HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Habitat HQ Melbourne Hostel

333 St Kilda Rd,, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 91%

Location 82%

Safety 92%

Staff 96%

Value 85%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Steam room
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 91%

Location 82%

Safety 92%

Staff 96%

Value 85%

Showing 41-32 of 32 reviews

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were pleasant. From other reviews it seems it's a great place for youngsters and partygoers.

Disliked: The location - we were shocked that the area seems to be 'red light district'. It's also quite far out of the City.


The property's response is

Thank you for your review
I am sorry that you didn't enjoy our location. We do advertise that we are roughly a 20 minute tram ride from the city centre, a 10 minute walk to Acland Street and Chapel Street and a 15 minute walk to the beach.
The St Kilda area does have some interesting characters and ladies of the night; this does not cause any security issues and we advise guests to be aware of their surroundings, as you would in any foreign city.
Thanks for staying with us

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Free transfer from airport and free wifi and breakfast

Disliked: Lots of long term stayers, new people aren't as welcomed as in other hostels by guests.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for staying with us at Habitat HQ. I am so glad you enjoyed your overall stay and benefited from our free airport shuttle and enjoyed the breakfast. I am sorry if you didn't find the guests welcoming, we do our best to create an open and dynamic communal spaces for people to chill out in and mingle. We appreciate that people travel independently and in small groups so we put events on to encourage our guests to get to know each other.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Work / volunteering

Liked: This is without a doubt the best hostel I have stayed in. the facilities are habitat are spot on with a great communal area offering a great opportunity to meet new people and enjoy a drink! The staff are a great bunch, especially Jess and Spencer. I've been in a few hostels with miserable staff but that's definitely not the case here! There is plenty going on during the week whether it is live music,a quiz night or Karaoke, plenty of laughs to be had!The rooms are clean and well maintained with good shower facilities/ toilets as well. The kitchen is big enough with everything you could need.St Kilda is a great spot to be in, not too far from the City but plenty to do and see.Overall Habitat is a great hostel with a fantastic atmosphere and facilities. Would recommend it to anyone!

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: nice location, close to the beach. I went to watch little penguins at that night, very cute.

Disliked: room is too small. aircon was a bit noisy.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi there Liu,

I am so glad you got to see St Kilda’s famous penguins, they are super cute!!!! I am sorry if you found the room small, we do try to create as much space as possible and extra storage space under the beds. If your fellow room mates are travelling with extra baggage this can sometimes take over the room, I am sorry if this is was the case. Thanks for letting us know about the air con, I will follow this up.

Enjoy the rest of your summer,

Katie

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The best hostel in Melbourne!They offer free breakfast (cereals and toast), free tea and coffee, have a nice kitchen, nice lounge area, large TV room and great courtyard. Everything is air conditioned (of course not the courtyard) and they have free wifi with a maximum of 400 mb (?) per day. If your over datalimit, you can walk to the state library which is the corner to use their free wifi.Upstairs there are nice dorms with large lockers under the beds, there is air conditioning you can set yourself. There is a spacious bathroom, which is clean (of course that's depends on the other guests, but they try to keep it clean).The staff is really nice, friendly and helpfull.You can walk to the beach in 5 minutes and it takes 15 minutes by tram to the city centre. Tram stops are in front of the building. Supermarket (Aldi!) is a 2 minutes walk.

Disliked: When I stayed there, there weren't enough cups, bowls and plates.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Excellent hostel! Free airport transfer for 3+ nights booked (shuttle costs $18 to take back to airport). Very friendly and helpful staff-knowledgable about local activities and places to eat. 15 minute walk to beach and Acland Street (main shopping/food area). 5 minute walk to Aldees and Coles markets. 20 minute tram to Melbourne CBD (myki card for travel is cheap-ask staff). Hostel has nightly entertainment. Only complaint is that I'm not a partier and this seems to be a big party hostel at night - had a few nights with roommates coming in late and VERY drunk and disruptive. Appreciated lockers under beds to secure items. Lots of seating in common area and plenty of places to charge electronics. Free cereal and toast for breakfast. I'd recommend eating at Lentil as Anything (pay what you think they deserve) and get ice cream at 7Apples. I'd return!

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: Nice rooms! Nice roommates. Clean.

Disliked: The worst coffee in coffee automate ever - couldn't even drink it.Only 1 computer out of 5 was working.When cheking in I can sign in and pay but cannot use WiFi before 2 pm. Didn't get the logic in that one.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: awesome staffgreat place to get to know peoplegreat place for the st. kilda beachnice party options aroundAWESOME HOSTEL

Disliked: it is expensive and takes 15 minutes to get to Melbourne City Center,so if you are mainly here to see Melbourne City maybe a Hostel downtown is better for you

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for acknowledging the awesomeness of our staff, we love what we do!!! I am sorry if you found us pricey. Where some hostels offer cheap accommodation we aim to offer affordable accommodation with loads of inclusions. I’m sorry too hear you found us a bit far away from the city centre. St Kilda is a great area though, filled with funky bars, restaurants, the beach with its very own colony of penguins and a pumping music scene, away from the hustle and bustle of the CBD.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean friendly good atmosphere fun

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Loved being so close to St Kilda and not far from city. Location was great. Staff very cool. A lot of opportunities to meet people with so many events. Only there for a couple of nights, would have loved to stay longer. Room was really clean and bed most comfortable from my travels so far.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike at all. Top stay!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability