We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Melbourne, Australia

92.6%
50 reviews Book Now 
1

United Backpackers

Hostel
250 Flinders Street, Victoria, Melbourne, Australia 3000

47 out of 50 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend United Backpackers

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 91% Facilities - 89% Safety - 94%
Location - 99% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 92%
Jason Livingstone
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife
97.1%
Jason would recommend this property 04 March 2015

Good hostel. Good atmosphere. The location is amazing!!! Right opposite flinders street station. Events which is good for meeting people

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 02 March 2015

Just the perfect place to stay when you come to Melbourne .. helpful staff, great location and city-walk-tours for free. What else could you ask for?

90.9%
28 reviews Book Now 
2

Miami Hotel Melbourne

3.5 star Hotel
13 Hawke Street, Melbourne, Australia 3003

28 out of 28 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Miami Hotel Melbourne

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 96% Facilities - 89% Safety - 92%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 93%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 02 February 2015

Feels secure and safe, very close to the free tram lines into and around the city. Very close to the queen Victoria markets which are very much worth a visit. The hotel offers everything you would require as listed and they keep the rooms very clean and fully serviced. Receptionists very helpful when you have questions or queries.

Redzuan Jaid
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Redzuan would recommend this property 17 June 2014

The staffs is the great asset,very helpful and friendly and most af all superb clean,keep up your good work guys!

90.4%
322 reviews Book Now 
3

Hotel Claremont Guest House

Hostel
189 Toorak Road, South Yarra, Melbourne, Australia 3141

308 out of 322 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Claremont Guest House

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 96%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 89%
Li Brolin
Alone
Work / volunteering
80.0%
Li would recommend this property 19 February 2015

The guest house is clean, quite and the staff are nice. The location is great but I think it would be better it the there was an elevator. Breakfast was also good! I would definitely come back.no

Ashley Frowe
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Ashley would recommend this property 19 January 2015

This property was in a great location not to far from stkilda beach or Melbourne city centre walkable but you can get the tram in. The hostel is basic and clean beds were really comfy and shower facilities were brilliant they were cleaned every morning. Staff were friendly and the reception was open 24hr so checking in late at night is fine. The complantary breakfast is basic with cereal and toast on offer as well as fresh Orange jucie, tea and coffee. Over all we would defiantly stay here again.

89.5%
966 reviews Book Now 
4

Space Hotel

Hostel
380 Russell St, Melbourne, Australia 3000

812 out of 966 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Space Hotel

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 92%
Location - 91% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 84%
Ka Ka Lam
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Ka Ka would recommend this property 29 January 2015

This is absolutely the best hostel I've ever stayed. The location is fantastic, very close to various public transport, which I think is so important for people without own vehicle like me. THE PLACE IS SOOOOOO CLEAN, even cleaner than a lot of hotels, I'm sure. And the facilities are awesome, with movie space, gym, etc... The atmosphere is friendly and cheerful. The pantry is well-equipped and clean. I especially enjoy the huge TV set which allows me to eat while watching Australian Open XDDD All in all, THIS PLACE IS AWESOME! Not only will I come back, I will recommend it to everyone I know who is coming to Melbourne.

Victoria Apodaca
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
97.1%
Victoria would recommend this property 31 December 2014

This property was extremely clean and presentable upon my first arrival. The people sitting at the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful. They even let me borrow the hotel's Miki card for my excursion to Brighton Beach! The facilities are excellent, especially for a hostel and for it's reasonable price. I was amazed that both a gym and spa were provided! I would ABSOLUTELY stay at this place again and recommend it to all my friends!

89.4%
38 reviews Book Now 
5

Melbourne Central YHA

Hostel
562 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Australia VIC 3000

36 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Melbourne Central YHA

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 88% Facilities - 85% Safety - 94%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 84%
Matilda Elliot
With friends / other travellers
Visiting friends or family
97.1%
Matilda would recommend this property 24 February 2015

It was clean, comfortable, easy access to tram lines and a short walk to Southbank. Staff were friendly and the showers were absolutely wonderful.

Kate Smith
Alone
Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Kate would recommend this property 23 February 2015

I really like the new renovations done by Melbourne Central hostel. The downstairs entry has improved a lot. The hostel also has a great location of course. You save on a taxi fare from the airport by being across from the skybus and on tram fares by being within the free tram zone.

89.0%
7 reviews Book Now 
6

Barkly Backpackers

Hostel
102 Barkly St, Melbourne, Australia 3182

6 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Barkly Backpackers

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 94% Facilities - 88% Safety - 94%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 88%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 18 September 2014

Nice and comfortable Hostel, clean, good kitchen facilities, helpfully staff, nice people around, near to the beach.

Rhiannon Vaughan
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Rhiannon would recommend this property 23 July 2014

I had great time here, rooms are clean, beds are comfy, kiychen area is cleaned regulary. Friendly people, free wireless, plenty of places to lounge and be social. I found it easy to make friends and your not too far from the main city. Theres good facilities near by. Was a good few weeks :-)

88.7%
491 reviews Book Now 
7

Habitat HQ

Hostel
333 St Kilda Road, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia 3182

456 out of 491 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Habitat HQ

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 97% Facilities - 86% Safety - 87%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 89%
Craig Cox
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Craig would recommend this property 03 March 2015

I had no problems it was the third time I stayed I would recommend to anyone really nice place

Alexandra Roman
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
100.0%
Alexandra would recommend this property 06 February 2015

One of my favorite hostels in Melbourne! Not quite in the heart of St Kilda, but easy enough walk or tram! Great atmosphere, easy to meet people and make friends. Free wifi is awesome. Absolutely love this place!

88.1%
208 reviews Book Now 
8

The Nunnery

Hostel
116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy, Melbourne, Australia 3065

186 out of 208 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Nunnery

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 90% Facilities - 85% Safety - 89%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 83% Value - 86%
Claire Gunn
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Claire would recommend this property 19 February 2015

The Nunnery is located just out of CBD and next to the lovely Carlton Gardens and Melbourne museum. You can easily walk to CBD but there are plenty of trams that can take you from right outside the road. This suburb of Melbourne is full of cafes, pubs and shops. The hostel itself is well cleaned. It has comfortable living room with a TV, a courtyard to sit outside in the sun and some nights of the week there is free ice cream, or a BBQ.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 19 February 2015

Super clean, helpful staff, large common areas, safe and secure, free tea,coffee and even drinking chocolate

86.7%
701 reviews Book Now 
9

Urban Central Backpackers

Hostel
334 City Road, Southbank, Melbourne, Australia .

649 out of 701 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Urban Central Backpackers

Atmosphere - 75% Staff - 88% Facilities - 87% Safety - 94%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 87%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Shopping
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 21 February 2015

Excellent staff, bar had good deals, clean rooms, only a short walk to southern cross station.

Andressa Carvalho
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Andressa would recommend this property 21 February 2015

The hostel is very big, being almost crowded. The kitchen is very big and useful.

85.8%
242 reviews Book Now 
10

City Centre Budget Hotel

3 star Hotel
22-30 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Australia 3000

219 out of 242 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend City Centre Budget Hotel

Atmosphere - 71% Staff - 88% Facilities - 80% Safety - 91%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 86%
Amy Freemantle
Alone
City break, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
91.4%
Amy would recommend this property 17 July 2014

They were accomodating to the fact that I was checking in after reception closed and were able to give me clear access instructions.

Chloe Halstead
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Chloe would recommend this property 12 February 2014

Such a good rate for what get, lovely room, fab facilities, fast unlimited wifi, friendly staff. Very quiet and clean. Would definitely stay again.

Melbourne

44 Hostels from 18.72 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Melbourne hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Melbourne. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Melbourne

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Melbourne. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter