HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of St Kilda Beach House @ Hotel Barkly Melbourne

Hostel

109 Barkly Street, St Kilda, Melbourne, Australia

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 68%

Location 87%

Safety 84%

Staff 74%

Value 77%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • ATM
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Book Exchange
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Jobs Board
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meals available
  • Nightclub
  • Pool Table
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 16.69USD
  • Towel 7.59USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Age Restriction
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Melbourne?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 77%

Cleanliness 70%

Facilities 68%

Location 87%

Safety 84%

Staff 74%

Value 77%

Showing 1-10 of 21 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good locationFree breakfast10-20% discount at downstairs bar

Disliked: Found this hostel really anti-social

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: free breakfast was basic but welcome!staff very helpfulrooftop bar free bbq!location was excellent

Disliked: beds were a bit too noisy

Customer would recommend this property

46% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 40%
46% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering

Liked: not anything i can think of.

Disliked: I found some of the staff, especially the manager, quite cold in demeanor, blunt and rude.There was a certain arrogance and distastefulness to their character and when talking about it with other people they agreed.There was this situation that occurred when I asked to extend my stay.I was told that I could not because there were no beds so I checked on line and there were beds.Accidentally, I double booked some nights.When I tried to resolve the problem it was handled with an air of negativity and unprofessionalism. I went back to the reception 3 times to make sure everything was handled correctly because of the lack of faith the other receptionists responses was eliciting in me. I was in no way impolite to any of them,And then, the next morning I was called in (like a school boy) to the manger and told that it was time for me to move on!I asked for a reason and they were reluctant to give me a straight answer.I have never been asked to leave a hostel in my life.They said I could stay the next 2 nights but I declined due to the distasteful nonsense they had created and their stubborn rudeness.I lost money due to this.I would never recommend this hostel to anyone.


The property's response is

Thank you for your review. Our apologies that you felt you were not dealt with in a professional manner. Unfortunately we had to ask you to leave the hostel due to various complaints that we had received from other guests about inappropriate behaviour, and behaviour towards staff - this was discussed with you, in private and away from other guests. We gave you the choice to stay and we also refunded the rest of your nights stay that you had paid for. Kind regards, Management.

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Deep cleans :)

Disliked: Breakfast should be served later.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review! We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Our deep cleans weekly keep the hostel clean and tidy - we like these also! Breakfast is served 7-9am weekdays and 8-10 on weekends... Early bird catches the worm :) We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Good atmosphere, free breakfast, good value

Disliked: No free wifi

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We do have a charge for WIFI and our best deal is $10 for 20 hours and this is log in and log off, so not a bad deal. 30mins Free WIFI is issued on arrival. Free WIFI is something that we are working towards getting access to!

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 60%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The hostel is ok, nothing terrible about it, but it's not amazing nor does it stand out. It's ok for the price and is just somewhere to stay.Promotions are good, especially if your looking for a good night.Free breakfast! I didn't have any however I find it's a good thing to find within hostels!The rooms are clean, people come every morning to tidy up. There are lockers in the room which were useful and I really liked the bathroom, which was big and clean! Security is pretty good, you get cheap deals for food and drink with the discount you are offered with they wristband! The staff have useful information but not exactly the cheeriest of people. However a bar maid named Emma was lovely and funny!I love the location, it's about 5 minutes walk from the beach, from there you can catch a tram which is 10 minutes from the amazing city! You're also next to a corner shop.

Disliked: Wifi is a rip off!!!!! If you're going to charge wifi, at least be good wifi! It was very slow, sometimes couldn't connect. It's not even cheap.I HATED the mattress. It's made with plastic around it, like a thick gym mat! It's very uncomfortable and noisy to move about. It's also usually very noisy at night, though I understand it's a party hostel and is expected, I still consider it a con. The some of the receptionists aren't very happy not welcoming, although not all staff were like this so that's ok.Luggage room is in a small bathroom. Need I say more?The kitchen had a wet floor and saw a long wire on the floor.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review and all your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us on the most part and also our location - we do feel like we are in a great spot in St Kilda, pleased to hear that you agree! I apologise that you had difficulty with our WIFI, as with everything, sometimes there are issues with this and we act immediately to fix the issues ASAP. Regarding your other comments they have all been taken on board the appropriate action will be taken.

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The rooms were really clean

Disliked: It was a bit noisy

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you found our rooms to be really tidy and clean - we work hard to maintain this and it pays off! I apologise that you found our hostel noisy - it can be, especially on the weekends due the nightclub. We always advise our guests and accommodate them where possible.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Loved the free breakfast, the kitchen staff & bar staff were amazing! Really clean hostel!

Disliked: However one of the girls on reception on check in was miserabe, rude & unhelpfull! Ah well still had a great stay!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you for your review and comments - they have all been taken on board and further training has been carried out with all staff members. I apologise for any inconvenience caused. We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels.

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing

Liked: I have stayed in a few hostels in St Kilda and this was the cleanest and the rooms are the biggest! Brilliant value for money. Beds are very comfortable too :)

Disliked: Cleaning up after people in the kitchen but having stayed in hostels all over they are all the same. It's got nothing to do with the hostel, just the laziness of other backpackers!

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Thank you so much for your great comments, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here!! We agree with your comments re the kitchen - unfortunately this is a battle we are constantly fighting - each day it gets better though and we can only hope that fellow backpackers clean up after themselves and are considerate.

60% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 20%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 60%
60% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Dec 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location and security of the rooms

Disliked: The information about services was not truthful


The property's response is

Thank you for your review and comments. We are pleased that you liked our location, we are right in the heart of it all! Regarding your 'dislike comments' I would be interested to hear what you found not to be truthful and resolve this for you, if you would like to contact me via info@stkildabeachhouse.com i will be happy to help. Regards, Management.

Check Availability