We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Spencer Backpackers

Hostel | 475 Spencer Street, West Melbourne, VIC 3003 Melbourne, Australia 3003

69.7% Overall Rating

180 out of 289 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/03/2014)

Crystal Gill thinks…

"Friendly staff. couldn't help you enough. Other travelers weren't too noisy. It felt cozy"

Read all The Spencer Backpackers reviews

Facilities

  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Melbourne

Bev & Micks International Backpackers @ McMahons
24.45 USD

Hostel 82.9% 14 reviews
Miami Hotel Melbourne
26.64 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 91.3% 27 reviews
Nico's Friends
20.09 USD

Hostel 60.7% 4 reviews
King Street Backpackers
26.20 USD

Hostel 75.8% 207 reviews
Melbourne Metro YHA
29.69 USD

Hostel 86.1% 35 reviews
Nomads Melbourne
25.33 USD

Hostel 77.6% 248 reviews
Melbourne Connection Travellers Hostel
20.96 USD

Hostel 58.4% 143 reviews
Discovery Melbourne
26.20 USD

Hostel 75.9% 581 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.7%

Overall Rating

180 out of 289 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Spencer Backpackers'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
73.6%
Facilities
63.2%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
81.6%
Value
67.2%
Safety
70.4%
Refine your results Showing 182 of 189 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

03 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Crystal Gill

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2014 Crystal would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. couldn't help you enough. Other travelers weren't too noisy. It felt cozy

Disliked: that the blinds weren't set up right. You could see straight into our room if you were on the right angle. Other than that it was great. my husband and i would stay again. :+) friendly staff and it feels cozy

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Daniel Hutcheon

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife

09 March 2014

Liked: clean bed and close to CBD

Disliked: Our room was absolutely infested with adult and baby cockroaches. the toilet bowl was not cleaned properly.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 有免費WIFY、近南十字星車站及35號免費環狀公車

Disliked: 設備較老舊但維持乾淨整潔

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

28 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly place to stay. Cheap and almost in the heart of Melbourne!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gay Martin

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

22 November 2013 Gay would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very quiet & relaxing

Disliked: Gay left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Conghui WEI

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2013

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: No direct transportation, Not very clean. The drinking water can only be gotten from bathroom after 11pm. Not enough bathrooms provided. WiFi signal is so weak to link

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly, linen was clean, good and comfortable beds. There was a little heater in the 6bed dorm which made it nice and warm.

Disliked: Bathroom wasn't really clean and very cold. Lavatory was clean though, the showers not so much. Quite a lot of noise from the street and a lit of light coming in for there were no curtains.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were extremely helpful with every one of our questions, the room was comfortable and clean, and it felt safe and secure.

Disliked: There was not much, however it was a little further than the tram than I'd first realised, and the back sliding doors let in quite a lot of air under them because they wouldn't shut properly.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 June 2013

Liked: free wifi, clean bathrooms

Disliked: cockroaches pretty much everywhere, no lockers in room , cold, they will wake you up at 10 05 am for you to pay an extra day and when you ask them why are they behaving that way they are not really receptive

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

sophie gadreaud

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2013

Liked: It's near to the southern cross station and easy to find it. the towels and bed linen are clean.

Disliked: The person who welcome us the evening (sleepy and bored...) The general appearance, the cold come in the bedroom and the bathroom, it's very spoilt.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Asirawathana Phothiphan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2013 Asirawathana would recommend this property

Liked: There is a free car park nearly a center business.

Disliked: The room is quite small and dark.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Silvia Rasia

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

20 March 2013

Liked: The position

Disliked: Dirty toilets and old bedroom. The builing not very cozy.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Armin Schnabel

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2013

Liked: Good location & very friendly staff

Disliked: I don't like the CBD :-/

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

05 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and convenient

Disliked: a bit noisy. don't except too sleep late. rooms and facilities are basic too, don't except too much luxury.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

David Heffer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 March 2013 David would recommend this property

Liked: Room had a more homely feel than other hostels. Smaller so more attention from staff. Great location!

Disliked: Bathrooms/showers could be cleaner, reception not 24/7 and lots of bed/mattress moving during stay.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

24 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and Open environment

Disliked: Ladies Toilets need to be cleaned more often

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The private rooms were fairly affordable.

Disliked: The squeeky floorboards!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 February 2013

Liked: it was the cheapest that is not too far from the center

Disliked: the floor was an old wooden with a carpet on it, it was horrible loud when you walk on it, also at night!! the hand towels in the bathroom were always empty, the dishes were not put away in the kitchen, there was only one gas cook for 4 pots, peple in the hostel were unfriendly - especially the long-term guests!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Morten Skov Jensen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 January 2013 Morten would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean and comfortable rooms and in generel a cosy place to be

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

julie seager

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013

Liked: I initially booked a dorm and was happy to be given a twin share girls room, until on my last day stay while I was touring melbourne my belongings were moved and I was then put back in a dorm, I was not pleased as I had just driven 6 hours, when they moved my belongings they lost my brand new towel and I so insinuated it could have been the Dutch girl sharing with me, she was clearly not happy with the hostel either!

Disliked: julie left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

tyler browne

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

27 January 2013 tyler would recommend this property

Liked: The manager at the front desk was really helpful with everything that we needed to know about the city and the accomodation. It was quiet, but there was still a good atmosphere with all ye backpackers hanging out in the common room. It was clean and neat, the fans supplied were all we needed to stay cool. Overall really good value for money

Disliked: The sliding doors at the outside entrance were not real secure. But i always felt safe. The floor guides at the bottom were spaced wrong and the doors barely sat in them, the door was easily pulled off the track

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 January 2013

Liked: Cheap rates.

Disliked: The baggage storage is an outdoor balcony that is open to anyone staying at the hostel, I gave my passport as a key deposit as I was told it would be safe; when I asked for it back it was in an unlocked filing cabinet in full view of the office door. We also had beer stolen from the fridge, there seemed to be a lot of people drinking in the hostel throughout the day, not a nice atmosphere. Communal tv room smelt of smoke and the womens shower screen was cracked.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Steve Greig

Alone

Partying / nightlife

08 January 2013

Liked: location to Southern Cross

Disliked: Room was a bit dirty, lots of dust on ledges

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

01 January 2013

Liked: location helpful staff

Disliked: wet bathmats in showers double bed unsuited for surfing web (bunk on top) this property is what you would expect, but it is a little overpriced for what you get