HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Friendly Hostel

Hostel | 182 Torquay Rd, Hervey Bay, Australia 4655

90.6% Overall Rating

250 out of 258 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/07/2014)

"This was a lovely hostel, not really like one I've stayed in before. Each unit is like a house with three or so rooms and max three beds in each. It really does feel like home with a proper kitchen and everything you…"

Read all The Friendly Hostel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 4.66

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hervey Bay?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hervey Bay

Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay
23.30 USD

Hostel 68.2% 40 reviews
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay
20.50 USD

Hostel 88.5% 200 reviews
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
23.30 USD

Hostel 91.1% 169 reviews
Susan River Homestead Adventure Resort
37.28 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Colonial Village YHA
21.44 USD

Hostel 85.1% 41 reviews
Mango Eco Tourist Hostel
24.23 USD

Hostel 86.1% 29 reviews
The Beach Motel Hervey Bay
32.62 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Akama Resort
43.49 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.6%

Overall Rating

250 out of 258 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Friendly Hostel'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
93.6%
Value
92.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 220 of 230 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ivan Clancy

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2012 Ivan would recommend this property

Liked: great Hostel, Hope was really helpful at reception. Its more like a share appartment, lovely communal area with well equiped kitchen and comfy telly room. we really enjoyed our stay here its a nice quiet place, not a party hostel. Free bikes is great to get around aswell. thanks

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Thomas Montgomery

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2012 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: Hope is very helpful. If you want to book a tour then definitely talk to her as she knows a lot. The property itself definitely feels like home. The wifi is slow but it is free so we cant really complain. There is also a free computer to use and free bike hire. The hostel is 5 mins from the beach and 15mins from Woolworths.

Disliked: Towels are extra to hire whereas in the 'welcome' booklet it says they are free. Also the booklet mentioned hiring hairdryers but they do not have these available. The book is definitely out dated and needs updating.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is basically an old house that has been turned into a hostel. Rooms were nice and spacious. Had a kitchen and living room which was nice. Free pickup from the bus station!

Disliked: Location was not great, hostel was pretty dead as far as night life is concerned. Seems like most people were just there to get to Fraser Island.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lee Hindmarch

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: Good internet, nice and quiet hostel and extremely helpful staff. We stayed here either side of our fraser island tour and the staff arranged after hours check in and kept our luggage which was a great help. If your looking for a party hostel this isn't one but it is a great place for a good nights sleep after a busy tour.

Disliked: Lee left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Penelope Steventon

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 May 2012 Penelope would recommend this property

Liked: well equiped

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sarah butler

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 April 2012 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: the way it is laid out so you have great homely area for watching tv and doing your cooking. free internet/wifi. they held our bags for us for free while we did a fraser island trip.

Disliked: we weren't able to get picked up from bus station as our bus got in too early (6am) and then when we arrived after getting a taxi there the office was shut until 8am!! that was kinda annoying cos we'd rung and spoken to a guy in the office when we arrived at the bus station and he'd failed to mention the fact that the office would be unattended!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Thue Thomsen

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

15 April 2012 Thue would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel with kitchen ( shared by only 3 rooms) and balcony

Disliked: Thue left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 April 2012

Liked: Free bike hire, no bunk beds

Disliked: The bathroom could use a shine up

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Maria Halhjem

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 March 2012 Maria would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and homey feel. Small and quiet place. Big kingsize bed in the doublerooms. Free bikehire. Free wifi (although a bit slow).

Disliked: The people in the dorm in our unit didn't do their dishes. I guess that's not the hostels fault, but an annoyance to us.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Katie sleight

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2012 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Comfortable double bed with air conditioning in our room

Disliked: very dusty room Staff are unorganised. We arrived back from a trip having booked into the room which we had stayed in previously which had our bags in, the receptionist told us to take The key on our trip and when we returned we could just go back into our old room. She had put another couple in there however when we returned, which was a bit embarrassing. The manager arranged another room for us, and was helpful and apologetic, so the problem was easily solved, just very inconvenient at 10.30 at night. Also, we had a caskmof wine stolen out of the fridge. Very annoying.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Clark

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 March 2012 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: one of the most homely hostels I've stayed at on east coast. each dorm has a tv area with nice sofas, kitchen and very clean bathroom. free fast wifi! very helpful staff. 2mins to beach. excellent place to chill out for a day or two (although not much to do in hervey bay unless your doing a tour, e.g. fraser island). would love to go back to this great hostel.

Disliked: no free breakfast, although everything else was perfect

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tirsa Papilaja

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2012 Tirsa would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING! The owner was the kindest and helpfull man we ever meet during our travell! Excellent service and free pickup/drop off from/to the bus station. The (bed&bath)rooms were clean, spacious and save! Just a 10min walk to the town center and beach. Don't look further and book a room here!

Disliked: Nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free pick up from greyhound, free internet, free towel with double room, large well equipped clean kitchen, nice chill out/social area, free bike hire. Large room. Phone to accept incoming calls.

Disliked: Nothing.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Melissa Hill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 February 2012 Melissa would recommend this property

Liked: We loved staying here, it was very homely and comforting. It was clean and the room was big.

Disliked: Kitchen was a bit small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

richard jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 February 2012 richard would recommend this property

Liked: Picked up from bus station promptly. Free wi fi throughout stay individual kitchens Quiet and peaceful hostel very helpful owner and staff

Disliked: Need to keep the bicycles serviced! ..it is a long bay so the free bike hire is very useful.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff. It is not really a hostel, it is more like a apartment. you share a kitchen, bathrom and a living room! with tow other rooms. Very clean and huge bed, new air conditioning. also a free pick-up service from the bus terminal.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Fabio Almeida

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway

21 January 2012 Fabio would recommend this property

Liked: The double room with air conditioner was fantastic. Internet was free.

Disliked: A bit of sand on the bed, and the free Internet wasn't so great but was free :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gitte Sørensen

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

18 January 2012 Gitte would recommend this property

Liked: This place was so mutch better than I have dreamd about:)

Disliked: Gitte left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

aeri lee

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 January 2012 aeri would recommend this property

Liked: A kind staff, cleaness

Disliked: aeri left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter Jansen

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

28 December 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: Great rooms; comfortable beds; friendly, helpful staff; well laid-out; good location.

Disliked: Peter left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Patricia Denise de Man

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Work / volunteering

11 December 2011 Patricia Denise would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean! the unit (bathroom and kitchen) I just had to share with 5 others! they have normal beds and bunkbeds, they're very good and soft! Atmosphere is very good! Free bicycle hire.

Disliked: Wifi didn't work that well, but it's free! location is ok, but hervey bay a bit boring, and the supermarkets a 20 minute walk away (but you can use their bikes for free!)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice quite hostel. Had a spacious double bed room - was great.

Disliked: Wifi did not work all the time.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alistair Higham

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2011 Alistair would recommend this property

Liked: The kitchen and bathrooms were only shared between 4 rooms.

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The owner Gary was fantastic, very friendly and accommodating. The hostel was extremely clean. Each unit has 3 rooms and each unit has there own bathroom and kitchen which was great. Free wifi available.

Disliked: Not much atmosphere, so very difficult to meet other travellers at this hostel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free internet and transfers and the facillities were great three rooms shared a bathroom, lounge and kitchen/dining area

Disliked: n/a