We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Habitat HQ

Hostel | 333 St Kilda Road, St Kilda Melbourne, Australia 3182

89.3% Overall Rating

458 out of 493 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (03/03/2015)

Craig Cox thinks…

"I had no problems it was the third time I stayed I would recommend to anyone really nice place"

Read all Habitat HQ reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Melbourne

Barkly Backpackers
17.10 USD

Hostel 89.0% 7 reviews
St Kilda Beach House
18.65 USD

Hostel 76.6% 255 reviews
Base St Kilda
22.53 USD

Hostel 84.5% 208 reviews
Nomads St Kilda Beach
17.10 USD

Hostel 59.6% 16 reviews
Easystay The Bayside Motel
38.46 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.7% 3 reviews
Easystay Serviced Apartments
46.24 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 83.8% 3 reviews
Easystay Apartments Raglan Street
57.89 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Ritz For Backpackers
20.20 USD

Hostel 77.4% 269 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.3%

Overall Rating

458 out of 493 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Habitat HQ'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
97.6%
Value
89.6%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 393 of 414 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and fresh, and not even just fresh but nice design and everything in the bathrooms, very stylish =) Heaps of good offers and free stuff, nice breakfast and an amazing kitchen with a super free food shelf. Best hostel so far!

Disliked: Easy to misplace your swipecards.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Nilanthi Sangarabalan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 December 2010 Nilanthi would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of organised activities, and a great place for meeting other travellers. Rooms were decent, bathrooms were excellent! Grateful for the complimentary breakfast. Close to the beach and supermarket.

Disliked: Bit far from the city, but there's a good tram system to get to there and back again.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

11 December 2010

Liked: I did not

Disliked: Staff were rude when I checked out

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Monika Runggaldier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 December 2010

Liked: Nice staff

Disliked: The hostel is not value for the money, you need to walk to get to the places. Its a dangerous place around the hostel during the night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tamara Gruber

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2010 Tamara would recommend this property

Liked: Loved it! Even if it's so big, it's never really crowded... it's clean, thez have a lot of programm, nice courtyard... It was kind of perfect :)

Disliked: Tamara left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Vicki Lott

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

01 December 2010 Vicki would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've ever stayed at!

Disliked: Vicki left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the fact the basics were right - comfy bed, quiet for good night's sleep, fan in room kept room cool and mozzies out, bathroom and showers were very clean, staff were nice and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Even though there was a fun, party atmosphere in the communal areas the rooms were always quiet and other guests respectful. The bathrooms and kitchen were spacious and clean and well equipt and you never had to wait to use the shower! The staff were friendly and helpful. A good place to meet other people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

26 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, fun vibe and friendly people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Bates

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: easy access to cbd & beach, quiet location, modern amenities and bedding, good facilities

Disliked: nothing really I could have used an earlier check in as I had travelled overnight and needed to lie down, I didn't get into the room until after midday.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 November 2010

Liked: Free wifi

Disliked: Messy kitchen n wet tea towels. No quiet area to just chill and make phone calls. We were encouraged to book for a couple nights as twas v busy which I was fine except when we found accommodation to stay in they wouldn't refund the money. Not impressed.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Duncan Whittall

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2010 Duncan would recommend this property

Liked: Spotlessly clean hostel with excellent facilities. The first hostel we saw with ovens in the kitchen! By far the best hostel we stayed in, in Australia... or anywhere!

Disliked: Wireless internet was a bit ropey because they recently changed it to a free service. It is being looked at though

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Carr

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

10 November 2010 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed in a lot of hostels over the years and this has become my favourite ever! Comfy rooms, great shared areas, respectful roommates, amazing bathrooms and really helpful staff - just a great experience all in all.

Disliked: Very little, the common thought is that the location isn't perfect but you're literally a minute away from trams that'll take you anywhere in the city!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is a very clean and comfortable hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, with good facilities

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent location on tram tracks and onsite secure car parking

Disliked: very small shared space, not enough chairs, not enough cups in kitchen, far too little fridge space

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

neil venter

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

18 October 2010 neil would recommend this property

Liked: the first hostel australia that i did not feel i was getting ripped off!!! friendly staff, great new, clean, free internet and breakfast, awesome, my fav hostel in oz!!!

Disliked: noisy trying to watch tv!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Zachary Buttel

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2010 Zachary would recommend this property

Liked: Love the St.Kilda beach area around the hostel and it is not too far from downtown by train.....walking will take you a while (as I experienced but enjoyed the beautiful walk along the beach) .........The location of this hostel is the main asset but it also has a comfortable, safe and clean environment.Clean, lively and fun people in the sitting area, exceptional kitchen area

Disliked: Most of the staff were good but one of the staff members was in a really bad mood and unpleasant (though helpful). Don' t like how they limit how long you can use the internet

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ivan Markovic

With friends / other travellers

10 October 2010 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness

Disliked: low atmosphere

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice clean place to stay for a few night or more! Staff are good, they do great free events! Johns Walk...it new a must along with Mollys! Free pancakes on a wednesday, free bbq on a thursday plus much much more all in all one of the good ones!

Disliked: Expensive internet, but free wireless.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Diane Motley

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

15 September 2010 Diane would recommend this property

Liked: i really enjoyed my stay here. Free breakfast every day, lots of different nights put on for the guests e.g cheese and wine night, football night (with free wine and pies), free pancakes one morning and free taco's one evening. Safe draws in the rooms, very clean, comfy beds, great atmosphere, met loads of lovely people.

Disliked: cleaner took beer out of room and put it in the 'free food' part of the fridge.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Visiting friends or family

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The accommodation was modern and clean. free parking and lots of activities advertised to do orgainsed by the hostel and outside parties.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of activities, helpful staff, big clean kitchen, big clean bathroom.

Disliked: It's on a big road that's not that great to walk down at night - but the tram stop is not far from the hostel, so you just have to cross the road and the hostel is 2 minutes away from there.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

KWAN HYOUNG LEE

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2010 KWAN HYOUNG would recommend this property

Liked: this is really really great hostel very friendly staff ,free breakfast, clean bed, etc but locatioin was a little bad...

Disliked: location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Dejana Radisavljevic

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2010 Dejana would recommend this property

Liked: This place was by far the best hostel I've stayed in, and this mainly for the extremely easy going, welcoming atmosphere. The lounge area is big, and there is always some activity planned, like the winter wonderland while we were there, meaning the place is full and it's easy to meet some great people. The staff do all that they can to make your stay a fun one, not just a place to sleep. There is a big kitchen, and storage area so you don't have spend the time eating sandwiches. The rooms are a good size, the bathrooms and showers big and always clean.

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike about this place, as long as you don't mind taking the tram to Melbourne city centre, as it is too far to walk, but that didn't bother us.