HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Melbourne Central YHA Melbourne Hostel

562 Flinders Street, Melbourne, Australia

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 84%

Location 94%

Safety 95%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Reading Light
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast 5.36USD
  • Luggage Room 4.60USD
  • Towel 1.53USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 13:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 82%

Cleanliness 94%

Facilities 84%

Location 94%

Safety 95%

Staff 90%

Value 86%

Showing 1-10 of 12 reviews

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Apr 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Age Range:
25-30

Liked: Good location, spacious kitchen with enough utensils for all even though it can be crowded during meal times.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good location and very clean. Shower facilities are brilliant!

Disliked: Not the most friendly atmosphere- don't think this was down to the facility but more the people staying there

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: close to docklands

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Apr 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Security and small dorms

Disliked: Breakfast a bit small for the price

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: I really like the new renovations done by Melbourne Central hostel. The downstairs entry has improved a lot. The hostel also has a great location of course. You save on a taxi fare from the airport by being across from the skybus and on tram fares by being within the free tram zone.

Disliked: I was unfortunate in that my bag got stuck in the digital locker system during my first stay and I had to leave without it. But they upgraded me on my next stay (shortly after) and helped me resolve this problem to the best of their ability.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was clean, comfortable, easy access to tram lines and a short walk to Southbank. Staff were friendly and the showers were absolutely wonderful.

Disliked: We often had to try our room key in the door about 3 times before it opened.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Nice clear facilities, well organised, close to transport links

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Very clean, looked really new, secure, quiet and comfy beds

Disliked: If anything there weren't as many showers as I'm used to so I sometimes waited at peak time but the bathrooms were really nice and clean. I think this was only due to the level one showers being closed for maintenance while we were there

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: It was quiet, the kitchen was clean and there was enough space to cook easily. The location is very convenient. The rooms were spacious and quiet. I asked for an extra pillow and got one so slept very well. The bathrooms are the nicest I've seen so far in a hostel.

Disliked: There wasn't a great atmosphere for meeting people. Most guests keep themselves to themselves. There are also families and older people using the hostel which actually isn't bad unless you are wanting to party!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability