HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Space Hotel

Hostel | 380 Russell St, Melbourne, Australia 3000

93.7% Overall Rating

792 out of 944 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/04/2014)

simon cole thinks…

"Location. Late access was easy. Good internet facilities (though you do have to pay)"

Read all Space Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Gym
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that any cancellations must be notified directly to the property through email at least 48 hours before your scheduled arrival date, unless otherwise stated in the hotel's conditions. In the event of a no-show, the total amount of the accommodation will be charged to your credit card and the rest of the reservation will be cancelled. If you cancel any individual night of your reservation, then the deposit for that night will not be refunded or transferred.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Melbourne

Elizabeth Hostel
24.26 USD

Hostel 64.5% 165 reviews
Discovery Melbourne
25.19 USD

Hostel 82.3% 568 reviews
City Centre Budget Hotel
33.82 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.8% 241 reviews
Nomads Melbourne
21.46 USD

Hostel 79.7% 244 reviews
Home @ The Mansion
22.39 USD

Hostel 86.7% 46 reviews
GreenHouse Backpackers
34.52 USD

Hostel 81.9% 128 reviews
The Nunnery
29.85 USD

Hostel 84.9% 202 reviews
Flinders Station Backpackers
24.26 USD

Hostel 77.6% 246 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.7%

Overall Rating

792 out of 944 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Space Hotel'

Atmosphere
92.8%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
95.2%
Cleanliness
92.8%
Staff
90.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
99.2%
Refine your results Showing 745 of 803 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 29 | 30   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the city. Had own shower. Loved the view

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

simon cole

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2014 simon would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Late access was easy. Good internet facilities (though you do have to pay)

Disliked: Somewhat big and impersonal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern Hotel/Hostel. Great kitchen and out door area

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

04 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, bright and clean - although water in the bathrooms is a problem, but not sure how it could be addressed in clean ways - better water than filthy bath mats!

Disliked: $20 deposit for plates and cutlery - silly. But it's amazing how far a paddle pop stick and a styrofoam cup (supplied for tea and coffee) can get you. Why didn't I want to pay the $20 deposit? Because I didn't want to have to guard a plate and a spoon in order to get my money back.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Modern design, clean rooms, great location, modern kitchen, an extraordinary amount of various facilities.

Disliked: Bathrooms are mostly pairs of single toilets and showers. Thus despite the regular cleaning often the whole flor was wet. Not so nice for going to the toilet. Rather cool hot water in the shower in the morning.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Marcus Sperk

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Marcus would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, nice staff and good atmosphere

Disliked: Pretty expensive for a poor backpacker but you really gey great stuff for it

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location,,good service.

Disliked: Toilette not always clean.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roberta Zaluski

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2014 Roberta would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location Boeing close to metro station and city center. Also everything new and clean.

Disliked: No free internet nor breakfast.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

26 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very convenient location, close to Melbourne Central and state library. Very clean with super friendly staff.

Disliked: Room was a bit tight. But overall ok for a budget hotel.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Louise-Amelia Tolton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 March 2014 Louise-Amelia would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, great facilities for a hostel, individual plug sockets for each person in the dorms, great areas for relaxing, and the rooftop spa was lovely. Great value food at the bar, and reception was really friendly. Beds were comfortable and generally everything was to a high standard.

Disliked: Lacked a certain atmosphere, in terms of the friendliness of other travellers that you normally expect in a hostel. Perhaps the slightly higher price than other hostels encourages a less enthusiastic crowd? Could do with a couple more showers at peak times.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joan Allen

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 March 2014 Joan would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, whole concept brilliant idea, why shouldn't backpackers and hotel stayers mix!

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe, great location.

Disliked: Staff often not knowledgeable about nearby attractions or things to do. Ran out of beer on a Sunday afternoon. Not a great community and welcoming feel.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Edward McClelland

Alone

Family Holiday

19 March 2014 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Elevators, Location, Kitchen, RoofTop view, cleanliness, Bar, All real good. No Breakfast!! Really more than a Hostel......like the name says: Space Hotel!!! Nice place...

Disliked: No Breakfast! No Silverware/plates in kitchen. That's it.....Great Hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were well organised and the lockers with shelves and power points were a great addition

Disliked: The wifi charges were over priced. $40 a weeks pass?! $3 for an hours usage as that's not even unlimited it's capped at 200mb. Very poor. Also the connection was slow and unreliable. Was unable to FaceTime because it kept cutting out. I didn't like the fact you couldn't go on the roof past 9pm. Seemed a little odd. Also as a lone traveller I was unable to use the hot tub as the rules stated not to use it alone. The movie room was nice however the volume was so low I couldn't hear the film. Also the side lights kept going on and off. The gym was a disappointment as two pieces of equipment were out of order and there was no free weights. Hiring a diner set was a bit extreme. I personally did not think it was needed. Who's gonna steal a few cheap plates?? Having free tea and coffee was nice but there was no milk?! Showers were not hot in the evening. Room 104 door does not lock when closed so anyone can just push the door open. Noisy at night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, facilities and staff

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christine Southwood

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2014 Christine would recommend this property

Liked: It was the best hostel I have stayed in - clean secure nice dorms lovely kitchen movie room hot tub gym nice bar attached

Disliked: No free wifi

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I booked for a 4bed dorm and been upgraded in a triple room, pretty cool' Room was big and nice, lot of space to put stuff, very clean and comfortable mattress. Bathroom very clean, same same for the huge.kitchen. Big up for the travel agent and his special prices... :) Very good location, 10 mn from great Fitzroy and mn from cbd. Better to book via a hotel website rather directly from the hotel: direct booking is.more expensive! Staff nice except the Italian lady, lil bit rough and not helpful . Real positive, clean and safe hotel. Free coffee tea sugar and cream

Disliked: Nothing negative

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emmanuel Facundo Jose Serio

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2014 Emmanuel Facundo Jose would recommend this property

Liked: it was new

Disliked: the staff, totally unhelpful. We arrived very late, after a 15 hours flight from argentina, paid for 4 nights in advance and was asked to paid an extra 100 australian dollars as deposit. I didn't have that money in australian dollars at the time because it was my first day un australia and only have an extra 95 australian dollar (only 5 dollars short, after having already paid more than 400 aus dollars in advance for the 4 nights!!) but they made me look for an ATM at 3 o clock in the morning to go and get those 5 dollars !! .I even had offered them to paid 100 american dollar as deposit instead (it's more than 100 aus dollars!!) but there was no case, they made me go to an ATM at 3 o clock in the morning.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautifully clean, with large lockers in every room. The facilities were huge, and the outside space was great. Also really handy having the bar adjoined to the hostel.

Disliked: Nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jon Pride

Alone

City break

01 March 2014 Jon would recommend this property

Liked: I love this place and I wish I had found this earlier as I would've stayed longer. I love the facilities on offer. This place alone makes me want to come to Melbourne again very soon.

Disliked: nothing at all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

PO-HAN HUANG

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 February 2014 PO-HAN would recommend this property

Liked: the whole look is awesome! facilities are so nice, interior was so modern

Disliked: if they can have ensuite room with private bathroom, it would be better

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Juhyun Lee

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Juhyun would recommend this property

Liked: Good. I am satisfied with all of things.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brit Beahan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2014 Brit would recommend this property

Liked: On arrival we got upgraded from a double room to queen balcony, the room was so clean and tidy! Loved my stay there :)

Disliked: Was more like a hotel than a hostel atmosphere wise but I didn't dislike anything

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great clean room, very relaxing and not at all noisy due to the good location.

Disliked: The bathrooms weren't that clean

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Felipe Caldas

Alone

City break
Events / festivals

16 February 2014 Felipe would recommend this property

Liked: I have to say, this is one of the best hostels I have ever stayed in my life. And I have been to quite a few. Having a rooftop spa/pool and a gym were the highlights for me. Their bar is also pretty cool and Friday night they had a DJ there. Quite clean and the kitchen is huge, although I did not use it. Definitely will come back to Space if I am staying in downtown Melbourne.

Disliked: The night staff could be a bit friendlier (but then again, no one is...)