HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Travellers Trax @ The Barley Corn Hotel Melbourne Hostel

177 Johnston Street,, Collingwood, Melbourne, Australia

Atmosphere 54%

Cleanliness 44%

Facilities 48%

Location 68%

Safety 49%

Staff 64%

Value 54%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cafe
  • Common Room
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 54%

Cleanliness 44%

Facilities 48%

Location 68%

Safety 49%

Staff 64%

Value 54%

Showing 1-10 of 48 reviews

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: That I left

Disliked: Filthy, dirty, disgusting, messy, uncomfortable, no space,

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Liked: NA

Disliked: NA

Customer would recommend this property

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nobody clean its nasty

Disliked: Everything

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 20%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The biggest pro is that it's probably best value for money in Melbourne. Don't get me wrong, it is expensive. It's not worth the money, but its the cheapest. The next cheapest hostel had reviews about ants, cockroaches, bed bugs etc. Travellers Trax is lacking in many ways but it's liveable. It had a good social vibe, everyone sat outside a lot and seemed to be good friends and get drunk in the eve, if that's what you're after. I would recommend if you need to stay in a hostel short term. If you're in Melbourne longer than a couple of weeks just rent somewhere off Gumtree, it would be cheaper.

Disliked: As mentioned, its lacking in many ways. The 'deep clean' they have every Friday is cleaning floors and surfaces. Ie what all other hospitality places have to do every day by law. Everything else was fairly dirty. The hostel has upstairs and downstairs facilities. Downstairs terrible, upstairs approaching nice. The downstairs showers and toilets are unuseable. My boyfriend was unfortunately showered in smelly brown water when we arrived. He also had to sleep in a bed next to a window sill filled with pungent empty alcohol bottles and trash. This was also in a downstairs room. I would recommend requesting an upstairs room, if possible. The facilities are much better there, there's only 2 showers up there but it's DEFINITELY worth waiting. Only downside to upstairs is the lockers. Downstairs, the lockers use padlocks. Upstairs, they use cheap locks and every single locker can be opened using every single key, or a fork. Good for keeping food in though, as theyre in the kitchen. Not great if you want security. Upstairs rooms lock properly so that was good. Downstairs rooms stayed open, as did most of the doors into the hostel. I'm pretty sure I could stroll in now and no one would notice. I'd be lying if I said I hadn't considered nipping in to borrow some of their kitchen supplies. That said, it was pretty tough trying to scrape together enough dishes and cutlery for meals everyday from the slimey drawers. Also, the big lounge room is dark as hell. Not super fun for chilling if you don't fancy being social outside. I will however say all the staff who are volunteers working for board are SO nice, they genuinely care about the customers and hostel and are helpful and friendly!! The actual staff who run it, not so much. When we arrived we had a booking for their 'double room'. Woman at desk said she couldn't find our booking, said that the double room didn't exist and she'd been trying for YEARS to have hostelbookers take it down from the website, and that she was very annoyed with them. When we emailed hostelbookers to get our booking charge back they were surprised and said the property are the ones who sort out what their hostel ad says. Very unsurprising. They're really not to be trusted. They also have aggressive signs threatening fines in the kitchens to try and make people tidy after themselves. I thought this was stupid because there was several months of grime in the kitchens which is the hostels responsibility, not the customers! Why would anyone bother being clean and tidy when theyre paying $25 a night to live in a tip? Anyway. Despite all that, I would still recommend. All these things were pretty annoying but theyre better than cockroaches.

Customer would recommend this property

20% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
20% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Aug 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: I liked leaving.

Disliked: Everything!! Was so filthy and smelly! Was run down. It seems as though it has never been cleaned, they claim it gets a 'deep clean' every Friday. I do not believe that to be true.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: I'm an Aussie and staying here feels really homely. It's affordable which is great but the atmosphere is really relaxed and the people are really friendly and helpful. No curfew, free Wi-Fi... I lived here during the housing crisis and have been to 80% of the hostels in Melbourne and this is my favorite place. The location is also awesome.

Disliked: It's an old heritage listed building (1868), so there's some unavoidable messiness... But if you're looking for luxury fittings and architectural superiority maybe you should think about not staying at a backpacker. I love it here.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Good environment and location

Disliked: No

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Cool place to meet an hang out with people, it's like you're not living in a hostel but in a big share house :)

Disliked: Some stuff they have is pretty old and doesn't work perfectly anymore

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Helpfulness of staff; close to things like the Afford project which offers vegetarian food for donations. As such great place for job seekers and backpackers alike to use as base.

Disliked: Condition and l to much partying.

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Easy going staff.

Disliked: Not 100% clean.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability