HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Base St Kilda

Hostel | 17 Carlisle Street, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia 3182

83.8% Overall Rating

168 out of 196 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/02/2014)

"There was so much going on at the hostel, everyday and night there was something to do and an opportunity to meet new people or try new things! All the staff are really friendly, happy to help and as majority stayed at…"

Read all Base St Kilda reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Gym
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.82
  • Luggage Room USD 0.94
  • Breakfast USD 4.69
  • Towel USD 2.81

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Melbourne

Hotel Colombo
37.52 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Home Travellers Motel
35.18 USD

Hostel 74.3% 3 reviews
Barkly Backpackers
20.64 USD

Hostel 89.5% 3 reviews
St Kilda Beach House
19.70 USD

Hostel 75.4% 247 reviews
Habitat HQ
23.45 USD

Hostel 88.6% 476 reviews
Coffee Palace International Backpackers
23.45 USD

Hostel 52.1% 106 reviews
Easystay The Bayside Motel
41.74 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.7% 3 reviews
Easystay Serviced Apartments
60.51 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 83.8% 3 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.8%

Overall Rating

168 out of 196 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Base St Kilda'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
75.2%
Staff
87.2%
Value
76.0%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 145 of 154 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carly Samotyj

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2012 Carly would recommend this property

Liked: LOVED it here! great atmosphere,female only rooms.very clean,free bbq,lovely staff.brilliant!

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

CAROLYN STREATHER

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2012 CAROLYN would recommend this property

Liked: Efficiently run and in a good location close to the beach and tram stop. However It is be costly to get trams into the centreevery day so I think its preferable to stay in the city.

Disliked: N/A

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Joseph Dbais

Alone

City break

02 February 2012 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome atmosphere, great people.

Disliked: Location was good but not great. Was put in a room with long-termers who had been living there for months.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the party atmosphere of this place, it can be very social at time. If this is not what you are looking for choose another property

Disliked: Small Kitchen, and small TV Lounge seems like the only good hang out spot is in the Bar which is nice but some nights you need to take a break from it. Also stayed on the first floor can hear the music from the bar trying to sleep

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Ian Mayes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: rooms are really good, bathrooms are amazing. in st kilda which is a nice place for a couple of days. very secure place with lockers under bed.

Disliked: the atmosphere for meeting people is not good, i stayed here for about 4 days and hardly met anyone as downstairs in a big bar that is just like any other bar. not a good place to meet people, other than that its a good hostel, very busy at night tho as the bar turns into a club and at weekends ques form from locals outside the door.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good looking reception, kitchen/common area and I thought the shower in the en-suite was of very good quality. Really liked the option to hire gym membership at a reasonable price, other hostels should take note!

Disliked: As someone travelling alone I didn't have a great experience at the hostel, the people stayingin my room kept themselves to themselves and I feel there was a lack of daytime and nighttime activites which would have made it easier to meet people. I was also staying on the 1st floor so the noise from the bar downstairs was really loud. The hallways could also do with a refurb.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent. This is the second time we've stayed - it's right in the heart of St Kilda. It's lively, and has plenty of spaces to socialise. You can drink your own booze til 8, which is not bad to say they have their own licensed bar. It's modern, and rooms are en suite and have luggage storage under beds. And the kitchen is well equipped.

Disliked: Ladies night used to mean free drinks for females - BRING THAT BACK!!! Ladies get discounted drinks, but free drinks are much better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent, this hostel has everything i could wish for!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed 2 nights in the female sanctuary dorms & ended up booking 6 more nights for the rest of my stay in Melbourne. Towels provided were great, free shampoo & conditioner was a nice bonus, as well as the free champagne from 8pm to 9pm. The beds were really comfortable. The ensuite bathroom was big & cleaned every day. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Disliked: The location is a bit far from the city (although a great location within St Kilda) but it's easy enough to take the tram into the city, about 30 minutes or so.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a private room for 1 night, and it was great. Bed was really comfortable, bathroom was good. The staff was nice and helpful. 24 hour reception meant I was able to buy a soda at 3am (jetlag). The location is great for St Kilda and really close to a tram stop. It's a bit far from the city but easy enough to get there by tram.

Disliked: The breakfast was expensive for what they were offering so I didn't buy it. Wifi is also really expensive.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Carly Halliwell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011

Liked: Good location for visiting St. Kilda Good if all you wana do when you travel is get pissed

Disliked: Bar overpriced!! and changing prices as they like! Lots of 'long stays' in our room so was a complete mess.. couldnt move for their stuff Kitchen not the cleanest

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Night time activities were great, had a lot of fun! Location was handy- near 24 hr convenience store, trams and restaurants. Great atmosphere during day and night. Staff helpful. TV room was great.

Disliked: Two nights in a row the booking was muddled up- first night I had to sleep in a seperate room due to overbooking and then the second night we had to arrange to have a new girl moved as room was overbooked again. When we checked in, our beds weren't clean and after asking reception, they still weren't clean 6 hours later. Rooms weren't the cleanest and the cleaners usually came when people were either sleeping or in the bathroom. Would suggest coming to clean rooms around 12pm onwards.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideally located with local amentities and a great atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful. Great location. Secure.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Christopher Hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The fun times in the bar

Disliked: Bedrooms not clean enough

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Caitlin Wynn

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

06 October 2011 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, comfy beds, clean enough, friendly staff and st. kilda is a really lovely area even though it is a bit out of the CBD.

Disliked: Nothing really.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Atmosphere was good...lively place.

Disliked: Could have been cleaner and the rooms were very very cold.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The party atmosphere was great, and because I stayed on the 3rd floor in the female sanctuary I wasn't affected by the loud music once I decided to go to bed.

Disliked: The stairwell was quite dingy.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

15 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was really friendly and the bar had great offers on and was a great place to meet people

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Base St. Kilda is a nice place to stay as even in Winter the Beach looks very beautiful, the bars have heaters outside so it's even able to sit outside in the evening. The staff was very friendly and helpful as we booked a Breezer for a road trip along the Great Ocean Road with Base St. Kilda and got very cheap special offers for that.

Disliked: Only it was a little bit too big and anonymous for my sense of getting into contact with other people. But that's just my personal point of view. Over all I liked it there!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Red Eye bar was a good place to meet people and there was always something going on. The kitchen/lounge area was big.

Disliked: There wasn't really anything that I disliked

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Zafer KURU

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2011 Zafer would recommend this property

Liked: fun and good place

Disliked: I like everything.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gemma Irons

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 April 2011 Gemma would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are spacious enough for everyone to have their rucksacks our and the ensuite is a bonus. Bedding comfy and although lively at night the hostel is not too loud! Also there was free dinner and brekkie whilst kitchen was being refurbished!!

Disliked: N/A

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Visiting friends or family

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast and dinner were free due to the kitchen being shut. Great location in St Kilda with easy to use and frequent public transport to the city.

Disliked: The music from the bar is quite loud when your in the rooms. Sockets near the beds to charge phones, laptops etc would be handy.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

26 April 2011

Liked: the position

Disliked: dirtyness, disgusting people in the room, lack of security