HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels

Reviews of Globetrotters International

Hostel | 154 - 156 Lake Street, Cairns, Australia 4870

81.7% Overall Rating

284 out of 305 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/04/2014)

"I liked that it was quiet and peaceful, the beds are so comfortable and the air con was greatly appreciated!"

Read all Globetrotters International reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Bicycle hire
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Common area / room
  • Communal kitchen
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Outside area
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 4.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen

Important Information

All guests are required to present International Passports on check in All guests must be over 18years of age (new policy) Late checkins must contact hostel business hrs (8am -5pm)

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Cairns?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Cairns

Discovery Cairns
60.13 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Caravella Backpackers Cairns City Waterfront
18.64 USD

Hostel 88.8% 578 reviews
Q Resorts Cascade Gardens
88.56 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 89.0% 14 reviews
Asylum Cairns
11.19 USD

Hostel 81.7% 225 reviews
Castaway's Backpackers
22.37 USD

Hostel 85.0% 216 reviews
Njoy! Travellers Resort
18.64 USD

Hostel 76.8% 173 reviews
Cairns City Motel
22.37 USD

Hotel 3 star 90.2% 7 reviews
Cairns Beach House
13.98 USD

Hostel 73.8% 97 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.7%

Overall Rating

284 out of 305 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Globetrotters International'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
76.8%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
83.2%
Value
85.6%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 246 of 292 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

karl parker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 April 2014 karl would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, helpful staff, great lounge area,pool.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked that it was quiet and peaceful, the beds are so comfortable and the air con was greatly appreciated!

Disliked: Nothing really comes to mind!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

21 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice peacefull place

Disliked: Girl in reception looked always tired and bored. Not Very helpfull.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eilis Kelly

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2014 Eilis would recommend this property

Liked: Loved how this was a quiet property, great after a busy day out on excursions - and a lovely walk into the city centre

Disliked: Nothing to Dislike

60.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location and stuff are good. atmosphere is very good.

Disliked: fridge at bottom is flood, and it's shelve is only one left,so we dont have enough space in fridge. wifi is free:), but very slow, it's always bothering. half of stove are broken, so you cant cook comfortably. kitchen stuff i got was damn. my knife is very small(like army knife) and handle is broken.it's dangerous to use. pan's coating was peeled off. even if i washed pan many times, water in pan is still to black

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Josie Cross

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 March 2014 Josie would recommend this property

Liked: Such a cute place! Immediately felt comfortable here…lots of chill spots to hang out. The dorm rooms are very nice, plenty of space. I like that the toilet/shower were in our room and we also had a kitchen area!

Disliked: Not too many office hours, but everything was accessible.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

21 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and clean bathroom

Disliked: Insect...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big nice rooms

Disliked: nothing in particular

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

CHRISTOPHER MATHER

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 January 2014 CHRISTOPHER would recommend this property

Liked: I booked this hostel to get over jetlag and it was good for that but dont expect a party atmosphere. Cleaned every day and ladd with curly hair on reception will go out of his way to help

Disliked: No partying

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kristiina Keiso

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

01 January 2014 Kristiina would recommend this property

Liked: The best hostel in Cairns

Disliked: Kristiina left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicolo Bulla

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 December 2013 Nicolo would recommend this property

Liked: Quite place good sleep

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tracey Foster

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 December 2013 Tracey would recommend this property

Liked: This was my first time in a hostel and i couldn't have picked a better one to stay at! It felt like a family home rather than a pit stop for travellers. It was clean, welcoming, and everything you needed was at hand. Also, i liked that they had a sort of "curfew" for communal areas of 11pm making sure that there is no disturbance for those who want to sleep.

Disliked: One of the only complaints i have is the lack of chairs to lie down on by the pool.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

emily kate Blocki

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2013 emily kate would recommend this property

Liked: I loved room 6 bunk bed but not metal ones so no rocking, fan above beds, mini kitchen in room with microwave, toaster and kettle and fridge, lovely garden area, staff friendly helpful, quiet area. I stayed here earilier in the year same room and bed, my favourite hostel, love the room, tv area small and personal hostel. Would stay there if I could get a job in cairns.

Disliked: En suit bathroom, lovely and clean no problem, only issue was going to toilet as people were taking long showers around bedtime and not many other toilets around the building

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, areas to relax, kitchens kept clean and tidy.

Disliked: Need to pay for aircon, lounge could use refurbishing, some pool furniture broken, wireless was slow

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alex Bertoux

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 November 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet and friendly. Perfect to rest up, chill out and have a nice chat.

Disliked: A fair walk to the city, pretty warm in the rooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and guests. The atmosphere was enjoyable. After 11pm it is quit so you can sleep well.

Disliked: Not really well organised. Bit far from town and supermarket.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anja prellberg

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 November 2013 anja would recommend this property

Liked: very central and the staff is fantastic!

Disliked: anja left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Andreas Moustrides

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

06 November 2013 Andreas would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the free wifi. Easy to get a great nights sleep as it's in the quiet part of town. Comfy beds. Very clean. The hostel is a little out of town if you require something or want to go for some drinks but I guess if it was in the heart of the city you wouldn't get such a quiet place & great sleeps!

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kevin West

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 October 2013 Kevin would recommend this property

Liked: Location just outside town centre. Pool Good kitchen and showers.

Disliked: Nothing

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A very large and comfortable common area, nice bedroom's and bathroom.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wifi included

Disliked: No food voucher

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Cecilie Tandrup

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

08 October 2013

Liked: bbb

Disliked: We had booked a double room, which was located to the reception area. It was extremely loud (people listening to loud music, people talking loudly, trucks passing by all night etc.). We kindly asked the staff if we could get another room but they said it was not possible because they were fully booked. People were checking in and out of the hostel all the time (and we were staying there for 5 days), so it seemed quite rude of the receptionists not to take our complain seriously.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

05 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 'Couse it was pretty close to city, nice atmosphere, location, safe

Disliked: 'Couse it is always full, so I'm afraid there is no room for me

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly & helpful staff. Great $2 cappuccinos ! Close to all Cairns sites . Clean. & comfortable. Loved wed had a private room for a reasonable price.

Disliked: Nothing!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Julie Elkin

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2013 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and people. Overall pretty clean, thick mattresses, pool. Quieter at night than other hostels for the most part.

Disliked: Horrible internet. Rarely works in the evenings which makes trip planning and job hunting incredibly difficult. No free lockers to secure valuables. A little far from the CBD.


See all Cairns hostels
See all Cairns hotels