We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/02/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/02/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Cairns, Australia

95.9%
372 reviews Book Now 
1

Travellers Oasis

Hostel
8 Scott Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

366 out of 372 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Travellers Oasis

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 100% Facilities - 96% Safety - 98%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 98% Value - 94%
Lee Ornsby
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Lee would recommend this property 02 January 2015

What an amazing friendly place! All the facilities you need, staff that go above and beyond to help you out, great rooms and a great atmosphere. I met a lot of great people and will always have fond memories of this place.

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 24 November 2014

Excellent hostel with the friendliest staff I've come across! They were so helpful booking our entire trip north, and gave great advice about the local area. Rooms were clean and comfortable, would definitely recommend to anyone going to Cairns.

92.7%
164 reviews Book Now 
2

The Northern Greenhouse

Hostel
117 Grafton Street, Cairns, Australia 4000

155 out of 164 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Northern Greenhouse

Atmosphere - 88% Staff - 90% Facilities - 93% Safety - 94%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 94%
Amy Tomlin
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals
100.0%
Amy would recommend this property 30 January 2015

Everything. All the staff are so helpful and friendly. Free pool table and the swimming pool was so nice! Rooms were so clean and had ac so it was always nice and refreshing to walk back into your room. Would Deffinatly recommend this place to anyone staying in cairns.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
09 June 2014

Great location, helpful and friendly staff! The other guests were great and the hostel staff were wonderful. Large spacious rooms. Free activities were on offer most nights.

92.3%
123 reviews Book Now 
3

Tropic Days Hostel

Hostel
28 Bunting Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

120 out of 123 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tropic Days Hostel

Atmosphere - 98% Staff - 97% Facilities - 95% Safety - 97%
Location - 67% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 96%
Erica Lederman
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Erica would recommend this property 20 August 2014

Really nice garden area, comfy beds, super secure safes for each bed, dorms were not overcrowded.

Graham Hogan
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Graham would recommend this property 12 April 2014

welcoming and friendly staff , clean and a good place to chillax in the hammocks

90.4%
455 reviews Book Now 
4

Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Hostel
189 Bunda street, Cairns, Australia 4870

442 out of 455 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 97% Facilities - 88% Safety - 88%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 90%
Kathleen Dose-Koehl
As a family with children
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Kathleen would recommend this property 15 January 2015

It's adorable, and had lots to offer for travellers, such as movie night. It was very secure, yet relaxed. We also had a mini-fridge in room. This was our first stay at a hostel, and it left us with a great impression!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 28 August 2014

Stuff was very friendly! I felt like at home, Every day a great program like Pizza all you can eat, fireshow...

89.9%
40 reviews Book Now 
5

Cairns Girls Hostel

Hostel
147 Lake Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

39 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cairns Girls Hostel

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 88%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 94%
Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 15 June 2014

It was very clean. Jenny and Mario were very friendly and helpful with tour bookings. It was relaxing and quiet at night. It's close to the esplanade (which offers free wi-fi).

Nadine Barthel
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Nadine would recommend this property 20 December 2012

Very nice hostel! Good location and the staff is very friendly and helpful! ( thanks for everythning Mario!! :-) )

88.6%
270 reviews Book Now 
6

JJ's Backpackers Hostel

Hostel
11-13 Charles Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

239 out of 270 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend JJ's Backpackers Hostel

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 97% Facilities - 88% Safety - 87%
Location - 72% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 91%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 08 January 2015

Handy shuttle to and from town, able to book tours in advance, always helpful with information over email and over the phone when planning our stay/ trip in advance, clear and easy instructions for late check in

Steve Knight
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway
97.1%
Steve would recommend this property 26 July 2014

Simon and Tracy (The Owners) were perfect Hosts, Anything you need to know about Cairns they can help you with. 20 years experience. Advice/Arrangement on all the Trips you need. The Free breakfast in the morning is a good start too. Though only basic (Tea/Coffee Toast and Cereal) It gets you up and out. Also a Nice Place to mingle and meet people. Lots of Like Minded Nationalities all wanting to experience Oz. Rooms are Basic and Clean but what do you want for the Money. The Bed was Comfy, Quiet area of Cairns Slightly away from the Bars/main strip etc but they offer a free Bus journey (5 mins) certain times of the day. Though we did walk most of the Time as the Esplanade is Beautiful. Our Experience overall was a Good one

87.4%
593 reviews Book Now 
7

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront

Hostel
149 The Esplanade, Cairns, Australia 4870

551 out of 593 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 94% Facilities - 81% Safety - 85%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 86% Value - 88%
Jinglin Zhang
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Jinglin would recommend this property 08 October 2014

Great place to stay! Great location and very clean beds. The staff are also very friendly and I have a great time stay in Caravella.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 07 July 2014

The staff is very friendly and the rooms are quite big and bright. Moreover airconditioning and a fridge are available in each room.

86.8%
19 reviews Book Now 
8

Cairns Central YHA

Hostel
20-26 McLeod Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

16 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cairns Central YHA

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 91% Facilities - 84% Safety - 87%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 82%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals, Family Holiday
68.6%
Customer would recommend this property 07 July 2014

nice pool area, seating outside kitchen, good kitchen etc nice staff, close to town

Gail Pollitt
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
94.3%
Gail would recommend this property 05 February 2014

All the staff where very helpful, Able to answer all questions regarding the Local Area and all trips. A very large and well equipped kithen.

86.7%
166 reviews Book Now 
9

Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns

Hostel
57-89 Grafton Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

141 out of 166 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 80% Facilities - 88% Safety - 87%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 84%
Jessica Hall
With friends / other travellers
Partying / nightlife
88.6%
Jessica would recommend this property 09 January 2015

The rooms are beautifully kept - very clean, air conditioned, and comfortable. The beds are large and I got a great sleep both nights I stayed. If you're one to party, it's a great place with a bar/club literally at your doorstep. The pool area is awesome during the day - relaxing and great music playing.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 05 January 2015

Party atmosphere all the time, it was wild fun. The kitchens were awesome. The pool was great too.

84.8%
220 reviews Book Now 
10

Castaway's Backpackers

Hostel
207 Sheridan St, Cairns, Australia 4870

202 out of 220 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Castaway's Backpackers

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 91% Facilities - 86% Safety - 89%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 89%
Simon Paré-Gaudreault
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Simon would recommend this property 06 September 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Gilligan's ! My room was clean, the bed was comfortable, there was a desk in my room and a free internet connexion. There was also a free transport in the city center multiple time each days, which was really useful. The staff was amazing, helpful and friendly ! :) I would stay there again for sure !

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 21 August 2014

It was really clean and safe. Kitchen was great. Not only dishes and pans but also salt and pepper, soy source, and oil, almost everything was there.

Cairns

38 Hostels from 10.48 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Cairns hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Cairns. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.