HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Friendly Hostel Hervey Bay Hostel

182 Torquay Rd, Hervey Bay, Australia

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 91%

Location 89%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hervey Bay?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 91%

Location 89%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 94%

Showing 61-20 of 20 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great place. Felt like home. Great to meet people. Very clean and comfy!

Disliked: WiFi was free but way too slow!

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean, good value for money, liked the little apartment style of the units and each unit having its own kitchen and TV. Location was fine, and we were able to book our Fraser Island tour really quicky and easily.

Disliked: We were told that if we payed by credit card for out tour at the office of the tour operator that there wouldn't be a feee- but there was and it cost us 9 dollars. We also wanted to put our bags in luggage storage, but reception wasn't open and there was no key deposit box, so we had to hide it behind the tv. Not ideal. Plus, we were told that the wi fi had been fixed and we really needed to sort out our bus ticket, but it hadn't been fixed. These incidents put a bit of a downer on our experience at the Friendly Hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Oct 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Superb - stay here!! Gary the owner is superb - helped us book all our trips and gave us free internet and free dvds were on offer!! Total star! Rooms good with shared facilities that are good!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Great homely atmosphere, bikes necessary to explore Hervey Beach, very knowledgeable owner!

Disliked: Nothing really

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Perfect place to stay!

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff, Facilities, Atmosphere...

Disliked: Nothing at all

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: it's more like shared apartments than a hostel, but very cosy with great kitchens, tv etc for lazy evenings in.free pickup from the bus station was appreciated, as was the wifi (limited though it was)

Disliked: location wasn't great but it's surrounded by other hostels, so not much choice with this. No real communal area for everybody staying there so you have to be lucky to get on with the other people in your apartment

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Gary is incredibly helpfull and knowledgeable about the area and was able to give us detailed unbiased advise about all the different companies we could visit Fraser Island with. We were able to use the BBQ and borrow bikes. The dorm was very spacious and homely with very comfy beds. Relaxed atmosphere and quiet at night

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Great location, easy walk to the beach

Disliked: Fellow traveller had bike stolen from the premises

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Aug 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: If you have any problem, Gary is here to solve it.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability