HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Melbourne Connection Travellers Hostel

Hostel | 205 King St, Melbourne Melbourne, Australia 3000

58.1% Overall Rating

71 out of 142 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/12/2012)

Samantha Aungle thinks…

"The beds were comfortable. There was an easy access lift for heavy baggage. Quite a good kitchen, no one stole food from me!"

Read all Melbourne Connection Travellers Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

TERMS AND CONDITIONS - Persons under 18yrs are not permitted in the hostel. Bookings in breach will be refused on arrival without refund. - All guests are to provide current, valid photo ID on check in. - Full payment of any outstanding accommodation charges must be paid in full on check-in. - All guests to provide security deposit of $20 cash at check in before keys are provided. - Management reserve the right to allocate a bed in a larger dormitory when priced at the same rate. Cancellations or alterations with more than 48 hours notice are free of charge; less than 48 hours notice of change 100% of first night room rate charged. Please note all time periods calculated from standard check-in time of 11am. All money paid to the website is non-refundable and non-transferable

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Melbourne

King Street Backpackers
24.26 USD

Hostel 75.8% 207 reviews
Nomads All Nations Backpackers
19.60 USD

Hostel 70.2% 368 reviews
Melbourne Central YHA
31.73 USD

Hostel 87.2% 34 reviews
Nomads Melbourne
21.46 USD

Hostel 78.1% 246 reviews
Discovery Melbourne
24.26 USD

Hostel 77.0% 580 reviews
The Spencer Backpackers
25.20 USD

Hostel 69.7% 289 reviews
Nico's Friends
18.65 USD

Hostel 61.0% 3 reviews
Elizabeth Hostel
22.40 USD

Hostel 66.2% 178 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
58.1%

Overall Rating

71 out of 142 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Melbourne Connection Travellers Hostel'

Atmosphere
49.6%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
51.2%
Cleanliness
47.2%
Staff
66.4%
Value
52.8%
Safety
59.2%
Refine your results Showing 87 of 92 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Danny Brewster

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

08 June 2014 Danny would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were clean and it was close to everything

Disliked: No 6 bed dorm

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

ren qiang

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 April 2014

Liked: location in the CBD , close to train and bus station.

Disliked: feel the hostel is very old and not tidy place to stay .

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jac ho

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 jac would recommend this property

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nothing

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2014

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness

25.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Joseph Simons

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 January 2014

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything. It was filthy. the staff was not helpful. The beds were worn and gross. The linens looked like they came out of an ally rubbish bin and stank as such. There was human refuse leaking out of the base of one of the toilets and soaking the floor. Towels were put down to soak up the water and it smelled awful. No one seemed concerned. I was accidently overcharged by the front desk since I had put %10 down on hostelbookers, and they still charged the full amount. I brought this to the attention of the staff, but even though she acknowledged the mistake she refused to give my $24 back because it is their policy to not give refunds.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

01 October 2013

Liked: Price

Disliked: Wasn't clean, filled with mainly workers not tourists

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping

25 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It would be excllent if has a table in room

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and the price

Disliked: The room wasn't very good looking and the general atmosphere was quite cheap. Lots of people were asleep on the couches. It was next to a crossing and the noise was horrible

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2013

Liked: -

Disliked: I got about 100 bed bug bites, when we left we found a little cockroach under the sheet. we had to make the beds by ourselves and there were no proper blankets although it was already quite cold. the rooms are cleaned once per week, what you can definitely see and the bathrooms are just disgustingly dirty. the kitchen and all the dishes are dirty as well

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Lesley Harlem

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2013

Liked: The location was the only nice thing about this hostel

Disliked: It smells like vomit and body odor, the keys and codes to get in at night didn't work properly, the bathrooms looked like they hadn't been cleaned in weeks and the toilets were backed up & we weren't able to get into our room until 9 pm the day of check-in and were in no way compensated for the inconvenience.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lin Chen

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 February 2013 Lin would recommend this property

Liked: color and decorate

Disliked: weak aircon toilet is not really well. power are less in room(4 bed share 2 power) extra money for put luggage in the leaving morning! I cant understand that. and the sheet they gave me isn't clean too....(make me itching first night!)

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Samantha Aungle

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

01 December 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: The beds were comfortable. There was an easy access lift for heavy baggage. Quite a good kitchen, no one stole food from me!

Disliked: The reception were a little unhelpful about maintaining security. I wanted to keep my belongings safe behind the reception desk. They let me but seemed begrudging. Not as if it was an easy thing to keep these things secure in my dorm room, when the only locker left had a broken hinge, so my padlock was useless to keep my things secure in the shared room.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

georgina chapman

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2012

Liked: Lots of films to Watch

Disliked: Above a very noisy club!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 October 2012

Liked: close to the city, very close to southern cross station. have a locker for use at your room.

Disliked: Toilets always without tissue paper. Kitchen is without enough utensils, plate, cups for use. Very noisy after 11pm. The kitchen was closed for cleaning at 8:15am. Toilet floor is very wet. Don't come in winter as the blanket is very thin, not warm enough.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Dean Sutton

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

05 August 2012

Liked: Nothing, horrible experience

Disliked: Everything, worst hostel ever!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping

18 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is close 2 southern cross station an you can get interstate train an also catch shuttle bus 2 airport

Disliked: lots of stairs

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 July 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: I couldN't stay just only 1 min. The room so bad, smell like a shit from someone who alredy stayed in. They made messy room everywhere. How can I stay? Lynin, bed sheet look old and not clean enough. Finally I have to pay mor for a better place instead.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

phil beswick

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 June 2012

Liked: location to town, price,

Disliked: filthy, cramped 'cooking' facilities, no cups to be found for a brew, people smoking joints in the rooms and not tackled by staff, poor hygeine throughout really

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 May 2012

Liked: Staff friendly enough, if a little vague. Fairly clean.

Disliked: Lack of maintenence - taps that can't be turned off, no hooks in some bathrooms, light not working in one bathroom. No space to put luggage in room. People not very friendly, tho not sure this reflects on the hostel.

31.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2012

Liked: Leaving

Disliked: Everything!!!! Check in was a nightmare, the staff were rude and have some real attitude problems espcially the cleaners which is suprising considering the place is disgusting. The sheets we got stank they had stains all over them we were shoved in a tiny little room next to the door which all the smokers use so it is constantly slamming all night. The bathrooms were filthy and smelt really bad of you know what! I have stayed in hostels all around the world and this is one of the worst, certainly the worst one ive stayed in Australia PLEASE don't stay here!!!!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Lack of cleaning, it smell not really good, one plug in in the room for 4 people, non plug in in the bathroom, dirty sheets

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

MINHYE KIM

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 April 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: dirty room and bath room. dirty linen

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Katy Roberts

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2011

Liked: good location

Disliked: didn't seem to have much of an atmosphere. Bit of a dump.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice people

Disliked: only one washing mashine!!!