HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Travellers Trax @ The Barley Corn

Hostel | 177, Johnston Street, Melbourne, Australia VIC 3066

62.9% Overall Rating

9 out of 13 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (29/12/2013)

"I liked the people who were staying there. Everyone was very friendly and if felt like a small community there."

Read all Travellers Trax @ The Barley Corn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Café
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Melbourne

Collingwood Accommodation
27.83 USD

Hostel 76.0% 104 reviews
Central Melbourne Accommodation
30.61 USD

Hostel 79.3% 17 reviews
The Nunnery
29.68 USD

Hostel 84.9% 202 reviews
Home @ The Mansion
20.41 USD

Hostel 86.7% 46 reviews
City Centre Budget Hotel
33.62 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 241 reviews
Richmond Hill Hotel Melbourne
34.78 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.7% 20 reviews
Space Hotel
27.64 USD

Hostel 93.8% 945 reviews
Lords Lodge Backpackers Hostel
23.19 USD

Hostel 66.7% 158 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.9%

Overall Rating

9 out of 13 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Travellers Trax @ The Barley Corn'

Atmosphere
58.5%
Location
64.6%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
55.4%
Staff
70.8%
Value
70.8%
Safety
60.0%
Refine your results Showing 12 of 12 reviews
Reset filter
57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: not clearn

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice people, free internet and computers very close to lentals

Disliked: A little hard to find and renovations down stairs were noisey

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big kitchen and large, clean and modern bathrooms.

Disliked: Messy guests in a ten bed dorm. Such a mess made it easy to misplace belongings.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alex Chalumeau

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

20 January 2014 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Very easy late night access with safety codes, well organized procedure.

Disliked: Having to take a cold shower at 4.45am in the dark ! I wasn't prepared for that !

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2013

Liked: I liked the people who were staying there. Everyone was very friendly and if felt like a small community there.

Disliked: There were no staff what so ever. Only a number to call to get a code for a safe so you could get your key then bed covers from your locker. There was no reception to ask questions about checking in or out. The actual entrance was very difficult to find and the pub underneath was shut so there was no one to ask. Fitzroy is a heavily graffitied area, I'm sure someone would be happy to do some art above the door to mark an entrance. The 18 bed dorm did not have directions to it and is not in the hostel. The bridge and stairs to the dorm are unsafe and myself and a few others tripped a lot and were worried about falling through. The toilet was disgusting. One unisex toilet for 18 people and an open urinal wall for guys. The showers weren't much better. The 18 bed dorm was hot at night despite there being a small fan which only cooled a small part of the room. None of the bars were open as advertised. The bed I was in had not been cleaned before I was in it and smelled disgusting.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 October 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Only stay here if you are into fuelling your habits - as a lone traveller I was scared at times in this hostel and it is a bad reflection of the kinds of hostels that both hostel bookers and Australia offers! I arrived late to check in after my flight and was locked out in the dark and the rain, nobody answered the 'call if you arrive after hours' contact numbers for 2 hours, luckily I had banged on the door loud enough that another person staying there let me in. My key was taped to the inside door to my room (I would not have known this from being locked outside) and as I had arrived after hours they had charged me for the 4 nights in advance. To have strangers coming in and out of the dorm room at all times of the day and night was concerning especially as my main backpack was left in there and if you are not into D , it is not a hostel to be in. I had asked a member of staff for information on getting to the airport which was completely false and had I not asked someone else in addition to her, I may have been too late. I actually left early and slept in the airport on my last night rather than stayed at the prepaid hostel - says a lot about this accommodation!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is close to the city in 45 minutes walk. Very nice park nearby. It is a nice old building. Very friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

25 August 2013

Liked: There was precious little to like

Disliked: Where to begin? Upon check-in we were directed to our room only to find two men who were "meant to have checked out" staying there. They refused to leave and we had to wait for 15 minutes for them to clear out. The staff did not seemed overly concerned about this, and didn't do much to hurry them along. When we got in the room, it was next to a room that was literally demolished, leaving holes in our wall near the beds. The bedding was stained. The kitchen was filthy, and the less said about the bathrooms the better. We tried to check out in the morning only to find reception closed, and no staff on the premises. When we managed to contact someone we were told we would have to wait (even when we said we needed to leave to catch our plan) because reception opens late on the weekend. This was by far the worst hostel I, or any of my group, had ever stayed in. I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ash poojary

Alone

Relaxation/spa

07 August 2013 ash would recommend this property

Liked: coffee was great people were great entertainment was great beer garden was great

Disliked: ash left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good for accessing city (Victoria park station 3min walk) This is one of the cheapest options (although not worth the saving)

Disliked: One tiny sink in the hallway for entire hostel One shower only (two others were available but required walking outside, down to a small room which did not have locking doors and could potentially be accessed by the public from the common area) Shower was cold 4 out of 5 days Showers and kitchens were always filthy Toilets sometimes didn't have toilet paper Loud live music in the bar until late Although very friendly, staff couldn't help with basic information (ex: where to get a meal locally) Was not notified of all weekend event before booking (loud music all day and until ca. 2am for three nights + no access to common room) Area is too quiet and dark so didn't feel very secure walking home in the dark

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

21 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenience to public transport. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Bathroom run down and old, needs sprucing up.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Samantha Aungle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

31 May 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The location was quite handy to Fitzroy, Victoria Park Railway Station, laundromat, cafes, interesting little shops, the bus to St Kilda. Friendly staff, very helpful. Nice food at their own bar. Dancing in their bar, then just going back to hostel room to sleep.

Disliked: It was quiet damp in the only shower room, the floor lacked a drain. The hot water would run out quite easily. No lockers in room, although nothing taken, luckily. Kitchen was often difficult to cook with more than three people cooking.