HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Base St Kilda Melbourne Hostel

17 Carlisle St, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 79%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 86%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Linen

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cable TV
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Fitness Centre"
  • Foosball
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 14.65USD
  • Breakfast 3.85USD
  • Luggage Room 0.77USD
  • Towel 2.31USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 79%

Cleanliness 78%

Facilities 79%

Location 89%

Safety 90%

Staff 86%

Value 74%

Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 20%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: quality mattresses, access to beach, clubs, shops. TV channel selection, spacious kitchen and TV room, smokers were well quarantined so the smoke was not a problem.

Disliked: bar acoustics terrible, too loud to even be near it. St. Kilda is not quick and easy to get to by transit,

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2016

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: Close to everything in st Kildare.

Disliked: $10 a day car park which isn't listed as a fee on the website, impiling that it is free. Great young person's backpackers, I was a bit old.

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Dec 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Liked: 1 minute walk from the beach.

Disliked: There were only toilets in the rooms. No extra toilets/showers in the entire hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The seperated female dorms

Disliked: Noise

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Partying / nightlife

Liked: I loved how funky and modern everything was and especially how close it was to all the awesome bars & pubs

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family

Liked: Loved the bar downstairs with the offers and games.

Disliked: It was a little noisy at night but (it's a hostel) and also they did provide some ear plugs, thank you :)

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 May 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Visiting friends or family, Work / volunteering

Liked: Ah base....the premier backpackers in this country. Sure it costs a little more but you get so much more than other hostels, the people that tend to stay here are almost normal (compared to other hostels). Plenty of activities on hand and very convenient to the 96 tram.

Disliked: The only complaint or negative thing I would have to say is the internet prices are a little on the ridiculous side of things, but otherwise not bad at all.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great great great girls rooms called the sanctuary xxx

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

G'day there!

Thanks for leaving us a review.

We LOVE our sanctuary rooms too! With the free towel hire, shampoo & conditioner, tea and coffee and champagne every night you really can't go wrong!

We hope the next time you're in Melbourne you come and stay with us again ;-)

Best wishes & safe travels,
BASE MANAGEMENT

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Modern, Friendly people and staff, clean and good activities on offer.

Disliked: Some maintenance needed on bed/bedframes as well as storage areas, and the price is slightly more expensive than other places, especially being as no wifi access.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Oct 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location and staff. I had a really friendly welcome from the reception staff, they were helpful if ever I had any questions and they kindly booked me a taxi when I checked out.

Disliked: Cleanliness, drunken guests and poor kitchen facilities. Also didn't appreciate staff coming around at 8pm interrogating me as to why I wasn't downstairs using my free drink voucher. And 'sanctuary' is an interesting way to describe the all-female dorms which were small with no bathroom windows and not sound-proofed from the bar.

Check Availability