HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Habitat HQ Melbourne

Hostel

333 St Kilda Rd,, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 90%

Location 79%

Safety 91%

Staff 95%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 91%

Facilities 90%

Location 79%

Safety 91%

Staff 95%

Value 86%

Showing 31-40 of 45 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, good set up, well furnished, well stocked kitchen, live music on Sundays, very environmentally friendly, very safe and not far from the beach.

Disliked: A bit far from the main city, though easy tram route and at Kilda is a good location

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location and price

Disliked: i was happy about everyhing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Lovely atmosphere, great rooms.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very clean and well organized. Staff helpful and nice atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: clean god transport links

Disliked: na

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was clean, rooms were good for a hostel.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Definitely value for money! New facilities at a great price.

Disliked: There was no bar (lol). But you could BYO so it was not so bad :)

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: I stayed two nights in this amazing hostel!! The staff is super-friendly and very helpful, I felt comfortable from the first moment on! It has a great atmosphere, music all day and some special events everyday like karaoke in the evening! A highlight are the new and wonderful bathrooms (best while traveling for 4 months). The whole hostel is very tidy and clean. Felt more like in a hotel than in a hostel. Good kitchen with free breakfast. Met nice people. Could continue with telling how great it is.. just go there and see it by yourself!!!

Disliked: If you wanna go to the CBD you have to catch a tram but that's the only thing I didn't like. But if you wanna explore St.Kilda it must be the BEST place to stay!!

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 20%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Staff were pleasant. From other reviews it seems it's a great place for youngsters and partygoers.

Disliked: The location - we were shocked that the area seems to be 'red light district'. It's also quite far out of the City.


The property's response is

Thank you for your review
I am sorry that you didn't enjoy our location. We do advertise that we are roughly a 20 minute tram ride from the city centre, a 10 minute walk to Acland Street and Chapel Street and a 15 minute walk to the beach.
The St Kilda area does have some interesting characters and ladies of the night; this does not cause any security issues and we advise guests to be aware of their surroundings, as you would in any foreign city.
Thanks for staying with us

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Apr 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Free transfer from airport and free wifi and breakfast

Disliked: Lots of long term stayers, new people aren't as welcomed as in other hostels by guests.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for staying with us at Habitat HQ. I am so glad you enjoyed your overall stay and benefited from our free airport shuttle and enjoyed the breakfast. I am sorry if you didn't find the guests welcoming, we do our best to create an open and dynamic communal spaces for people to chill out in and mingle. We appreciate that people travel independently and in small groups so we put events on to encourage our guests to get to know each other.

Check Availability