We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Lords Lodge Backpackers Hostel

Hostel | 204 Punt Road, Prahran, Melbourne, Australia 3181

66.7% Overall Rating

133 out of 158 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/05/2013)

xixi shen thinks…

"这家旅馆其实是一幢两层楼的小别墅,总共也就七八个房间。前台人很好,有问必答。最后我们走的那天是下午的飞机,上午退房后还可以把行李放在楼下保管。它的卫生其实还可以,只是看上去有点旧旧的,但很有生活气息。前院的草地上有人晒太阳或者玩游戏。后院是厨房和洗衣房,貌似可以自己做饭,但我们没尝试过。我们住的那间双人间很小,大概10~12平米。但是价钱很便宜,只有450一晚。而且离墨尔本的cbd很近,做公交车只…"

Read all Lords Lodge Backpackers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Melbourne

St Arnaud
22.71 USD

Hostel 79.4% 298 reviews
Richmond Hill Hotel Melbourne
30.13 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.6% 31 reviews
Hotel Claremont Guest House
34.06 USD

Hostel 90.2% 319 reviews
Central Melbourne Accommodation
24.45 USD

Hostel 79.3% 17 reviews
Apartments of South Yarra
64.63 USD

Apartment Not yet rated
City Centre Budget Hotel
31.66 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.8% 242 reviews
Home @ The Mansion
20.96 USD

Hostel 86.7% 46 reviews
United Backpackers
26.20 USD

Hostel 90.9% 37 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.7%

Overall Rating

133 out of 158 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Lords Lodge Backpackers Hostel'

Atmosphere
72.8%
Location
70.4%
Facilities
64.8%
Cleanliness
48.8%
Staff
85.6%
Value
60.8%
Safety
64.0%
Refine your results Showing 107 of 107 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
31.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

05 July 2013

Liked: free car park。quite in night

Disliked: old, unclean and smell funny.......showerroom is not heated,so cold when u took shower in night

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

xixi shen

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 xixi would recommend this property

Liked: 这家旅馆其实是一幢两层楼的小别墅,总共也就七八个房间。前台人很好,有问必答。最后我们走的那天是下午的飞机,上午退房后还可以把行李放在楼下保管。它的卫生其实还可以,只是看上去有点旧旧的,但很有生活气息。前院的草地上有人晒太阳或者玩游戏。后院是厨房和洗衣房,貌似可以自己做饭,但我们没尝试过。我们住的那间双人间很小,大概10~12平米。但是价钱很便宜,只有450一晚。而且离墨尔本的cbd很近,做公交车只有十几分钟就到了,地段不错。

Disliked: 它的浴室是share的。

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a good place to sleep , it's very quiet in the night! And you can hire dvd's to watch on your room , so that was nice as well. You have free coffee and tea in the morning and ree internet.

Disliked: We did a booking in the morning and we arrived around 1 pm and had to wait untill 5 pm when we could be in our room!! There was no-one at the reception who could help us and we were very tired of travelling. The first thing we saw in the fridge was 2 huge cockroaches and a lot of empty things in it as well. So the hostel isn't so clean at all - maybe they need to look for another kitchencleaner??-

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were amazing and so welcoming. The hostel has a great atmosphere.

Disliked: It wasn't particularly clean in some areas.

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011

Liked: -

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Roy Arts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2011 Roy would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely friendly staff, as many others have said Pat is a truly great guy willing to help you with anything. The hostel is very cozy due to its size and it being a converted house - it has a very good, homey atmosphere to it and the people are a nice group that always bother to ask how you are and whether you have any plans. Chapel Street is very closeby which is a street full of every shop youll ever need, with a Coles and Aldi for cheap groceries. All in all a good experience.

Disliked: -

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2011

Liked: Nice staff, kitchen okay, location okay.

Disliked: Dirty (rubbish everywhere, spiderwebs, old furniture), old, smelly, sinks did not work properly...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 January 2011

Liked: The staff were very friendly and helpful - could not fault them - and also the other travellers were very friendly.

Disliked: Bear in mind I did not go as a backpacker looking for mates - totally understand that if you were a backpacker not too fussed about the niceties of life and looking for somewhere to meet lots of other people I'm sure it would do a good job. However I went there as part of a couple and it was just all a bit shabby, unclean and probably for $20 more a night you could get a proper hotel.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Donna Smith

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2011

Liked: It gave me a fun story to tell the grandkids...?? Nothing.

Disliked: Where do I start... When myself and friend arrived we were put in a 6 bed dorm - we arrived in the dorm and it looked more like we had just entered a horrendously messy teenage girls bedroom. There was clutter and people's belongings on EVERY surface and all over the floor. There didnt even look like there were two beds spare - there were belongings on every bed. When the other people in the dorm came in they cleared two beds for us, but there was no room to put our backpacks. Everyone in the hostel was drinking heavily when we arrived - it was like being in a really noisy and crowded student house. There were people smoking at every window and door, people lying down in the hallways etc. No one else there seemed to be a short term backpacker - it felt more like a squat/halfway house for people with jobs who actually lived there. I felt like we had just walked into a party that we hadnt been invited to, and it was just a really awkward atmosphere - as if we were just squatting in someone's house for the night. The showers and toilets were horrendous - no evidence of being regularly cleaned. The carpets were stained, sticky and everywhere smelled musty. There were wet sofas and soggy, broken furniture on the lawn outside. The one redeeming thing about this place was that the lady who served us on the desk was very nice. In the morning we came down and explained that we had decided to stay somewhere else for the next 3 nights and she was very helpful and asked if she could ring around to find other beds for us in the city, and only charged us for the one night we'd stayed there. For that we were thankful

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 December 2010

Liked: Pat and Alicia are stellar people who will go to all sorts of lengths to help out guests and see to their needs concerning logistics, very friendly and sweet people. As far as facilities, there was a fridge and cubbies for storing food and a kitchen and a TV room with DVDs, and wifi available. Lockers and linens are provided and you can cook in the kitchen if you clean up after yourself. It's a three-blocks' walk to the metro and buses all over the place. About 30 min walk to the botanical gardens and a pleasant stroll to the shopping district. About a 40 minute walk to St. Kilda. The location wasn't that close to any tourist attractions but it wasn't too far away either.

Disliked: Backpackers, be aware. What was billed as a "charming historical mansion" is in actuality a Grade-A dump. We have stayed in a lot of hostels across the world and lived in boarding houses and co-ops as well, so our expectations are reasonable. The place was just plain filthy - the only place we've ever been where our feet were dirtier walking out of the showers than walking in. Sitting on the floor one day a mouse ran past me. The carpets are actually sticky. The house is held together with bale wire -- can't count how many leaks and drafts there are, which made for a chilly room, and no heat. The bathrooms were frightening. One of them has a large hole in the ceiling and I could hear the local critters scurrying around in the rafters and kept expecting one to drop through the ceiling into the room! Most of the people live there long-term so they get pretty spread out and messy in their rooms. They also put themselves in charge of the kitchen, and this was the only place on a rather long trip where I got sick. Also, the general attitude of residents was quite unfriendly and that's a huge drawback for a hostel. There were mostly long-term residents who know each other well - they weren't interested in meeting new people, and generally treated us as outsiders or ignored us pointedly. We tried to strike up a few conversations, but with very little luck. They should call this a boarding house and not bill it as a hostel - we were the only short-term guests. It's a really young crowd and a fairly wild party atmosphere, which was a bad match for us but it might be great for you -- if I had read a review that reflected this aspect of the hostel's character we would have found somewhere else to stay. So in case it's not your speed, be aware of that. Yes, it's cheap, and yes, you can't expect too much from a hostel, but I've had mouse-less and dirt-free accommodations for less. At that, it was much too expensive. I put off writing this bad review as long as I could because Pat and Alicia are truly sweet, friendly and helpful people --- you will get good service from them. I hate to write negative things about their place, but this was our honest experience. My traveling companion, an extremely tolerant and easygoing person, described it as a notch below Animal House, and I think that's being more than fair. We kept looking for the silver lining but after three nights we looked for another place to stay -- without much luck, so we stuck it out for the remaining two nights. The only thing we could do was to spend as little time as possible in the hostel for the remainder of our stay.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

04 August 2010

Liked: Free wifi was good and easy to get to the centre of Melbourne. Pat was very helpful but reception hours were a bit limited.

Disliked: A lot of long term residents some of which were down right bizarre. The kitchen doesn't open before 7am so if you're going on an early tour/flight it's not too helpful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: amazing

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Shannon Kirkpatrick

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2010 Shannon would recommend this property

Liked: The building has a lot of character and is more interesting than a huge, 700 bed hostel. Pat, the owner, is absolutely fabulous and a huge help with anything you need help with.

Disliked: Not all areas are heated in the winter (i.e. cold bathrooms and hallways).

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

19 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap but you get what you pay for

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 January 2010

Liked: absolutely great staff, nice rooms and nice atmosphere... would always go back :)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

07 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice people, pick up from train station, good connection to city, nice rooms

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Pat giving good advices, all in all very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

21 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Staff and people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

09 November 2009

Liked: Nice owner.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything best place in melbourne

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 November 2009

Liked: The staff was very friendly

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

07 October 2009

Liked: I liked the free wi-fi and found the staff very friendly.We got picked up from our previous hostel free of charge and I thought this was a good start.The kitchen needs a good clean and it's very inaccessible, as it's very small and the kettle didn't work properly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There are the nicest people in the world at this lodge. The staff is super helpfull, there is free wifi. I loved staying there

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

01 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really liked this place and Pat who was running the place was unbelieveably friendly & helpful to us.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.