HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Friendly Hostel Hervey Bay Hostel

182 Torquay Rd, Hervey Bay, Australia

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 91%

Location 89%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hervey Bay?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 91%

Location 89%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 94%

Showing 41-23 of 23 reviews

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Nice hostel with kitchen ( shared by only 3 rooms) and balcony

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free bike hire, no bunk beds

Disliked: The bathroom could use a shine up

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Apr 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: the way it is laid out so you have great homely area for watching tv and doing your cooking. free internet/wifi. they held our bags for us for free while we did a fraser island trip.

Disliked: we weren't able to get picked up from bus station as our bus got in too early (6am) and then when we arrived after getting a taxi there the office was shut until 8am!! that was kinda annoying cos we'd rung and spoken to a guy in the office when we arrived at the bus station and he'd failed to mention the fact that the office would be unattended!!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice and homey feel. Small and quiet place. Big kingsize bed in the doublerooms. Free bikehire. Free wifi (although a bit slow).

Disliked: The people in the dorm in our unit didn't do their dishes. I guess that's not the hostels fault, but an annoyance to us.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 20%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 40%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Comfortable double bed with air conditioning in our room

Disliked: very dusty roomStaff are unorganised. We arrived back from a trip having booked into the room which we had stayed in previously which had our bags in, the receptionist told us to take The key on our trip and when we returned we could just go back into our old room. She had put another couple in there however when we returned, which was a bit embarrassing. The manager arranged another room for us, and was helpful and apologetic, so the problem was easily solved, just very inconvenient at 10.30 at night. Also, we had a caskmof wine stolen out of the fridge. Very annoying.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: one of the most homely hostels I've stayed at on east coast. each dorm has a tv area with nice sofas, kitchen and very clean bathroom. free fast wifi! very helpful staff. 2mins to beach. excellent place to chill out for a day or two (although not much to do in hervey bay unless your doing a tour, e.g. fraser island). would love to go back to this great hostel.

Disliked: no free breakfast, although everything else was perfect

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Free pick up from greyhound, free internet, free towel with double room, large well equipped clean kitchen, nice chill out/social area, free bike hire. Large room. Phone to accept incoming calls.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: EVERYTHING! The owner was the kindest and helpfull man we ever meet during our travell! Excellent service and free pickup/drop off from/to the bus station. The (bed&bath)rooms were clean, spacious and save! Just a 10min walk to the town center and beach. Don't look further and book a room here!

Disliked: Nothing!

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
14 Feb 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: We loved staying here, it was very homely and comforting. It was clean and the room was big.

Disliked: Kitchen was a bit small.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway

Liked: The double room with air conditioner was fantastic. Internet was free.

Disliked: A bit of sand on the bed, and the free Internet wasn't so great but was free :)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability