We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Habitat HQ

Hostel | 333 St Kilda Road, St Kilda Melbourne, Australia 3182

89.6% Overall Rating

466 out of 501 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2015)

"the Hostel was tidy. The bathrooms Are new. Personal is friendly. Free breakfast, free wifi. Good living rooms inside and Outside. Every night Entertainment. near the beach"

Read all Habitat HQ reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Melbourne

Barkly Backpackers
15.67 USD

Hostel 89.0% 7 reviews
Home Travellers Motel
11.39 USD

Hostel 77.5% 9 reviews
St Kilda Beach House
14.24 USD

Hostel 76.6% 255 reviews
Base St Kilda
16.38 USD

Hostel 85.4% 211 reviews
Nomads St Kilda Beach
13.53 USD

Hostel 64.8% 19 reviews
Easystay Serviced Apartments
35.25 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 83.8% 3 reviews
Easystay Apartments Raglan Street
53.05 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Ritz For Backpackers
14.95 USD

Hostel 76.2% 272 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.6%

Overall Rating

466 out of 501 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Habitat HQ'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
96.8%
Value
89.6%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 398 of 422 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

27 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean!

Disliked: nothing I really disliked, I would stay there again!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John James

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

26 December 2010 John would recommend this property

Liked: This is a place normally for young backpackers . great fun a place where its easy to say hallo but i stayed there and got on great and i'm 50+ The Kitchen area is great gas 16 gas rings + 4 oven space for you shopping and cold stuff . The trams outside to take you around the city or its an easy walk to the nearby shops and bars Exellent.

Disliked: Onnly one problem here breakfast its Crap and badly organised .

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Heidi Rogers

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2010 Heidi would recommend this property

Liked: It's a great place to meet people, you get free breakfast and one free hour of internet time (but this is for your WHOLE stay at the hostel). Everyone is friendly and you can save money by cooking your food in the kitchen. Location is good and its about 20 mins into the city centre. Staff are nice and organise something fun most evenings so you have something to do even if you don't go out. If you are staying for 3 nights or more you are entitled to a free shuttle from Tullamaine airport to the hostel. When you land you need to call the hostel then they will give you a code. Write it down and give it to the FAPAS shuttle driver. Again you will need to go to bus pick up point 3. Only thing is they only operate between 6am - 7pm on most days so if you arrive any later than this you'll need to book with another shuttle bus (should cose between 15 - 20 dollars depending on where you go)/

Disliked: One thing to be VERY aware of is that you will NOT get your money back if you decide to leave the hostel early. I would suggest booking the hostel for a few nights then if you like it its not hard to extend the visit. If you are by yourself it can be quite daunting. Everybody seems to know eachother and if you are shy/in a family then it may not be the best place to stay. It's hard to find somewhere quiet to chat to your family or friends back home. I often came out of my room and found somebody sitting in the hallway skyping their friends. They charge you to use a towel (it was 2 dollars plus a 20 dollar deposit).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Victoria Massey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 December 2010 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: Everything. Nice room. Spacious ensuite. Well equipped kitchen. Sociable and well equipped lounge and tv room. Nice outdoor area.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and really nice atmosphere. Always plenty going on :) Good location for St Kilda beach but 20 mins on the tram in to Melbourne city

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and fresh, and not even just fresh but nice design and everything in the bathrooms, very stylish =) Heaps of good offers and free stuff, nice breakfast and an amazing kitchen with a super free food shelf. Best hostel so far!

Disliked: Easy to misplace your swipecards.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nilanthi Sangarabalan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2010 Nilanthi would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of organised activities, and a great place for meeting other travellers. Rooms were decent, bathrooms were excellent! Grateful for the complimentary breakfast. Close to the beach and supermarket.

Disliked: Bit far from the city, but there's a good tram system to get to there and back again.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 December 2010

Liked: I did not

Disliked: Staff were rude when I checked out

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Monika Runggaldier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2010

Liked: Nice staff

Disliked: The hostel is not value for the money, you need to walk to get to the places. Its a dangerous place around the hostel during the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamara Gruber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Tamara would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it! Even if it's so big, it's never really crowded... it's clean, thez have a lot of programm, nice courtyard... It was kind of perfect :)

Disliked: Tamara left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Vicki Lott

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

01 December 2010 Vicki would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've ever stayed at!

Disliked: Vicki left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact the basics were right - comfy bed, quiet for good night's sleep, fan in room kept room cool and mozzies out, bathroom and showers were very clean, staff were nice and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Even though there was a fun, party atmosphere in the communal areas the rooms were always quiet and other guests respectful. The bathrooms and kitchen were spacious and clean and well equipt and you never had to wait to use the shower! The staff were friendly and helpful. A good place to meet other people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

26 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, fun vibe and friendly people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Bates

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: easy access to cbd & beach, quiet location, modern amenities and bedding, good facilities

Disliked: nothing really I could have used an earlier check in as I had travelled overnight and needed to lie down, I didn't get into the room until after midday.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2010

Liked: Free wifi

Disliked: Messy kitchen n wet tea towels. No quiet area to just chill and make phone calls. We were encouraged to book for a couple nights as twas v busy which I was fine except when we found accommodation to stay in they wouldn't refund the money. Not impressed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Duncan Whittall

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2010 Duncan would recommend this property

Liked: Spotlessly clean hostel with excellent facilities. The first hostel we saw with ovens in the kitchen! By far the best hostel we stayed in, in Australia... or anywhere!

Disliked: Wireless internet was a bit ropey because they recently changed it to a free service. It is being looked at though

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Carr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

10 November 2010 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed in a lot of hostels over the years and this has become my favourite ever! Comfy rooms, great shared areas, respectful roommates, amazing bathrooms and really helpful staff - just a great experience all in all.

Disliked: Very little, the common thought is that the location isn't perfect but you're literally a minute away from trams that'll take you anywhere in the city!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is a very clean and comfortable hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, with good facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location on tram tracks and onsite secure car parking

Disliked: very small shared space, not enough chairs, not enough cups in kitchen, far too little fridge space

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

neil venter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

18 October 2010 neil would recommend this property

Liked: the first hostel australia that i did not feel i was getting ripped off!!! friendly staff, great new, clean, free internet and breakfast, awesome, my fav hostel in oz!!!

Disliked: noisy trying to watch tv!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Zachary Buttel

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2010 Zachary would recommend this property

Liked: Love the St.Kilda beach area around the hostel and it is not too far from downtown by train.....walking will take you a while (as I experienced but enjoyed the beautiful walk along the beach) .........The location of this hostel is the main asset but it also has a comfortable, safe and clean environment.Clean, lively and fun people in the sitting area, exceptional kitchen area

Disliked: Most of the staff were good but one of the staff members was in a really bad mood and unpleasant (though helpful). Don' t like how they limit how long you can use the internet

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ivan Markovic

With friends / other travellers

10 October 2010 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: low atmosphere

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice clean place to stay for a few night or more! Staff are good, they do great free events! Johns Walk...it new a must along with Mollys! Free pancakes on a wednesday, free bbq on a thursday plus much much more all in all one of the good ones!

Disliked: Expensive internet, but free wireless.