HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Back of Chapel Melbourne

Hostel

50 Green St., Windsor, Melbourne, Australia

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 76%

Location 91%

Safety 86%

Staff 86%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Cable TV
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • PlayStation
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels Included
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly
  • Wii

Important Information

No children under 18 are permitted!

Group bookings of 3 or more must pay 50% on booking
during peak season such as December/January and Grand Prix we require 50% deposit by no later than December 1st and March 1 (Grand Prix) the rest payable no later than Decem ber 15th (xmas and new year until end of January bookings) Hostel reception hours are:
8:30am-5pm Arrivals outside of these times will be charged via credit card for the first night, and a special late check in procedure will be organized for you (as detailed via email). Cancellations only during reception hours
December and January bookings - 50% must be paid for by Dec. 1st Grand Prix msut be paid for by March 1st

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 09:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 86%

Cleanliness 75%

Facilities 76%

Location 91%

Safety 86%

Staff 86%

Value 86%

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 May 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Events / festivals

Liked: Awesome location on chapel walking distance to public transport and heaps of great cafes bars and shops. Also the wasn't enough rooms in the dorm so I got upgraded to a private room free of charge which was nice

Disliked: The rooms were quite basic but you get what you pay for

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The area is really cool. it's not too big so you can get in touch with people very easy and its more familiar.

Disliked: The staff was too late for the check in.

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Great location for my purposes. Staff, when available, were extremely helpful.

Disliked: Incredibly short hours of availability of said staff. Unless you plan on arriving or getting help in specific, short time windows, don't plan on getting much assistance.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for your review. Back of Chapel hours are clearly stated on our website, reception hours are 8:30am - 4:30pm outside of these hours we are always contactable if there is an issue. Being a small home style hostel we are always complimented to give our guests some freedom at nights. We always strive to be as helpful as possible and we do go out of our way to ensure everyone here enjoys their stay.
Chapel St is a fantastic location being a short walk to cafes and transport into the city.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Best hostel I've been so far. Relaxed atmosphere and friendly people!

Customer would recommend this property

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Good location near to transport links

Disliked: Felt dated

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Awesome location!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Jun 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Shopping, Work / volunteering

Liked: Location great, staff very helpful & nice, above adequate & clean facilities, great free wifi

Disliked: Occasionally property was unsupervised by any staff

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for posting a review. We are a small Hostel so we think that there is no need for 24 hour reception. We try to explain to every guest that staff are always close and you may call or e-mail us for any questions or information you may need. Thanks again and safe travels.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Friendly management and large, clean rooms. All other guests very welcoming as the hostel isn't that big. 24 hour kitchen which is nice as it makes the guests feel trusted, and this is responded to with everyone feeling and acting responsible. Rooms, bathrooms & common areas cleaned regularly. The location just off Chapel Street is really excellent, probably the best thing about the hostel, so many bars & restaurants that you could never go to them all. Good public transport links to CBD by both subway & tram. Highly recommended.

Disliked: I intended to stay for a week & ended up staying for a month.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for posting a review. We are delighted to read that you thought out Hostel is so good. We are trying to improve and make it more comfortable everyday. Safe travels and hope to see you back here soon!

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 May 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The atmosphere was amazing. Everyone was very friendly and inclusive.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Sebastian,

Thanks for posting your review.

Many of our guests love it here because of the atmosphere. We try to keep it as relaxed as possible whilst being accommodating to every guest staying here.

Thanks again,

Aaron

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: free WiFiprivate bathroomsfriendly staff !!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thanks for posting your review!

Free Wi-Fi is essential! We can't imagine any Hostel not offering free Wi-Fi!
It's always nice using the bathrooms without anyone else coming in and bothering you during some private time.

Thanks again,

the team @Back of Chapel.

Check Availability