We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Colonial Village YHA

Hostel | 820 Boat Harbour Drive, Hervey Bay, Australia 4655

83.9% Overall Rating

41 out of 44 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/04/2014)

Catherine Portelli thinks…

"I love it! the atmosphere is so relaxed and i love the ducks, turtles and frogs!! :) I wish I could have stayed there for longer!"

Read all Colonial Village YHA reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Tennis court(s)
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Bar(s)
  • Communal kitchen
  • Outside area

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 4.37
  • Breakfast USD 5.24
  • Towel USD 1.75

What's Included

  • Linen

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Hervey Bay?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Hervey Bay

Susan River Homestead Adventure Resort
52.40 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Aussie Woolshed Backpackers Hervey Bay
20.09 USD

Hostel 88.6% 202 reviews
The Friendly Hostel
21.83 USD

Hostel 91.8% 259 reviews
Palace Backpackers Hervey Bay
21.83 USD

Hostel 68.2% 40 reviews
Flashpackers Hervey Bay
21.83 USD

Hostel 91.0% 172 reviews
Mango Eco Tourist Hostel
22.71 USD

Hostel 84.6% 30 reviews
Next Backpackers
21.83 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Beach Motel Hervey Bay
30.57 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

41 out of 44 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Colonial Village YHA'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
68.8%
Facilities
88.0%
Cleanliness
82.4%
Staff
89.6%
Value
87.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 38 of 43 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

24 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great garden and very helpful staff.

Disliked: The wifi was quite unreliable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catherine Portelli

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 April 2014 Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: I love it! the atmosphere is so relaxed and i love the ducks, turtles and frogs!! :) I wish I could have stayed there for longer!

Disliked: absolutely nothing!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The budgie near reception

Disliked: The $1 surcharge with every purchase but no atm.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Deb White

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 March 2014 Deb would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are friendly and efficient and facilities are excellent. Meals are reasonably priced and good value for money

Disliked: Bit of a hike to get anywhere . Fridge in room made alarming noises all night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice pool, clean, cute possum neighbour

Disliked: managed to lose our booking twice.. (two different times)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really helpful staff, and a nice atmosphere in the bar, pool and restaurant area.

Disliked: the shower was somewhat clogged

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I love the property, there is a nice wibe to it.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Daniel Downey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 October 2013 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely gardens with a pool area and bar. Cheap food and beer. Very helpful staff. Free shuttle bus into Pialba. Free luggage storage.

Disliked: We stayed in a budget double room and it didn't feel very secure as the main door didn't shut and lock, just the mesh fly door. Although the hostel is in an area where you wouldn't worry too much about security.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

MAGALI VANDER VORST

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 August 2013 MAGALI would recommend this property

Liked: vwtwvwvwertzwvz

Disliked: w5etfw5tvw5btvw45zt

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Trevor Viney

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 March 2013 Trevor would recommend this property

Liked: The grounds are kept in excellent condition and the gardens, trees and wildlife friendly surroundings are lovely. We food the staff frendly and the internet access trouble free although the wi Fi was a little intermittant due to a range issue.

Disliked: Our cabin was'nt made up when we arrived and was in an untidy conditon , the staff responded in a very positive mannor owever and offered a free upgrade to a self contained cabin .

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 February 2013

Liked: I only chose the YHA because of the Fraser Island tour company I wanted to leave with the next day is on their premises - there is nothing I liked about the YHA!

Disliked: Staying on their premises after check-out costs AUD 5 until 16h or AUD 10 after that. I was not even going to stay there but just leave my luggage there, Reception staff was unfriendly and did not even listen to what I was asking/saying. No YHA atmosphere, remote location...there are much better options in Hervey Bay! Later I was told that the owners just have changed - they probably still need to find out how to run a hostel (instead of a trailer park)...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The place is really nice, the pool area is gorgeous. They have nice food in the restaurant. It's a bit to walk to the next shopping center, but ok. there is not much around, but as you get picked up for any tours it's OK either.

Disliked: Internet is a rip off, like in all the YHAs!! Unfortunately our food (50 $ worth) got stolen from the fridge. Really annoying. Apart from that we had a great stay!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Cockerton

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

06 January 2013 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed, chilled out environment, with a nice clean pool near the bar and lounge area.

Disliked: My bed was pretty average and the pillow was terrible, so I'd recommend short stays

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lage, Restaurant / Bar

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a beautiful garden

Disliked: a little bit too far away from the centre

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

04 January 2012

Liked: Good facilities like pool and nice kitchen.

Disliked: To stay here you will need a car as it is far from everything. The staff could have been a lot more nice and helpful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic staff, fabulous bar/restaurant with really good value food and drinks. Fun environment but not too partish so sleeping wasn't a problem. Welcome drinks upon arrival - really nice touch. Good kitchen area with good afcilities and great showers too.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Upgrade in an house, bar with Happy Hour

Disliked: Not a really nice to party and meet people

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Peter Luciano

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

17 March 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at the location was very very very helpful and there wasn't a question that they couldn't answer. Was walking distance to shops and also pick up point for tours to Fraser Island which you could also booked with them direct.

Disliked: Not much! Room could have done with a shelf or 2 to store you phone/keys/wallet etc but thats about it

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Ciaran O'Malley

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

27 January 2011 Ciaran would recommend this property

Liked: Good clean hostel

Disliked: not much around in Arlie beach

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

04 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Character

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

11 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wii Competition

Disliked: Only Cornflakes for breakfast

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A great place to meet people! Only stayed the one night but enjoyed the atmosphere. The room is small and spartan-like but was clean, and is what you would expect from a hostel. Recommend for backpackers and budged minded travelers.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

08 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is a very nice place to relax an enjoy a very good holiday. The staff is very helpful and friendly. We liked it that there were not held parties all around, so it is a very cosy place to stay. If you want to go to the beach it takes about half an hour to go so you better hire a bike - the only bad thing is that you have to pay for very uncomfortable and old bikes. This should be free...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Andrea England

17 April 2010 Andrea would recommend this property

Liked: This was a lovely quiet hostel in pretty tropical gardens. The staff were extremely friendly and welcome. The free breakfast was good, and good evening meals were also available. I enjpyed my stay.

Disliked: Andrea left no negative feedback.