HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Cairns, Australia

96.5%
351 reviews Book Now 
1

Travellers Oasis

Hostel
8 Scott Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

346 out of 351 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Travellers Oasis

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 100% Facilities - 97% Safety - 97%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 98%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 18 June 2014

Everything! Colourful, well-designed, the owner really cares about the hostel and guests and holds regular BBQ nights which gets everyone chatting. The reception staff are very friendly and helpful. It's clean and has loads of character. The best hostel I stayed in.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 16 June 2014

Great hostel; quiet for sleeping, clean, good cooking amenities (2 kitchens), rooms, kitchens and bathrooms cleaned daily; friendly staff and free wi-fi. They were helpful with booking tours and hosted popular bbq nights with a sister hostel. Although it's about 10-15 minutes walking to the esplanade, it's located nearby to a shopping centre and is an easy route to walk to the main tourist areas and lagoon.

93.0%
162 reviews Book Now 
2

The Northern Greenhouse

Hostel
117 Grafton Street, Cairns, Australia 4000

153 out of 162 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Northern Greenhouse

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 91% Facilities - 94% Safety - 94%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 94%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
09 June 2014

Great location, helpful and friendly staff! The other guests were great and the hostel staff were wonderful. Large spacious rooms. Free activities were on offer most nights.

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 05 April 2014

Finally a hostel with decent free wifi. The rooms are a good size and the common area is very inviting. Free breakfast is definitely OK.

91.8%
451 reviews Book Now 
3

Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Hostel
189 Bunda street, Cairns, Australia 4870

438 out of 451 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 98% Facilities - 89% Safety - 91%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 91%
Natasha Bechman
Alone
Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Natasha would recommend this property 01 May 2014

This hostel had a really lovely atmosphere; everyone was friendly, the staff were very helpful and the rooms were quiet even when there was an evening event going on. There were regular social events going on in the hostel itself which was really useful given I was travelling alone. Great value for money, thank you!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
88.6%
Customer would recommend this property 20 April 2014

This hostel is in a great location for all the tourist attractions around cairns. We had a private double room which was great very clean and tidy even got our own fridge which was a bonus. Free luggage room as our bus didn't leave until late on check out day.

91.4%
118 reviews Book Now 
4

Tropic Days Hostel

Hostel
28 Bunting Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

115 out of 118 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tropic Days Hostel

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 96% Facilities - 94% Safety - 96%
Location - 64% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 96%
Graham Hogan
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Graham would recommend this property 12 April 2014

welcoming and friendly staff , clean and a good place to chillax in the hammocks

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, City break
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 02 January 2014

This was so far one of the best hostels i've been in Australia! The staff is great and super helpful, the BBQ is great, the rooms clean and beds couldn't be better. The kitchen was good too, you have all you need there - even a big variety of herbs! The garden is great and the pool good, but he's got a hard time to compete with the Cairns Laguna. This is an absolute recommendation to stay!

90.2%
7 reviews Book Now 
5

Cairns City Motel

3 star Hotel
169 Lake St, Cairns, Australia 4870

7 out of 7 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cairns City Motel

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 97% Facilities - 80% Safety - 91%
Location - 94% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 94%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Sightseeing & culture
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 11 January 2014

Nice big apartment with kitchen, fridge, free WiFi, AirCon. Little pool and Carparking. All you need. Aircon broke and staff fixed it within 5 minutes (minor issue)

David potter
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
David would recommend this property 07 May 2013

The accommodations were clean and the location is good, for the price this was a great place to stay. we loved the TV and the free tea and coffee

89.9%
40 reviews Book Now 
6

Cairns Girls Hostel

Hostel
147 Lake Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

39 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cairns Girls Hostel

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 88%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 94%
Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 15 June 2014

It was very clean. Jenny and Mario were very friendly and helpful with tour bookings. It was relaxing and quiet at night. It's close to the esplanade (which offers free wi-fi).

Nadine Barthel
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Nadine would recommend this property 20 December 2012

Very nice hostel! Good location and the staff is very friendly and helpful! ( thanks for everythning Mario!! :-) )

89.0%
14 reviews Book Now 
7

Q Resorts Cascade Gardens

3.5 star Hotel
175 Lake St, Cairns, Australia 4870

14 out of 14 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Q Resorts Cascade Gardens

Atmosphere - 81% Staff - 97% Facilities - 87% Safety - 88%
Location - 84% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 91%
Hsueh-Hua Chen
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Hsueh-Hua would recommend this property 19 January 2011

I stay here for a week in a 6 persons dorm. It's really comfortable & clean. Everyone has one independent bed. I have a kitchen in my room. TV in room. Friendly reception! Next time I travel to Cairns, I will stay here as well.

Michael Pajek
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
80.0%
Michael would recommend this property 23 November 2010

Decent hotel and an excellent value for money. There is everything you need in Cascade Gardens, staff is very friendly and helpful. If you don't expect marble walls and 68 inch tv in your room, the hotel is definitely for you!

88.8%
590 reviews Book Now 
8

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront

Hostel
149 The Esplanade, Cairns, Australia 4870

548 out of 590 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 96% Facilities - 84% Safety - 87%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 90%
Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 07 July 2014

The staff is very friendly and the rooms are quite big and bright. Moreover airconditioning and a fridge are available in each room.

jonathan grummitt
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering
91.4%
jonathan would recommend this property 31 May 2014

Loved the atmosphere. Staff were helpful and the location is great. Right on the esplanade (close to town centre but just far enough out to not be noisy)

86.9%
122 reviews Book Now 
9

Corona Backpackers

Hostel
72 Grafton Street, Cairns City, Queensland, Cairns, Australia 4870

112 out of 122 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Corona Backpackers

Atmosphere - 81% Staff - 93% Facilities - 75% Safety - 84%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 84% Value - 93%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 21 July 2014

The staff was amazing; very friendly and knowledgeable about what to do in town and which tours to check out.

Chloe Bernard
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Chloe would recommend this property 03 July 2014

Great staff: they were very friendly and helpful with booking tours. The rooms, kitchen and toilets are very clean. I would recommend this hostel to anyone. There is no WiFi and no lounge area other than the kitchen, but I still believe I get plenty for my money. You get discount meals at a restaurant 1 minute away and the location is perfect, in the middle of everything.

86.4%
267 reviews Book Now 
10

JJ's Backpackers Hostel

Hostel
11-13 Charles Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

236 out of 267 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend JJ's Backpackers Hostel

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 96% Facilities - 84% Safety - 84%
Location - 71% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 88%
Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Relaxation/spa
77.1%
Customer would recommend this property 22 December 2013

I like the service of the bus. Almost every hour the driver pick us at the hostel to the city or vice-versa. Also there is a bathroom for every set of rooms.

Andre Bosch
With friends / other travellers
City break
97.1%
Andre would recommend this property 23 November 2013

The reviews that JJ's gets everywhere are well deserved. No traveller could hope for a better hostel experience. The staff almost perform a double act as travel agents, are incredibly friendly and helpful, and the hostel is more comfortable, clean, and convenient than any I have ever seen, verging on motel quality but with a great atmosphere.

Cairns

45 Hostels from 13.15 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Cairns hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Cairns. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.