return next year.

Yassine Khalil
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Yassine would recommend this property 17 April 2014

The Nunnery is a very comfortable and clean hostel. The staff is very frinedly and helpful with issues. I think it might be one of the best hostels in Australia cause it's essential things are good to very good and it has a nice flair.

86.3%
207 reviews Book Now 
9

Base St Kilda

Hostel
17 Carlisle Street, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia 3182

176 out of 207 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Base St Kilda

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 89% Facilities - 84% Safety - 91%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 78% Value - 80%
Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture
71.4%
26 October 2014

Location and staff. I had a really friendly welcome from the reception staff, they were helpful if ever I had any questions and they kindly booked me a taxi when I checked out.

Bryony Bunker
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Bryony would recommend this property 21 October 2014

Fun and friendly vibe! There's always something going on and the rooms are clean and nice!

86.1%
36 reviews Book Now 
10

Melbourne Metro YHA

Hostel
78 Howard Street, Melbourne, Australia 3051

33 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Melbourne Metro YHA

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 89% Facilities - 88% Safety - 92%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 81%
Johanne Valois
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Johanne would recommend this property 29 January 2013

I'm a french canadian and all the staff help me a lot, they were patient. The kitchen is a good size, Just a little way to the center, so more quiet. Walking everywhere is possible.

Customer review
Alone
Visiting friends or family
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 04 November 2012

I like that the lounge area was spacious and had a very homely feel. A mix of clientele of young and not so young and multicultural - just a very welcoming atmosphere.

Melbourne

46 Hostels from 21.83 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Melbourne hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Melbourne. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Melbourne

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Melbourne. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter