We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Friendly Hostel

Hostel | 182 Torquay Rd, Hervey Bay, Australia 4655

91.8% Overall Rating

251 out of 259 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (19/08/2014)

leonardo molinari thinks…

"Staff is really helpfull, lockers are really big, really clean, confortable bed, kitchen has everythink (even the hoven!) There are fiew appartaments dhared within just 2 rooms! The best hostel I…"

Read all The Friendly Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.36

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hervey Bay?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hervey Bay

Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay
21.81 USD

Hostel 68.2% 40 reviews
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay
20.07 USD

Hostel 88.6% 202 reviews
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
21.81 USD

Hostel 91.0% 172 reviews
Susan River Homestead Adventure Resort
52.35 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Colonial Village YHA
20.07 USD

Hostel 83.9% 44 reviews
Mango Eco Tourist Hostel
22.69 USD

Hostel 84.6% 30 reviews
The Beach Motel Hervey Bay
30.54 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Akama Resort
40.72 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.8%

Overall Rating

251 out of 259 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Friendly Hostel'

Atmosphere
92.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
91.2%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
94.4%
Value
93.6%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 221 of 231 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet and transfers and the facillities were great three rooms shared a bathroom, lounge and kitchen/dining area

Disliked: n/a

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jessica Lee

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 November 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the self contained apartments. Gary was really helpful in recommending the best Fraser Island tour for us and allowing us to use the facilities when we got back even though we had checked out. Bikes are really good to get around as the hostel isn't too close to amenities. Rooms are pretty spacious and the hostel is very clean

Disliked: Location, but the free bikes helped! otherwise, was a good 20min walk to the supermarket. Reception hours could be a bit longer! Our coach left at 1.25am but the latest we could get a drop off was 7pm so we ended up[ getting a taxi for around $15!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Florian Gniech

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2011 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. Felt like home. Great to meet people. Very clean and comfy!

Disliked: WiFi was free but way too slow!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amandeep Samrai

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

30 October 2011 Amandeep would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, good value for money, liked the little apartment style of the units and each unit having its own kitchen and TV. Location was fine, and we were able to book our Fraser Island tour really quicky and easily.

Disliked: We were told that if we payed by credit card for out tour at the office of the tour operator that there wouldn't be a feee- but there was and it cost us 9 dollars. We also wanted to put our bags in luggage storage, but reception wasn't open and there was no key deposit box, so we had to hide it behind the tv. Not ideal. Plus, we were told that the wi fi had been fixed and we really needed to sort out our bus ticket, but it hadn't been fixed. These incidents put a bit of a downer on our experience at the Friendly Hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Russell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Superb - stay here!! Gary the owner is superb - helped us book all our trips and gave us free internet and free dvds were on offer!! Total star! Rooms good with shared facilities that are good!

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great homely atmosphere, bikes necessary to explore Hervey Beach, very knowledgeable owner!

Disliked: Nothing really

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect place to stay!

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, Facilities, Atmosphere...

Disliked: Nothing at all

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

James Goulden

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2011 James would recommend this property

Liked: it's more like shared apartments than a hostel, but very cosy with great kitchens, tv etc for lazy evenings in. free pickup from the bus station was appreciated, as was the wifi (limited though it was)

Disliked: location wasn't great but it's surrounded by other hostels, so not much choice with this. No real communal area for everybody staying there so you have to be lucky to get on with the other people in your apartment

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Gary is incredibly helpfull and knowledgeable about the area and was able to give us detailed unbiased advise about all the different companies we could visit Fraser Island with. We were able to use the BBQ and borrow bikes. The dorm was very spacious and homely with very comfy beds. Relaxed atmosphere and quiet at night

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, easy walk to the beach

Disliked: Fellow traveller had bike stolen from the premises

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: If you have any problem, Gary is here to solve it.

Disliked: Nothing

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Hans-Werner Meister

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 Hans-Werner would recommend this property

Liked: schöne Anlage, Parkmöglichkeit auf dem Hof,

Disliked: Einkaufmöglichkeiten etwas entfernt

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great there! It was clean and my friends and I felt very comfortable. It was like living in our own little apartment. The owner of this hostel is a very, very friendly person who cares about his guests a lot. He offered us the cheapest facilities (tour to fraser island f.e.) and had a shuttle service to the bus station for free. The friendly hostel is also very close to the beach of hervey bay! The owner cleaned up the hostel every morning.

Disliked: The neighbors were very loud the last evening. But the nights were calme

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy, spacious, and chilled out. The staff were lovely too. I've only ever stayed in two other hostels which I thought were as good or better than this one in my 10 years of travelling, and they were in Germany. As long as you're not looking to party the night away, you can't go wrong with this place.

Disliked: Nothing to dislike

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Lyons

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 July 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location because it was far enough away from the noise of the pubs on the esplanade, but close enough to access these places. The Friendly offers a free bike hire which is awesome since there is a bike path that traverses the entire esplanade! The place is maintained (cleaned etc) everyday so no worries about that. I was especially surprised at the value you get for you money. The property is shrouded in flowers, lush palms, and even a hot chili tree at the front! I felt like I was in a tropical paradise. Our room was amazing! We had an almost panoramic view of the back and side--which let in a lot of light. The owner Gary was also really amazing--as I've also read on a lot of reviews. Especially true is how helpful and kind he is. He turned up extra early, outside of regular hostel hours, so he could drive us to the Greyhound station so we could make our bus on time. Honestly, and this is 100% objective, I don't see why tourism doesn't pick up--albeit a little, based on the Friendly! We will DEFINITELY return. Thanks, Gary!

Disliked: N/A

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything about the hostel was good. The kitchen was good. Very clean. Little mini apartement style dorms where you get to meet fellow travellers.

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really friendly and helpful, the rooms and communal areas were very clean with good facilities. They also offered free pickup and free use of bikes which was a great way to see the area.

Disliked: none

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice rooms in the units, friendly staff, great time there

Disliked: the neighbours were a little bit noisy in the early morning

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There were seperate units, so you didn't have to share the kitchen with 50 people but just with 8. Internet facilities were very good $5.00 per 24 hours and they had bikes you could take.

Disliked: we had a night code that didn't work

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Marcel Doorduijn

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 Marcel would recommend this property

Liked: Price.

Disliked: Old furniture.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgina Warner-Smith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 April 2011 Georgina would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely homely feel

Disliked: Very quiet.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Gary was really helpful and straightforward. The room was lovely (loved the koala on the bed!). The shared facilities were all in good condition and the self-contained units are very nice. Shame there was no en-suite option (unless there was and we didn't realise!). Location good. Not right by the sea or shops but not too far.

Disliked: Shame there was no en-suite option (unless there was and we didn't realise!). Also free internet would be great!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

23 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super!

Disliked: xxx