We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Habitat HQ

Hostel | 333 St Kilda Road, St Kilda Melbourne, Australia 3182

88.7% Overall Rating

455 out of 490 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/03/2015)

Craig Cox thinks…

"I had no problems it was the third time I stayed I would recommend to anyone really nice place"

Read all Habitat HQ reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Melbourne

Barkly Backpackers
23.42 USD

Hostel 89.0% 7 reviews
St Kilda Beach House
22.64 USD

Hostel 76.6% 255 reviews
Base St Kilda
32.79 USD

Hostel 86.3% 207 reviews
Coffee Palace
20.30 USD

Hostel 55.6% 11 reviews
Easystay The Bayside Motel
38.64 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.7% 3 reviews
Easystay Serviced Apartments
54.26 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 83.8% 3 reviews
Easystay Apartments Raglan Street
58.16 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Ritz For Backpackers
23.42 USD

Hostel 75.3% 266 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

455 out of 490 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Habitat HQ'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
97.6%
Value
90.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 391 of 411 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Cox

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2015 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: I had no problems it was the third time I stayed I would recommend to anyone really nice place

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexandra Roman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 February 2015 Alexandra would recommend this property

Liked: One of my favorite hostels in Melbourne! Not quite in the heart of St Kilda, but easy enough walk or tram! Great atmosphere, easy to meet people and make friends. Free wifi is awesome. Absolutely love this place!

Disliked: It's definitely a bit pricey, but worth it! Also, can't bring your own alcohol in as they sell beer and wine themselves - but it's pretty cheap anyway!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Garry Ellsmore

As a family with children

Family Holiday

22 January 2015 Garry would recommend this property

Liked: The staff where fantastic helping in any way they could. This was a great night and in walking distance of fantastic restaurants as well as luna park

Disliked: Garry left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lucie Hodges

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

30 December 2014 Lucie would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was clean, comfortable, secure. WiFi strength was excellent throughout including top floor. In the room (6 bed dorm private bathroom) I had 2 plug sockets by my bed (bottom bunk, not sure if this was by design or just luck!), air con was good, shower hot and strong, big locker (though I couldn't quite get my huge traveller rucksack in it, I just took out of it all valuables) and the bed was reasonable. Large kitchen, lots of storage space, split common area - outdoor terrace, sofas, table and chairs, separate tv room, pool table. Tram stop right outside.

Disliked: Trams not that frequent especially on weekends so getting about was sometimes delayed. Staff were efficient if I interacted with them but didn't go out and their way or over impress the way some hostel staff do. Such a large common area means that while yes there are lots of people around, it's harder as asolo traveller to interact than it is in a smaller place. There are street prostitutes 2 minute walk away so I didn't feel like I could take a tram that got me just nearby on a night then walk the rest, I always needed to wait for the direct one as I didn't want to walk alone past prostitutes.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 September 2014

Liked: The hang out area is big and theres lots of books you can borrow. I also saw a shelf with board games. I liked the daily events too. The staff were helpful.

Disliked: The location was too far from the center, and since public transportation is quite expensive and takes time it was a bad choice for me to stay so far. I mainly chose this location after hearing good things about the ambience and nightlife, but since most people at the hostel were working the next day, I didn't even manage to go out. Also, the kitchen was very dirty most of the time. There were too few mugs most of the time and hostel guests rarely washed their own dishes leaving a gross pile in the sink. The room was messy too, I was horrified when I took off the pillow cover at check-out ...gross pillow, stained and "hairy".

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the events and the great atmosphere the people there create. I was travelling alone but after just 4 nights I had to say goodbye to new friends.

Disliked: -

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Best Hostel in Melbourne i ve been in

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jesse Penning

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

12 July 2014 Jesse would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. Well looked after

Disliked: Jesse left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amy wilson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 June 2014 amy would recommend this property

Liked: You get breakfast and wifi included in the price, the rooms are cleaned everyday and there is a very chilled out atmosophere, I booked for longer.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jack Blake

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 May 2014 Jack would recommend this property

Liked: Spencer in reception is great! All of the staff are very friendly and willing to help. Habitat has a great atmosphere, great place to meet people.

Disliked: Jack left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Work / volunteering

14 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good amenities, good atmosphere, 24 hour service.

Disliked: N/A

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Tom Schoenmakers

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 April 2014 Tom would recommend this property

Liked: Good friendly vibe through out the hostel, and many night time events to keep you occupied.

Disliked: Kitchen equipment was not the best, also the kitchen was very crowded at night when trying to cook food, and very dirty.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: All the staff were very friendly and helpful at all times

Disliked: Lack of saucepans and decent crockery

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

17 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean communal bathrooms and helpful, friendly staff.

Disliked: Nothing.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

romain masse

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

11 February 2014 romain would recommend this property

Liked: others hostels in Melbourne are not so clean, specially bathroom!!

Disliked: romain left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room, friendly staff

Disliked: We booked for 2 private rooms with attached toilet. However when we arrived we were told that one of the rooms were not available instead they switched one of the rooms to a 4 bed dorm with toilet. We wished we were informed in advanced. We expect to get what we paid for. Staff mentioned that hostelbookers is the one responsible in informing us about this but we never received any.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: i was happy about everyhing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Visiting friends or family

15 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dorms were good and very clean with comfy beds. Common area is excellent - lots of space to hang out, cheap beer/wine available in the evenings, tea and coffee-making facilities and some vending machines and an ATM.

Disliked: The location is okay but not the best - it's a 15 minute walk to Fitzroy Street (compare this to hostels that are already there) and 30 minute walk to the beach, however there is a tram right outside the door and places to buy food close by. Also, I was in a dorm sharing with 5 other girls and we had only 1 bathroom between us - there were other showers and toilets available but they were downstairs past the common area. Just small things though, as overall I really enjoyed my stay and will probably stay there again when I go back to Melbourne.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dulcie Ruttley-Dornan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 November 2013 Dulcie would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good set up, well furnished, well stocked kitchen, live music on Sundays, very environmentally friendly, very safe and not far from the beach.

Disliked: A bit far from the main city, though easy tram route and at Kilda is a good location

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely atmosphere, great rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Salvatore Mazzamuto

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2013 Salvatore would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and well organized. Staff helpful and nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

adam kutereba

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2013 adam would recommend this property

Liked: clean god transport links

Disliked: na

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Adam North

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

21 July 2013 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: This is without a doubt the best hostel I have stayed in. the facilities are habitat are spot on with a great communal area offering a great opportunity to meet new people and enjoy a drink! The staff are a great bunch, especially Jess and Spencer. I've been in a few hostels with miserable staff but that's definitely not the case here! There is plenty going on during the week whether it is live music,a quiz night or Karaoke, plenty of laughs to be had! The rooms are clean and well maintained with good shower facilities/ toilets as well. The kitchen is big enough with everything you could need. St Kilda is a great spot to be in, not too far from the City but plenty to do and see. Overall Habitat is a great hostel with a fantastic atmosphere and facilities. Would recommend it to anyone!

Disliked: Adam left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

11 July 2013

Liked: It was clean, rooms were good for a hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.