HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Nunnery

Hostel | 116 Nicholson Street, Fitzroy, Melbourne, Australia 3065

84.9% Overall Rating

180 out of 202 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/04/2014)

Yassine Khalil thinks…

"The Nunnery is a very comfortable and clean hostel. The staff is very frinedly and helpful with issues. I think it might be one of the best hostels in Australia cause it's essential things are good…"

Read all The Nunnery reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Melbourne

Home @ The Mansion
20.41 USD

Hostel 86.7% 46 reviews
Space Hotel
27.64 USD

Hostel 93.8% 945 reviews
City Centre Budget Hotel
33.62 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 241 reviews
Elizabeth Hostel
24.12 USD

Hostel 62.9% 166 reviews
Collingwood Accommodation
27.83 USD

Hostel 76.0% 104 reviews
Discovery Melbourne
25.04 USD

Hostel 82.3% 568 reviews
GreenHouse Backpackers
31.54 USD

Hostel 81.9% 128 reviews
Travellers Trax @ The Barley Corn
16.70 USD

Hostel 62.9% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

180 out of 202 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Nunnery'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
82.4%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 152 of 160 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yassine Khalil

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 April 2014 Yassine would recommend this property

Liked: The Nunnery is a very comfortable and clean hostel. The staff is very frinedly and helpful with issues. I think it might be one of the best hostels in Australia cause it's essential things are good to very good and it has a nice flair.

Disliked: Yassine left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

14 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pretty close to bars , restaurants and the cbd. Free Bbq on a Friday night was good

Disliked: Nothing really. just a shame other people took soo much for breakfast. You have to get there early or else by ten there is not any bread or peanut butter left : ( that's about it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

13 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This place feels like your just staying at a friend's house, it's gorgeous and doesn't feel like you're in the middle of the city even though you are!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 March 2014

Liked: Great location - walkable to CBD and also very close to a tram stop.

Disliked: Cleanliness - I made the mistake of looking under the bed. I've never seen so much dust! The soap dispenser in one of the toilets was never refilled during my stay. Also, I booked a female only dorm but for half my stay there was a male staying in the room. Wifi

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Single beds in dorm was great. Been in Melbourne for over a year and this is in one of the best spots in the city. Close to parks, museum, Fitzroy food and nightlife (e.g. Black Cat just round a couple of corners) and trams to other great suburbs like Brunswick, and walking distance to the city (if you don't mind a short stroll.)

Disliked: Not much, would have liked to socialise at the hostel late at night (not in a rowdy or drunk way, I'm just out and up late regularly) but that's just the nature of hostels and having residential surroundings..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosohere, indivudal rooms, clean and large bathroom, nice kitchen

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place to stay. Spacious dorms, clean, nice staff, great common areas.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Michelle Suelzle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 November 2013 Michelle would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful and friendly, great location.

Disliked: They don't enforce the quiet hours policy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Work / volunteering

30 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the character and the atmosphere of the Nunnery. The staff were very friendly and helpful upon check in, when I wanted and extra pillow and when I wanted to store my backs early in the morning before reception opened. The place was fairly clean, better than many hostels I've stayed in.

Disliked: I wished reception opened earlier and breakfast was earlier as I was already out in the city before 8am. The only issue with cleanliness I found was the toilets on the Saturday morning were gross. This was before reception had opened so I am sure they were cleaned later. It's not exactly the hostel's fault that their male guests can't aim, but it could be improved by an earlier clean.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Ashleigh Richardson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

24 October 2013 Ashleigh would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the social dinners and the fact we got a meal or movies etc for certain nights.

Disliked: The shower facilities needed to be cleaned and maintained, social areas were bit small or not enough seating for people. Kitchen could be bigger work surfaces as not enough space when cooking. Quiet time at 10pm was totally ignored by staff, we were right next to the communal garden and had people running past our dorm making noise, music playing loudly in garden.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is close to Gertrude St and Brunswick which are both very artistic, hipster, interesting areas.

Disliked: I disliked that internet/wi-fi was NOT included. You can still buy internet as an extra though.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

03 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a lounge, where people can read books, watch TV (they have a massive LCD HD TV) and meet other backpackers. The kitchen has a long table where people can sit next to each other and chat. I think this is excellent and I got to meet a lot of other backpackers this way. They also have event nights on Wed (free soup night), Thurs (free pub crawl but you pay for your drinks at the pubs) and Friday evenings (free hotdogs). One backpacker even invited me out to a birthday party night out in Melbourne after meeting him at free soup night on Wednesday on the first day that I arrived in Melbourne. I find this hostel highly inclusive. This is not just another hostel where you arrive just to sleep after a day of exploring the city. This is a hostel for socialising with other backpackers, listenig to stories around the kitchen table and exploring the city's nightlife. Not to say that this hostel is only for younger travellers. They also cater for the older backpackers, who are just as content reading one of the free books on the shelf in the lounge area.

Disliked: I think the wifi should be free of charge. I do think the hostel is situated further from the city then what I initally thought. The hostel is situated outside the city centre, which means that you will have to walk a bit and get back into the city to buy food for dinner. I usually leave the hostel in the morning at about 9-10am in the morning to walk around the city. By about 3/4/5 I'm slightly exhausted as the city is quite big and unlike Europe where everything is very close together, here things are quite far away. That is when I really want to go back to the hostels for a few minutes and maybe relax on my bed, take a nap. This wasnt really feasible as this would mean taking a tram from the city back to the hostel and then for dinner, taking a tram back to the city to get food. In most cases, I end up sitting around in coffee shops in the city waiting till 6-7pm to buy food, eat it and then returning to the hostel. Of course there are also eateries in the Fitzroy area which is a very suburby area, and you can grab a bite there, such as at the ChinaBar or a Souvlaki Chicken, but I just prefer the choices in the city centre for food, such as at the food courts of Melbourne Central or the busy streets of Swanston with its many eateries or Chinatown.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ellen Stanfield

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2013 Ellen would recommend this property

Liked: There was an amazing vibe about the place when I was there - they do lots of activities with the guests to get everyone socialising with one another and everyone I met was really nice and inclusive - very important for a solo traveller! It actually almost felt like everyone was staying at a friend's place. The free breakfast is very simple but includes great quality bread.

Disliked: The kitchen closes at 10pm and doesn't open again until 8 in the morning, and all the tea and coffee facilities are in there, so if you want a midnight cuppa, you can't have one! (but I had to rack my mind for a negative!)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location just to Brunswick and all the nice places in Fitzroy, staff was very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast included (cereals and bread).

Disliked: No free Wifi

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caitlin Lister

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2013 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere, lovely people, great rooms! I loved staying here whilst travelling alone because it was instantly welcoming!

Disliked: Caitlin left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

21 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful old building full of character - high ceilings, polished wooden floors, fireplace in the lounge overlooking the park. Staff were all very welcoming and helpful - upgrades seem to be common if there are spaces available. Fresh bread for breakfast. Good social events. The themed Nunnery notices adds a bit of humour throughout.

Disliked: Kitchen is small, but a small compromise for the old building

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a lovely charasmatic building and do hold different activities throughout the week. There is a common room on the ground floor so youre not stuck in your room.

Disliked: The kitchen is very small with not enough appliances for the number of people in the hostel. Wifi is not free as it stated when we booked, it costs on a daily basis plus extra to use a pc. There is not always someone on reception so may have to wait until they come back. Our dorm was mostly long term residents so harder to meet people travelling.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Clare Wolfe

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2013 Clare would recommend this property

Liked: The building and staff were great! Bright and friendly all around. Pretty clean and the bathroom was en suite to the dorm room, so I didn't have to share it with the whole floor.

Disliked: A little cold with open doors in the winter, and wifi should be free.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Homely atmosphere. Very friendly staff. Lots of extras included to make your stay more pleasant. A good mix of different travellers - not all young backpackers wanting to get drunk every night. A very nice place!

Disliked: Nothing.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Samantha Mykyte

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

12 April 2013

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Bedbugs, bad customer service, dirty, don't stay here unless you'd like to be lunch for bedbugs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its pretty clean Friendly staff Free breakfast Tram station is near

Disliked: Being in 12 bed dorm room is little bit bad. Especially if next to the room is balcony where people are having a party all night long every night. One solution are ear plugs. But its not always effective.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Shannon Baier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Visiting friends or family

01 April 2013 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: My stay at the Nunnery hostel on 116 Nicholson street was all i thought it would be and more. The staff were friendly and helpful, and gave pointers on where to go in town and how to get there. The pub crawl was a great way to meet other people in the hostel and the overall atmosphere was friendly. The continental breakfast was an added bonus, and the fresh baked bread made for a great start to the morning. The rooms were clean, the bathrooms were checked every morning, and the beds were comfortable. I would stay here again :)

Disliked: To be honest, there wasn't a single thing i disliked about this hostel :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicole Brimmer

Alone

Romantic getaway

31 March 2013 Nicole would recommend this property

Liked: The Nunnery is in an excellent location. The hostel is very cool seeming as it is an ex nunnery once housed with real nuns and now booming with non religious holiday enthusiasts. It has an old fashioned hotel feel that is very art nouveau with a great book collection, including haruki marukami. One morning there was even james boags on the free food shelf in the communal fridge. This hostel is very class a and sophisticated with a romantic court yard with views of scenic fitzroy. One backpacker told me that you can also run across the road and use the melbourne museums wifi for free. This is a bonus if you dislike paying for the internet ontop of your accomodation. The pancakes are great, and the weekly events will rock your socks off. This is definately the best backpackers to holiday in if you want to make the most of whats on your doorstep when it comes to melbourne's hipster nightlife.

Disliked: Nothing really

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lucy Banks

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 March 2013 Lucy would recommend this property

Liked: This is a very friendly hostel with excellent facilities, location and activities.

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

18 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: whirlpool at hte geusthouse.....

Disliked: the cleaning staff for the room just removed the liter, that was it....