HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Friendly Hostel Hervey Bay Hostel

182 Torquay Rd, Hervey Bay, Australia

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 91%

Location 89%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hervey Bay?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 91%

Location 89%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 94%

Showing 51-20 of 20 reviews

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very friendly staff. It is not really a hostel, it is more like a apartment. you share a kitchen, bathrom and a living room! with tow other rooms. Very clean and huge bed, new air conditioning. also a free pick-up service from the bus terminal.

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: A kind staff, cleaness

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Great rooms; comfortable beds; friendly, helpful staff; well laid-out; good location.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Picked up from bus station promptly.Free wi fi throughout stay individual kitchensQuiet and peaceful hostelvery helpful owner and staff

Disliked: Need to keep the bicycles serviced! ..it is a long bay so the free bike hire is very useful.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: This place was so mutch better than I have dreamd about:)

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice quite hostel. Had a spacious double bed room - was great.

Disliked: Wifi did not work all the time.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The kitchen and bathrooms were only shared between 4 rooms.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The owner Gary was fantastic, very friendly and accommodating. The hostel was extremely clean. Each unit has 3 rooms and each unit has there own bathroom and kitchen which was great. Free wifi available.

Disliked: Not much atmosphere, so very difficult to meet other travellers at this hostel.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free internet and transfers and the facillities were great three rooms shared a bathroom, lounge and kitchen/dining area

Disliked: n/a

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Liked the self contained apartments. Gary was really helpful in recommending the best Fraser Island tour for us and allowing us to use the facilities when we got back even though we had checked out. Bikes are really good to get around as the hostel isn't too close to amenities. Rooms are pretty spacious and the hostel is very clean

Disliked: Location, but the free bikes helped! otherwise, was a good 20min walk to the supermarket.Reception hours could be a bit longer! Our coach left at 1.25am but the latest we could get a drop off was 7pm so we ended up[ getting a taxi for around $15!

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability