We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/12/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Cairns, Australia

95.9%
367 reviews Book Now 
1

Travellers Oasis

Hostel
8 Scott Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

361 out of 367 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Travellers Oasis

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 100% Facilities - 96% Safety - 97%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 95%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 24 November 2014

Excellent hostel with the friendliest staff I've come across! They were so helpful booking our entire trip north, and gave great advice about the local area. Rooms were clean and comfortable, would definitely recommend to anyone going to Cairns.

Sierra Clark
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture
94.3%
Sierra would recommend this property 09 November 2014

Great common area and pool. Owner and staff are great. Not a perfect location, but solid. An easy walk to the main part of town around a shopping center. The only minor issue we had is that there never seems to be enough showers around 7:00-8:00 PM after excursions and getting ready for going out for the evening. We also had a fun group of people that happened to be staying there while we were there, which is always a plus!

92.6%
163 reviews Book Now 
2

The Northern Greenhouse

Hostel
117 Grafton Street, Cairns, Australia 4000

154 out of 163 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Northern Greenhouse

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 90% Facilities - 93% Safety - 94%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 94%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
09 June 2014

Great location, helpful and friendly staff! The other guests were great and the hostel staff were wonderful. Large spacious rooms. Free activities were on offer most nights.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 05 April 2014

Finally a hostel with decent free wifi. The rooms are a good size and the common area is very inviting. Free breakfast is definitely OK.

91.9%
122 reviews Book Now 
3

Tropic Days Hostel

Hostel
28 Bunting Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

119 out of 122 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tropic Days Hostel

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 97% Facilities - 94% Safety - 96%
Location - 66% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 96%
Erica Lederman
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Erica would recommend this property 20 August 2014

Really nice garden area, comfy beds, super secure safes for each bed, dorms were not overcrowded.

Graham Hogan
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Graham would recommend this property 12 April 2014

welcoming and friendly staff , clean and a good place to chillax in the hammocks

90.7%
453 reviews Book Now 
4

Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Hostel
189 Bunda street, Cairns, Australia 4870

440 out of 453 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 98% Facilities - 88% Safety - 88%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 90%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 28 August 2014

Stuff was very friendly! I felt like at home, Every day a great program like Pizza all you can eat, fireshow...

Natasha Bechman
Alone
Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Natasha would recommend this property 01 May 2014

This hostel had a really lovely atmosphere; everyone was friendly, the staff were very helpful and the rooms were quiet even when there was an evening event going on. There were regular social events going on in the hostel itself which was really useful given I was travelling alone. Great value for money, thank you!

90.2%
7 reviews Book Now 
5

Cairns City Motel

3 star Hotel
169 Lake St, Cairns, Australia 4870

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cairns City Motel

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 97% Facilities - 80% Safety - 91%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 94%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 11 January 2014

Nice big apartment with kitchen, fridge, free WiFi, AirCon. Little pool and Carparking. All you need. Aircon broke and staff fixed it within 5 minutes (minor issue)

David potter
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
David would recommend this property 07 May 2013

The accommodations were clean and the location is good, for the price this was a great place to stay. we loved the TV and the free tea and coffee

89.9%
40 reviews Book Now 
6

Cairns Girls Hostel

Hostel
147 Lake Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

39 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cairns Girls Hostel

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 88%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 94%
Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 15 June 2014

It was very clean. Jenny and Mario were very friendly and helpful with tour bookings. It was relaxing and quiet at night. It's close to the esplanade (which offers free wi-fi).

Nadine Barthel
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Nadine would recommend this property 20 December 2012

Very nice hostel! Good location and the staff is very friendly and helpful! ( thanks for everythning Mario!! :-) )

88.2%
269 reviews Book Now 
7

JJ's Backpackers Hostel

Hostel
11-13 Charles Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

238 out of 269 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend JJ's Backpackers Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 98% Facilities - 86% Safety - 86%
Location - 72% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 91%
Steve Knight
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway
97.1%
Steve would recommend this property 26 July 2014

Simon and Tracy (The Owners) were perfect Hosts, Anything you need to know about Cairns they can help you with. 20 years experience. Advice/Arrangement on all the Trips you need. The Free breakfast in the morning is a good start too. Though only basic (Tea/Coffee Toast and Cereal) It gets you up and out. Also a Nice Place to mingle and meet people. Lots of Like Minded Nationalities all wanting to experience Oz. Rooms are Basic and Clean but what do you want for the Money. The Bed was Comfy, Quiet area of Cairns Slightly away from the Bars/main strip etc but they offer a free Bus journey (5 mins) certain times of the day. Though we did walk most of the Time as the Esplanade is Beautiful. Our Experience overall was a Good one

Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Relaxation/spa
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 22 December 2013

I like the service of the bus. Almost every hour the driver pick us at the hostel to the city or vice-versa. Also there is a bathroom for every set of rooms.

87.4%
593 reviews Book Now 
8

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront

Hostel
149 The Esplanade, Cairns, Australia 4870

551 out of 593 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 94% Facilities - 81% Safety - 85%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 88%
Jinglin Zhang
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Jinglin would recommend this property 08 October 2014

Great place to stay! Great location and very clean beds. The staff are also very friendly and I have a great time stay in Caravella.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 07 July 2014

The staff is very friendly and the rooms are quite big and bright. Moreover airconditioning and a fridge are available in each room.

86.8%
19 reviews Book Now 
9

Cairns Central YHA

Hostel
20-26 McLeod Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

16 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cairns Central YHA

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 91% Facilities - 84% Safety - 87%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 82%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals, Family Holiday
68.6%
Customer would recommend this property 07 July 2014

nice pool area, seating outside kitchen, good kitchen etc nice staff, close to town

Gail Pollitt
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
94.3%
Gail would recommend this property 05 February 2014

All the staff where very helpful, Able to answer all questions regarding the Local Area and all trips. A very large and well equipped kithen.

85.8%
161 reviews Book Now 
10

Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns

Hostel
57-89 Grafton Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

136 out of 161 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns

Atmosphere - 82% Staff - 80% Facilities - 88% Safety - 85%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 81%
Marie Georgiou
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
94.3%
Marie would recommend this property 06 October 2014

It's very clean, friendly staff and very close to everything you'd need for your stay in cairns

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
68.6%
Customer would recommend this property 14 September 2014

Good location, nice rooms (for the 4 people dorms, I hated the 10 people dorms) Nice atmosphere (especially if you're into partying) Good services (storage for luggage when needed, tv and kitchen on each floor) Great restaurant next to the bar, where you can have a good meal and a drink for 10 $

Cairns

39 Hostels from 12.23 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Cairns hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Cairns. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.