HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay

Hostel | 184 Torquay Road, Hervey Bay, Australia 4655

68.2% Overall Rating

27 out of 40 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/05/2014)

"The rooms are within units so you each have your own kitchens and living room which is good plus the try and keep those going to Fraser together do when you come back your still in with you group. Location was good and…"

Read all Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hervey Bay?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hervey Bay

The Friendly Hostel
23.48 USD

Hostel 90.6% 258 reviews
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay
21.60 USD

Hostel 87.7% 199 reviews
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
23.48 USD

Hostel 90.7% 166 reviews
Susan River Homestead Adventure Resort
37.57 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Colonial Village YHA
21.60 USD

Hostel 85.1% 41 reviews
Mango Eco Tourist Hostel
24.42 USD

Hostel 86.1% 29 reviews
The Beach Motel Hervey Bay
32.88 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Akama Resort
39.92 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
68.2%

Overall Rating

27 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay'

Atmosphere
70.4%
Location
64.0%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
68.0%
Staff
68.8%
Value
73.6%
Safety
67.2%
Refine your results Showing 19 of 19 reviews
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are within units so you each have your own kitchens and living room which is good plus the try and keep those going to Fraser together do when you come back your still in with you group. Location was good and the staff were friendly. They have lockers for your big bags when your on Fraser so you know you stuff is safe.

Disliked: The kitchen didn't have much equipment we only had 5 cups for about 20 people but I suppose other people have stolen them over time.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Antonino Loretta

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 January 2014 Antonino would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and good location

Disliked: Staff was rude with us

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Ewoud De roos

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2012 Ewoud would recommend this property

Liked: Small rooms

Disliked: Location

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We got free accomodation because we went to Fraser islands with Palace. We were told before that hostel weren't that good, but it was nice and basic clean hostel. Hostel was devided in small units, about 4 rooms per unit. There was a kitchen and 2 bathrooms per unit.

Disliked: Kitchen cutleries weren't the best. There is really not much to do in Hervey bay.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

10 April 2012

Liked: We had the room to ourselves.

Disliked: The kitchen was non usable; stowe out of order, fridge disgusting, toilet and shower room very dirty.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice to share a kitchen with 6 other rooms The rooms are big

Disliked: Hot in the rooms

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good beds and fresh.

Disliked: Hard to sleep when people are partying in your ear!

25.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Sinead Mc Gill

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 December 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Loud guests,so no sleepp,common areas and shower facilities unacceptably filthy,no air con,unhelpful staff snd uncimfortably old and stained bed linnen

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Charlie Turner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2011 Charlie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful and gave good advice as to what there was around to do. The room was nice and beds were comfortable, but very warm we did have a fan to cool us down but without much luck. It was good that each block had its own kitchen and communal area so were able to get to know the other backpackers staying there also meeting with others we had met earlier down the coast. Location was near to the beach short walk (10 mins) I enjoyed staying at Palace backpackers and was good that we were picked up and dropped to the bus terminal. Would recommend

Disliked: Nothing negative but the rooms could possibly do with air con

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Work / volunteering

13 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was a good place to stay clean and nice

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Britta Hofmann

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

08 May 2011 Britta would recommend this property

Liked: own apartment for only $18(special offer on hostelbookers, normally $25/night)

Disliked: sb stole from my clothes when they hang outside

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Jodie Stockings

23 December 2009

Liked: Nothing!

Disliked: Jodie left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Colette Finch

18 June 2009 Colette would recommend this property

Liked: Well we booked for two separate nights here as we were going to Fraser Island for one night and then coming back. They made us pay for both nights upfront and when I asked for a receipt the staff got really arsey about it. We also booked for a 3 bed dorm but got put in a 6 bed dorm. The room was freezing cold and we barely slept. When we returned from Fraser Island we asked for an extra blanket and the staff member was really unhelpful and said 'he would see what he could do'. No blanket came to our room. The pool table was free and that was probably the best thing about the hostel.

Disliked: Colette left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 May 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

11 February 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The facilities per unit and the entertainment bit at the back.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 February 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The communal area in each apartment

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 June 2007

Liked: There's free pickup from the bus station which is 3km away from the hostel. The rooms are fairly large.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

25 July 2006 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was different to other hostels we had stayed in because of the set up with individula blocks and the kitchen and lounge area seemed like a really good way of meeting new people

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

23 May 2006 would recommend this property

Liked: We were surprised at how nice the facilities were. I would recommend this hostel to everyone. Having a self contained apartment was so nice, beingableto sit in a lounge area and being able to cook in our own kitchen!! The roomswere spotless and were always cleaned.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.