HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Melbourne, Australia

93.7%
944 reviews Book Now 
1

Space Hotel

Hostel
380 Russell St, Melbourne, Australia 3000

792 out of 944 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Space Hotel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 90% Facilities - 95% Safety - 99%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 90%
simon cole
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
71.4%
simon would recommend this property 11 April 2014

Location. Late access was easy. Good internet facilities (though you do have to pay)

Customer review
Alone
Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 04 April 2014

Great location, bright and clean - although water in the bathrooms is a problem, but not sure how it could be addressed in clean ways - better water than filthy bath mats!

91.0%
25 reviews Book Now 
2

Miami Hotel Melbourne

3.5 star Hotel
13 Hawke Street, Melbourne, Australia 3003

25 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Miami Hotel Melbourne

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 96% Facilities - 90% Safety - 92%
Location - 86% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 93%
Codie Vikstrom
With friends / other travellers
Visiting friends or family
97.1%
Codie would recommend this property 28 March 2014

Very close to the city, staff very helpful and friendly, room was great value for money.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 27 March 2014

Nice, spacy hotel style rooms with daily room service. Good location (Melbourne is walkable from there). Nice and helpful receptionists. 250mb free wifi. Connected to the skybus airport shuttle hotel transfer.

90.3%
18 reviews Book Now 
3

United Backpackers

Hostel
250 Flinders Street, Victoria, Melbourne, Australia 3000

16 out of 18 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend United Backpackers

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 95% Facilities - 81% Safety - 97%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 85%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 17 March 2014

Great atmosphere, awesome, friendly and funny staff. location was good Hostel itself lookes nice and modern

Jane Wissotsky
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering
91.4%
Jane would recommend this property 18 February 2014

Location is excellent. Rooms are spacious and beds are extremely comfortable, bathrooms are very clean. Wifi is free and works well (most of the time) Reception staff are very helpful. Excellent for solo travelers.

88.6%
476 reviews Book Now 
4

Habitat HQ

Hostel
333 St Kilda Road, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia 3182

442 out of 476 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Habitat HQ

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 95% Facilities - 87% Safety - 90%
Location - 78% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 88%
Tom Schoenmakers
With friends / other travellers
Partying / nightlife
77.1%
Tom would recommend this property 01 April 2014

Good friendly vibe through out the hostel, and many night time events to keep you occupied.

Customer review
Alone
City break, Visiting friends or family
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 15 December 2013

Dorms were good and very clean with comfy beds. Common area is excellent - lots of space to hang out, cheap beer/wine available in the evenings, tea and coffee-making facilities and some vending machines and an ATM.

87.5%
30 reviews Book Now 
5

Melbourne Central YHA

Hostel
562 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Australia VIC 3000

28 out of 30 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Melbourne Central YHA

Atmosphere - 77% Staff - 89% Facilities - 84% Safety - 92%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 80%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 01 December 2013

It was quiet, the kitchen was clean and there was enough space to cook easily. The location is very convenient. The rooms were spacious and quiet. I asked for an extra pillow and got one so slept very well. The bathrooms are the nicest I've seen so far in a hostel.

Holly McNeilage
Alone
Visiting friends or family
80.0%
Holly would recommend this property 22 April 2013

This was my first hostel I've ever stayed at so I was a little nervous but it was very clean, central location, helpful staff. Could not fault it at all. Would stay again.

86.7%
306 reviews Book Now 
6

Hotel Claremont Guest House

3 star Hotel
189 Toorak Road, South Yarra, Melbourne, Australia 3141

292 out of 306 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Hotel Claremont Guest House

Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 84% Facilities - 88% Safety - 94%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 83%
Anne Wilson
With friends / other travellers
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Anne would recommend this property 01 April 2014

The BEST hostel i have ever stayed at! And ive stayed in lots in Australia and the world. Charming property. Old world charm. Modern clean facilities and rooms. The best of a hotel, the best of a hostel. Towels and soap, tv in twin room. Complimentary breakfast and kitchen staff. Great location for chapel street shopping. Individual toilet and shower combo facilities. And the staff! A man behind the desk noticed that a weird man was talking to us outside the hostel and then offered to walk us to the station for saftey. Your own personal bodyguard! We felt very appreciative and impressed. We cant wait to come back.

Tuncay Kilic
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Shopping
97.1%
Tuncay would recommend this property 03 March 2014

Nice atmosphere, more like a hotel. Free Wi-Fi, good location (2 stations/5min to center), very clean

86.7%
46 reviews Book Now 
7

Home @ The Mansion

Hostel
66-90, Victoria Parade, Melbourne, Australia 3002

41 out of 46 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Home @ The Mansion

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 92% Facilities - 83% Safety - 84%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 85%
Thomas Conroy
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Partying / nightlife
82.9%
Thomas would recommend this property 16 September 2012

Really did feel like you were at home. Nice cosy place. Free Pizza night. TV area with bean bags. Well equipped Kitchen. The Showers! And of course, the people I met.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 24 November 2011

its awesome, really cool building, really cool people, been away for a year now and hands down the best hostel i've stayed in, loved it dont, want to leave.

86.1%
35 reviews Book Now 
8

Melbourne Metro YHA

Hostel
78 Howard Street, Melbourne, Australia 3051

32 out of 35 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Melbourne Metro YHA

Atmosphere - 79% Staff - 89% Facilities - 87% Safety - 92%
Location - 76% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 82%
Johanne Valois
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Johanne would recommend this property 29 January 2013

I'm a french canadian and all the staff help me a lot, they were patient. The kitchen is a good size, Just a little way to the center, so more quiet. Walking everywhere is possible.

Customer review
Alone
Visiting friends or family
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 04 November 2012

I like that the lounge area was spacious and had a very homely feel. A mix of clientele of young and not so young and multicultural - just a very welcoming atmosphere.

84.9%
202 reviews Book Now 
9

The Nunnery

Hostel
116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy, Melbourne, Australia 3065

180 out of 202 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Nunnery

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 89% Facilities - 80% Safety - 86%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 82%
Yassine Khalil
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Yassine would recommend this property 17 April 2014

The Nunnery is a very comfortable and clean hostel. The staff is very frinedly and helpful with issues. I think it might be one of the best hostels in Australia cause it's essential things are good to very good and it has a nice flair.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 14 March 2014

Pretty close to bars , restaurants and the cbd. Free Bbq on a Friday night was good

84.8%
241 reviews Book Now 
10

City Centre Budget Hotel

3 star Hotel
22-30 Little Collins Street, Melbourne, Australia 3000

218 out of 241 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend City Centre Budget Hotel

Atmosphere - 70% Staff - 88% Facilities - 79% Safety - 90%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 84%
Chloe Halstead
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Chloe would recommend this property 12 February 2014

Such a good rate for what get, lovely room, fab facilities, fast unlimited wifi, friendly staff. Very quiet and clean. Would definitely stay again.

Customer review
Alone
Business / conference
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 17 December 2013

It is pleasant experience to stay at City Centre Budget Hotel I will recommend others too.

Melbourne

48 Hostels from 16.78 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Melbourne hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Melbourne. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.

No booking fees

The only major hostel booking site that doesn't charge a booking fee.

Guide to Melbourne

Guide to Find our best travel tips, advice and inspiration on what to do and where to stay in our guide to Melbourne. Discover how to travel on a budget and don’t forget to check the weather before you go!

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Monthly Newsletter

 
Please enter valid email address
Check out this month's newsletter