We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Space Hotel

Hostel | 380 Russell St, Melbourne, Australia 3000

88.1% Overall Rating

825 out of 979 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2015)

Elise meertens thinks…

"Super clean and easy to get in and out of melbourne from the airport. I had a quick stopover for one night and it was perfect. Gym was great before another 24 hours of flying and it was close to lots…"

Read all Space Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Free city tour
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Gym
  • Hot tub / jacuzzi
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Bar(s)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please note that any cancellations must be notified directly to the property through email at least 48 hours before your scheduled arrival date, unless otherwise stated in the hotel's conditions. In the event of a no-show, the total amount of the accommodation will be charged to your credit card and the rest of the reservation will be cancelled. If you cancel any individual night of your reservation, then the deposit for that night will not be refunded or transferred.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Melbourne

Elizabeth Hostel
12.85 USD

Hostel 69.9% 196 reviews
Discovery Melbourne
15.71 USD

Hostel 73.4% 601 reviews
City Centre Budget Hotel
25.88 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.8% 242 reviews
Nomads Melbourne
15.71 USD

Hostel 79.2% 258 reviews
Home at the Mansion
14.28 USD

Hostel 83.9% 55 reviews
GreenHouse Backpackers
20.70 USD

Hostel 82.4% 144 reviews
The Nunnery
19.27 USD

Hostel 90.6% 226 reviews
Flinders Backpackers
15.71 USD

Hostel 78.6% 351 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.1%

Overall Rating

825 out of 979 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Space Hotel'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
88.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 772 of 837 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 30 | 31   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elise meertens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 August 2015 Elise would recommend this property

Liked: Super clean and easy to get in and out of melbourne from the airport. I had a quick stopover for one night and it was perfect. Gym was great before another 24 hours of flying and it was close to lots of eating and shopping!

Disliked: Little sterile for socializing but not bad!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Caroline Barrow

Alone

Visiting friends or family

09 July 2015 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a mixed dorm and it was very friendly, really easy to meet people if you're travelling on your own. I had people to talk to and hang out with within an hour of arriving. There's also a lively bar downstairs which makes it easy to meet people. Staff are really friendly and helpful. The facilities are good and the place is secure and in a great location. I would recommend this place to people travelling on their own as a good place to meet people. I would stay here again.

Disliked: I stayed in a six bed dorm and when I arrived the room was a complete mess and smelt like unwashed socks (but I think this was down to the people in it, not the staff). Having said that, my bed had clean fresh sheets, and my locker was completely clean, plus the people in the room were so friendly their messyness ceased to matter after about five minutes. The wifi isn't free which in this day and age seems ridiculous. Remember to bring a padlock for your locker. The communal facilities and bathrooms are clean and well maintained.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Malgorzata Schmidt

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 July 2015 Malgorzata would recommend this property

Liked: Good vibration! Not only staff but all fellow residents were a pleasure. Even the young people having a party in my dorm at 1 AM - they were charmingly polite and left as soon as I appeared saying I was tired. I liked everything. Stayed for 2 more nights. Will always come back while in Melbourne. BEST WISHES and KIND REGARDS!

Disliked: There is nothing to dislike about Space

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference

15 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: heaps of space in the dorms. big cupboards were you can store all your belongings. cupboards between the bunk beds create a bit of privacy. each bed has its own dimmable reading light and power points.

Disliked: was all good

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a gym and the private room was spacious and comfortable

Disliked: The temporary staff are a bit unsure about certain things about the hotel but the permanent staff were more experienced and helpful

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GAMDUR Singh Dhillon

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 May 2015 GAMDUR Singh would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and the staff was friendly and always very willing to assist.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Timothy Michaels

Alone

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

12 May 2015 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Very modern, ideal

Disliked: I had no problem there.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Evgenia Borisov

Alone

City break

20 April 2015 Evgenia would recommend this property

Liked: Location and great facilities on offer. Nice comfortable bed and many little extras.

Disliked: Evgenia left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals

10 April 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The shared bathrooms were cleaned frequently and fresh bathmats were left, which was much appreciated. It was a clean and modern space with a comfortable bed and well-designed room.

Disliked: Having a small hand basin/kettle in the room would have been great.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

31 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beds were comfy.

Disliked: the "movie space" smelt like a sperm donor clinic where all the samples had been spilt on the floor. The term "secure lockers" needs to be revisited... lockers yes. . Secure no.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location in CBD is really good Big lockers

Disliked: Staff was sometimes unfriendly and not helpful Depends on the day if the bathrooms are clean

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ka Ka Lam

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2015 Ka Ka would recommend this property

Liked: This is absolutely the best hostel I've ever stayed. The location is fantastic, very close to various public transport, which I think is so important for people without own vehicle like me. THE PLACE IS SOOOOOO CLEAN, even cleaner than a lot of hotels, I'm sure. And the facilities are awesome, with movie space, gym, etc... The atmosphere is friendly and cheerful. The pantry is well-equipped and clean. I especially enjoy the huge TV set which allows me to eat while watching Australian Open XDDD All in all, THIS PLACE IS AWESOME! Not only will I come back, I will recommend it to everyone I know who is coming to Melbourne.

Disliked: NOTHING! EVERYTHING IS PERFECT:)

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

12 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and modern designs.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Christina Klein

Alone

Events / festivals

11 January 2015 Christina would recommend this property

Liked: Lockers and powerstations for every bed Location Facilities

Disliked: Maybe a bit exlensive for students but its worth the money ifyou're staying longer than one nighte

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break

08 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, friendly stuff, huge kitchen

Disliked: Air conditioning was not able to be turned off. The room was very dry because there was no window.

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Apodaca

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

31 December 2014 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: This property was extremely clean and presentable upon my first arrival. The people sitting at the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful. They even let me borrow the hotel's Miki card for my excursion to Brighton Beach! The facilities are excellent, especially for a hostel and for it's reasonable price. I was amazed that both a gym and spa were provided! I would ABSOLUTELY stay at this place again and recommend it to all my friends!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arran Kirkup

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 December 2014 Arran would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and well maintained. Great location. We booked in for an extra two days because we really liked it.

Disliked: No complaints here. It's a lovely place. Can't speak for the shared rooms as we were in a double.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Kevin Wu

Alone

City break
Work / volunteering

23 December 2014 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, excellent facilities on offer, and easy to find.

Disliked: Slightly pricey but good value nonetheless.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and well designed. Lots of powerpoints by the beds and in lockers, amazingly enough they managed to create some privacy even in a dorm room. I didn't look at other levels but on mine the bathrooms were all one-person bathrooms and there were lots - this was very, very nice. Signs said they are cleaned five times a day plus on demand so I never had to deal with a gross bathroom. The other facilities looked good but I didn't have enough time to enjoy them as I had so much to pack in to a short trip.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like location of the place. Very convenient to walk to city only take 5minutes amd i love the staff our there ,they are very helpful and friendly.

Disliked: I not satisfied with the cleanliness of toilet.Sometime is too dirty. But overall in the room, hallway, bar, reception and others were clean.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Kimberley Prophet

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 June 2014 Kimberley would recommend this property

Liked: Towel provided, hot powerful showers, kitchen Was brilliant good ovens. Mattress nice. Staff helpful Locker in room helpful

Disliked: Kimberley left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kim Valentine

Alone

Visiting friends or family

01 June 2014 Kim would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy, private, close to station

Disliked: Too hot Couldn't open windows

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms and bathrooms were very clean (bathrooms were cleaned five times/day) and hotel was very modern. It felt more like staying at a new boutique hotel than a hostel (this was a plus for me). Everything felt secure; bathrooms and rooms both had key card access. Hostel was close to attractions and a five minute walk from Melbourne Central Station (transportation). Loved the iPhone speaker/charger/alarm clock in the rooms, and rooms had plenty of outlets for charging electronics. Has a huge chef's kitchen, gym, laundry facilities, and a Jacuzzi on the rooftop patio. Bar on main level serves INCREDIBLE pizza + pot (one glass of beer or pop) for $7.50 AUD.

Disliked: Wifi costs $10/24 hours or 600 MB, whichever comes first. Hostel advertised 24 hour hot showers, but when I went to take a shower around 8:00 PM there was no hot water. Key cards are needed to get into bathrooms, so even if you're staying with someone else who could let you back into the room you need to take your card with you every time you leave.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooftop is nice.

Disliked: staff was not that helpful...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

John Tumbridge

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 May 2014 John would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice staff good atmosphere. Really nice rooms equivalent to a hotel

Disliked: A bit expensive but you get what you pay for!

The property's response is...