We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Melbourne, Australia

92.6%
40 reviews Book Now 
1

United Backpackers

Hostel
250 Flinders Street, Victoria, Melbourne, Australia 3000

37 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend United Backpackers

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 90% Facilities - 88% Safety - 96%
Location - 98% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 93%
Alfons Martinez Valls
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Alfons would recommend this property 25 October 2014

During my stay, I knew almost all the staff, and they are ALL very kind and helpfull.

stephen sinclair
Alone
Partying / nightlife
97.1%
stephen would recommend this property 09 September 2014

what I liked abut United Backpackers was the location a 140 meter / 153 yard walk from Flinders St station

92.3%
957 reviews Book Now 
2

Space Hotel

Hostel
380 Russell St, Melbourne, Australia 3000

805 out of 957 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Space Hotel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 93% Facilities - 91% Safety - 96%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
City break, Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 27 July 2014

Very clean and well designed. Lots of powerpoints by the beds and in lockers, amazingly enough they managed to create some privacy even in a dorm room. I didn't look at other levels but on mine the bathrooms were all one-person bathrooms and there were lots - this was very, very nice. Signs said they are cleaned five times a day plus on demand so I never had to deal with a gross bathroom. The other facilities looked good but I didn't have enough time to enjoy them as I had so much to pack in to a short trip.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 01 July 2014

I like location of the place. Very convenient to walk to city only take 5minutes amd i love the staff our there ,they are very helpful and friendly.

91.3%
27 reviews Book Now 
3

Miami Hotel Melbourne

3.5 star Hotel
13 Hawke Street, Melbourne, Australia 3003

27 out of 27 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Miami Hotel Melbourne

Atmosphere - 81% Staff - 96% Facilities - 89% Safety - 92%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 93%
Redzuan Jaid
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Redzuan would recommend this property 17 June 2014

The staffs is the great asset,very helpful and friendly and most af all superb clean,keep up your good work guys!

Codie Vikstrom
With friends / other travellers
Visiting friends or family
97.1%
Codie would recommend this property 28 March 2014

Very close to the city, staff very helpful and friendly, room was great value for money.

89.8%
320 reviews Book Now 
4

Hotel Claremont Guest House

Hostel
189 Toorak Road, South Yarra, Melbourne, Australia 3141

306 out of 320 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Claremont Guest House

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 89% Facilities - 88% Safety - 96%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 88%
Stephanie Reid
With friends / other travellers
City break, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Stephanie would recommend this property 18 August 2014

Extremely clean, very helpful staff, great location just ten mins on the train from the CBD. Better than a hostel, but cheaper than a hotel.

Adrian Foong
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Adrian would recommend this property 06 July 2014

Great old-world charm with tastefully restored interior and furnishing; very clean beds and bathrooms; very reasonable price with good spread of continental breakfast; good location between CBD and St Kilda and near shops, restaurants and tram stop

89.0%
7 reviews Book Now 
5

Barkly Backpackers

Hostel
102 Barkly St, Melbourne, Australia 3182

6 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Barkly Backpackers

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 94% Facilities - 88% Safety - 94%
Location - 85% Cleanliness - 82% Value - 88%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 18 September 2014

Nice and comfortable Hostel, clean, good kitchen facilities, helpfully staff, nice people around, near to the beach.

Rhiannon Vaughan
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Rhiannon would recommend this property 23 July 2014

I had great time here, rooms are clean, beds are comfy, kiychen area is cleaned regulary. Friendly people, free wireless, plenty of places to lounge and be social. I found it easy to make friends and your not too far from the main city. Theres good facilities near by. Was a good few weeks :-)

88.9%
485 reviews Book Now 
6

Habitat HQ

Hostel
333 St Kilda Road, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia 3182

450 out of 485 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Habitat HQ

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 97% Facilities - 86% Safety - 88%
Location - 78% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 90%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
60.0%
10 September 2014

The hang out area is big and theres lots of books you can borrow. I also saw a shelf with board games. I liked the daily events too. The staff were helpful.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
82.9%
Customer would recommend this property 30 August 2014

All the events and the great atmosphere the people there create. I was travelling alone but after just 4 nights I had to say goodbye to new friends.

87.3%
35 reviews Book Now 
7

Melbourne Central YHA

Hostel
562 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Australia VIC 3000

33 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Melbourne Central YHA

Atmosphere - 78% Staff - 88% Facilities - 84% Safety - 92%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 80%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 01 December 2013

It was quiet, the kitchen was clean and there was enough space to cook easily. The location is very convenient. The rooms were spacious and quiet. I asked for an extra pillow and got one so slept very well. The bathrooms are the nicest I've seen so far in a hostel.

Holly McNeilage
Alone
Visiting friends or family
80.0%
Holly would recommend this property 22 April 2013

This was my first hostel I've ever stayed at so I was a little nervous but it was very clean, central location, helpful staff. Could not fault it at all. Would stay again.

87.1%
205 reviews Book Now 
8

The Nunnery

Hostel
116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy, Melbourne, Australia 3065

183 out of 205 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Nunnery

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 91% Facilities - 82% Safety - 89%
Location - 92% Cleanliness - 81% Value - 84%
Angela Matthews
With a large group / tour
Events / festivals, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Angela would recommend this property 19 October 2014

Location Location :) was perfect for our groups needs and wants including the convenience of the tram picking us up almost at our front door, supermarkets, museums etc. Jackie was very helpful as well as other staff. The friendly atmosphere and hassel free breakfast and other extras on top of our stay will see us return next year.

Yassine Khalil
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Yassine would recommend this property 17 April 2014

The Nunnery is a very comfortable and clean hostel. The staff is very frinedly and helpful with issues. I think it might be one of the best hostels in Australia cause it's essential things are good to very good and it has a nice flair.

86.7%
46 reviews Book Now 
9

Home @ The Mansion

Hostel
66-90, Victoria Parade, Melbourne, Australia 3002

41 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Home @ The Mansion

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 92% Facilities - 83% Safety - 84%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 85%
Thomas Conroy
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife
82.9%
Thomas would recommend this property 16 September 2012

Really did feel like you were at home. Nice cosy place. Free Pizza night. TV area with bean bags. Well equipped Kitchen. The Showers! And of course, the people I met.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 24 November 2011

its awesome, really cool building, really cool people, been away for a year now and hands down the best hostel i've stayed in, loved it dont, want to leave.

86.2%
681 reviews Book Now 
10

Urban Central Backpackers

Hostel
334 City Road, Southbank, Melbourne, Australia .

629 out of 681 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Urban Central Backpackers

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 88% Facilities - 84% Safety - 91%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 85%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 26 October 2014

The nights were reasonably quiet considering the central location and the bar is open every day if you want to party. The toilets and showers were very clean and the staff was friendly and competent. Also, there is free breakfast and free rice and noodles which are constantly refilled. Everything in the kitchen works and there are enough dishes and cutlery. Plus, they offer great deals for travelling and display recent, useful ads on their jobs board.

Shehani Gunesekera
With friends / other travellers
Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family
100.0%
Shehani would recommend this property 29 July 2014

This was my first time at a hostel & was quite hesitant about it, however the cleanliness, friendly staff, great location, safe & great ambience was a fantastic experience & I've already recommended it to serval friends & family! We absolutely loved staying at Urban Central & will definitely be visiting again soon!

Melbourne

46 Hostels from 17.47 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Melbourne hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Melbourne. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Melbourne

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Melbourne. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter