We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Cairns, Australia

95.3%
378 reviews Book Now 
1

Travellers Oasis

Hostel
8 Scott Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

372 out of 378 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Travellers Oasis

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 99% Facilities - 94% Safety - 97%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 94%
Adam Migas
With friends / other travellers
Beach / sunbathing
100.0%
Adam would recommend this property 11 April 2015

What a lovely place. I traveled long time through australia and this was the nicest place i lived. This hostel was made with so many handmade details and love. Never seen such nice stuff. And i think this is important when you want to stay longer thanks a night, it was very clean. It was a pleasure to sleep here. Thanks Helen!

Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 10 March 2015

Great location close to town, comfortable and clean rooms and the staff were so helpful organising trips and booking other hostels.

93.0%
170 reviews Book Now 
2

The Northern Greenhouse

Hostel
117 Grafton Street, Cairns, Australia 4000

161 out of 170 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Northern Greenhouse

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 90% Facilities - 93% Safety - 94%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 95%
Carina RUGGIERO
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Carina would recommend this property 25 March 2015

Very good facilities, good location, nice people, friendly staff, breakfast included.

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 04 March 2015

I loved this place! One of my favorites so far!!! Great atmosphere, perfect location, busy so there's always people to meet and talk to, yet quiet for the number of people! The beds were really comfortable, the staff was always very friendly and helpful, the pool was nice, and I love that it included breakfast and free activities! I'll definitely stay again if I'm ever back in Cairns!

92.5%
125 reviews Book Now 
3

Tropic Days Hostel

Hostel
28 Bunting Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

122 out of 125 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tropic Days Hostel

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 98% Facilities - 94% Safety - 97%
Location - 68% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 96%
Erica Lederman
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Erica would recommend this property 20 August 2014

Really nice garden area, comfy beds, super secure safes for each bed, dorms were not overcrowded.

Graham Hogan
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Graham would recommend this property 12 April 2014

welcoming and friendly staff , clean and a good place to chillax in the hammocks

90.7%
457 reviews Book Now 
4

Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Hostel
189 Bunda street, Cairns, Australia 4870

444 out of 457 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 97% Facilities - 88% Safety - 89%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 91%
Stefanie van den Broek
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Stefanie would recommend this property 26 March 2015

Nice athmosphere which made it very easy to make friends! There is entertainment in the evenings, like movies and bbq!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 11 March 2015

Very Clean, friendly staff and free wifi. Swimmingpool! Its like 2 minutes walk to Coles and the big shoppingcentre! 10 minutes walk to lagoon, its a nice walk when al the bars and shops are open. Very good vibe in the hostel, nice people.

90.4%
41 reviews Book Now 
5

Cairns Girls Hostel

Hostel
147 Lake Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

40 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cairns Girls Hostel

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 94% Facilities - 88% Safety - 88%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 94%
Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 15 June 2014

It was very clean. Jenny and Mario were very friendly and helpful with tour bookings. It was relaxing and quiet at night. It's close to the esplanade (which offers free wi-fi).

Nadine Barthel
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Nadine would recommend this property 20 December 2012

Very nice hostel! Good location and the staff is very friendly and helpful! ( thanks for everythning Mario!! :-) )

89.7%
272 reviews Book Now 
6

JJ's Backpackers Hostel

Hostel
11-13 Charles Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

241 out of 272 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend JJ's Backpackers Hostel

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 98% Facilities - 88% Safety - 88%
Location - 75% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 92%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 08 January 2015

Handy shuttle to and from town, able to book tours in advance, always helpful with information over email and over the phone when planning our stay/ trip in advance, clear and easy instructions for late check in

Steve Knight
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway
97.1%
Steve would recommend this property 26 July 2014

Simon and Tracy (The Owners) were perfect Hosts, Anything you need to know about Cairns they can help you with. 20 years experience. Advice/Arrangement on all the Trips you need. The Free breakfast in the morning is a good start too. Though only basic (Tea/Coffee Toast and Cereal) It gets you up and out. Also a Nice Place to mingle and meet people. Lots of Like Minded Nationalities all wanting to experience Oz. Rooms are Basic and Clean but what do you want for the Money. The Bed was Comfy, Quiet area of Cairns Slightly away from the Bars/main strip etc but they offer a free Bus journey (5 mins) certain times of the day. Though we did walk most of the Time as the Esplanade is Beautiful. Our Experience overall was a Good one

89.0%
170 reviews Book Now 
7

Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns

Hostel
57-89 Grafton Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

144 out of 170 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 83% Facilities - 92% Safety - 89%
Location - 96% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 85%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 26 February 2015

Great hostel and very modern and clean rooms! Great location with a bouncing atmosphere, everyone coming to cairns only talks about Gilligans!

Jessica Hall
With friends / other travellers
Partying / nightlife
88.6%
Jessica would recommend this property 09 January 2015

The rooms are beautifully kept - very clean, air conditioned, and comfortable. The beds are large and I got a great sleep both nights I stayed. If you're one to party, it's a great place with a bar/club literally at your doorstep. The pool area is awesome during the day - relaxing and great music playing.

87.7%
594 reviews Book Now 
8

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront

Hostel
149 The Esplanade, Cairns, Australia 4870

552 out of 594 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 94% Facilities - 82% Safety - 86%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 88%
Jinglin Zhang
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Jinglin would recommend this property 08 October 2014

Great place to stay! Great location and very clean beds. The staff are also very friendly and I have a great time stay in Caravella.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 07 July 2014

The staff is very friendly and the rooms are quite big and bright. Moreover airconditioning and a fridge are available in each room.

86.8%
19 reviews Book Now 
9

Cairns Central YHA

Hostel
20-26 McLeod Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

16 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cairns Central YHA

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 91% Facilities - 84% Safety - 87%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 82%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals, Family Holiday
68.6%
Customer would recommend this property 07 July 2014

nice pool area, seating outside kitchen, good kitchen etc nice staff, close to town

Gail Pollitt
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
94.3%
Gail would recommend this property 05 February 2014

All the staff where very helpful, Able to answer all questions regarding the Local Area and all trips. A very large and well equipped kithen.

85.4%
222 reviews Book Now 
10

Castaways Backpackers

Hostel
207 Sheridan St, Cairns, Australia 4870

204 out of 222 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Castaways Backpackers

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 91% Facilities - 86% Safety - 90%
Location - 62% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 90%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 14 April 2015

Nice little family owned hostel. The hosts ware super friendly and try to help whenever they can. They even called me on my arrival to know when to pick me up. Rooms were all clean as the whole hostel. You feel like you are staying in a shared flat with a nice kitchen and living room:) I would totally recommend this hostel

Simon Paré-Gaudreault
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Simon would recommend this property 06 September 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Gilligan's ! My room was clean, the bed was comfortable, there was a desk in my room and a free internet connexion. There was also a free transport in the city center multiple time each days, which was really useful. The staff was amazing, helpful and friendly ! :) I would stay there again for sure !

Cairns

41 Hostels from 9.35 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Cairns hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Cairns. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.