We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of St Kilda Beach House

Hostel | 109 Barkly Street, Melbourne, Australia 3182

76.5% Overall Rating

192 out of 252 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/04/2014)

Elizabeth Morley thinks…

"The hostel is ok, nothing terrible about it, but it's not amazing nor does it stand out. It's ok for the price and is just somewhere to stay. Promotions are good, especially if your looking for a…"

Read all St Kilda Beach House reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Nightclub
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 17.47
  • Towel USD 8.73

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Melbourne

Barkly Backpackers
25.33 USD

Hostel 89.0% 7 reviews
Base St Kilda
30.57 USD

Hostel 85.9% 206 reviews
Habitat HQ
28.82 USD

Hostel 88.9% 485 reviews
Coffee Palace
22.71 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Easystay The Bayside Motel
39.30 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.7% 3 reviews
Easystay Serviced Apartments
48.03 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 83.8% 3 reviews
Easystay Apartments Raglan Street
56.77 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
The Ritz For Backpackers
30.57 USD

Hostel 76.0% 264 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.5%

Overall Rating

192 out of 252 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'St Kilda Beach House'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
68.0%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
74.4%
Value
75.2%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 174 of 185 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Deep cleans :)

Disliked: Breakfast should be served later.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good atmosphere, free breakfast, good value

Disliked: No free wifi

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Elizabeth Morley

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is ok, nothing terrible about it, but it's not amazing nor does it stand out. It's ok for the price and is just somewhere to stay. Promotions are good, especially if your looking for a good night. Free breakfast! I didn't have any however I find it's a good thing to find within hostels! The rooms are clean, people come every morning to tidy up. There are lockers in the room which were useful and I really liked the bathroom, which was big and clean! Security is pretty good, you get cheap deals for food and drink with the discount you are offered with they wristband! The staff have useful information but not exactly the cheeriest of people. However a bar maid named Emma was lovely and funny! I love the location, it's about 5 minutes walk from the beach, from there you can catch a tram which is 10 minutes from the amazing city! You're also next to a corner shop.

Disliked: Wifi is a rip off!!!!! If you're going to charge wifi, at least be good wifi! It was very slow, sometimes couldn't connect. It's not even cheap. I HATED the mattress. It's made with plastic around it, like a thick gym mat! It's very uncomfortable and noisy to move about. It's also usually very noisy at night, though I understand it's a party hostel and is expected, I still consider it a con. The some of the receptionists aren't very happy not welcoming, although not all staff were like this so that's ok. Luggage room is in a small bathroom. Need I say more? The kitchen had a wet floor and saw a long wire on the floor.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were really clean

Disliked: It was a bit noisy

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the free breakfast, the kitchen staff & bar staff were amazing! Really clean hostel!

Disliked: However one of the girls on reception on check in was miserabe, rude & unhelpfull! Ah well still had a great stay!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emma mc gibbon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

08 January 2014 emma would recommend this property

Liked: I have stayed in a few hostels in St Kilda and this was the cleanest and the rooms are the biggest! Brilliant value for money. Beds are very comfortable too :)

Disliked: Cleaning up after people in the kitchen but having stayed in hostels all over they are all the same. It's got nothing to do with the hostel, just the laziness of other backpackers!

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Visiting friends or family

06 December 2013

Liked: The location and security of the rooms

Disliked: The information about services was not truthful

The property's response is...

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

20 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As one can see from the photos the place looks nice. It's quite new and that's what I liked the most about it.

Disliked: Quite noisy at night time.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Neela Karen Gaul

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 October 2013 Neela Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Nice people, free breakfast, beautiful bath and perfect atmosphere :)

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

22 September 2013

Liked: There was an elevator - which is great when you have alot of bags. Free breakfast. There was enough room in the 8 share even when it was full. Lockers in the room - need your own lock.

Disliked: Our bathroom looked as though it never got cleaned, except for some bleach in the toilet. The first day i got there someone was sick and it never got cleaned up off the tiles. I understand whoever did it should have done it was it was disgusting how it was still there when I left. also the shower was so mouldy and obviously hadnt been touched for the 3 days I stayed. All the common rooms are so far apart and the kitchen would get so busy that you couldnt just sit and chat, so it was very hard to meet people. which is important when traveling alone. The kitchen had next to nothing in it, i only ever saw about 3 mugs there and about 4 forks. They really need to keep an eye on it all becasue so many people left all their dirty plates etc in the sink, even 10 mintues after they cleaned it there was nothing available to use. And one of the hobs was broken, so even hader to cook.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Stacey Williams

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

30 August 2013 Stacey would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are spacious and the bar down stairs is friendly and welcoming.

Disliked: The noise level from the bar when parties are going on till the early hours.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 July 2013

Liked: Breakfast was free

Disliked: Hard to find. Tiny little sign above the door and nothing else. Water dripping on my head and belongings and all down the wall. Not cool. The staff at breakfast felt very rushed to get it over with and I had to ask for milk and jam when you would have thought they were pretty essential to any breakfast!(even if it was free)

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Josia Kwantes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2013 Josia would recommend this property

Liked: The location is very good. its near the beach, the shops, bars and everything you want. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. There is a bar downstairs, so thats a great place to meet people as well. The rooms are big and you have your own locker.

Disliked: Nothing

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Hayley Clayton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2013 Hayley would recommend this property

Liked: Loved our stay at the beach house! We came originally last year for a week and ended up staying 3 months! The staff are so much fun and are so helpful, the rooms are clean, spacious and bathrooms are fantastic for the price. Met loads of friends and had a great time parting at the nightclub on the roof that's the best place to go in st Kilda at the weekends... Food was great in the bar and very cheap.. Can't wait to come back! Miss it already

Disliked: Hayley left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Kay Herbert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 May 2013 Kay would recommend this property

Liked: Good facilities, helpful staff, relaxed atmosphere

Disliked: People in the room were noisy at times and we had a few randoms stay the night but that can happen in any hostel. Just luck of the draw I guess.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Henrike Boeckmann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

03 May 2013 Henrike would recommend this property

Liked: St. Kilda is a really special place in melbourne :-) lots of bars and clubs to visit !!!

Disliked: Maybe the kitchen could be bigger

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

nathan thompson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

02 May 2013 nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Its location is perfect as well as its entertainment and offers

Disliked: Rooms arent organised very well

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katie Mulhall

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

19 April 2013 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent and really helpful, anything we asked was no trouble at all, especially Chantelle on reception. Jimmy the chef was really cool too. There was breakfast included as a hotel guest, and we didn't even know- the property really surprised us. It's shared with the Barkly Hotel so it suits backpackers and professionals and other workers too. Food was good value when we did eat at the hotel/hostel and they had different offers on

Disliked: The room was great, really spacious and clean but the lighting was a bit strange, it seemed to light the hallway and not the main bedroom so we struggled to find anything in the evenings! I would just recomment that they add some additional lighting in the hotel rooms in the main room section.

The property's response is...

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 February 2013

Liked: Reasonable for sleeping

Disliked: smells terrible

The property's response is...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

02 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff where nice

Disliked: Bathroom was never cleaned!

The property's response is...

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 January 2013

Liked: We stayed in a hotel room on the third floor. The room itself was great. It was very spacious with a nice en-suite bathroom and a large tv. There was also tea and coffee facilities which was a nice addition. They allowed us to change the booking from Saturday night to Sunday night as my flight was delayed which was good of them.

Disliked: There is a nightclub on the fourth floor. We were staying on the third floor and therefore could hear very loud music and the sound of people dancing/stamping their feet above. It was like sleeping under a herd of elephants at a disco. The club was open till 3am. I was told about this when I checked in and was told that it states this when you book, but having read the HostelBookers description again I can't see any mention of this. Our key card was replaced 3 times and each time still did not work properly. Eventually the receptionist realised that the battery on the lock needed to be changed and it was fine after this. It's a shame they do not test these more often. Fortunately when I arrived with a lot of luggage a cleaner was able to let me in so I could leave my bags in the room before going down to change the key. If the cleaner hadn't been there I would have had to drag my huge bag back downstairs which would have been very annoying. Breakfast was a very limited selection - only toast, margerine and strawberry jam or weetabix or cornflakes. They could at least have a few choices of spread!

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013

Liked: The pancakes are excellent.

Disliked: Dark and dirty.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

daniel nicol

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2013 daniel would recommend this property

Liked: It has nice big lockers in the rooms. Its a great place to meet people. The free breakfast is worth getting up for. The staff are welcoming and friendly. I have since booked another week.

Disliked: Bathrooms could be cleaner. Kitchen could use some more crockery etc.

The property's response is...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 January 2013

Liked: Staff were very helpful and nice.

Disliked: The first night we only had a sheet on our bed when we paid for a hotel room. The room was clean but really dusty. The price for the hotel room is quite expensive as the nightclub is directly above you, we don't mind the music but when you can here everyone stomping on the dance floor its a bit rediculous. the dorm rooms are two levels below the nightclub so probably not as bad.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were so nice and really helpful! other guests were really friendly too! Breakfast every morning was good... we really liked our stay with you!!

Disliked: kitchen was small

The property's response is...