We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Search Accommodation

 
Please select from the dropdowns
 
Please select from the dropdowns
Property type
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016
 
Invalid date
 
Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
 
Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016
 
Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
 
Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.
processing

Top Rated Hostels in Cairns, Australia

95.0%
375 reviews Book Now 
1

Travellers Oasis

Hostel
8 Scott Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

369 out of 375 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Travellers Oasis

Atmosphere - 94% Staff - 99% Facilities - 95% Safety - 97%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 97% Value - 92%
Parth Shukla
With my spouse / partner
Romantic getaway
97.1%
Parth would recommend this property 08 February 2015

Staff, especially Helen, was super friendly, knowledgeable, helpful and accommodating. She really took her time explaining tours, making necessary calls and giving suggestions about local places to eat/drink etc. Good friendly and quiet atmosphere. Clean place. Free wifi.

Joanna Warren
With my spouse / partner
Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Joanna would recommend this property 06 February 2015

Very cute, funky hostel with comfortable and clean rooms. Lovely chilled atmosphere, nice pool and incredibly friendly, helpful staff. Helen organised all our tours and we were either picked up from the hostel or Helen took us to the Marina.

93.3%
169 reviews Book Now 
2

The Northern Greenhouse

Hostel
117 Grafton Street, Cairns, Australia 4000

160 out of 169 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend The Northern Greenhouse

Atmosphere - 90% Staff - 91% Facilities - 93% Safety - 94%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 95%
Customer review
Alone
Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
100.0%
Customer would recommend this property 04 March 2015

I loved this place! One of my favorites so far!!! Great atmosphere, perfect location, busy so there's always people to meet and talk to, yet quiet for the number of people! The beds were really comfortable, the staff was always very friendly and helpful, the pool was nice, and I love that it included breakfast and free activities! I'll definitely stay again if I'm ever back in Cairns!

Mathilde Storgaard Bek
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Mathilde Storgaard would recommend this property 21 February 2015

Best hostel we've been at. Everything is clean, much space, finally wifi that's good enough to Skype, a lot of free offers, very good value for the money

92.2%
124 reviews Book Now 
3

Tropic Days Hostel

Hostel
28 Bunting Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

121 out of 124 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Tropic Days Hostel

Atmosphere - 97% Staff - 97% Facilities - 95% Safety - 97%
Location - 68% Cleanliness - 93% Value - 96%
Erica Lederman
Alone
Backpacking / gap year
91.4%
Erica would recommend this property 20 August 2014

Really nice garden area, comfy beds, super secure safes for each bed, dorms were not overcrowded.

Graham Hogan
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Relaxation/spa, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Graham would recommend this property 12 April 2014

welcoming and friendly staff , clean and a good place to chillax in the hammocks

90.4%
455 reviews Book Now 
4

Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Hostel
189 Bunda street, Cairns, Australia 4870

442 out of 455 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Atmosphere - 95% Staff - 97% Facilities - 88% Safety - 88%
Location - 83% Cleanliness - 89% Value - 90%
Kathleen Dose-Koehl
As a family with children
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Kathleen would recommend this property 15 January 2015

It's adorable, and had lots to offer for travellers, such as movie night. It was very secure, yet relaxed. We also had a mini-fridge in room. This was our first stay at a hostel, and it left us with a great impression!

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 28 August 2014

Stuff was very friendly! I felt like at home, Every day a great program like Pizza all you can eat, fireshow...

89.9%
40 reviews Book Now 
5

Cairns Girls Hostel

Hostel
147 Lake Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

39 out of 40 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cairns Girls Hostel

Atmosphere - 84% Staff - 92% Facilities - 88% Safety - 88%
Location - 89% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 94%
Customer review
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 15 June 2014

It was very clean. Jenny and Mario were very friendly and helpful with tour bookings. It was relaxing and quiet at night. It's close to the esplanade (which offers free wi-fi).

Nadine Barthel
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture
100.0%
Nadine would recommend this property 20 December 2012

Very nice hostel! Good location and the staff is very friendly and helpful! ( thanks for everythning Mario!! :-) )

88.6%
270 reviews Book Now 
6

JJ's Backpackers Hostel

Hostel
11-13 Charles Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

239 out of 270 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend JJ's Backpackers Hostel

Atmosphere - 91% Staff - 97% Facilities - 88% Safety - 87%
Location - 72% Cleanliness - 92% Value - 91%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, City break, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 08 January 2015

Handy shuttle to and from town, able to book tours in advance, always helpful with information over email and over the phone when planning our stay/ trip in advance, clear and easy instructions for late check in

Steve Knight
With my spouse / partner
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Romantic getaway
97.1%
Steve would recommend this property 26 July 2014

Simon and Tracy (The Owners) were perfect Hosts, Anything you need to know about Cairns they can help you with. 20 years experience. Advice/Arrangement on all the Trips you need. The Free breakfast in the morning is a good start too. Though only basic (Tea/Coffee Toast and Cereal) It gets you up and out. Also a Nice Place to mingle and meet people. Lots of Like Minded Nationalities all wanting to experience Oz. Rooms are Basic and Clean but what do you want for the Money. The Bed was Comfy, Quiet area of Cairns Slightly away from the Bars/main strip etc but they offer a free Bus journey (5 mins) certain times of the day. Though we did walk most of the Time as the Esplanade is Beautiful. Our Experience overall was a Good one

87.7%
594 reviews Book Now 
7

Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront

Hostel
149 The Esplanade, Cairns, Australia 4870

552 out of 594 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 94% Facilities - 82% Safety - 86%
Location - 88% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 88%
Jinglin Zhang
Alone
Sightseeing & culture
97.1%
Jinglin would recommend this property 08 October 2014

Great place to stay! Great location and very clean beds. The staff are also very friendly and I have a great time stay in Caravella.

Customer review
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
85.7%
Customer would recommend this property 07 July 2014

The staff is very friendly and the rooms are quite big and bright. Moreover airconditioning and a fridge are available in each room.

87.2%
167 reviews Book Now 
8

Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns

Hostel
57-89 Grafton Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

142 out of 167 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Gilligan's Backpackers Hotel & Resort Cairns

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 80% Facilities - 89% Safety - 88%
Location - 95% Cleanliness - 87% Value - 84%
Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Backpacking / gap year
97.1%
Customer would recommend this property 26 February 2015

Great hostel and very modern and clean rooms! Great location with a bouncing atmosphere, everyone coming to cairns only talks about Gilligans!

Jessica Hall
With friends / other travellers
Partying / nightlife
88.6%
Jessica would recommend this property 09 January 2015

The rooms are beautifully kept - very clean, air conditioned, and comfortable. The beds are large and I got a great sleep both nights I stayed. If you're one to party, it's a great place with a bar/club literally at your doorstep. The pool area is awesome during the day - relaxing and great music playing.

86.8%
19 reviews Book Now 
9

Cairns Central YHA

Hostel
20-26 McLeod Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

16 out of 19 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Cairns Central YHA

Atmosphere - 83% Staff - 91% Facilities - 84% Safety - 87%
Location - 90% Cleanliness - 88% Value - 82%
Customer review
With friends / other travellers
Events / festivals, Family Holiday
68.6%
Customer would recommend this property 07 July 2014

nice pool area, seating outside kitchen, good kitchen etc nice staff, close to town

Gail Pollitt
Alone
Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Partying / nightlife
94.3%
Gail would recommend this property 05 February 2014

All the staff where very helpful, Able to answer all questions regarding the Local Area and all trips. A very large and well equipped kithen.

85.5%
221 reviews Book Now 
10

Castaways Backpackers

Hostel
207 Sheridan St, Cairns, Australia 4870

203 out of 221 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend Castaways Backpackers

Atmosphere - 85% Staff - 91% Facilities - 86% Safety - 90%
Location - 63% Cleanliness - 91% Value - 90%
Simon Paré-Gaudreault
Alone
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture
88.6%
Simon would recommend this property 06 September 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at Gilligan's ! My room was clean, the bed was comfortable, there was a desk in my room and a free internet connexion. There was also a free transport in the city center multiple time each days, which was really useful. The staff was amazing, helpful and friendly ! :) I would stay there again for sure !

Customer review
With my spouse / partner
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
80.0%
Customer would recommend this property 21 August 2014

It was really clean and safe. Kitchen was great. Not only dishes and pans but also salt and pepper, soy source, and oil, almost everything was there.

Cairns

40 Hostels from 9.36 USD

WHY BOOK WITH HOSTELBOOKERS?

  • No booking fees
  • Lowest price guarantee
  • Find the same cheaper and we'll refund double the difference
  • Over 1 million customer reviews
  • Over 200,000 bed nights booked every week
  • More than 20,000 properties in 3,500 destinations worldwide

Our top-rated Cairns hostels have only been scored by HostelBookers customers who’ve stayed in them. With honest reviews, it’s that much easier to choose the best place to stay in Cairns. Reviews take into account the atmosphere, cleanliness and value for money; not to mention if staff welcome you with a smile. Just scroll the list to find a hostel that best suits your budget.