We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Friendly Hostel

Hostel | 182 Torquay Rd, Hervey Bay, Australia 4655

93.0% Overall Rating

259 out of 267 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/07/2015)

"Very good location and super-friendly staff. Good information about different day-tours Nice and clean rooms"

Read all The Friendly Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hervey Bay?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hervey Bay

Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay
16.40 USD

Hostel 91.8% 213 reviews
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
19.25 USD

Hostel 92.0% 176 reviews
Next Backpackers
17.82 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Mango Eco Tourist Hostel
18.54 USD

Hostel 85.0% 32 reviews
The Beach Motel Hervey Bay
26.73 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
YHA Colonial village & Camping & Tours
17.82 USD

Hostel 82.7% 49 reviews
Akama Resort
34.46 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.0%

Overall Rating

259 out of 267 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Friendly Hostel'

Atmosphere
91.2%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
92.8%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
95.2%
Safety
94.4%
Refine your results Showing 228 of 239 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gitte Sørensen

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

18 January 2012 Gitte would recommend this property

Liked: This place was so mutch better than I have dreamd about:)

Disliked: Gitte left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

aeri lee

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 January 2012 aeri would recommend this property

Liked: A kind staff, cleaness

Disliked: aeri left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Jansen

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

28 December 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms; comfortable beds; friendly, helpful staff; well laid-out; good location.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Patricia Denise de Man

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Work / volunteering

11 December 2011 Patricia Denise would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean! the unit (bathroom and kitchen) I just had to share with 5 others! they have normal beds and bunkbeds, they're very good and soft! Atmosphere is very good! Free bicycle hire.

Disliked: Wifi didn't work that well, but it's free! location is ok, but hervey bay a bit boring, and the supermarkets a 20 minute walk away (but you can use their bikes for free!)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice quite hostel. Had a spacious double bed room - was great.

Disliked: Wifi did not work all the time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alistair Higham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Alistair would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen and bathrooms were only shared between 4 rooms.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Gary was fantastic, very friendly and accommodating. The hostel was extremely clean. Each unit has 3 rooms and each unit has there own bathroom and kitchen which was great. Free wifi available.

Disliked: Not much atmosphere, so very difficult to meet other travellers at this hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet and transfers and the facillities were great three rooms shared a bathroom, lounge and kitchen/dining area

Disliked: n/a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Lee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 November 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the self contained apartments. Gary was really helpful in recommending the best Fraser Island tour for us and allowing us to use the facilities when we got back even though we had checked out. Bikes are really good to get around as the hostel isn't too close to amenities. Rooms are pretty spacious and the hostel is very clean

Disliked: Location, but the free bikes helped! otherwise, was a good 20min walk to the supermarket. Reception hours could be a bit longer! Our coach left at 1.25am but the latest we could get a drop off was 7pm so we ended up[ getting a taxi for around $15!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florian Gniech

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. Felt like home. Great to meet people. Very clean and comfy!

Disliked: WiFi was free but way too slow!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amandeep Samrai

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2011 Amandeep would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good value for money, liked the little apartment style of the units and each unit having its own kitchen and TV. Location was fine, and we were able to book our Fraser Island tour really quicky and easily.

Disliked: We were told that if we payed by credit card for out tour at the office of the tour operator that there wouldn't be a feee- but there was and it cost us 9 dollars. We also wanted to put our bags in luggage storage, but reception wasn't open and there was no key deposit box, so we had to hide it behind the tv. Not ideal. Plus, we were told that the wi fi had been fixed and we really needed to sort out our bus ticket, but it hadn't been fixed. These incidents put a bit of a downer on our experience at the Friendly Hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Russell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Superb - stay here!! Gary the owner is superb - helped us book all our trips and gave us free internet and free dvds were on offer!! Total star! Rooms good with shared facilities that are good!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great homely atmosphere, bikes necessary to explore Hervey Beach, very knowledgeable owner!

Disliked: Nothing really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place to stay!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, Facilities, Atmosphere...

Disliked: Nothing at all

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

James Goulden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: it's more like shared apartments than a hostel, but very cosy with great kitchens, tv etc for lazy evenings in. free pickup from the bus station was appreciated, as was the wifi (limited though it was)

Disliked: location wasn't great but it's surrounded by other hostels, so not much choice with this. No real communal area for everybody staying there so you have to be lucky to get on with the other people in your apartment

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gary is incredibly helpfull and knowledgeable about the area and was able to give us detailed unbiased advise about all the different companies we could visit Fraser Island with. We were able to use the BBQ and borrow bikes. The dorm was very spacious and homely with very comfy beds. Relaxed atmosphere and quiet at night

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, easy walk to the beach

Disliked: Fellow traveller had bike stolen from the premises

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you have any problem, Gary is here to solve it.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Hans-Werner Meister

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 Hans-Werner would recommend this property

Liked: schöne Anlage, Parkmöglichkeit auf dem Hof,

Disliked: Einkaufmöglichkeiten etwas entfernt

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great there! It was clean and my friends and I felt very comfortable. It was like living in our own little apartment. The owner of this hostel is a very, very friendly person who cares about his guests a lot. He offered us the cheapest facilities (tour to fraser island f.e.) and had a shuttle service to the bus station for free. The friendly hostel is also very close to the beach of hervey bay! The owner cleaned up the hostel every morning.

Disliked: The neighbors were very loud the last evening. But the nights were calme

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy, spacious, and chilled out. The staff were lovely too. I've only ever stayed in two other hostels which I thought were as good or better than this one in my 10 years of travelling, and they were in Germany. As long as you're not looking to party the night away, you can't go wrong with this place.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Lyons

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location because it was far enough away from the noise of the pubs on the esplanade, but close enough to access these places. The Friendly offers a free bike hire which is awesome since there is a bike path that traverses the entire esplanade! The place is maintained (cleaned etc) everyday so no worries about that. I was especially surprised at the value you get for you money. The property is shrouded in flowers, lush palms, and even a hot chili tree at the front! I felt like I was in a tropical paradise. Our room was amazing! We had an almost panoramic view of the back and side--which let in a lot of light. The owner Gary was also really amazing--as I've also read on a lot of reviews. Especially true is how helpful and kind he is. He turned up extra early, outside of regular hostel hours, so he could drive us to the Greyhound station so we could make our bus on time. Honestly, and this is 100% objective, I don't see why tourism doesn't pick up--albeit a little, based on the Friendly! We will DEFINITELY return. Thanks, Gary!

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about the hostel was good. The kitchen was good. Very clean. Little mini apartement style dorms where you get to meet fellow travellers.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful, the rooms and communal areas were very clean with good facilities. They also offered free pickup and free use of bikes which was a great way to see the area.

Disliked: none