We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Base St Kilda

Hostel | 17 Carlisle Street, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia 3182

85.6% Overall Rating

174 out of 205 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/10/2014)

"Location and staff. I had a really friendly welcome from the reception staff, they were helpful if ever I had any questions and they kindly booked me a taxi when I checked out."

Read all Base St Kilda reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Fax
  • Gym
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet café
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 16.59
  • Luggage Room USD 0.87
  • Breakfast USD 4.37
  • Towel USD 2.62

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Melbourne

Barkly Backpackers
25.33 USD

Hostel 89.0% 7 reviews
St Kilda Beach House
30.57 USD

Hostel 76.5% 252 reviews
Habitat HQ
30.57 USD

Hostel 88.9% 485 reviews
Coffee Palace
34.06 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Easystay The Bayside Motel
51.97 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.7% 3 reviews
Easystay Serviced Apartments
78.17 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 83.8% 3 reviews
Easystay Apartments Raglan Street
73.80 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Ritz For Backpackers
27.95 USD

Hostel 76.9% 263 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.6%

Overall Rating

174 out of 205 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Base St Kilda'

Atmosphere
84.8%
Location
94.4%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
77.6%
Staff
88.8%
Value
79.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 154 of 163 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Claire Torrens

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 October 2012 Claire would recommend this property

Liked: In St Kilda. Easily accessible.

Disliked: Cleanliness of bathrooms wasn't great. Had to pay for them to keep my bag.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Die Lage war sehr gut. Alle sehr freundlich und hilfbereit. Free bbq!

Disliked: Es war jeden Tag Party mit sehr lautet Musik. Es war fast schon nervig. Die Küche war oft sehr schmuddelig, da viele ihre Sachen nicht ordentlich abgeputzt bzw abgewaschen haben. Internet war sehr teuer.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lockers under the bed were great free food some nights events in the bar nice atmosphere travel desk - can sort out tours, do you deals and help with bank accounts, etc

Disliked: kitch en doesnt have enough cooking equiptment - only a few pots and pans, most of which are broken a problem with someone in our room never really go sorted as it should. they moved rooms but werent kicked out. seeing as there are so many threats around (like if you steal food then you WILL get evicted) i would have thought they'd have treated it more seriously. the rooms smelt a bit. need a deep clean on all the carpets, or replacing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

30 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly check in guy, quiet rooms. Female Dorms - best nights sleep I've had in a hostel.

Disliked: whole drinking section downstairs seemed a bit overwhelming!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Karyl Corbett

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 March 2012 Karyl would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone there was really happy

Disliked: Not everyone did their dishes! And they got away with it. So when you went to use something you often had to clean it first

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff and the guests were all nice - makes sense seeing as it's a party hostel and some of them were basically living there for a few months. The bar was good and the few minute walk to shops and the beach was great.

Disliked: After a 24 hour flight, not being able to sleep until 3am wasn't all that great! It's definitely a party hostel and as good as the social side of it is, it would have been nice to get SOME sleep! Also, the room was a mess. You literally couldn't take a step without standing on people's things.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sara Dapor

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

06 March 2012 Sara would recommend this property

Liked: Location: outside Melbourne CBD and really close to the sea. Atmosphere: nice travellers around, helpful reception, something going on every night. Rooms: in the Sanctuary (female dorms) there's a private bathroom; both the room and the bathroom are cleanded every day.

Disliked: I'd like Internet connection to be free!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Charlotte Uppsall

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

13 February 2012

Liked: Funny idea with the sanctuary n the free champagne coming with it :) Nice bar with good staff. The deal about cheap dinner n 2 free meals we liked

Disliked: Some of the staff especially the cleaning staff made it clear that they didnt really like their jobs. They let people check in way to early before the ones that were gonna leave even had checked out n still had like 30 min left before they had to(check out 10 a clock). And the cleaning staff came to early as well when people still were sleeping, before 10.30, they should not come before 12 at lest

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Timothy Warton

Alone

Business / conference

07 February 2012 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Good clean place, well organised, very friendly VERY helpful staff, heaps to do, just around the corner from heaps of great St Kilda locations

Disliked: Nothing really

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carly Samotyj

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2012 Carly would recommend this property

Liked: LOVED it here! great atmosphere,female only rooms.very clean,free bbq,lovely staff.brilliant!

Disliked: nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

CAROLYN STREATHER

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 February 2012 CAROLYN would recommend this property

Liked: Efficiently run and in a good location close to the beach and tram stop. However It is be costly to get trams into the centreevery day so I think its preferable to stay in the city.

Disliked: N/A

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Joseph Dbais

Alone

City break

02 February 2012 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome atmosphere, great people.

Disliked: Location was good but not great. Was put in a room with long-termers who had been living there for months.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the party atmosphere of this place, it can be very social at time. If this is not what you are looking for choose another property

Disliked: Small Kitchen, and small TV Lounge seems like the only good hang out spot is in the Bar which is nice but some nights you need to take a break from it. Also stayed on the first floor can hear the music from the bar trying to sleep

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Ian Mayes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Ian would recommend this property

Liked: rooms are really good, bathrooms are amazing. in st kilda which is a nice place for a couple of days. very secure place with lockers under bed.

Disliked: the atmosphere for meeting people is not good, i stayed here for about 4 days and hardly met anyone as downstairs in a big bar that is just like any other bar. not a good place to meet people, other than that its a good hostel, very busy at night tho as the bar turns into a club and at weekends ques form from locals outside the door.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

15 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good looking reception, kitchen/common area and I thought the shower in the en-suite was of very good quality. Really liked the option to hire gym membership at a reasonable price, other hostels should take note!

Disliked: As someone travelling alone I didn't have a great experience at the hostel, the people stayingin my room kept themselves to themselves and I feel there was a lack of daytime and nighttime activites which would have made it easier to meet people. I was also staying on the 1st floor so the noise from the bar downstairs was really loud. The hallways could also do with a refurb.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is excellent. This is the second time we've stayed - it's right in the heart of St Kilda. It's lively, and has plenty of spaces to socialise. You can drink your own booze til 8, which is not bad to say they have their own licensed bar. It's modern, and rooms are en suite and have luggage storage under beds. And the kitchen is well equipped.

Disliked: Ladies night used to mean free drinks for females - BRING THAT BACK!!! Ladies get discounted drinks, but free drinks are much better.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

18 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent, this hostel has everything i could wish for!

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed 2 nights in the female sanctuary dorms & ended up booking 6 more nights for the rest of my stay in Melbourne. Towels provided were great, free shampoo & conditioner was a nice bonus, as well as the free champagne from 8pm to 9pm. The beds were really comfortable. The ensuite bathroom was big & cleaned every day. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Disliked: The location is a bit far from the city (although a great location within St Kilda) but it's easy enough to take the tram into the city, about 30 minutes or so.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a private room for 1 night, and it was great. Bed was really comfortable, bathroom was good. The staff was nice and helpful. 24 hour reception meant I was able to buy a soda at 3am (jetlag). The location is great for St Kilda and really close to a tram stop. It's a bit far from the city but easy enough to get there by tram.

Disliked: The breakfast was expensive for what they were offering so I didn't buy it. Wifi is also really expensive.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Carly Halliwell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2011

Liked: Good location for visiting St. Kilda Good if all you wana do when you travel is get pissed

Disliked: Bar overpriced!! and changing prices as they like! Lots of 'long stays' in our room so was a complete mess.. couldnt move for their stuff Kitchen not the cleanest

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Night time activities were great, had a lot of fun! Location was handy- near 24 hr convenience store, trams and restaurants. Great atmosphere during day and night. Staff helpful. TV room was great.

Disliked: Two nights in a row the booking was muddled up- first night I had to sleep in a seperate room due to overbooking and then the second night we had to arrange to have a new girl moved as room was overbooked again. When we checked in, our beds weren't clean and after asking reception, they still weren't clean 6 hours later. Rooms weren't the cleanest and the cleaners usually came when people were either sleeping or in the bathroom. Would suggest coming to clean rooms around 12pm onwards.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ideally located with local amentities and a great atmosphere.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were helpful. Great location. Secure.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Christopher Hughes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: The fun times in the bar

Disliked: Bedrooms not clean enough

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Caitlin Wynn

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

06 October 2011 Caitlin would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, comfy beds, clean enough, friendly staff and st. kilda is a really lovely area even though it is a bit out of the CBD.

Disliked: Nothing really.