We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Nunnery

Hostel | 116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy, Melbourne, Australia 3065

88.7% Overall Rating

197 out of 220 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/05/2015)

"quiet, respectful, character, atmosphere, close to city/ other cool places (Bruinswick St, Lygon St, Smith St, city centre), easiliy accessible to tram"

Read all The Nunnery reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Melbourne

Home @ The Mansion
15.63 USD

Hostel 82.5% 53 reviews
Space Hotel
21.73 USD

Hostel 88.2% 973 reviews
City Centre Budget Hotel
28.34 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.8% 242 reviews
Elizabeth Hostel
17.98 USD

Hostel 67.4% 193 reviews
Collingwood Accommodation
21.50 USD

Hostel 76.9% 108 reviews
Discovery Melbourne
19.54 USD

Hostel 73.4% 601 reviews
GreenHouse Backpackers
22.67 USD

Hostel 81.8% 142 reviews
Travellers Trax @ The Barley Corn
11.73 USD

Hostel 58.1% 49 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.7%

Overall Rating

197 out of 220 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Nunnery'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
90.4%
Value
86.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 167 of 178 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: quiet, respectful, character, atmosphere, close to city/ other cool places (Bruinswick St, Lygon St, Smith St, city centre), easiliy accessible to tram

Disliked: Swipe card not functioning properly at times to get into room - woke others up because had to let me in

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

05 May 2015

Liked: location good close to supermarket security good

Disliked: not able to acess kitchen early in morning( before ? 8 am) very noisy lots of shouting and running up and down corridor doors slammed

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

arlette oudard

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2015 arlette would recommend this property

Liked: close citycentre and tramway just in front door the free full breakfast with so good breads

Disliked: the kitchen is too small too much people staff change every day and are very busy all day and one forget to book my shuttle early in the morning for airport!!!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Richard O'Brien

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 April 2015 Richard would recommend this property

Liked: It's convenience and closeness to the city and Brunswick street.

Disliked: More suited to backpackers

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

ALEXANDER EARNSHAW

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

09 April 2015 ALEXANDER would recommend this property

Liked: Good crowd, friendly staff, great building, very relaxed, social but not a party hostel.

Disliked: No free wifi, rooms a bit dirty.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone here was exceptionally friendly and helpful. Key card locks and lockers in the rooms. There were board games in the common room free to use and a tv to watch movies. Breakfast was free and included lovely fresh bread rather than the standard loaf of bread most hostels provide. There was a really friendly atmosphere and, travelling alone, it was really easy to meet people. It's located just outside the CBD and is only two stops from the free team zone, so it's easy to get around.

Disliked: There was no free wifi at the hostel, but luckily there are lots of places around the city you can connect for free. The kitchen was a bit small during busy times like in the evenings when everyone is trying to cook dinner.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really nice atmosphere and nice and clean rooms. The staff is friendly and helpful. The breakfast was very nice. And there are a lot activities offered :) was a really nice stay!

Disliked: Shared bathrooms and a small kitchen.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is such a nice place, the stuff was very friendly und helpful. I would say its the best hostel I stayed so far!

Disliked: Kitchen is to small for all those people and the bathrooms could be cleaner.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

09 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the character and history of the place.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mike Liuaga

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

06 March 2015 Mike would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the staff and all the things they had organised during week, free ice cdeam tuesdays, pub crawl nights and free bbq and breakfast..all great

Disliked: Small kitchen

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Claire Gunn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 February 2015 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: The Nunnery is located just out of CBD and next to the lovely Carlton Gardens and Melbourne museum. You can easily walk to CBD but there are plenty of trams that can take you from right outside the road. This suburb of Melbourne is full of cafes, pubs and shops. The hostel itself is well cleaned. It has comfortable living room with a TV, a courtyard to sit outside in the sun and some nights of the week there is free ice cream, or a BBQ.

Disliked: You have to pay for WiFi here and you have to pay for the use of the computers. The kitchen is a bit small for the number of guests.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

19 February 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean, helpful staff, large common areas, safe and secure, free tea,coffee and even drinking chocolate

Disliked: Small kitchen, not super social

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charlie Wileman

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

15 February 2015 Charlie would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were lovely - great recommendations. Beds in the double room were super comfy. Location Is perfect surrounded by cafés/ bars/ melbourne vibes.

Disliked: Charlie left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ashley O'Hare

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 December 2014 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: The large rooms are good with a tv and fridge!

Disliked: That I couldn't stay longer I would settle at this hostel

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Angela Matthews

With a large group / tour

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 October 2014 Angela would recommend this property

Liked: Location Location :) was perfect for our groups needs and wants including the convenience of the tram picking us up almost at our front door, supermarkets, museums etc. Jackie was very helpful as well as other staff. The friendly atmosphere and hassel free breakfast and other extras on top of our stay will see us return next year.

Disliked: Angela left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yassine Khalil

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2014 Yassine would recommend this property

Liked: The Nunnery is a very comfortable and clean hostel. The staff is very frinedly and helpful with issues. I think it might be one of the best hostels in Australia cause it's essential things are good to very good and it has a nice flair.

Disliked: Yassine left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty close to bars , restaurants and the cbd. Free Bbq on a Friday night was good

Disliked: Nothing really. just a shame other people took soo much for breakfast. You have to get there early or else by ten there is not any bread or peanut butter left : ( that's about it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place feels like your just staying at a friend's house, it's gorgeous and doesn't feel like you're in the middle of the city even though you are!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 March 2014

Liked: Great location - walkable to CBD and also very close to a tram stop.

Disliked: Cleanliness - I made the mistake of looking under the bed. I've never seen so much dust! The soap dispenser in one of the toilets was never refilled during my stay. Also, I booked a female only dorm but for half my stay there was a male staying in the room. Wifi

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Single beds in dorm was great. Been in Melbourne for over a year and this is in one of the best spots in the city. Close to parks, museum, Fitzroy food and nightlife (e.g. Black Cat just round a couple of corners) and trams to other great suburbs like Brunswick, and walking distance to the city (if you don't mind a short stroll.)

Disliked: Not much, would have liked to socialise at the hostel late at night (not in a rowdy or drunk way, I'm just out and up late regularly) but that's just the nature of hostels and having residential surroundings..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosohere, indivudal rooms, clean and large bathroom, nice kitchen

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. Spacious dorms, clean, nice staff, great common areas.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Michelle Suelzle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful and friendly, great location.

Disliked: They don't enforce the quiet hours policy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Work / volunteering

30 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the character and the atmosphere of the Nunnery. The staff were very friendly and helpful upon check in, when I wanted and extra pillow and when I wanted to store my backs early in the morning before reception opened. The place was fairly clean, better than many hostels I've stayed in.

Disliked: I wished reception opened earlier and breakfast was earlier as I was already out in the city before 8am. The only issue with cleanliness I found was the toilets on the Saturday morning were gross. This was before reception had opened so I am sure they were cleaned later. It's not exactly the hostel's fault that their male guests can't aim, but it could be improved by an earlier clean.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Ashleigh Richardson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 October 2013 Ashleigh would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the social dinners and the fact we got a meal or movies etc for certain nights.

Disliked: The shower facilities needed to be cleaned and maintained, social areas were bit small or not enough seating for people. Kitchen could be bigger work surfaces as not enough space when cooking. Quiet time at 10pm was totally ignored by staff, we were right next to the communal garden and had people running past our dorm making noise, music playing loudly in garden.