HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Reviews of Dreamtime Travellers Rest Cairns Hostel

189 Bunda street, Cairns, Australia

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 88%

Location 82%

Safety 90%

Staff 97%

Value 90%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Self-Catering Facilities
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • BBQ
  • Bar
  • Bicycle Parking
  • Board Games
  • Book Exchange
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Card Phones
  • Ceiling fan
  • Common Room
  • DVDs
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Games Room
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hair Dryers For Hire
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Meeting Room
  • Outdoor Swimming Pool
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Parking
  • Pool Table
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Shuttle Bus
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tea/Coffee Making Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Towels for hire
  • Vending Machines
  • Washing machine
  • Wheelchair Friendly

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 4.06USD

Important Information

Dreamtime is a small hostel, for groups of 8+ please first contact Dreamtime for seasonal suitability before attempting to make a booking

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 10:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 96%

Cleanliness 90%

Facilities 88%

Location 82%

Safety 90%

Staff 97%

Value 90%

Showing 1-10 of 24 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Family Holiday, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This hostel is fantastic, the rooms are cosy, the whole place is an oasis and the staff are super helpful and nice. Both Chris and Shay know everything around trips, transport etc. and help everyone book their trips if needed. The hostel was very clean and quiet, but there's always some messy and loud individuals and you meet people really easily as there are movie and pizza nights. Cairns is a great little city and I had a fab time!

Disliked: There were no lockers in rooms and with such high rate of traveller turnaround, the lockers should really be there. The luggage storage room also isn't too safe as nobody from the staff are around in the afternoon. Having said that, the people in the hostel were friendly and easygoing, you just never know!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Jun 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Partying / nightlife, Relaxation / spa, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The atmosphere and events they held

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nice athmosphere which made it very easy to make friends! There is entertainment in the evenings, like movies and bbq!

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Mar 2015

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very Clean, friendly staff and free wifi. Swimmingpool!Its like 2 minutes walk to Coles and the big shoppingcentre! 10 minutes walk to lagoon, its a nice walk when al the bars and shops are open.Very good vibe in the hostel, nice people.

Disliked: I arrived at 12.45pm with Greyhound and they don't have a pick up service on that time. Only in the morning and late in the afternoon.No airco, you can pay for it: like 1 dollar for 3 hours but it doesn't work good, so its really hot in the rooms!

Customer would recommend this property

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
19 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Very nice atmosphere, supermarket next door, helpful staff.

Disliked: We had cockroaches in our room, some small ones even were in my bedsheet. Nonetheless the hostel seemed pretty clean, I guess you just cannot guarantee not to have cockroaches in this area. The staff sprayed something to kill them, and so we only found one more cockroach the second night. Also the air condition didn't work the first night, so we could only use it the second night. So all in all the staff was helpfull, our problem was that we arrived late and there was no staff in the hostel anymore, when our little problems occured in the first night.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Jan 2015

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's adorable, and had lots to offer for travellers, such as movie night. It was very secure, yet relaxed. We also had a mini-fridge in room. This was our first stay at a hostel, and it left us with a great impression!

Disliked: It was so stinking hot! Maybe a fan in the common areas?

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
25 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Stuff was very friendly! I felt like at home, Every day a great program like Pizza all you can eat, fireshow...

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Was beautiful.

Disliked: Not enough kitchen equipment

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: This hostel had a really lovely atmosphere; everyone was friendly, the staff were very helpful and the rooms were quiet even when there was an evening event going on. There were regular social events going on in the hostel itself which was really useful given I was travelling alone. Great value for money, thank you!

Disliked: My only dislike was that the internet was slow, and difficult to connect to the first days. The desktops were fast, but I had problems connecting to the wifi.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 60%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Events / festivals, Relaxation / spa, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities, Work / volunteering

Liked: .

Disliked: .

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability