HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Friendly Hostel

Hostel | 182 Torquay Rd, Hervey Bay, Australia 4655

89.5% Overall Rating

248 out of 256 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/03/2014)

Harriet Partington thinks…

"Friendly staff, comfy beds, good facilities, tv and wifi were good. Very helpful and knowledgable about Fraser Island trips."

Read all The Friendly Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.67

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hervey Bay?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hervey Bay

Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay
23.33 USD

Hostel 68.1% 39 reviews
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay
20.53 USD

Hostel 85.9% 197 reviews
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
23.33 USD

Hostel 92.6% 156 reviews
Susan River Homestead Adventure Resort
37.32 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Colonial Village YHA
21.46 USD

Hostel 85.1% 41 reviews
Fraser Roving Backpacker Hostel
21.46 USD

Hostel 90.7% 12 reviews
Mango Eco Tourist Hostel
23.33 USD

Hostel 86.1% 29 reviews
Akama Resort
39.65 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
89.5%

Overall Rating

248 out of 256 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Friendly Hostel'

Atmosphere
89.6%
Location
85.6%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
92.8%
Value
92.0%
Safety
88.8%
Refine your results Showing 218 of 228 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

28 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Probably the best hostel I stayed in Australia. Gary and his family are very concerned about your wishes needs. Clean facilities, real great mattresses. Really good recommendations concerning tours.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were almost like little apartments. good tv and cooker. shower was nice. very clean and the owner was helpful and friendly. free bike hire aswell.

Disliked: quite far from the main backpacker area of town. no main meeting point outside the apartment so can be hard to meet people.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly and very helpful, nice rooms, very clean, just what we needed

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: absolutly perfect. as the name indicates very friendly. everything fine.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's well organised, the common areas are really big and fully furniched.Gary is really nice and helpful.The rooms are really confy

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Dyson

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2010 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: Nice air conditioned rooms, free bike rental, community areas for each group of rooms and FREE coffee (always a bonus). It's also in a great location, 5mins from the beach by foot, and the free bikes are a great way to get around. Really helpful staff with good advice for day trips and tours.

Disliked: Nothing, all good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catriona Thomson

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2010 Catriona would recommend this property

Liked: Brilliant hostel, does just what it says on the tin. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Its a short walk to the beach and the shops with free bike hire thrown in too. Best bit was with booking a whale watching tour (AMAZING!) through them you get a lil free bonus!

Disliked: Nothing!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: manager v helpful with bus transfers and trips

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

23 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very decent, nice and calm retreat. The interieur is not like in the most hostels. Instead of being sterile the dorms and communal livingspaces are very homely. The travel desk it absolutely brilliant - good advice and unbiased counceling helped me find the ideal trips and tours.

Disliked: If you travel alone, its more likely to find company in the branches of one of the bigger hostel companies. My roomies were lovely though.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff, the accomodation, good quality beds

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elise Allport

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2010 Elise would recommend this property

Liked: Had free bike hire which was really good

Disliked: It was quite a distance from anything

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vikki Taylor

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 July 2010 Vikki would recommend this property

Liked: Gary, the owner, was extremely helpful and for example was happy to look up cinema times for us and tried to accomdate us when we wanted a lift to town. The location is close to the beach and there is free bike hire which we took advantage of to explore and go to the shops on. The rooms, bathroom and shared areas were very clean and all had small touches to make you feel at home; side lamps in rooms, hand soap in bathroom etc.

Disliked: The one issue we had was that we checked out in the morning but our bus wasnt till the evening and as the facilites are all shared apartment there was no common area were we could chill & kill time before our bus.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Jansen

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Visiting friends or family

06 July 2010 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: This is more than just a convenient sleepover place or one that is nice to stay in for a while. This is truly a home away from home. Thank you to Gary and the staff for providing such a warm welcome and a memorable stay.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Jansen

As a family with children

Family Holiday

02 July 2010 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Great hostel, wonderful location, comfortable rooms, excellent management. Had a wonderful time - thank you Gary!

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jenny Hunter

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2010 Jenny would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! This was by far the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Gary and Genevieve couldn't have been more helpful with their time and energy and making us feel welcome. The units are self contained and as there were 5 of us they moved things around so we could be in a unit together. The units are well equiped with everything you could want and it really feels like a home away from home. Gary helped us out with a tour to Fraser and welcomed us back when we moved on and then wondered why we left as the Friendly is the best! Thanks guys :)

Disliked: Nothing. We came back several times as we felt so pampered here!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A wonderfly relaxing place to stay. more like renting a condo than a backpackers room. Full kitchen with oven and bathroom for only 7 people!! Also full living room. Staff very friendly and concerned with insuring all guests have a nice stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen is really well equipped which is much appreciated after some hostels. The dorms come onto a lounge area and kitchen which is really comfortable. Would recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Bone

17 May 2010 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Best hostel I've stayed in in 9 months of travelling- absolutely brilliant. More like a nice apartment or hotel room you happen to share with 2 other people. Really great.

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Bone

17 May 2010 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: AMAZING!! If you aren't looking for a party hostel but want something clean and like a shared hotel room then go here- dorms are lovely- no bunks, really clean, really quiet- with tv just outside with sofas, a kitchen (again clean!) and nice bathroom-only shared between about 5/6 people. GREAT GREAT GREAT- STAY HERE!

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best hostels we stayed at in 6 months.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

James Finger

29 March 2010 James would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are great and well appointed. The rooms are broken up into units so each 3 rooms have their own kitchen and lounge, kinda like a uni accom setup. Not too long a walk to a few pubs. They did throw out my big bag of food though. Kinda my fault, I forgot to label it, but still, over $40 of food gone :(

Disliked: James left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: you have your own little apartment, a normal bed not a bunk, a cupboard and a clock radio. Really nice kitchen and lounge! The only bad point is the internet is very slow, otherwise great little hostel

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel we have been in Australia. Clean and cosy room. Very helpfull staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose Doo

28 February 2010 Jose would recommend this property

Liked: The staff wern't the most talkative however they were helpful whenever I had any enquiries and even loaned me a towel at no extra cost. I stayed in the dorm room and it is one of the nicest I have stayed in so far. Was clean and well furnished and had everything you needed to relax and look after yourself in comfort. Fully recommend

Disliked: Jose left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Helen Sykes

24 February 2010 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were just sooo helpful, we wanted to leave our stuff in their storage overnight as we had a tour on Fraser Island, we also wanted to leave our car in their yard at the back overnight and the staff were very very accommodating, nothing was a problem. very cosy rooms, comfy bed, clean bathroom with good powerful shower - what else could you ask for at that price!

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.