HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Habitat HQ

Hostel | 333 St Kilda Road, St Kilda Melbourne, Australia 3182

88.9% Overall Rating

450 out of 485 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/09/2014)

"The hang out area is big and theres lots of books you can borrow. I also saw a shelf with board games. I liked the daily events too. The staff were helpful."

Read all Habitat HQ reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Melbourne

Barkly Backpackers
25.33 USD

Hostel 89.0% 7 reviews
St Kilda Beach House
25.33 USD

Hostel 76.5% 252 reviews
Base St Kilda
31.44 USD

Hostel 86.1% 204 reviews
Coffee Palace
28.82 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Easystay The Bayside Motel
43.23 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.7% 3 reviews
Easystay Serviced Apartments
47.60 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 83.8% 3 reviews
Easystay Apartments Raglan Street
69.43 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Ritz For Backpackers
27.95 USD

Hostel 76.9% 263 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.9%

Overall Rating

450 out of 485 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Habitat HQ'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
86.4%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
90.4%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 387 of 406 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2014

Liked: The hang out area is big and theres lots of books you can borrow. I also saw a shelf with board games. I liked the daily events too. The staff were helpful.

Disliked: The location was too far from the center, and since public transportation is quite expensive and takes time it was a bad choice for me to stay so far. I mainly chose this location after hearing good things about the ambience and nightlife, but since most people at the hostel were working the next day, I didn't even manage to go out. Also, the kitchen was very dirty most of the time. There were too few mugs most of the time and hostel guests rarely washed their own dishes leaving a gross pile in the sink. The room was messy too, I was horrified when I took off the pillow cover at check-out ...gross pillow, stained and "hairy".

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the events and the great atmosphere the people there create. I was travelling alone but after just 4 nights I had to say goodbye to new friends.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best Hostel in Melbourne i ve been in

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesse Penning

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

12 July 2014 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Well looked after

Disliked: Jesse left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amy wilson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 June 2014 amy would recommend this property

Liked: You get breakfast and wifi included in the price, the rooms are cleaned everyday and there is a very chilled out atmosophere, I booked for longer.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Blake

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 May 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Spencer in reception is great! All of the staff are very friendly and willing to help. Habitat has a great atmosphere, great place to meet people.

Disliked: Jack left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Work / volunteering

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good amenities, good atmosphere, 24 hour service.

Disliked: N/A

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Tom Schoenmakers

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 April 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Good friendly vibe through out the hostel, and many night time events to keep you occupied.

Disliked: Kitchen equipment was not the best, also the kitchen was very crowded at night when trying to cook food, and very dirty.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times

Disliked: Lack of saucepans and decent crockery

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean communal bathrooms and helpful, friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

romain masse

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

11 February 2014 romain would recommend this property

Liked: others hostels in Melbourne are not so clean, specially bathroom!!

Disliked: romain left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room, friendly staff

Disliked: We booked for 2 private rooms with attached toilet. However when we arrived we were told that one of the rooms were not available instead they switched one of the rooms to a 4 bed dorm with toilet. We wished we were informed in advanced. We expect to get what we paid for. Staff mentioned that hostelbookers is the one responsible in informing us about this but we never received any.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: i was happy about everyhing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dorms were good and very clean with comfy beds. Common area is excellent - lots of space to hang out, cheap beer/wine available in the evenings, tea and coffee-making facilities and some vending machines and an ATM.

Disliked: The location is okay but not the best - it's a 15 minute walk to Fitzroy Street (compare this to hostels that are already there) and 30 minute walk to the beach, however there is a tram right outside the door and places to buy food close by. Also, I was in a dorm sharing with 5 other girls and we had only 1 bathroom between us - there were other showers and toilets available but they were downstairs past the common area. Just small things though, as overall I really enjoyed my stay and will probably stay there again when I go back to Melbourne.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dulcie Ruttley-Dornan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013 Dulcie would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good set up, well furnished, well stocked kitchen, live music on Sundays, very environmentally friendly, very safe and not far from the beach.

Disliked: A bit far from the main city, though easy tram route and at Kilda is a good location

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely atmosphere, great rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Salvatore Mazzamuto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2013 Salvatore would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and well organized. Staff helpful and nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

adam kutereba

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 adam would recommend this property

Liked: clean god transport links

Disliked: na

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam North

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

21 July 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: This is without a doubt the best hostel I have stayed in. the facilities are habitat are spot on with a great communal area offering a great opportunity to meet new people and enjoy a drink! The staff are a great bunch, especially Jess and Spencer. I've been in a few hostels with miserable staff but that's definitely not the case here! There is plenty going on during the week whether it is live music,a quiz night or Karaoke, plenty of laughs to be had! The rooms are clean and well maintained with good shower facilities/ toilets as well. The kitchen is big enough with everything you could need. St Kilda is a great spot to be in, not too far from the City but plenty to do and see. Overall Habitat is a great hostel with a fantastic atmosphere and facilities. Would recommend it to anyone!

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 July 2013

Liked: It was clean, rooms were good for a hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steph Abfalter

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 June 2013 Steph would recommend this property

Liked: Definitely value for money! New facilities at a great price.

Disliked: There was no bar (lol). But you could BYO so it was not so bad :)

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2013

Liked: Staff were pleasant. From other reviews it seems it's a great place for youngsters and partygoers.

Disliked: The location - we were shocked that the area seems to be 'red light district'. It's also quite far out of the City.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Nathan Bible

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

27 May 2013 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: My 'short stay' in Habitat and Melbourne has now gone on for 4 months and counting! This is largely because of the 15 hostels I have stayed at in Australia, Habitat is without doubt the best! A great social atmosphere is created by the staff and guests making it easy to make friends, with someone always available to chill or party with. There are some great free weekly events put on to keep everyone entertained (including quizzes, bingo, karaoke, a bar crawl, live music), along with plenty of prizes to be won! The hostel has the benefit of not being too big that it alienates solo travelers, and is not too small that it gets boring. The comfy lounge and TV room areas are great to relax in and are accessible 24/7 (with dvds available, as well as fox sports to keep up with all important premier league matches!). As there is no bar you can bring your own drink into the hostel, with the courtyard and lounge becoming lively in the evenings! Free WiFi is also a big plus; reasonable connection with a large daily allowance. There are also a couple of PCs to use if needed. The Kitchen is the best I have come across in a hostel so far, quite big with plenty of storage space and ovens (which you don't always find in hostels). That's not to mention the free breakfast on offer everyday (cereal/toast), pancake breakfast on Wednesdays, unlimited free tea and coffee, and free weekly BBQ in the summer months! The hostel is generally clean and tidy by hostel standards, and the aircon throughout the hostel is very good at keeping you cool in summer and warm as the winter chill sets in. The bathrooms are also quite clean and there are plenty of toilets and showers so that you are never waiting. The staff are friendly and helpful with queries, letting you know what's going on in Melbourne every day. A special mention to Sinead, Jess, Pam, Ella, and Spencer; who are always happy to have a chat and help keep things fun every day! There is also a travel desk in the hostel so that you can book all your tours etc. 15 mins walk to the highlights of St Kilda (Beach, Luna Park, Fitzroy St, Acland St); there's plenty of shops, restaurants and bars. Be sure to check out the St Kilda night market in the summer and Lentil As Anything for some cheap food! The nearest supermarket (ALDI) is within 5 mins walk and is also the closest spot for all important goon purchases. 50m outside of the hostel is a tram stop that takes you into the heart of Melbourne in 30 mins, or you can get to Chapel Street in 15 mins.

Disliked: Largely nitpicking, as I have had such a great time at Habitat, but a few small points for improvement. They need more cups in the Kitchen, and sometimes it gets a bit dirty in kitchen and lounge when a lot of people are drinking (as can be expected in a hostel to be honest!). A bit on the expensive side in the summer (peak season) but still worth forking out the money for. Also bear in mind that the hostel is 30 min tram ride from the city centre.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed two nights in this amazing hostel!! The staff is super-friendly and very helpful, I felt comfortable from the first moment on! It has a great atmosphere, music all day and some special events everyday like karaoke in the evening! A highlight are the new and wonderful bathrooms (best while traveling for 4 months). The whole hostel is very tidy and clean. Felt more like in a hotel than in a hostel. Good kitchen with free breakfast. Met nice people. Could continue with telling how great it is.. just go there and see it by yourself!!!

Disliked: If you wanna go to the CBD you have to catch a tram but that's the only thing I didn't like. But if you wanna explore St.Kilda it must be the BEST place to stay!!