HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of The Friendly Hostel Hervey Bay Hostel

182 Torquay Rd, Hervey Bay, Australia

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 91%

Location 89%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 94%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Lockers
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • BBQ
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Common Room
  • Free Parking
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Internet Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Reading Light
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hervey Bay?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 90%

Cleanliness 93%

Facilities 91%

Location 89%

Safety 94%

Staff 95%

Value 94%

Showing 21-15 of 15 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Nice staff, not far from the beach, great atmosphere

Disliked: A bit noisy when everyone gathers in the kitchen, would recommend staying upstairs

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The staff were really helpful and friendly. The free bikes was appreciated too.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Jul 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: When we arrived there was a sweet on each pillow with a teddy bear! Friendly staff and free bike hire so we could explore a lot! Clean and lovely bright bedroom

Disliked: People leave a lot of dirty pots and pans around, but that's not the hostel's fault, just the lazy backpackers

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jun 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: As the name of the hostel tells you, super friendly manager! We got lots of information about the area and activities and tips what to do in Hervey Bay. You can rent (cheap) electric bikes from hostel and they are awesome! We also got to use normal bikes free. We really enjoyed our stay in this hostel!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Family Holiday

Liked: very nice

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: friendly welcome

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The hostel is devided into units, so you only share your bathroom and kitchen with a couple of other rooms. We started in one of the double rooms which had a nice big bed, and enough space for our bags and everything without being cramped. Really close to the beach, and several restaurants and cafes.

Disliked: If you don't like walking to shops etc, this is probably not the plate for you. Around 30 min walk one way to Woolworths and Coles, and another 15-20 minutes to the city centre. The kitchens could also some new equipment and utensils.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: That it was in quiet at night peaceful surrounds and a lovely bed to sleep in! Saw a possum whilst we were there in the garden!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
31 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway

Liked: Friendly by name friendly nature tops

Disliked: A noises sweed

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Excellent, turned up very late at night, keys had been left in a safe which staff had given me the code to, excellent little unit with own kitchen and living room. Very good value.

Disliked: Nil

Check Availability