We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Base St Kilda

Hostel | 17 Carlisle Street, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia 3182

85.4% Overall Rating

179 out of 211 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/06/2015)

"I loved how funky and modern everything was and especially how close it was to all the awesome bars & pubs"

Read all Base St Kilda reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Gym
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 13.62
  • Luggage Room USD 0.72
  • Breakfast USD 3.58
  • Towel USD 2.15

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Melbourne

Home Travellers Motel
11.46 USD

Hostel 77.5% 9 reviews
Barkly Backpackers
11.47 USD

Hostel 89.0% 7 reviews
St Kilda Beach House
14.34 USD

Hostel 76.6% 255 reviews
Habitat HQ
15.77 USD

Hostel 89.6% 501 reviews
Nomads St Kilda Beach
13.62 USD

Hostel 64.8% 19 reviews
Easystay Serviced Apartments
35.49 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 83.8% 3 reviews
Easystay Apartments Raglan Street
42.66 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Ritz For Backpackers
15.06 USD

Hostel 76.2% 272 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.4%

Overall Rating

179 out of 211 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Base St Kilda'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
82.4%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
78.4%
Safety
92.0%
Refine your results Showing 159 of 169 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A clean hostel, with friendly, well-informed staff. Not too badly located for a quick hop onto the tram for the city centre. A good range of day trips are available and easily booked on site.

Disliked: The hostel is the most un-cool - cool hostel I've ever stayed in. It tries too hard to be constantly active and there is nothing chilled about it. Its bar is like something rejected by the tackiest nightclub and is, from my own explorations, possibly the least enjoyable in St. Kilda for those who might want to talk to people without having to shout. The noise from the bar is such that in certain parts of the hostel, sleep is impossible until it serves its last punter and plays its final thumping song. The management of the hostel is the most corporate I've come across - they charge you for everything, and again, from my own investigations, at a higher price than other businesses in St. Kilda. Internet ranges from 25 to 33% higher than in local cafes, and they charge to store your bags after you check-out. Their key deposit of $20 is extortionate (the highest I've yet encountered) and cynical - it is only a magnetic card worth less than $.5 per piece. Obviously, they expect a good number of the residents to lose them. Perhaps in their marketing they should target only those who wish to get drunk 7 nights a week; for the traveller who might want to relax a bit; do not stay here.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

22 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay there...

Disliked: Almost all people are from england...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Wies Heiner

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

16 November 2010

Liked: The location is good, staff is friendly. They have a lot of events going on which you can join. They have a bar inside.

Disliked: It's HUGE! Personally I like the cosy hostels, not too big. With 6 floors, elevators and lots of people it didn't feel like a hostel. It's way to big and yes, you can meet a lot of people, but it's hard to find them back in the crowd ;-) Also didn't like that you have to pay for continental breakfast, 6 dollars, while in most hostels it's included. And also the internet is expensive. I think the hostel is a little too expensive for what you get.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything was great

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

05 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place, we ended up staying for about 5nights, the only thing is that its not cheap! But no where seems to be! It does great nights in the bar downstairs and has stuff to do during the day! Good place to start off in Melbourne!

Disliked: Bit pricey!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: no heating in rooms but was ok

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Amy Coventry

Alone

Partying / nightlife

22 July 2010 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were really nice

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 June 2010

Liked: Location was awsome - really easy to navigate from.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the en-suite dorms that are available and the bar on site.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

11 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Base backpackers was a great fun place to meet people and had lots of stuff going on every night. It was also in a great location in St Kilda, near the shops, restaurants and the esplanade.The dormitories were similar to most places ive stayed but i thought they were abit over priced here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: fun hostel, great place to meet other travellers....great location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

09 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bar is good for meeting people and free champers for ladies is wonderful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

06 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good kitchen facilities manned by staff to keep it clean and free BBQ night!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

03 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I booked a singleroom. St.Kilda is a good place to stay. There are 2 trams going directly to the "real" city.Many partypeople are staying over here and there is more or less a party ervery evening on the groundfloor in the Xbase...if you like THAT, it will be great for you.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the facilities, the security and the friendliness of all the staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Security was excellent, as was the friendliness of the staff at all times

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Priscilla Fernandes

09 April 2010 Priscilla would recommend this property

Liked: This is a real party hostel in a real party area. Great place to meet people. Nice mordern facilities!

Disliked: Priscilla left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is really good, and you will defintely meet people. The kitchen is a bit small and when we checked in at 2:30pm our room hadn't been cleaned yet which was a bit of a pain. The cleaning staff should be much quicker than that so the rooms are ready for when check in starts. Other than that though it's a good hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Collison

12 March 2010 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: I've stayed at Habitat, the other main hostel in St Kilda and that was mazing. This is even better. I love the bar and events downstairs, its a fantastic way to meet people. Having ensuite bathrooms is also a major plus. Nice staff and seems really safe and secure. I've just booked for another week and want to stay longer..

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Elisabeth Schültke

23 February 2010 Elisabeth would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed very much the welcoming and personal way of all the staff I had contact with, and that they went out of their way for myself as well as for other guests, as I observed, to make their stay as nice as possible.

Disliked: Elisabeth left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

17 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sanctuary dorms- girls only! Location in St Kilda, helpful staff, friendly atmosphere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

10 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good apart from the fact that some people lived at the hostel and thought the rooms were actually theres.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Kylie Jenkins

21 January 2010

Liked: The rooms were cleaned daily but it was very noisy at night. The rooms are very expensive for what you get!

Disliked: Kylie left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

12 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: CleanFresh-looking- However, you don't get anything for free! Not even free tea/coffee. Even if you spend as much money on your room as a hotel room back home!- Internet is not free and it's $15 a day (too much if you have already spent $95 on your double room).- Double room with ensuite was nice and clean (with air conditioning and TV) but had no furniture to put your luggage on. Bathroom very cramped.- Kitchen felt somewhat crowded at mealtimes- Kitchen also has TV area and this is bad (some people veg or sleep there most of the time)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

George Abood

12 January 2010 George would recommend this property

Liked: This place was the best hostel I stayed at by far. The building def needs a good cleaning and possibly a bit of renovation but I suppose that's what happens when you get a bunch of kids on holiday. If I ever travel on the cheap in this area again I will stay here again no question.

Disliked: George left no negative feedback.