HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay

Hostel | 181 Torquay Road, Hervey Bay, Australia 4655

85.9% Overall Rating

178 out of 197 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/01/2014)

Sarah Rousseau thinks…

"Nice atmosphere with hammocks outside. It's not exactly on the main drag but it's not a far walk to get where you need to go and it's very quiet and relaxing."

Read all Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 3.73

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hervey Bay?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hervey Bay

The Friendly Hostel
22.39 USD

Hostel 89.5% 256 reviews
Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay
23.33 USD

Hostel 68.1% 39 reviews
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
23.33 USD

Hostel 92.6% 156 reviews
Susan River Homestead Adventure Resort
37.32 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Colonial Village YHA
21.46 USD

Hostel 85.1% 41 reviews
Fraser Roving Backpacker Hostel
21.46 USD

Hostel 90.7% 12 reviews
Mango Eco Tourist Hostel
23.33 USD

Hostel 86.1% 29 reviews
Akama Resort
39.65 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.9%

Overall Rating

178 out of 197 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
80.8%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
88.8%
Value
84.8%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 143 of 149 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Rousseau

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 January 2014 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere with hammocks outside. It's not exactly on the main drag but it's not a far walk to get where you need to go and it's very quiet and relaxing.

Disliked: The only thing I didn't really like was that the bathrooms are in a completely different building than the accommodations which means when you have to use the bathroom in the middle of the night, you not only have to leave your room but the building altogether.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Giampiera Seddaiu

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 December 2013 Giampiera would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull staff (grazie / thank you Iveta). Nice tropical garden. Confortable mattress.

Disliked: Kitcken too hot.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natasha Eversfield

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

06 December 2013 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: Loads of character. Great common areas. Friendly staff. Quiet

Disliked: Fan in dorm was a bit noisy but was to hot to turn it off!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and clean hostel with a beautiful garden! Friendly staff and near to the beach!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Victor Sole

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 July 2013 Victor would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and organized, ordered and staff polite.

Disliked: Reception is not always open but you can call them and they will go down to attend you straight away

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jan Wyatt

As a family with children

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 July 2013 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Lush garden, hammocks. Great for price.

Disliked: Tepid showers, Noisy stairs, kitchen/TV noise past 10pm

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the homely feel to this property. The room was clean and a decent size with lockable cupboards if you need them. The kitchen was clean and tidy and everything worked. It was a little quiet while I was there but I didn't mind and it was quite a walk into town but you could catch a bus from outside the hostel.

Disliked: They shouldn't really advertise as reception being open from 7-7 when it is closed for 3 hours in the afternoon. Also I didn't get a seat on the shuttle bus and had to seat on some sort of ledge. I later discovered that reception claimed they didn't know what time I was arriving because I hadn't emailed them so they didn't book me a spot on the bus. This was completely untrue since I had emailed them with my expected arrival time and received a reply saying I would be fine to jump on the shuttle bus and where my key would be as I would be arriving outside of reception hours. I also thought it was a bit of a joke charging me $2 to store my bags for the day while I went to Fraser Island. The majority of hostels do this for free and it wasn't even as if they were put into a locked cupboard-they were just kept behind the desk! Fair enough charge for overnight storage but I felt like they were trying to take me for everything I had!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

bailey paul

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

21 April 2013 bailey would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place to stay

Disliked: bailey left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julia Lee

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2013 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean and nice.

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

shinichiro kawamata

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 shinichiro would recommend this property

Liked: value for money.

Disliked: some of the other guests' behavior, but that is always the case.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice garden, fridge and freezer in kitchen

Disliked: the four buildings being outside meant in wet season which i visited I got wet going to kitchen and the bathroom, only 2 toliets and 2 showers, limited opening hours not good for late arrivals, my room was small and as you opened door more or less on bed, having a 70+ old lady sharing room, lack of things to do in rain, the communal area smelt of wee because of the wet wood.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Susan Leydon

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2013 Susan would recommend this property

Liked: It's close to beach - about a 2 minute walk

Disliked: The internet (you can buy 'unlimited' for 12 dollars but they still give you '3 hour' vouchers and are reluctant to give you too many, which means it's not unlimited. You can't watch videos online - too slow.)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very quiet place,clean and very beautiful! big kitchen and nice atmosphere!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Décoration personnalisée cour ombragée et calme, habitée par les cacatoès et autres

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel was really nice. We stayed in a private room. It felt very homely and care had been taken to make it feel like this with nice pictures, furniture and linen. Only met the owner of the hostel in terms of staff but he was extremely friendly and helpful and went above and beyond our expectations. Really nice family feel to the place and we felt very welcomed.

Disliked: Nothing it was lovely.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Troy Mcfarlane

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Work / volunteering

25 June 2012 Troy would recommend this property

Liked: Having stayed here for a week I fully enjoyed the peace and quite. The area is just nice and layed back. The staff more than willing to help And the rooms kitchen area and property are very well kept. Its only a little stroll to the shops and have what ever you want just around the corner. a 10 out of 10 from me

Disliked: It was a pitty it rainned most of the time i was here

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

celene harrington

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2012 celene would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, spacious, movie night

Disliked: mouse in room

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

sarah butler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 April 2012 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: the hang out zone was cool and the kitchen was kept well clean - i liked the sign about losing your key deposit if you didn't wash up after yourself!!

Disliked: we discovered after we'd left that mice had gotten into one of our bags and eaten a bar we had in it!!

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jana Strauss

With friends / other travellers

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2012 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: beautiful garden area, very clean and big kitchen, great friendly and helpful service, home-feeling atmosphere,family owned hostel, really good location (lonly a short walk to the beach,quiet beautiful atmosphere),good kitchen equipment,BBQ area, ...!!! Had a great time, could stay weeks longer! It has been my best hostel experience in Australia so far!

Disliked: Jana left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

lisa holt

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2012

Liked: freezers

Disliked: rooms too hot (no air-con), 30 min walk to supermarket, too quiet, it's not a party hostel

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: homely n clean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Primoz Cigler

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

02 March 2012 Primoz would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice location, friendly and nice staff, the best value for money!

Disliked: No free WiFi.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Laura Rogers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: This property was like a little village, very homely. The staff were very kind and helpful. Our room was lovely too.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great value for money, a really big and nice garden and a nice kitchen and common room!

Disliked: no aircon in our room and no bus service to town and to bus station, but they arranged an other bus for us