HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Komune Coolangatta Hostel

144-146 Marine Pde, Coolangatta, Australia

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 77%

Location 100%

Safety 89%

Staff 83%

Value 83%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Lockers
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Common Room
  • Elevator
  • Free Internet Access
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Key Card Access
  • Linen Included
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Steam room
  • Towels for hire
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Towel 2.48USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Coolangatta?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 84%

Cleanliness 85%

Facilities 77%

Location 100%

Safety 89%

Staff 83%

Value 83%

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 Oct 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Nice hostel and rooms, in a great location.

Disliked: We encountered some extremely rude staff. When we arrived we were told they couldn't find our 2 night booking even though we had paid a deposit. They made us wait for about 45 minutes to look for our booking and then said that we could stay that night but the next night was full. As we had already paid a $15 deposit (I showed them this on my credit card statement) I asked to have this deducted from the price. The receptionist told me that was not her problem and to move aside so that she could deal with real customers. Excuse me! Up until that point we had waited patiently. So overall it took us about 1.5 hours to check in and I had to argue to get our deposit back. The next night we were called down to reception and told that our booking was actually there but the staff from the day before were new and didn't know how to find it. What a waste! The rudeness of the staff was very unnecessary, especially now that we know they were the ones who were wrong!

Customer would recommend this property

66% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
66% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: location ,balcony and ocean views are great.Clean cotton linen also.

Disliked: Shoddy cleaning.Stains on mattress and walls, dirt behind beds,mould in bathroom,rusty washing machine.Balcony walls and floor very dirty.

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: After hours check in is possible, if you contact hostel in advance to organise secure key collection and pay the remainder of booking cost. Continental breakfast was really good! Rooms/bathrooms were reasonably clean. Working lift (elevator) always handy. Great to have our own dorm room ensuite (which included free washing machine, though I didn't need to use it) and washing line for drying towels etc on balcony. Pool was refreshing, clean and tidy. Luggage lockers next to each bed were not very large, but OK - need to supply your own lock. Staff were reasonably helpful. Great location for beaches and shops, cafes etc. Convenient for public transport bus access to/from Gold Coast airport. Overall, quite a good value stay and would be happy to come again, thank you.

Disliked: Fan was a little noisy but much better than not having a fan at all!

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Sep 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: The place was gorgeous! The design and layout was very nice and it was so clean!

Disliked: The price was a touch expensive but you got value for money

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very Good localization!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
30 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Clean hostel right in the middle of Coolangatta. 2 minute walk from beautiful beaches, cafes, stores, etc. Room has washing machine, was cleaned daily, and a massive balcony. Great stay.

Disliked: Basically the only place to party on the weekends so if you're looking for a quiet stay-- book somewhere else. Wifi only available in common area, and no kitchen facilites.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Mar 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Visiting friends or family

Liked: On site bar

Disliked: Breakfast hours

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
26 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: It was more like a basic hotel than a hostel. There was an ensuite bathroom, which also included a washing machine. There was a balcony on the bedroom as well as a large communal area, and a pool. Everyone was really friendly, and the location is great- 2 seconds away from the beach.

Disliked: Some people might have a problem with there being no kitchen, but you get free breakfast, and they sell cheap food- tacos and that- downstairs, so it really wasn't a problem for me.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: nice hostel with nice bar

Disliked: wifi only in reception, not in room

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
23 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation / spa

Liked: close to the beach. View of it from the balcony. 8 bed dorms are 2 rooms each 2 bunks sharing 1 toilet/shower. Washing for free! Free wifi. Top location. Top accomandation

Disliked: none :)

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability