HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Melbourne Connection Travellers Hostel Melbourne Hostel

205 King Street, Victoria, Melbourne, Australia

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 53%

Facilities 58%

Location 88%

Safety 66%

Staff 78%

Value 59%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Late Check-out
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Board Games
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Steam room
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Wii

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room 4.00USD

Important Information

TERMS AND CONDITIONS - Persons under 18yrs are not permitted in the hostel. Bookings in breach will be refused on arrival without refund.

- All guests are to provide current, valid photo ID on check in.
- Full payment of any outstanding accommodation charges must be paid in full on check-in.
- All guests to provide security deposit of $20 cash at check in before keys are provided.
- Management reserve the right to allocate a bed in a larger dormitory when priced at the same rate.

Cancellations or alterations with more than 48 hours notice are free of charge; less than 48 hours notice of change 100% of first night room rate charged. Please note all time periods calculated from standard check-in time of 11am. All money paid to the website is non-refundable and non-transferable

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 11:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 62%

Cleanliness 53%

Facilities 58%

Location 88%

Safety 66%

Staff 78%

Value 59%

Showing 11-14 of 14 reviews

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

37% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 20%
37% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanliness

26% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
26% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Everything. It was filthy. the staff was not helpful. The beds were worn and gross. The linens looked like they came out of an ally rubbish bin and stank as such. There was human refuse leaking out of the base of one of the toilets and soaking the floor. Towels were put down to soak up the water and it smelled awful. No one seemed concerned. I was accidently overcharged by the front desk since I had put %10 down on hostelbookers, and they still charged the full amount. I brought this to the attention of the staff, but even though she acknowledged the mistake she refused to give my $24 back because it is their policy to not give refunds.

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Sep 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: Price

Disliked: Wasn't clean, filled with mainly workers not tourists

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Shopping

Liked: It would be excllent if has a table in room

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The location and the price

Disliked: The room wasn't very good looking and the general atmosphere was quite cheap. Lots of people were asleep on the couches. It was next to a crossing and the noise was horrible

Customer would recommend this property

43% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 40%
43% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 May 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: -

Disliked: I got about 100 bed bug bites, when we left we found a little cockroach under the sheet.we had to make the beds by ourselves and there were no proper blankets although it was already quite cold. the rooms are cleaned once per week, what you can definitely see and the bathrooms are just disgustingly dirty.the kitchen and all the dishes are dirty as well

29% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 20%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 20%
29% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was the only nice thing about this hostel

Disliked: It smells like vomit and body odor, the keys and codes to get in at night didn't work properly, the bathrooms looked like they hadn't been cleaned in weeks and the toilets were backed up & we weren't able to get into our room until 9 pm the day of check-in and were in no way compensated for the inconvenience.


The property's response is

Hi Lesley

In regards to the toilets the toilets are cleaned and thoroughly in the morning as well as through out the day when reception has a chance to get in there the fact that guests using the toilets are going to get dirty its a fact of life, In regards to the room there should have been beds for you to get into straight away, The night door codes do work if imputed correctly the codes are on all key rings.

Regards

Dallas

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 40%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: color and decorate

Disliked: weak aircontoilet is not really well.power are less in room(4 bed share 2 power)extra money for put luggage in the leaving morning! I cant understand that.and the sheet they gave me isn't clean too....(make me itching first night!)

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Lin

Very sorry in regards to the Linen you were given, All linen is cleaned on a daily basis we would have been more than happy to supply new ones if you had of told us.

In regards to the luggage All guest's have access to free storage for the day.

We have also employed new staff for the room cleaning and common areas ensuring that all rooms are cleaned and all guest's enjoy there stay here with us.

Regards

Dallas

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 60%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: The beds were comfortable. There was an easy access lift for heavy baggage. Quite a good kitchen, no one stole food from me!

Disliked: The reception were a little unhelpful about maintaining security. I wanted to keep my belongings safe behind the reception desk. They let me but seemed begrudging. Not as if it was an easy thing to keep these things secure in my dorm room, when the only locker left had a broken hinge, so my padlock was useless to keep my things secure in the shared room.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability