We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Friendly Hostel

Hostel | 182 Torquay Rd, Hervey Bay, Australia 4655

91.8% Overall Rating

251 out of 259 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

leonardo molinari thinks…

"Staff is really helpfull, lockers are really big, really clean, confortable bed, kitchen has everythink (even the hoven!) There are fiew appartaments dhared within just 2 rooms! The best hostel I…"

Read all The Friendly Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.51

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hervey Bay?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hervey Bay

Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay
22.54 USD

Hostel 68.2% 40 reviews
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay
20.73 USD

Hostel 88.7% 201 reviews
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
22.54 USD

Hostel 91.0% 172 reviews
Susan River Homestead Adventure Resort
90.15 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Colonial Village YHA
20.73 USD

Hostel 84.1% 42 reviews
Mango Eco Tourist Hostel
23.44 USD

Hostel 84.6% 30 reviews
The Beach Motel Hervey Bay
31.55 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Akama Resort
42.07 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.8%

Overall Rating

251 out of 259 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Friendly Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 221 of 231 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super friendly staff, big rooms and well equiped kitchen.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Janine Baillie

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2010 Janine would recommend this property

Liked: We liked how it felt like a home, away from home. Sounds weird but I loved being able to hang my washing out to dry!! It great to have sort of your own wee kitchen area too and the free bikes are a great idea too.

Disliked: Janine left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

amanda massonneau

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2010 amanda would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect

Disliked: amanda left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the best hostel I stayed in Australia. Gary and his family are very concerned about your wishes needs. Clean facilities, real great mattresses. Really good recommendations concerning tours.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were almost like little apartments. good tv and cooker. shower was nice. very clean and the owner was helpful and friendly. free bike hire aswell.

Disliked: quite far from the main backpacker area of town. no main meeting point outside the apartment so can be hard to meet people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and very helpful, nice rooms, very clean, just what we needed

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: absolutly perfect. as the name indicates very friendly. everything fine.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's well organised, the common areas are really big and fully furniched.Gary is really nice and helpful.The rooms are really confy

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Dyson

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2010 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Nice air conditioned rooms, free bike rental, community areas for each group of rooms and FREE coffee (always a bonus). It's also in a great location, 5mins from the beach by foot, and the free bikes are a great way to get around. Really helpful staff with good advice for day trips and tours.

Disliked: Nothing, all good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catriona Thomson

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2010 Catriona would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel, does just what it says on the tin. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Its a short walk to the beach and the shops with free bike hire thrown in too. Best bit was with booking a whale watching tour (AMAZING!) through them you get a lil free bonus!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: manager v helpful with bus transfers and trips

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very decent, nice and calm retreat. The interieur is not like in the most hostels. Instead of being sterile the dorms and communal livingspaces are very homely. The travel desk it absolutely brilliant - good advice and unbiased counceling helped me find the ideal trips and tours.

Disliked: If you travel alone, its more likely to find company in the branches of one of the bigger hostel companies. My roomies were lovely though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the accomodation, good quality beds

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elise Allport

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2010 Elise would recommend this property

Liked: Had free bike hire which was really good

Disliked: It was quite a distance from anything

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vikki Taylor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2010 Vikki would recommend this property

Liked: Gary, the owner, was extremely helpful and for example was happy to look up cinema times for us and tried to accomdate us when we wanted a lift to town. The location is close to the beach and there is free bike hire which we took advantage of to explore and go to the shops on. The rooms, bathroom and shared areas were very clean and all had small touches to make you feel at home; side lamps in rooms, hand soap in bathroom etc.

Disliked: The one issue we had was that we checked out in the morning but our bus wasnt till the evening and as the facilites are all shared apartment there was no common area were we could chill & kill time before our bus.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Jansen

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

06 July 2010 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: This is more than just a convenient sleepover place or one that is nice to stay in for a while. This is truly a home away from home. Thank you to Gary and the staff for providing such a warm welcome and a memorable stay.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Jansen

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 July 2010 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, wonderful location, comfortable rooms, excellent management. Had a wonderful time - thank you Gary!

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Hunter

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2010 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! This was by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Gary and Genevieve couldn't have been more helpful with their time and energy and making us feel welcome. The units are self contained and as there were 5 of us they moved things around so we could be in a unit together. The units are well equiped with everything you could want and it really feels like a home away from home. Gary helped us out with a tour to Fraser and welcomed us back when we moved on and then wondered why we left as the Friendly is the best! Thanks guys :)

Disliked: Nothing. We came back several times as we felt so pampered here!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A wonderfly relaxing place to stay. more like renting a condo than a backpackers room. Full kitchen with oven and bathroom for only 7 people!! Also full living room. Staff very friendly and concerned with insuring all guests have a nice stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen is really well equipped which is much appreciated after some hostels. The dorms come onto a lounge area and kitchen which is really comfortable. Would recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Bone

17 May 2010 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed in in 9 months of travelling- absolutely brilliant. More like a nice apartment or hotel room you happen to share with 2 other people. Really great.

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Bone

17 May 2010 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: AMAZING!! If you aren't looking for a party hostel but want something clean and like a shared hotel room then go here- dorms are lovely- no bunks, really clean, really quiet- with tv just outside with sofas, a kitchen (again clean!) and nice bathroom-only shared between about 5/6 people. GREAT GREAT GREAT- STAY HERE!

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels we stayed at in 6 months.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Finger

29 March 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are great and well appointed. The rooms are broken up into units so each 3 rooms have their own kitchen and lounge, kinda like a uni accom setup. Not too long a walk to a few pubs. They did throw out my big bag of food though. Kinda my fault, I forgot to label it, but still, over $40 of food gone :(

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: you have your own little apartment, a normal bed not a bunk, a cupboard and a clock radio. Really nice kitchen and lounge! The only bad point is the internet is very slow, otherwise great little hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.