We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 26/05/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Cairns, Australia

95.4%
381 reviews Book Now 
1

Travellers Oasis

Hostel
8 Scott Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

375 out of 381 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Travellers Oasis

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 99% Facilities - 94% Safety - 98%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 93%
angie moreno
Alone
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
angie would recommend this property 13 May 2015

Excellent the people were so nice, friendly and the employess very helpfull, far way the best hostel !

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals
91.4%
Customer would recommend this property 10 May 2015

Can't fault this Hostel. Cheap and gives you everything you need. Very clean facilities and you won't find a better receptionist than Helen, she's a diamond! Will be staying here again!

93.0%
170 reviews Book Now 
2

The Northern Greenhouse

Hostel
117 Grafton Street, Cairns, Australia 4000

161 out of 170 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Northern Greenhouse

Atmosphere - 89% Staff - 90% Facilities - 93% Safety - 94%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 95%
Carina RUGGIERO
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
94.3%
Carina would recommend this property 25 March 2015

Very good facilities, good location, nice people, friendly staff, breakfast included.

Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 04 March 2015

I loved this place! One of my favorites so far!!! Great atmosphere, perfect location, busy so there's always people to meet and talk to, yet quiet for the number of people! The beds were really comfortable, the staff was always very friendly and helpful, the pool was nice, and I love that it included breakfast and free activities! I'll definitely stay again if I'm ever back in Cairns!

92.5%
126 reviews Book Now 
3

Tropic Days Hostel

Hostel
28 Bunting Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

123 out of 126 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tropic Days Hostel

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 98% Facilities - 93% Safety - 97%
Location - 69% Cleanliness - 94% Value - 96%
Erica Lederman
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Erica would recommend this property 20 August 2014

Really nice garden area, comfy beds, super secure safes for each bed, dorms were not overcrowded.

Graham Hogan
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Graham would recommend this property 12 April 2014

welcoming and friendly staff , clean and a good place to chillax in the hammocks

90.7%
457 reviews Book Now 
4

Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Hostel
189 Bunda street, Cairns, Australia 4870

444 out of 457 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Atmosphere - 96% Staff - 97% Facilities - 88% Safety - 89%
Location - 81% Cleanliness - 90% Value - 91%
Stefanie van den Broek
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
97.1%
Stefanie would recommend this property 26 March 2015

Nice athmosphere which made it very easy to make friends! There is entertainment in the evenings, like movies and bbq!

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 11 March 2015

Very Clean, friendly staff and free wifi. Swimmingpool! Its like 2 minutes walk to Coles and the big shoppingcentre! 10 minutes walk to lagoon, its a nice walk when al the bars and shops are open. Very good vibe in the hostel, nice people.

90.6%
274 reviews Book Now 
5

JJ's Backpackers Hostel

Hostel
11-13 Charles Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

243 out of 274 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend JJ's Backpackers Hostel

Atmosphere - 92% Staff - 98% Facilities - 90% Safety - 88%
Location - 77% Cleanliness - 95% Value - 92%
JUAN YRUELA CASTILLO
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
JUAN would recommend this property 12 May 2015

Absolutely everything Nice staff, good location, convenient shuttle service... Good value!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 08 January 2015

Handy shuttle to and from town, able to book tours in advance, always helpful with information over email and over the phone when planning our stay/ trip in advance, clear and easy instructions for late check in

90.4%
41 reviews Book Now 
6

Cairns Girls Hostel

Hostel
147 Lake Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

40 out of 41 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cairns Girls Hostel

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 94% Facilities - 88% Safety - 88%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 94%
Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 15 June 2014

It was very clean. Jenny and Mario were very friendly and helpful with tour bookings. It was relaxing and quiet at night. It's close to the esplanade (which offers free wi-fi).

Nadine Barthel
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Nadine would recommend this property 20 December 2012

Very nice hostel! Good location and the staff is very friendly and helpful! ( thanks for everythning Mario!! :-) )

88.0%
595 reviews Book Now 
7

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront

Hostel
149 The Esplanade, Cairns, Australia 4870

553 out of 595 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 95% Facilities - 83% Safety - 87%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 88%
Jinglin Zhang
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Jinglin would recommend this property 08 October 2014

Great place to stay! Great location and very clean beds. The staff are also very friendly and I have a great time stay in Caravella.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 07 July 2014

The staff is very friendly and the rooms are quite big and bright. Moreover airconditioning and a fridge are available in each room.

87.4%
178 reviews Book Now 
8

Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns

Hostel
57-89 Grafton Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

151 out of 178 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 84% Facilities - 90% Safety - 85%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 84%
Amanda Owen
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
100.0%
Amanda would recommend this property 03 May 2015

I liked the dorm size. I stayed in a ten bed and there was lots of room to move around and there was a toilet and a shower in the room. The kitchen was clean mostly and the bar was lots of fun. The excursions were great especially uncle Brian's and if you book the tours through Gilligan's you get free beer or cider after your outing!

Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 27 April 2015

Very good staff and people. Great to party and even good if you need to sleep didnt hear nothing. A+ for me

86.1%
20 reviews Book Now 
9

Cairns Central YHA

Hostel
20-26 McLeod Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

17 out of 20 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cairns Central YHA

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 92% Facilities - 83% Safety - 87%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 81%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals, Family Holiday
68.6%
Customer would recommend this property 07 July 2014

nice pool area, seating outside kitchen, good kitchen etc nice staff, close to town

Gail Pollitt
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
94.3%
Gail would recommend this property 05 February 2014

All the staff where very helpful, Able to answer all questions regarding the Local Area and all trips. A very large and well equipped kithen.

85.9%
223 reviews Book Now 
10

Castaways Backpackers

Hostel
207 Sheridan St, Cairns, Australia 4870

205 out of 223 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Castaways Backpackers

Atmosphere - 86% Staff - 91% Facilities - 87% Safety - 90%
Location - 63% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 91%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Backpacking / gap year
94.3%
Customer would recommend this property 14 April 2015

Nice little family owned hostel. The hosts ware super friendly and try to help whenever they can. They even called me on my arrival to know when to pick me up. Rooms were all clean as the whole hostel. You feel like you are staying in a shared flat with a nice kitchen and living room:) I would totally recommend this hostel

Simon Paré-Gaudreault
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Simon would recommend this property 06 September 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Gilligan's ! My room was clean, the bed was comfortable, there was a desk in my room and a free internet connexion. There was also a free transport in the city center multiple time each days, which was really useful. The staff was amazing, helpful and friendly ! :) I would stay there again for sure !

Cairns

41 Hostels from 10.90 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Cairns hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Cairns. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.