HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Cairns, Australia

95.8%
335 reviews Book Now 
1

Travellers Oasis

Hostel
8 Scott Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

330 out of 335 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Travellers Oasis

Atmosphere - 99% Staff - 99% Facilities - 96% Safety - 99%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 96% Value - 97%
Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Relaxation/spa
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 13 April 2014

There is so much to appreciate about this property. Location is perfect, the staff are really friendly and helpful. The single rooms are more than adequate for a solo traveller. (I recommend room number 5 for the most spacious single room - I did a quick sneak and peak). They supported organise excursions and the highlight was the weekly famous BBQ. The swimming pool, kitchen, toilets, showers and communal areas are kept clean and well kept. Highly recommend this accommodation.

Rachel Sturgis
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Visiting friends or family
97.1%
Rachel would recommend this property 11 April 2014

This was the cosiest and homeliest hostel we stayed in on the east coast. Everything was super clean, the common areas and kitchens very inviting. I loved that they provide free tea and coffee as well as some spices and olive oil which just makes cooking easier. We also had a fridge in our twin room. The pool is nice and so is the barbecue area. It felt super safe, you need a code to get in at night and we had a safe in our twin room. The staff is really nice and shows you around everywhere when you get there.

93.8%
157 reviews Book Now 
2

The Northern Greenhouse

Hostel
117 Grafton Street, Cairns, Australia 4000

150 out of 157 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Northern Greenhouse

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 92% Facilities - 95% Safety - 94%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 96%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 05 April 2014

Finally a hostel with decent free wifi. The rooms are a good size and the common area is very inviting. Free breakfast is definitely OK.

Claire Fooks
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Claire would recommend this property 12 March 2014

This was a great hostel, it was more like staying in a motel/hotel. It was very clean. The lounge area was really good and chilled. The free BBQ was good.

92.3%
447 reviews Book Now 
3

Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Hostel
Cnr. Bunda & Terminus St., Cairns, Australia .

434 out of 447 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 99% Facilities - 89% Safety - 92%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 91%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 20 April 2014

This hostel is in a great location for all the tourist attractions around cairns. We had a private double room which was great very clean and tidy even got our own fridge which was a bonus. Free luggage room as our bus didn't leave until late on check out day.

simon cole
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
simon would recommend this property 11 March 2014

Erin on reception was so helpful and friendly, talking through the options for tours and efficiently helping us book them. Thanks Erin! We had a great day yesterday on Sea Star snorkelling on the reef. Good atmosphere in the hostal, sociable and great little swimming pool for cooling off. Near a big supermarket. We found our room downstairs by the kitchen was noisy but staff moved us to a great room upstairs for the rest of our stay. Optional air con in rooms is invaluable and cheap. Thanks guys!

91.7%
115 reviews Book Now 
4

Tropic Days Hostel

Hostel
28 Bunting Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

112 out of 115 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tropic Days Hostel

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 96% Facilities - 94% Safety - 96%
Location - 65% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 96%
Graham Hogan
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Graham would recommend this property 12 April 2014

welcoming and friendly staff , clean and a good place to chillax in the hammocks

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 02 January 2014

This was so far one of the best hostels i've been in Australia! The staff is great and super helpful, the BBQ is great, the rooms clean and beds couldn't be better. The kitchen was good too, you have all you need there - even a big variety of herbs! The garden is great and the pool good, but he's got a hard time to compete with the Cairns Laguna. This is an absolute recommendation to stay!

91.1%
36 reviews Book Now 
5

Cairns Girls Hostel

Hostel
147 Lake Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

35 out of 36 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cairns Girls Hostel

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 92% Facilities - 91% Safety - 91%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 93%
Nadine Barthel
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Nadine would recommend this property 20 December 2012

Very nice hostel! Good location and the staff is very friendly and helpful! ( thanks for everythning Mario!! :-) )

Pui ching Liu
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Work / volunteering
94.3%
Pui ching would recommend this property 28 October 2012

Great! The location is perfect! Staff are all very nice! A clean hostel! Comfortable atmosphere.

90.9%
15 reviews Book Now 
6

Cairns Central YHA

Hostel
20-26 McLeod Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

13 out of 15 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cairns Central YHA

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 94% Facilities - 90% Safety - 92%
Location - 93% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 88%
Gail Pollitt
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
94.3%
Gail would recommend this property 05 February 2014

All the staff where very helpful, Able to answer all questions regarding the Local Area and all trips. A very large and well equipped kithen.

Katharina Geppert
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Katharina would recommend this property 10 February 2013

relaxed atmosphere with interior garden patio and pool in central Cairns...and good price for singel room!

90.2%
7 reviews Book Now 
7

Cairns City Motel

3 star Hotel
169 Lake St, Cairns, Australia 4870

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cairns City Motel

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 97% Facilities - 80% Safety - 91%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 94%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 11 January 2014

Nice big apartment with kitchen, fridge, free WiFi, AirCon. Little pool and Carparking. All you need. Aircon broke and staff fixed it within 5 minutes (minor issue)

David potter
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
David would recommend this property 07 May 2013

The accommodations were clean and the location is good, for the price this was a great place to stay. we loved the TV and the free tea and coffee

89.1%
135 reviews Book Now 
8

Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns

Hostel
57-89 Grafton Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

115 out of 135 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 78% Facilities - 90% Safety - 92%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 84%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 28 March 2014

The cleanliness of the rooms and beds was great, and the kitchens were above average.

Hannah Snazell
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Hannah would recommend this property 21 March 2014

Friendly atmosphere, great people and wonderful resort style hostel. Rooms are more like hotel rooms than dorms. Ensuites in all rooms. Always really clean. Pool is fab and bar has reasonably priced drinks and a free meal every night. Would give 10/10

89.0%
14 reviews Book Now 
9

Q Resorts Cascade Gardens

3.5 star Hotel
175 Lake St, Cairns, Australia 4870

14 out of 14 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Q Resorts Cascade Gardens

Atmosphere - 81% Staff - 97% Facilities - 87% Safety - 88%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 91%
Hsueh-Hua Chen
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Hsueh-Hua would recommend this property 19 January 2011

I stay here for a week in a 6 persons dorm. It's really comfortable & clean. Everyone has one independent bed. I have a kitchen in my room. TV in room. Friendly reception! Next time I travel to Cairns, I will stay here as well.

Michael Pajek
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
80.0%
Michael would recommend this property 23 November 2010

Decent hotel and an excellent value for money. There is everything you need in Cascade Gardens, staff is very friendly and helpful. If you don't expect marble walls and 68 inch tv in your room, the hotel is definitely for you!

88.8%
578 reviews Book Now 
10

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront

Hostel
149 The Esplanade, Cairns, Australia 4870

537 out of 578 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront

Atmosphere - 87% Staff - 96% Facilities - 84% Safety - 86%
Location - 87% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 92%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 04 April 2014

the staff was really friendly at all times and very helpful with booking tours. there was free wifi (though only next to the kitchen) and the luggage room was for free, too.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 05 March 2014

The staff were always very friendly and knowledgeable. They helped me book all my tours and gave the best rates. The room was clean and comfortable and fairly close to the supermarket, ferry terminal and restaurants. They make sure you are well looked after!

Cairns

42 Hostels from 11.16 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Cairns hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Cairns. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.