We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Melbourne, Australia

91.3%
329 reviews Book Now 
1

Hotel Claremont Guest House

Hostel
189 Toorak Road, South Yarra, Melbourne, Australia 3141

315 out of 329 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Claremont Guest House

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 92% Facilities - 85% Safety - 94%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 89%
Mark Alan Radovan
With my spouse / partner
Family Holiday, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Mark Alan would recommend this property 13 August 2015

The ambience is very nice and location wise it is nearby a TRAM and TRAIN stop so its quite convenient. There's lots of nearby shops and restaurants as well so you'll never go hungry. For the price we paid, staying at Claremont was definitely a good deal and we'll be staying again when we visit MEL in the future.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 06 May 2015

It was a lovely grand old building and was handy to the city - either a nice walk or tram in. Felt safe and secure and plenty of close eating spots and shopping on chapel street. Breakfast included was handy too!

90.9%
28 reviews Book Now 
2

Miami Hotel Melbourne

3.5 star Hotel
13 Hawke Street, Melbourne, Australia 3003

28 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Miami Hotel Melbourne

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 96% Facilities - 89% Safety - 92%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 93%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 02 February 2015

Feels secure and safe, very close to the free tram lines into and around the city. Very close to the queen Victoria markets which are very much worth a visit. The hotel offers everything you would require as listed and they keep the rooms very clean and fully serviced. Receptionists very helpful when you have questions or queries.

Redzuan Jaid
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Redzuan would recommend this property 17 June 2014

The staffs is the great asset,very helpful and friendly and most af all superb clean,keep up your good work guys!

90.6%
226 reviews Book Now 
3

The Nunnery

Hostel
116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy, Melbourne, Australia 3065

203 out of 226 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Nunnery

Atmosphere - 93% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 90%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 88%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 18 August 2015

It was comfortable, had character [old converted convent], provided a free basic breakfast and used its convent past to create a sense of history in a respectful, humourous way. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 13 August 2015

Super nice and helpful staff Great activities to link people together, e.g. holding movie night on Tuesdays, offering soup once a week and so on Offer services that helps a lot in my journey, e.g. booking tour

90.3%
69 reviews Book Now 
4

United Backpackers

Hostel
250 Flinders Street, Victoria, Melbourne, Australia 3000

66 out of 69 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend United Backpackers

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 86% Facilities - 86% Safety - 93%
Location - 99% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 91%
Christina Hodges
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Christina would recommend this property 23 August 2015

Very secure. Space for your whole backpack to be locked away. Bar was very sociable and reasonably priced. Staff and other travellers were extremely friendly.

Customer review
Alone
City break, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 16 June 2015

The atmosphere is so good, everyone is friendly and positive. I didn't realise the location is pretty good until I had arrived, it is near the train station and there are lots of cafe nearby. But the downside is that sometimes it get a bit noisy at night as train passes by. The bathroom is clean and so is the room. There are lots of fun events at its bar downstairs, and the booze is pretty cheap.

90.1%
41 reviews Book Now 
5

Melbourne Central YHA

Hostel
562 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Australia VIC 3000

39 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Melbourne Central YHA

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 90% Facilities - 84% Safety - 96%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 86%
Matilda Elliot
With friends / other travellers
Visiting friends or family
97.1%
Matilda would recommend this property 24 February 2015

It was clean, comfortable, easy access to tram lines and a short walk to Southbank. Staff were friendly and the showers were absolutely wonderful.

Kate Smith
Alone
Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Kate would recommend this property 23 February 2015

I really like the new renovations done by Melbourne Central hostel. The downstairs entry has improved a lot. The hostel also has a great location of course. You save on a taxi fare from the airport by being across from the skybus and on tram fares by being within the free tram zone.

89.6%
501 reviews Book Now 
6

Habitat HQ

Hostel
333 St Kilda Road, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia 3182

466 out of 501 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Habitat HQ

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 96% Facilities - 89% Safety - 89%
Location - 79% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 89%
Customer review
Alone
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 30 June 2015

the Hostel was tidy. The bathrooms Are new. Personal is friendly. Free breakfast, free wifi. Good living rooms inside and Outside. Every night Entertainment. near the beach

simon littleworth
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
simon would recommend this property 27 May 2015

very social great advice from staff and some awesome night time activities provided by the hostel.

89.0%
7 reviews Book Now 
7

Barkly Backpackers

Hostel
102 Barkly St, Melbourne, Australia 3182

6 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Barkly Backpackers

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 94% Facilities - 88% Safety - 94%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 88%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 18 September 2014

Nice and comfortable Hostel, clean, good kitchen facilities, helpfully staff, nice people around, near to the beach.

Rhiannon Vaughan
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Rhiannon would recommend this property 23 July 2014

I had great time here, rooms are clean, beds are comfy, kiychen area is cleaned regulary. Friendly people, free wireless, plenty of places to lounge and be social. I found it easy to make friends and your not too far from the main city. Theres good facilities near by. Was a good few weeks :-)

88.1%
979 reviews Book Now 
8

Space Hotel

Hostel
380 Russell St, Melbourne, Australia 3000

825 out of 979 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Space Hotel

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 88% Facilities - 88% Safety - 92%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 87%
Elise meertens
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Elise would recommend this property 12 August 2015

Super clean and easy to get in and out of melbourne from the airport. I had a quick stopover for one night and it was perfect. Gym was great before another 24 hours of flying and it was close to lots of eating and shopping!

Caroline Barrow
Alone
Visiting friends or family
91.4%
Caroline would recommend this property 09 July 2015

I stayed in a mixed dorm and it was very friendly, really easy to meet people if you're travelling on your own. I had people to talk to and hang out with within an hour of arriving. There's also a lively bar downstairs which makes it easy to meet people. Staff are really friendly and helpful. The facilities are good and the place is secure and in a great location. I would recommend this place to people travelling on their own as a good place to meet people. I would stay here again.

87.5%
54 reviews Book Now 
9

Richmond Hill Hotel Melbourne

3 star Hotel
353 Church Street, Melbourne, Australia VIC 3121

49 out of 54 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Richmond Hill Hotel Melbourne

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 94% Facilities - 82% Safety - 89%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 92%
Tania Ullucci
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Tania would recommend this property 15 August 2015

This was the best hotel I have ever stayed in! we booked the cheapest room so I was expecting not much, but when I saw the building and opened the door to our room I was blown away! it was so amazing and great value for money. The staff were sooo nice and the buffet breakfast was wonderful!! the decor of the building is very elegant and the showers were so nice with free soap! the carpet was spongy and soft, it was just like home!

Geoffrey Nimusiima
Alone
Partying / nightlife, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Geoffrey would recommend this property 13 August 2015

Hotel atmosphere was fantastic -very quite place for a gd sleep. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast very nice.

86.5%
40 reviews Book Now 
10

Melbourne Metro YHA

Hostel
78 Howard Street, Melbourne, Australia 3051

37 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Melbourne Metro YHA

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 88% Facilities - 88% Safety - 92%
Location - 75% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 80%
Johnnie Lau Yuk Kwong
With my spouse / partner
City break, Family Holiday, Relaxation/spa
91.4%
Johnnie Lau would recommend this property 17 August 2015

Helpful & friendly staffs, well equipped & clean kitchen, nice rooftop garden, will visit again......

Johanne Valois
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Johanne would recommend this property 29 January 2013

I'm a french canadian and all the staff help me a lot, they were patient. The kitchen is a good size, Just a little way to the center, so more quiet. Walking everywhere is possible.

Melbourne

44 Hostels from 10.69 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Melbourne hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Melbourne. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Melbourne

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Melbourne. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter