HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Elizabeth Hostel

Hostel | 490 - 494 Elizabeth Street, Melbourne, Australia VIC 3000

64.2% Overall Rating

103 out of 164 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/02/2014)

"I stayed at this hostel back at the end of 2012. The staff were very friendly and helpful, plus the hostel was reasonable central so great for getting to places."

Read all Elizabeth Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Melbourne

Discovery Melbourne
25.28 USD

Hostel 81.0% 566 reviews
Nomads Melbourne
21.53 USD

Hostel 79.7% 244 reviews
Space Hotel
27.90 USD

Hostel 93.9% 943 reviews
Melbourne Metro YHA
31.83 USD

Hostel 86.1% 35 reviews
King Street Backpackers
28.08 USD

Hostel 72.2% 201 reviews
Melbourne Connection Travellers Hostel
18.72 USD

Hostel 54.2% 140 reviews
Flinders Station Backpackers
24.34 USD

Hostel 77.4% 244 reviews
The Spencer Backpackers
25.28 USD

Hostel 69.7% 289 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
64.2%

Overall Rating

103 out of 164 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Elizabeth Hostel'

Atmosphere
57.6%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
72.0%
Value
63.2%
Safety
58.4%
Refine your results Showing 131 of 155 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Martijn Kuller

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Overall in bad state, small roms, windows that are closed and very damp air at night, people seem to live here, beds are not very clean and not comfortable.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Hayden Livingston

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

04 April 2014

Liked: Nuffin

Disliked: Nuffin

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 April 2014

Liked: it s near victoria market.

Disliked: sheets were dirty. They don t give breakfast. They don t organize activities for travellers. It s not so year the center. You have to take a tram every day.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 March 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness & Internet speed

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

David Holmes

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2014 David would recommend this property

Liked: The TV area was quite good

Disliked: There wasn't very many toilets.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Melessia McMillan

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 March 2014 Melessia would recommend this property

Liked: Good, clean and very comfy beds. Great value.

Disliked: Shower

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

09 March 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Everything

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lachlan Morrison

Alone

Partying / nightlife

03 March 2014 Lachlan would recommend this property

Liked: privacy !

Disliked: -

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Eric Zanola

Alone

Beach / sunbathing

01 March 2014 Eric would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful

Disliked: Nice

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at this hostel back at the end of 2012. The staff were very friendly and helpful, plus the hostel was reasonable central so great for getting to places.

Disliked: I cant think of anything

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amber reidy

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

26 February 2014 Amber would recommend this property

Liked: Very impressed with location and staff , also it was very convenient to have a fridge in the room. No noise pollution and clean, hygienic bathrooms.

Disliked: Amber left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

26 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's probably the cheapest hostel to stay in Melbourne city

Disliked: Uncomfortable pillow, I kept my bags under my bed (I think someone was using multiple lockers)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Sarah MacLeod

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

25 February 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the front desk are friendly, welcoming and happy to help! It's also nice having a familiar face to help you along the way.

Disliked: The kitchen facilities could be a little more well kept.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2014

Liked: Free WiFi, warm blankets. Fridge in single room.

Disliked: Doors not secured at night, 6 - 10 people sleeping in lobby all night, ladies toilet ran out of toilet paper EVERY DAY, multiple times a day (5 that I counted in a 3 day stay), doors slam loudly (no spring cushion to make the door close gently). VERY loud noise during the day due to construction next door (they were banging and deep drilling for a high rise). Lobby constantly very smoky due to smoking room off lobby.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

19 February 2014

Liked: The property has 24 hrs reception and everything runs for 24 hrs. Fair price for lots of extra offers.. Movies and stuff like that.

Disliked: The freaking wifi cant be accessed in rooms on the third floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jingjun Du

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

16 February 2014 Jingjun would recommend this property

Liked: good service!!!

Disliked: Jingjun left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Claire McNicholls

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

13 February 2014 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Nice and clean, and I often saw someone cleaning the kitchen or social areas. The double room we stayed in had a fridge.

Disliked: Customer service when my partner and I arrived at the property after a long flight from England. I had cancelled a night 6 months ago, and they had not made a note this. I could not access my emails because the wifi was very slow, which meant that we had to pay more than planned. The room did not have a fan in it which was not useful when it was 30 degrees at night.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

fiona Mackinnon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 February 2014 fiona would recommend this property

Liked: the helpful staff

Disliked: nothing to dislike

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

02 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, reasonable service and decent price.

Disliked: Rooms a little cramped, very hot in the summer.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very cheap accommodation

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2014

Liked: Cheap, free wifi

Disliked: Unfriendly rude staff, dirty toilets and showers, stuffy horrible rooms, staff couldn't speak English, were given plates and cutlery when we asked for towels. No lift and we were on the third floor. Only 2 washing machines, one of which was broken so had to go to a laundrette. Very basic kitchen, no kettle etc. worst place we've ever stayed, avoid this hostel at all costs.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Remo Mader

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2014

Liked: close to the centre of melbourne.

Disliked: the toilets were loocking disgusting! everything is very old and the room was very small.

22.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

18 January 2014

Liked: Disgusting. Worst place we have ever stayed. Smells bad and the rooms are of a poor Standard

Disliked: All of the above!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gute lage zum markt und zur city.

Disliked: Etwas schmutzig und laut. Für den preis ok. Küchenutensilien auf verlangen. ! Keine aircon-kein ventilator-etwas schwierig bei 43 grad.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

matthias wiesenhofer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: There a lot of work&travel guys in this hostel! Our room was full of rubbish, dirty plates and other stuffs! Our roomates were allways drunk (...normaly no problem) but they were very loud the whole night! The staff was very unfriendly when we checked in! The kitchen was very dirty and used becuase no one cleaned the dishes!