HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Friendly Hostel

Hostel | 182 Torquay Rd, Hervey Bay, Australia 4655

91.8% Overall Rating

251 out of 259 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

leonardo molinari thinks…

"Staff is really helpfull, lockers are really big, really clean, confortable bed, kitchen has everythink (even the hoven!) There are fiew appartaments dhared within just 2 rooms! The best hostel I…"

Read all The Friendly Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.37

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hervey Bay?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hervey Bay

Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay
21.83 USD

Hostel 68.2% 40 reviews
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay
20.09 USD

Hostel 88.6% 202 reviews
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
21.83 USD

Hostel 91.0% 172 reviews
Susan River Homestead Adventure Resort
52.40 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Colonial Village YHA
20.09 USD

Hostel 83.9% 44 reviews
Next Backpackers
21.83 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Mango Eco Tourist Hostel
22.71 USD

Hostel 84.6% 30 reviews
The Beach Motel Hervey Bay
30.57 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.8%

Overall Rating

251 out of 259 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Friendly Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 221 of 231 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

leonardo molinari

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 August 2014 leonardo would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is really helpfull, lockers are really big, really clean, confortable bed, kitchen has everythink (even the hoven!) There are fiew appartaments dhared within just 2 rooms! The best hostel I have ever seen, they pick you up at the bus terminal and bring you back there just for free.

Disliked: Nearest supermarket at 15min walking, not a huge problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This was a lovely hostel, not really like one I've stayed in before. Each unit is like a house with three or so rooms and max three beds in each. It really does feel like home with a proper kitchen and everything you could need. Definitely recommend, if you're tired of grotty hostel kitchens, unfriendly party animal staff, cramped bunk bed rooms and awkward walks to shared bathrooms in open corridors then stay here for some relief from being on the road!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The manager was lovely we had been drinking too much goon so was lovely to relax for a few days more like an apartment with your own facilities very clean as well which was great

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Harriet Partington

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 March 2014 Harriet would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, comfy beds, good facilities, tv and wifi were good. Very helpful and knowledgable about Fraser Island trips.

Disliked: Harriet left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really nice hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice looking hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, just a short walk to the beach and some shops. Nice set up with kitchen and balcony. Free transfers to/from greyhound coach station.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karen Gardham

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2013 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, comfy dorm with only 3 beds, table side lamp and bedside table, all nice touches. Helpful staff, close to beach, free bikes useful for jumping on one to go to the shops or further along the esplanade (e.g. to the pier), good value laundry facilities. Would definitely recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Units shared by up to 7 people, so if someones in the bathroom you can have a long wait to go to the toilet - would have been good to be shown an alternative toilet to use. Also the kitchen only had a few utensils etc in it, I had to go to the next door unit and borrow one as there was only 4 forks!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is very nice for people who look for a calm place to stay. It is very clean and the rooms are equipped with 3 power outlets per person! The communal area which is shared by 3 rooms only is very new and has a big TV and a comfortable sofa. The kitchen is big and has enough place to sit. You have free WiFi which is very fast and you can hire decent bikes for free! We booked two tours with the very friendly receptionist Gary. It all worked very well. You get free breakfast with every tour booking. If you arrive by bus they pick you up for free. If you have to leave very early you can use the shuttle of the hostel next door!

Disliked: The kitchen could be eqipped with more cutlery and cups.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

16 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the atmosphere and the people in the hostel. Another good thing was, that even if you had booked a 4 bed dorm, you only get into a room with two other people, because the owner thinks its better.

Disliked: I think there could be some lockers in the rooms to save important stuff.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: reasonably quiet,friendly & helpful staff, good facilities close to water

Disliked: squeaky toilet door

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

19 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice staff, not far from the beach, great atmosphere

Disliked: A bit noisy when everyone gathers in the kitchen, would recommend staying upstairs

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Craig Usher

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2013 Craig would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really helpful and friendly. The free bikes was appreciated too.

Disliked: Craig left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sam Lewis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2013 Sam would recommend this property

Liked: When we arrived there was a sweet on each pillow with a teddy bear! Friendly staff and free bike hire so we could explore a lot! Clean and lovely bright bedroom

Disliked: People leave a lot of dirty pots and pans around, but that's not the hostel's fault, just the lazy backpackers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As the name of the hostel tells you, super friendly manager! We got lots of information about the area and activities and tips what to do in Hervey Bay. You can rent (cheap) electric bikes from hostel and they are awesome! We also got to use normal bikes free. We really enjoyed our stay in this hostel!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Leslie Saunders

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway

02 April 2013 Leslie would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly by name friendly nature tops

Disliked: A noises sweed

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

elisabetta vivian

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday

28 March 2013 elisabetta would recommend this property

Liked: very nice

Disliked: elisabetta left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly welcome

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is devided into units, so you only share your bathroom and kitchen with a couple of other rooms. We started in one of the double rooms which had a nice big bed, and enough space for our bags and everything without being cramped. Really close to the beach, and several restaurants and cafes.

Disliked: If you don't like walking to shops etc, this is probably not the plate for you. Around 30 min walk one way to Woolworths and Coles, and another 15-20 minutes to the city centre. The kitchens could also some new equipment and utensils.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laura Francis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: That it was in quiet at night peaceful surrounds and a lovely bed to sleep in! Saw a possum whilst we were there in the garden!

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

16 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great little hostel! Very clean and good amenities. Very good value for money.

Disliked: A little far from shops but they provide pedal bikes for free and electric bikes for hire.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

10 January 2013

Liked: Excellent, turned up very late at night, keys had been left in a safe which staff had given me the code to, excellent little unit with own kitchen and living room. Very good value.

Disliked: Nil

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

moreno turco

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 January 2013 moreno would recommend this property

Liked: best for backpackers. staff is friendly and helpful. You have even the possability to work 2 hours a day and have a free accomondation

Disliked: nothing ;)

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Chiara Baio

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

26 December 2012 Chiara would recommend this property

Liked: the free hire bike

Disliked: the wi-fi was very slow

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Rachel Wilcox

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2012 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely self contained units so you have use of a kitchen and living room and outside area between around 7 people, free wifi in rooms and free bike hire so you can easily explore the surrounding area- pretty quiet, defo not a party hostel but great for a bit of time out! Also they collect you from the bus terminal for free should you need it which is great!

Disliked: Air Con in Rooms is extra but there is a ceiling fan