We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Dreamtime Travellers Rest

Hostel | 189 Bunda street, Cairns, Australia 4870

90.7% Overall Rating

444 out of 457 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (26/03/2015)

Stefanie van den Broek thinks…

"Nice athmosphere which made it very easy to make friends! There is entertainment in the evenings, like movies and bbq!"

Read all Dreamtime Travellers Rest reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • BBQ area
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 3.91

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Dreamtime is a small hostel, for groups of 8+ please first contact Dreamtime for seasonal suitability before attempting to make a booking

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Travellers Oasis
21.09 USD

Hostel 95.7% 379 reviews
Cairns City Backpackers
12.50 USD

Hostel 71.8% 291 reviews
Bohemia Cairns Resort
18.36 USD

Hostel 68.8% 117 reviews
Cairns Central YHA
20.31 USD

Hostel 86.8% 19 reviews
Lazy Duck Hostel
12.50 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
The Northern Greenhouse
18.75 USD

Hostel 93.0% 170 reviews
The Jack Backpackers
11.72 USD

Hostel 81.9% 155 reviews
Reef BackPackers
13.28 USD

Hostel 70.9% 69 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.7%

Overall Rating

444 out of 457 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Dreamtime Travellers Rest'

Atmosphere
96.0%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
90.4%
Staff
97.6%
Value
91.2%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 352 of 372 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stefanie van den Broek

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 March 2015 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: Nice athmosphere which made it very easy to make friends! There is entertainment in the evenings, like movies and bbq!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very Clean, friendly staff and free wifi. Swimmingpool! Its like 2 minutes walk to Coles and the big shoppingcentre! 10 minutes walk to lagoon, its a nice walk when al the bars and shops are open. Very good vibe in the hostel, nice people.

Disliked: I arrived at 12.45pm with Greyhound and they don't have a pick up service on that time. Only in the morning and late in the afternoon. No airco, you can pay for it: like 1 dollar for 3 hours but it doesn't work good, so its really hot in the rooms!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

25 January 2015 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmosphere, supermarket next door, helpful staff.

Disliked: We had cockroaches in our room, some small ones even were in my bedsheet. Nonetheless the hostel seemed pretty clean, I guess you just cannot guarantee not to have cockroaches in this area. The staff sprayed something to kill them, and so we only found one more cockroach the second night. Also the air condition didn't work the first night, so we could only use it the second night. So all in all the staff was helpfull, our problem was that we arrived late and there was no staff in the hostel anymore, when our little problems occured in the first night.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kathleen Dose-Koehl

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

15 January 2015 Kathleen would recommend this property

Liked: It's adorable, and had lots to offer for travellers, such as movie night. It was very secure, yet relaxed. We also had a mini-fridge in room. This was our first stay at a hostel, and it left us with a great impression!

Disliked: It was so stinking hot! Maybe a fan in the common areas?

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stuff was very friendly! I felt like at home, Every day a great program like Pizza all you can eat, fireshow...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Fabian Ott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 August 2014 Fabian would recommend this property

Liked: Was beautiful.

Disliked: Not enough kitchen equipment

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

12 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: .

Disliked: .

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Natasha Bechman

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 May 2014 Natasha would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel had a really lovely atmosphere; everyone was friendly, the staff were very helpful and the rooms were quiet even when there was an evening event going on. There were regular social events going on in the hostel itself which was really useful given I was travelling alone. Great value for money, thank you!

Disliked: My only dislike was that the internet was slow, and difficult to connect to the first days. The desktops were fast, but I had problems connecting to the wifi.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel is in a great location for all the tourist attractions around cairns. We had a private double room which was great very clean and tidy even got our own fridge which was a bonus. Free luggage room as our bus didn't leave until late on check out day.

Disliked: Although the wifi is free a bonus here, it was a bit unreliable as to weather it would work and you were forever having to sign in. This was annoying after a while.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

simon cole

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 March 2014 simon would recommend this property

Liked: Erin on reception was so helpful and friendly, talking through the options for tours and efficiently helping us book them. Thanks Erin! We had a great day yesterday on Sea Star snorkelling on the reef. Good atmosphere in the hostal, sociable and great little swimming pool for cooling off. Near a big supermarket. We found our room downstairs by the kitchen was noisy but staff moved us to a great room upstairs for the rest of our stay. Optional air con in rooms is invaluable and cheap. Thanks guys!

Disliked: Nothing, apart from noise on the first night.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elieth Racho

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 March 2014 Elieth would recommend this property

Liked: The price is awesome, clean and safe!

Disliked: Nothing really to dislike , it's located right across from the mall! Everything is by walking distance.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice and relaxed atmosphere. Clean and cozy rooms and a lot of social events to participate. The staff tries really hard to make your stay comfortable. Big thumbs up!

Disliked: Aircon is paid, but it seems pretty standard in this city. And for 1$ per 3h it is not that expensive (and you have a free fan *g*).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tommy Williams

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 January 2014 Tommy would recommend this property

Liked: We could arrive in the middle of the night. It has a good vibe, the staff are very helpful and make you feel welcome.

Disliked: Paying for internet access.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandra Riedl

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2013 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at Dreamtime a couple of months ago at the beginning of my travels along the east coast. I really enjoyed it because of the great atmosphere. The interiour design is unique and makes the place really cosy and perfect to relax. Also the staff is amazing! Special thanks to Monica who was really dedicated and found the perfect trips for me. Thanks a lot Dreamtime :)

Disliked: Sandra left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Leon Lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 November 2013 Leon would recommend this property

Liked: nice and relaxing environment, clean and spacious bathrooms.

Disliked: Leon left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked that the rooms were clean an inviting.

Disliked: I wish that each room had brighter lighting, and lockers in each room to stow your items. Some other guests liked to leave the room wide open when no one was in there.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

13 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff, good location, always plenty to do and things to do

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eva Morgan

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

07 August 2013 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly, helpful staff with good activity/travel advice. BBQ night for a good cause!! Able to get some sleep, and not far away from town centre.

Disliked: nothing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Pamatat

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

27 July 2013 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel has a really nice garden area, and is just a great place to relax. The dorms are quite spacious. The staff keep the hostel really clean, and can help you out with any questions you have.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel does exactly what it says on the tin...very informal and calm it feels like a large shared house with cleaners. My bed was really comfy and I slept well as there was little noise at night. Very rare for me in a hostel as i'm not good at sleeping through parties. The double room I had also had its own fridge which was really handy. The reception staff were friendly and helpful and able to help book things and give you ideas for things to see and do. They have a bicycle you can borrow for $10...bargain! Near a really nice big Coles supermarket which is really handy and reception do beers so you don't have to march off to the bottleshop with you fancy a cold one. Overall my stay was lovely and restful and there are only a few little things I'd have changed.

Disliked: Some of the fixtures and fittings are in need of replacing...nothing was ever dirty but some furniture and appliances look like they've been here for a wee while (e.g. upstairs cooker). I also wasn't keen on the toilets and showers...having to go into the shower room to wash your hands after using the loo seems a bit weird and the timer lights are really disconcerting when you go to the loo in the night. . Also please note the hostel is just outside the Cairns CBD and it's a bit of a walk from the esplanade home. Nothing awful in fact I liked this as it guaranteed quiet at night but worth knowing when you book. I wasn't that keen on walking back by myself when it was dark as the streets nearest the hostel are less busy and well lit. During the day though you can take a shortcut across what is possibly the world's most scenic rooftop car-park so it's got it's pay offs right? ;)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dreamtime was a lovely hostel, would definitely recommend it - it is not your party hostel, we enjoyed quiet's night sleep but still having fun evenings as well. The hostel is designed in such a way that you have different lounge areas, so people don't feel crammed into each other's spaces. The hostel was very clean and well managed,and in front of a shopping mall for anything you needed. Staff was very helpful in planning our daily activities and even providing useful info on discounts and places to go.

Disliked: Unfortunately, the building itself is a bit noisy, so the odd person walking upstairs or opening a door echoes through - but nothing earplugs won't solve.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Two kitchens, several showers and clean facilities. The place has a great laid-back atmosphere so if you want a hostel to relax and avoid the party, this is a great place.

Disliked: The pool seemed a little dirty and therefore didn't invite anyone to swim in it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: My first impression was: How nice! The tropical garden is perfect to relax. The rooms are split on 3 buildings. My room (had a double room) was very comfy and inviting (warm colours, own fridge), located in the third and last building of the area. The bathrooms (two in my building) seem to be refurbished shortly. Great location next to Cairns Central Shopping and in walking distance to Cairns City. Very quiet environment and common area. The staff was very helpful with tour information and bookings as well as information about things to do and help if something didn´t work properly. Would have loved to stay longer and would definetly book again should I ever return to Cairns!

Disliked: Not really a problem but I realised that the Wifi didn´t work in my room. Might be because of the location of my room. Perfect opportunity to use the nice garden :)

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Andryo Haripradono

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 April 2013 Andryo would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are super friendly, atmosphere is great, location is quiet, everything was clean especially the toilets and bathrooms.

Disliked: Wifi is not free, no breakfast, rooms near the kitchen will hear noises at random hours.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carolyn Quinlan

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Carolyn would recommend this property

Liked: Really awesome and helpful staff at reception, thank you Emma for all your help with my tours!! Great hostel to stay in.

Disliked: n/a


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels